User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 716 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 716
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    This movie was an all out romp! The best movie Jonah has done since Superbad, and it was surprising to say that after this movie, Channing is on my comedy movie radar! The movie is **** hilarious and takes a surprisingly violent twist at the end! Amazing!
  2. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    Honestly, I think 21 Jump Street is the first really must see movie of the year. There have been some other good movies so far this year (Chronicle, The Lorax, Jeff Who Lives at Home) but this is the first great movie. I didn't expect too much from this film, which is usually a great indicator for a potentially great movie. It's a great blend of action, comedy and a decent story. ObviouslyHonestly, I think 21 Jump Street is the first really must see movie of the year. There have been some other good movies so far this year (Chronicle, The Lorax, Jeff Who Lives at Home) but this is the first great movie. I didn't expect too much from this film, which is usually a great indicator for a potentially great movie. It's a great blend of action, comedy and a decent story. Obviously with guys like Jonah Hill and Channing Tatum starring, you'll be getting a bit more comedy than action, and really that works out just fine. Of course, the humor isn't for everyone, obviously some people don't have a funny bone in their body and will find this movie to be "childish" and "immature" but really, it's exactly the kind of movie needed. Expand
  3. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    This movie was a winner. The movie 'Super Bad' was a surprisingly funny flick and if you enjoy that genre then you will really enjoy this lighthearted humor. After dealing with stress at work all week this movie really worked for me. Casting was very strong and the timing was spot on!
  4. Mar 25, 2012
    0
    Maybe it was my fault for being a boring person, but this didn't make me laugh once in the entire movie. Jonah was ok, but Channing, stick to drama please.
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    Thanks to this movie, I now believe that there is confidence to be had in the movies of 2012. The laugh-out-loud action comedy "21 Jump Street" is the best film I have seen since "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo." The raunchy humor, the "bromance" of the two leads, the co-stars/cameos, I laughed throughout the entire film. Another thing I would like to point out is that it shows how muchThanks to this movie, I now believe that there is confidence to be had in the movies of 2012. The laugh-out-loud action comedy "21 Jump Street" is the best film I have seen since "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo." The raunchy humor, the "bromance" of the two leads, the co-stars/cameos, I laughed throughout the entire film. Another thing I would like to point out is that it shows how much the youth has changed in the past 10 years and how that works out great for the film. Go see this movie in theaters now, or buy it on DVD. This is a must watch film Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2012
    7
    First and foremost I came into this movie kind of biased. I borderline hate Channing Tatum, although I very much like Jonah Hill and I have never seen one episode of the original show. Some may argune that bromance comedies are happening too frequently now but I think as long as it is entertaining who cares? I liked the dynamic between the two and also some of the Easter eggs for fans ofFirst and foremost I came into this movie kind of biased. I borderline hate Channing Tatum, although I very much like Jonah Hill and I have never seen one episode of the original show. Some may argune that bromance comedies are happening too frequently now but I think as long as it is entertaining who cares? I liked the dynamic between the two and also some of the Easter eggs for fans of the series was nice as well. Definitely a movie worth seeing, though I don't see myself ever really wanting to see it more than once. Expand
  7. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    One of the greatest comedies I've seen in a while. Great acting by Jonah and Channing, great supporting cast (Ice Cube, Johnny Depp, etc.), and very true to the TV show. Well done.
  8. Apr 26, 2012
    3
    It's a movie with some fun parts but i wouldn't encourage anyone to watch it. This movie would be good for younger age groups but older people like 20+ with a good taste for movies it wouldn't be a a good movie to watch and would rather be a waste of time.
  9. Mar 16, 2012
    5
    Perhaps too sketchy, and even more satirical, "21 Jump Street" is a bro-comedy that, despite its leads' efforts, loiters in its own mocking pool; it soaks up some pop-culture residual, expells it with self-mimickry, and simpers back at the audience for having taken a swim in it. Though Hill and Tatum offer moments of begetting 80's nostalgia, as well as a vaguely remembered muck of aPerhaps too sketchy, and even more satirical, "21 Jump Street" is a bro-comedy that, despite its leads' efforts, loiters in its own mocking pool; it soaks up some pop-culture residual, expells it with self-mimickry, and simpers back at the audience for having taken a swim in it. Though Hill and Tatum offer moments of begetting 80's nostalgia, as well as a vaguely remembered muck of a TV-show--laden with car chases, well-worn high school scenarios (awkward proms, dopey faculty and staff, etc.) and predictable, slipshod dialogue and one-liners--the film resorts to much of the same, though out of parody, and its blatant, self-fulfilling, mocking cynicism becomes increasingly intolerant as it progresses. Moreover, the subject inevitably ends with recycled debris left over from, where else, the the "80's." Directed by Phil Lord and Chris Miller (the animated "Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs"), "21 Jump Street," is not all foolheaded bufoonery. A slimmer Hill (playing Schmidt) is funny as ever, reprising his usual rambling, neurotically-charged, verbose self, sticking to his "Superbad" character. Though, even more entertaining, not to mention surprising, is Tatum, who, unlike his usual unsupply, numb and ligneous expression and acting ability ("Step-Up," "Fighting," "G.I.Joe: Rise of the Cobra," "Dear John," "The Vow," etc.) he feels loose and unrestrained, and even comfortable as his character, Jenko. Towards the end, though, the film ultimately looses any effect it initially had to reel viewers in with, especially during the police training sequences, and, with the interpolation of all too-familiar, genre-specific penile and homosexual references, as well as a 8-10 minute preview of "Project X," featuring a chaotic teen party, thanks to screenwriter Michael Baccall (who also worked on 'X'), and a hackneyed prom night-meets-gun-fight close, "21 Jump Street" is the raunchy, filth-filled refuse that many, if not all of the Youtube-generation and reality-TV aficionados alike, will be applauding and praising for months to come. Then, one day once the dust has settled, and the diapers have been changed, will be relived again, only this time on 'F-X' reruns and 'TBS' "Dinner-and-a-Movies." It's funny, just not, "that" funny. Call me when grown men flirting with under-age high school adolescents is hilarious...wait....this world is getting there. Expand
  10. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    Very funny movie, would watch it again in a heartbeat, I took my mom and dad out to the show and they laughed Real hard. Must see movie. Very good twists and character development. Go see this flick.
  11. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    I went into this not expecting too much. A remake of an 80s series that isn't very well in todays world. I was shocked to find a gem of a movie. It's neo-humor about it being a remake and performances that really deliver much needed heart to the movie, will leave you happy with the finished product. Yes, it is not Shakespeare, but what you get is a fun 90-minute action-comedy in the veinI went into this not expecting too much. A remake of an 80s series that isn't very well in todays world. I was shocked to find a gem of a movie. It's neo-humor about it being a remake and performances that really deliver much needed heart to the movie, will leave you happy with the finished product. Yes, it is not Shakespeare, but what you get is a fun 90-minute action-comedy in the vein of Rush Hour or Pineapple Express. Well worth a viewing. I am sure there was a lot of unused footage, that I look forward to viewing on an extended blu-ray release. Highly recommended. Expand
  12. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    very funny movie. if you have watched the trailers it may seem like a stupid comedy that put its best material into a commercial, but this time it didn't. Can be even funnier to stoners/kids in school. i still loved this movie 10/10.
  13. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    So funny! I loved this! it wasn't one of those movies where the trailer was only funny. But this movie was hilarious the entire way through. it was stupid humour and I loved it!
  14. May 2, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "They hate me." In the director's cut of Almost Famous, we find out how much. On a high school marquee, in black caps, the message of the day reads: "William Miller is too young to drive or f***." The other students are pitiless toward the victim of this practical joke, but William manages a brief smile as he traverses the parking lot, alone, armed with a copy of Creem. Music makes him strong. During class, we see the boy's shrine, a blue portfolio covered with the names of his heroes in a graffiti-esque collage created with Bic ink. It's a work in progress, as we glimpse the starry-eyed child putting the final touches on the "n". William may love Led Zeppelin, but he's smart enough not to emulate Robert Plant. His hair is decidedly un-golden god-like. Over the hills and far away, in another high school, another generation, Schmidt, with his close-cropped bleached do, and bling, cultivates, none too successfully, the Eminem look. By embodying the machismo of the rapper, Schmidt works up the courage to approach a girl about the upcoming prom. Before the official invite is issued, though, the hottie stops him. That's because Schmidt is not Slim Shady; he's a nerd, and not even slim. Five years later, when the rookie cop and his buff partner go undercover as students, Schmidt's eventual transformation into a popular kid, retroactively, casts Fast Times at Ridgemont High as a sort of sequel to Almost Famous, because when Cameron Crowe returned to school as an investigative journalist, he was fully-formed, no longer the naive hero, the alter-ego of his bildungsroman, but actually somebody who was cool enough to infiltrate the cliques that mattered, after years of covering bands that mattered. In the Amy Heckerling film, Crowe doesn't have a stand-in; he's the omniscient student who knows Linda, the queen bee, well enough, apparently, to learn about her best friend Stacy, who ends up at an abortion clinic after a series of flings. Crowe's fictional self, while no longer a stranger to sex, due to the adult education he receives from the "Band-Aids" during a stopover in Greenville as a RS correspondent covering Stillwater, the then-screenwriter, despite being privy to an up close and personal look at the debauched lives of the rich and famous, nevertheless, still must have flinched like the rest of us, as Linda and Stacey talked graphically about sex in the cafeteria. Being 23, the scribe could only fantasize about Linda(like Brad), who in the film, emerges from the pool in a red bikini. Whose dream was that really? Because Crowe is unseen, the ethos of the film never gets addressed, like it does in 21 Jump Street, when Sgt. Dickson warns the cops about being chaste while on assignment, faintly echoing the advice given by Lester Bangs to his protege. When bridging the two films together(Almost Famous & Fast Times...), it's easy to imagine Crowe refashioning his mentor's words into something along the lines of "don't make friends with the high school girls." "Doug", the track star and theater brat, keeps a professional distance, but barely, when he comes perilously close to kissing Molly, at the moment that their prom plans get verified. She is Wendy to his Peter Pan, akin to Crowe and Ann Wilson(of Heart). As a point of reference, Schmidt fulfills his Eminem dreams of yesteryear by singing "I've Gotta CROW", rhyming like Mary Martin circa 1955. The "real Slim Shady" stands up. He's a romantic. The film's greatest irony is that Doug becomes popular by being himself, not a gangsta, even though 21 Jump Street pays homage to Donnie Brasco, none more cleverly than when the cop calls Molly on the phone, and nearly blows his cover. Whereas Joe Pistone learns that a wise guy never carries a wallet, Doug, in so many words, is told to text-message like any savvy teenager living in the digital age. Lefty Ruggiero represents the FBI agent, giving "Donnie" the credibility he needs to pervade the inner sanctum of a mafia crew. To his chagrin, Joe becomes Sonny Black's right-hand man. Similarly, Eric, a drug dealer, takes a shine to Doug(angering "Brad"), and introduces him to his supplier. Both men, in the process, lose themselves in the subculture, crossing the line from observer to participant, in which they find their humanity and attudinization melding into one. For the cop, this embarkation begins at a house party, where he gets stabbed during a melee between rival high school drug factions. The experience imprints him. In that instant, he becomes a stud. Likewise, Joe's metamorphosis into Donnie is inaugurated at a Japanese restaurant, where a waiter nearly gets pummeled to death in the bathroom, after the niceties of culture nearly blows his cover. Later, a lesson in mass vivisection pushes Joe to the brink. In Schmidt's case, it's a college application he plans on filling out. For Crowe, it could have been the moment that Linda sticks the carrot in her mouth. Expand
  15. Jun 16, 2012
    8
    Amazing movie . It so funny and the story was really really great . Jonah & Channing duo was so perfect . The were funny and awesome . The story was good , so was the direction . The movie started amazingly and went through superbly . Only the last Limousine was too much . It would be more good it the last scene would take place at the prom floor . Except for the the whole film was maybeAmazing movie . It so funny and the story was really really great . Jonah & Channing duo was so perfect . The were funny and awesome . The story was good , so was the direction . The movie started amazingly and went through superbly . Only the last Limousine was too much . It would be more good it the last scene would take place at the prom floor . Except for the the whole film was maybe the funniest movie of 2012 so far !
    There will be a sequel and I hope it would release in the next summer !
    Expand
  16. May 15, 2012
    9
    I was going into this move just thinking it was something to watch. But WOW this movie is hysterical. I couldn't stop laughing the entire movie. Not only is Jonah Hill as funny as I thought he would be but Channing Tatum put up some really funny moments. Not only is this a must see its a must Buy. You will not be disappointed with this movie. NOT for young kids.
  17. Aug 27, 2012
    8
    Really funny movie with some outrageous moments. Two opposite characters and actors worked quite well together. It is nothing serious. It is just a silly movie that leaves you with a lot of laughs.
  18. Jul 24, 2012
    6
    Why is the movie good? Because it doesn't take itself seriously. People who took it seriously, like nautico the hard marine, have no sense of humor. Anyway, I give this movie a 6, and nautico a 10 out of 10 in "boring".
  19. Aug 5, 2014
    0
    I actually wanted to see 22 Jump Street but after reading it was a sequel I went and watched this instead. It was a complete waste of my time, humor is immature and pathetic and acting is bad. At least I know not to waste my time on the sequel.
  20. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    This is definitely one of those movies where the trailer looks awful and then the movie totally redeems itself when you see it. Jonah Hill has never been funnier although Channing Tatum is even better than him. He's hilarious in this. It's got so many cliches in it, but that doesn't matter because the jokes are still pretty original even though some of the situations may seem familiar. IfThis is definitely one of those movies where the trailer looks awful and then the movie totally redeems itself when you see it. Jonah Hill has never been funnier although Channing Tatum is even better than him. He's hilarious in this. It's got so many cliches in it, but that doesn't matter because the jokes are still pretty original even though some of the situations may seem familiar. If you are 30+ you probably won't find it as funny, but there are still a lot of good jokes in it for everyone. I'm sure everyone who has seen the movie has one scene in mind that everyone in the theatre was dying from laughter. I won't give it away, but you'll know it when you see it. I haven't laughed so hard in a while. Heck of a flick Expand
  21. Mar 17, 2012
    6
    Hill and Tatum have excellent chemistry - would love to see them in a Lethal-Weapon-like sequel. And the teachers, Ice Cube, and Hill's love interest are all funny as hell. The self-aware jokes and humility in the script give it an endearing sweetness. It just seemed like the action sequences toward the middle and end of the film ran long - I found myself getting a hair bored at times.Hill and Tatum have excellent chemistry - would love to see them in a Lethal-Weapon-like sequel. And the teachers, Ice Cube, and Hill's love interest are all funny as hell. The self-aware jokes and humility in the script give it an endearing sweetness. It just seemed like the action sequences toward the middle and end of the film ran long - I found myself getting a hair bored at times. If they trimmed maybe 15 minutes of the fat, it would have been stronger. And lest I forget, little brother Franco has a real future in the biz. Expand
  22. Mar 24, 2012
    8
    I haven't laughed this hard at a movie in a long time. A very funny, and very entertaining movie. Sort of turned into an action movie at the end, but was still funny as it went along. See it in theatres if possible
  23. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    This movie was great for me because it took risks in many ways, and most comedies haven't been doing that lately, or doing it too much. 21 Jump Street did it perfectly. It did the classic tv show justice, but is certainly different. The plot was decent, the comedy was awesome, and little things kept people on their toes. Also, I would like to point out a great performance by James Franco'sThis movie was great for me because it took risks in many ways, and most comedies haven't been doing that lately, or doing it too much. 21 Jump Street did it perfectly. It did the classic tv show justice, but is certainly different. The plot was decent, the comedy was awesome, and little things kept people on their toes. Also, I would like to point out a great performance by James Franco's brother. I personally have no qualms with this film and plan on buying it soon. A must have for comedy fans. Expand
  24. Mar 16, 2012
    7
    Irrelevant and cheesy at times, the uproarious jokes in 21 Jump Street makes it so you don't even care about the unoriginal plot lines. Reminiscent of Superbad, 21 Jump Street will have you laughing throughout the movie as Jonah Hill and Channing Tatum deliver comedic performances beyond what I thought they were capable of. With the mix of Ice Cube, Johnny Depp cameo, and a very wittyIrrelevant and cheesy at times, the uproarious jokes in 21 Jump Street makes it so you don't even care about the unoriginal plot lines. Reminiscent of Superbad, 21 Jump Street will have you laughing throughout the movie as Jonah Hill and Channing Tatum deliver comedic performances beyond what I thought they were capable of. With the mix of Ice Cube, Johnny Depp cameo, and a very witty script, 21 Jump Street turns into a hilarious comedy not seen since Bridesmaids. Expand
  25. Mar 28, 2012
    8
    First things first, this may be hard to believe but Channing Tatum is actually genuinely good in this film. He shows an adeptness for comedy that many would not expect. Perhaps his performance is in part due to his role, as the dumb jock of the pair, being naturally made for him. On the flip side, Jonah Hill plays the intelligent nerd of the pair, again a natural persona, and also deliversFirst things first, this may be hard to believe but Channing Tatum is actually genuinely good in this film. He shows an adeptness for comedy that many would not expect. Perhaps his performance is in part due to his role, as the dumb jock of the pair, being naturally made for him. On the flip side, Jonah Hill plays the intelligent nerd of the pair, again a natural persona, and also delivers a strong script consistently packed with gags. Although the film treads the familiar path of 80's buddy movies with a plot reminiscent of Bad Boys, it does so with a strong sense of self-parody mixed in to the hilarious gross-out humour. At no point is this clearer than when the police chief revives the defunct undercover programme and comments that nobody has any original ideas anymore so all that is left to do is lazily repeat previous work, a fun poke at the films 80's TV series origin of the same name and similar plot. The films final third drags on slightly, with a few drawn out action sequences displacing the fun for marginally too long but all things considered 21 Jump Street is a good value laugh out loud comedy. In one line, Superbad meets Bad Boys. Expand
  26. May 20, 2012
    0
    The high rating is really disappointing. I have a fairly versatile sense of humor...I thought Superbad was funny mostly etc. and some of the newer things to come out...but this movie was just...not that funny imho. Considering the shape our country is in along with all the idiots who support a spineless gutless person in the WH...it's not a shock to see that a "comedy" like this is deemedThe high rating is really disappointing. I have a fairly versatile sense of humor...I thought Superbad was funny mostly etc. and some of the newer things to come out...but this movie was just...not that funny imho. Considering the shape our country is in along with all the idiots who support a spineless gutless person in the WH...it's not a shock to see that a "comedy" like this is deemed actually funny to some. All the low IQ folks who thinks stupidity and non funny occurances will enjoy it. Expand
  27. Apr 3, 2012
    5
    It was an ok movie it had a few funny points but not a lot. The plot was ridiculous, and the movies was filled with stupid cliches that weren't even funny. Do not recommend.
  28. Mar 22, 2012
    8
    I just wish they had tone down the profanity a tad bit, sometimes it kills the flow of the movie, simply because it gets overwhelmingly vulgar, this film was obviously catered to teen high-schoolers
  29. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    I haven't watched the old Johnny Depp days on "21 Jump Street." Ever since the FOX network debuted in the late 80's, I saw some great moments from the show and I finally rent the series on Netflix. Now I've heard that they make a big 21 Jump Street the same title as the TV series did, and it was great. I saw the trailer and it looked like a retrospective homage to "Buffy the VampireI haven't watched the old Johnny Depp days on "21 Jump Street." Ever since the FOX network debuted in the late 80's, I saw some great moments from the show and I finally rent the series on Netflix. Now I've heard that they make a big 21 Jump Street the same title as the TV series did, and it was great. I saw the trailer and it looked like a retrospective homage to "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" meets "Fast Times at Richmond High," But it's one of the best TV adaptations turned into a movie since "Charlie's Angels." Jonah Hill and Channing Tatum were incredibly funny, Ice Cube is hillarious, I might check it out this week. I wish the old 21 Jump Street could be bringing back on TV for re-runs. Expand
  30. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    As soon as the movie starts it a non-stop joy -ride. As soon as you see Jonah Hill dressed like Eminem (Rapper), you will laugh you head off. As soon as you see Tatum in long hair you will laugh even harder.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew Lapin
    Mar 19, 2012
    70
    The devil-may-care attitude is what makes 21 Jump Street so entertaining.
  2. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    Mar 18, 2012
    50
    Directors Phil Lord and Chris Miller (Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs) seem to be after the gentle irreverence of David Gordon Green's buddy flick "Pineapple Express," but without his sensitivity and attention to character the movie quickly grows monotonous.
  3. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    Mar 16, 2012
    60
    With Hill on co-scripting duties with Scott Pilgrim scribe Michael Bacall, 21 Jump Street was always going to live or die by its gags. Fortunately, it boasts that sweet-yet-dirty comedy that Hill revels in.