Relativity Media | Release Date: March 1, 2013
5.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 105 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
33
Mixed:
43
Negative:
29
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
survivorfan989Jul 24, 2013
Fans of The Hangover and Superbad will be right at home here with this hilarious 'coming-of-age' Comedy that might be pretty similar to those other ones out there, but at the end of the day they are highly entertaining and nothing but fun toFans of The Hangover and Superbad will be right at home here with this hilarious 'coming-of-age' Comedy that might be pretty similar to those other ones out there, but at the end of the day they are highly entertaining and nothing but fun to watch when you are with mates. The characters are likable and its a well-written storyline despite being a little on the predictable side. All up though an entertaining film that should appeal to the teens and as long as not taken seriously you'll enjoy it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
epicmorganguyMar 17, 2013
epic
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
MarcDoyleMar 7, 2013
Much funnier than expected and clearly better than a 34. The taller kid does his best Vince Vaughn "tribute", and he's serviceable. His more sincere counterpart is a decent straight. Jeff Chang fills his role nicely and he's endearingMuch funnier than expected and clearly better than a 34. The taller kid does his best Vince Vaughn "tribute", and he's serviceable. His more sincere counterpart is a decent straight. Jeff Chang fills his role nicely and he's endearing enough for you to pull for him, especially during the extended getting-drunk sequence. I appreciate his breakin' and his application of his drivers license to the various bouncers. Jeff Chang's dad (the scientist from Lost) provides a very scary ongoing threat throughout the film. Nicole looks a little long-in-the-tooth for a college student (which makes sense she's 30), but she's appealing as the lead dick's girlfriend who befriends Jeff Chang in his time of need. The Tower of Power sequence is engaging and more than a little reminiscent of the comedy force Beerfest. In my theater, there were about 20 guys, no girls, but they were all laughing fairly hard, if that's at all helpful. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
wearetheothersMar 17, 2013
it's actually really funny, much better than project x, but nowhere near as good as superbad, but it's still wildly entertaining nonetheless, you should watch it
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
NightReviewsMar 6, 2013
In the United States, when a person turns 21, that time is usually land-marked with instances filled with excitement thanks to the upcoming adventures of maturing, independence, self-discovery and of course…you know what, all crap aside, itsIn the United States, when a person turns 21, that time is usually land-marked with instances filled with excitement thanks to the upcoming adventures of maturing, independence, self-discovery and of course…you know what, all crap aside, its the day to just get stupid drunk and act a fool like its nobody’s business. Like anybody planning to sleep in a catharsis of vomit and food consumed from the afternoon, 21 Over is a raunchy, absurd, highly energetic and overly confident comedy that unapologetically assaults its audience members with inappropriateness from beginning to end.

On the day of Jeff Chang’s (Justin Chon) 21st birthday, his old friends Casey (Skylar Astin) and Miller (Miles Teller) show up to his residence on campus. Adamant to get him drunk despite a very important medical meeting the next morning that Dr. Chang (François Chau) had arranged, Casey and Miller convince Jeff Chang to go out and party. What starts off with just a few drinks and a bit of misdirection turns out to be a rip-roaring journey into the dark corners of Jeff Chang’s college campus.

Where 21 Over succeeds and other movies like it fail is in the underlying themes and chemistry. In so many coming of age stories, most notably Project X last year, the friendships that were tested were not tested on the basis of any change. Oh sure, a house was destroyed and a neighbourhood was in complete chaos, but what did it matter to the protagonists? In 21 Over, each one of the three friends are facing the biggest issues of their lives, growing up. Often longer for some people, sometimes a lot quicker and at times unknowingly to others, the theme of growing up is the quintessential magic formula for coming of age romp-comedies. Just look at one of the best comedies of the last decade Wedding Crashers and how that theme was explored with over-sized children as adults. The chemistry in 21 Over is spot-on. Miles Teller is reminiscent of a young Vince Vaughan and his wildly fast-talking antics drives most of the ridiculous comedy forward with ease. Skylar Astin much like his previous role in Pitch Perfect, serves as a worthy counterpart to Teller and the eye candy for female audience members to flock to theatres. If there is one thing that makes me mad about 21 Over and the previous writing efforts of the comedic writing duo Jon Lucas and Scott Moore is how simple their script ideas are yet how well done their narratives and plot points are. Penning the first two Hangover films, it angers me to think how simple the premise for all their hits were and why I couldn’t think of it myself. It seems like the writing duo have a knack for exploiting the obvious yet unexplored on film, adding a lot of fun in the mix.

21 Over is an outrageously fun time at the movies. Although the film may not be for everyone, 21 Over is a flashback of so many times when the images on screen are so reminiscent of some of the stupid things that may have happened to you, at one point or another. Don’t deny it, just laugh and enjoy the ride. Just like what Jeff Chang’s yells at the bouncer before getting in, “21…blackjack motherf@&$er!”. Its not denying that 21 Over is definitely a sloppy winner!
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
Forrestgump1Jun 4, 2013
"While its not going to be an "instant classic" nor is up to par with Project X. But 21 & Over is not afraid to take some jokes to a new level, while the overall vibe is silly & pointless. This is a night that deep down we all dream of living"While its not going to be an "instant classic" nor is up to par with Project X. But 21 & Over is not afraid to take some jokes to a new level, while the overall vibe is silly & pointless. This is a night that deep down we all dream of living at some point" ..B+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lordslayerFeb 16, 2014
Mix "The Hangover" with "Projet X" and add some "Superbad" and you'll get this, nonsense comedy about becoming an adult, getting **** and causing mayhem! We all laughed our heads off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Bruce722Jul 21, 2014
21 & Over was absolutely hilarious. It's essentially a lower budget and more youthful version of The Hangover and it delivers with the same type of humor. The acting is adequate enough by the main stars and the events that happen during the21 & Over was absolutely hilarious. It's essentially a lower budget and more youthful version of The Hangover and it delivers with the same type of humor. The acting is adequate enough by the main stars and the events that happen during the night make you laugh from almost beginning to end. The film doesn't take long to get into the plot and you ride the wave until the credits roll. There are some moments that feel a bit too ridiculous but they don't take too much away from the viewing experience. Overall, it's worth checking out if you want a good laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Nov 27, 2013
21 & Over is the directorial debut from the writers of the Hangover trilogy, and it could have easily been called The Hangover Jr. It's Jeff Chang's 21st birthday and his High School friends show up to take him out. With a big interview in21 & Over is the directorial debut from the writers of the Hangover trilogy, and it could have easily been called The Hangover Jr. It's Jeff Chang's 21st birthday and his High School friends show up to take him out. With a big interview in the morning, the boys are planning on taking it easy, but things don't quite turn out that way. I was expecting this film to be yet another chance to exploit the magic of the first Hangover film, but surprisingly it does not. The story has many similarities, but also a uniqueness about it. 21 & Over does manage to capture that amazing chemistry and magic that made the Hangover legendary. The whole time I was watching this film, I couldn't help but think, why didn't they put this kind of thought into the Hangover sequels? Don't get me wrong, I liked the sequels, but neither one of this is as good as this film was. Justin Chon, unfortunately only known from the Twilight series, stars in a role that was seemingly made for him. This guy was so freaking funny, that I had to be careful not to piss my pants, almost every time he opened his mouth. The other stand out is Project X's Miles Teller, and while he's much better looking than Alan, he does manage to capture that loveable extreme weirdness that Zack Galifinakis had. It's easy to look at 21 & Over and say it's going to be just like the Hangover, and you wouldn't be wrong. Parts of the film are eerily similar, but the youth factor and college atmosphere does give the film a life of it's own and trust me when I tell you, it was absolutely hysterical. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
dariusbthebestMar 12, 2013
This movie was absolutely hilarious, i would suggest this movie if you enjoyed the hangover and other such movies of that nature. Funniest movie to come out this year so far, if your looking for a good narritive, its not for you; this is allThis movie was absolutely hilarious, i would suggest this movie if you enjoyed the hangover and other such movies of that nature. Funniest movie to come out this year so far, if your looking for a good narritive, its not for you; this is all about the laughs and fun of being 21. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MauliAug 5, 2013
Dont understand the critics... this movie is just awesome! I mean they have a awesome time and also kind of massive problems but still joking about everything and thats my friends is how young people are likely amused! That doesnt mean theyDont understand the critics... this movie is just awesome! I mean they have a awesome time and also kind of massive problems but still joking about everything and thats my friends is how young people are likely amused! That doesnt mean they live like this or want to live like this! Everyone or nearly everyone knows that live doesnt work like this but guys its a ''Movie'' its not real and it doesnt make (atleast normal people) people think to live like this!
This movie is just hilarious and absolutely recommended!
It deserves more recommends than just old people hating who doesnt understand the technology and ''kids'' today
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews