User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 652 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 652

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 4, 2012
    7
    Hilarious, but overrated. "21 Jump Street" got its charisma, but some of the jokes were undeniably overused and quite boring (not to mention the overplayed trailer). To say that "21 Jump Street" is the male version of "Bridesmaid" is disagreeable.

    As much as I enjoyed the simple, yet hilarious story line, I couldn't help but the characters were quite mindless and their personalities
    Hilarious, but overrated. "21 Jump Street" got its charisma, but some of the jokes were undeniably overused and quite boring (not to mention the overplayed trailer). To say that "21 Jump Street" is the male version of "Bridesmaid" is disagreeable.

    As much as I enjoyed the simple, yet hilarious story line, I couldn't help but the characters were quite mindless and their personalities changed throughout the film. However, Jonah Hill was spectacularly funny. I enjoy his talented performance in a nerdy role. While Tatum's recent hard work, who appeared in many movies lately, was not bad at all.
    Expand
  2. Apr 3, 2012
    8
    First off, i was impressed with this movie. I didn't think this movie would be good when i first saw the trailer. Yeah it had its funny parts (in the trailer) but i truly felt like i watched the entire movie from the theatrical trailer. I was wrong. This movie was hilarious and it had a good plot to it as well. This is very unusual once it comes to comedies nowadays. Movies like Project XFirst off, i was impressed with this movie. I didn't think this movie would be good when i first saw the trailer. Yeah it had its funny parts (in the trailer) but i truly felt like i watched the entire movie from the theatrical trailer. I was wrong. This movie was hilarious and it had a good plot to it as well. This is very unusual once it comes to comedies nowadays. Movies like Project X are just stupid because its alllll about teen partying, whereas in 21 jump street, you have multiple plots going on at once. This movie actually made you care about the characters which almost never happens in comedies today. 21 jump street had a very good story, very good acting by Channing Tatum (who i usually don't like at all) and from Jonah Hill who i think (excluding the sitter) has really stepped up his acting since his award worthy performance in Moneyball. This movie was of course, absolutely hilarious. Ice cubes character was small but memorable because he was just plain awesome. The film gets a bit cheesy with drama and such at some points but thats about the only flaw. This is the funniest movie of the year and one of the funniest in a very long time. I'll give 21 Jump Street an 8/10 Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2012
    3
    Maybe im just too mature, or maybe just need to lower my standars when going to the movies, because this film did not make me laguh one bit. Like it was ok but in this day and age i just need to give up the fact that Hollywood is never going to produce a memorable comedy, or movie for tht matter. Too each their own I GUESS.
  4. Apr 3, 2012
    5
    It was an ok movie it had a few funny points but not a lot. The plot was ridiculous, and the movies was filled with stupid cliches that weren't even funny. Do not recommend.
  5. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    Every bit as entertaining as the previews, if not more. The only reason my score is not a 10 is because I had to suffer through Channing Tatum's horrendous acting. Jonah Hill did well in this movie because it's in his wheelhouse. This has to be one of the more successful comedies i have seen. Not to mention the easter egg was hilarious!
  6. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I absolutely loved this movie. It was a great comedy with great character development, and plenty of dirty sex jokes. I was actually quite surprised when I saw this. With most comedies, what they show in the trailer is the only funny parts of the movie. With this, I was laughing my butt off the whole way through. My only problem was the fact that it was a very predictable movie and the ending can be guessed correctly very early in the show. Highly recommend! Expand
  7. Apr 1, 2012
    6
    Movie was OK. I found that it drags on at times and some of the jokes are pretty cheesy. But good acting all around. One thing I thought was kind of weird was how a guy 7 years out of high school would fall in love with a high school senior... yeah... But it's still a decent movie with plenty of laughs if you're looking for a way to spend the afternoon or evening.
  8. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    So funny! I loved this! it wasn't one of those movies where the trailer was only funny. But this movie was hilarious the entire way through. it was stupid humour and I loved it!
  9. Mar 29, 2012
    3
    Awful. We walked out after 45 minutes - That's how long we gave it the benefit of the doubt. What a waste of time and money. Jonah Hill is funnier than that (not to call 21 Jump Street funny at all), and Channing Tatum is....I dunno, a beefcake or whatever. What the **** is with all the green (critic AND user)? Don't tell me this passes for funny. For me it passed for Are We There Yet? ItAwful. We walked out after 45 minutes - That's how long we gave it the benefit of the doubt. What a waste of time and money. Jonah Hill is funnier than that (not to call 21 Jump Street funny at all), and Channing Tatum is....I dunno, a beefcake or whatever. What the **** is with all the green (critic AND user)? Don't tell me this passes for funny. For me it passed for Are We There Yet? It even had Ice Cube! Ice Cube is a thespian of the highest caliber and should be showered with statues. There, I said it. Expand
  10. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    As soon as the movie starts it a non-stop joy -ride. As soon as you see Jonah Hill dressed like Eminem (Rapper), you will laugh you head off. As soon as you see Tatum in long hair you will laugh even harder.
  11. Mar 28, 2012
    8
    First things first, this may be hard to believe but Channing Tatum is actually genuinely good in this film. He shows an adeptness for comedy that many would not expect. Perhaps his performance is in part due to his role, as the dumb jock of the pair, being naturally made for him. On the flip side, Jonah Hill plays the intelligent nerd of the pair, again a natural persona, and also deliversFirst things first, this may be hard to believe but Channing Tatum is actually genuinely good in this film. He shows an adeptness for comedy that many would not expect. Perhaps his performance is in part due to his role, as the dumb jock of the pair, being naturally made for him. On the flip side, Jonah Hill plays the intelligent nerd of the pair, again a natural persona, and also delivers a strong script consistently packed with gags. Although the film treads the familiar path of 80's buddy movies with a plot reminiscent of Bad Boys, it does so with a strong sense of self-parody mixed in to the hilarious gross-out humour. At no point is this clearer than when the police chief revives the defunct undercover programme and comments that nobody has any original ideas anymore so all that is left to do is lazily repeat previous work, a fun poke at the films 80's TV series origin of the same name and similar plot. The films final third drags on slightly, with a few drawn out action sequences displacing the fun for marginally too long but all things considered 21 Jump Street is a good value laugh out loud comedy. In one line, Superbad meets Bad Boys. Expand
  12. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    I must say, I was skeptical at first, but now .. wow. I'm in love. Truly amazing. Just so very heart warming, especially the friendship between the two. I mean such a funny, lovely, sweet and action packed film. The very point of it all, the reason why I liked this movie as much as I did is that it's not your every day movie. It contains parts and aspects that you can't see ahead. ReallyI must say, I was skeptical at first, but now .. wow. I'm in love. Truly amazing. Just so very heart warming, especially the friendship between the two. I mean such a funny, lovely, sweet and action packed film. The very point of it all, the reason why I liked this movie as much as I did is that it's not your every day movie. It contains parts and aspects that you can't see ahead. Really different and interesting. I suggest you find time and see this unbelievable movie. Hope you like it. Expand
  13. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    I loved this movie and so did everyone else I brought with me. From the sound of it, most of the theater we were in loved it as well. Channing and Jonah were a good funny combo. Without a doubt, this is one of the funniest movies I have seen in a long time. Don't go in expecting a brilliant cop drama with some humor. This is dumb entertainment that several times makes fun of itself andI loved this movie and so did everyone else I brought with me. From the sound of it, most of the theater we were in loved it as well. Channing and Jonah were a good funny combo. Without a doubt, this is one of the funniest movies I have seen in a long time. Don't go in expecting a brilliant cop drama with some humor. This is dumb entertainment that several times makes fun of itself and similar movies. Expand
  14. Mar 25, 2012
    7
    Good comedy overall but some parts of the plot was just stupid and had nothing to do with the movies overall plot. Channing supprised me by his comidic skills and johnah never stops impressing me.
  15. Mar 25, 2012
    0
    Maybe it was my fault for being a boring person, but this didn't make me laugh once in the entire movie. Jonah was ok, but Channing, stick to drama please.
  16. Mar 25, 2012
    8
    This comedy snuck up on my ad I'd heard almost nothing about it before release, but I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. People claiming Channing Tatum as a breath of fresh air to the comedy scene are slightly over selling it though. While he does an adequate job, most of the amusement in the film is thanks to Jonah Hill and the supporting cast. While not a classic, this movie is wellThis comedy snuck up on my ad I'd heard almost nothing about it before release, but I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. People claiming Channing Tatum as a breath of fresh air to the comedy scene are slightly over selling it though. While he does an adequate job, most of the amusement in the film is thanks to Jonah Hill and the supporting cast. While not a classic, this movie is well worth a watch and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a light hearted comedy.

    Follow me on Twitter @VizualDze for review updates and other thoughts.
    Expand
  17. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    This is definitely one of those movies where the trailer looks awful and then the movie totally redeems itself when you see it. Jonah Hill has never been funnier although Channing Tatum is even better than him. He's hilarious in this. It's got so many cliches in it, but that doesn't matter because the jokes are still pretty original even though some of the situations may seem familiar. IfThis is definitely one of those movies where the trailer looks awful and then the movie totally redeems itself when you see it. Jonah Hill has never been funnier although Channing Tatum is even better than him. He's hilarious in this. It's got so many cliches in it, but that doesn't matter because the jokes are still pretty original even though some of the situations may seem familiar. If you are 30+ you probably won't find it as funny, but there are still a lot of good jokes in it for everyone. I'm sure everyone who has seen the movie has one scene in mind that everyone in the theatre was dying from laughter. I won't give it away, but you'll know it when you see it. I haven't laughed so hard in a while. Heck of a flick Expand
  18. Mar 25, 2012
    6
    The reason I liked this movie was because it wasn't afraid to make fun of itself and other "teen" movie stereotypes along the way. It wasn't outrageously funny, but it wasn't dull either. It kept a nice lighthearted pace with some belly laughs in between. If I had laughed more, I would have gone up in my rating, but it's a solid movie that is worth seeing.
  19. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    Basic rules for this movie. If you like risqué jokes, inappropriate humor, crude jokes...you'll love this. If you don't, you won't like this movie. Funny, fast-paced and a great storyline...I absolutely loved this one.
  20. Mar 24, 2012
    8
    I haven't laughed this hard at a movie in a long time. A very funny, and very entertaining movie. Sort of turned into an action movie at the end, but was still funny as it went along. See it in theatres if possible
  21. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    This movie was an all out romp! The best movie Jonah has done since Superbad, and it was surprising to say that after this movie, Channing is on my comedy movie radar! The movie is **** hilarious and takes a surprisingly violent twist at the end! Amazing!
  22. Mar 24, 2012
    9
    I thought this movie would be terrible when I saw the first previews months ago, but I gave the movie a shot and was pleasantly surprised. I couldn't imagine Channing Tatum being funny, but his chemistry with Jonah Hill is perfect. The movie is pretty over the top, but it works. For every scene that is ridiculous, there is a scene that brings the movie back down to Earth. EssentiallyI thought this movie would be terrible when I saw the first previews months ago, but I gave the movie a shot and was pleasantly surprised. I couldn't imagine Channing Tatum being funny, but his chemistry with Jonah Hill is perfect. The movie is pretty over the top, but it works. For every scene that is ridiculous, there is a scene that brings the movie back down to Earth. Essentially this movie boils down to Hill and Tatum reliving their high school years, but it somehow doesn't come across as being too cliche despite the millions of high school movies out there. The movie even gets more entertaining as it goes on. Ice Cube plays their angry black captain and is pretty damn funny, although he doesn't come close to being as funny as P. Diddy in Get Him to the Greek. Is this movie a classic? No. However, it's been a long time since I've seen a movie as funny as this so it deserves a lot of credit. Comedies are on the decline, and 21 Jump Street just re-raised the bar for the genre. Expand
  23. Mar 24, 2012
    3
    I must admit that I am baffled by the high marks the users of this website are giving this movie. Has everyone had a drink of the Kool-Aid except for me? This wasn't the worst film I've seen, but it ranks pretty high on my list! The script is a mess. It felt as if they allowed a group of very immature 13-year-old boys write an R-rated script. The terrible and witless dialog was lacedI must admit that I am baffled by the high marks the users of this website are giving this movie. Has everyone had a drink of the Kool-Aid except for me? This wasn't the worst film I've seen, but it ranks pretty high on my list! The script is a mess. It felt as if they allowed a group of very immature 13-year-old boys write an R-rated script. The terrible and witless dialog was laced with gratuitous obscenities that were so awkward and painful to listen to that I could hear my heart groaning and moaning. If it weren't for the friends I was with I would've left long before the end of this movie. If the theater had a dental office I would have chosen to have root canal rather than sit through another minute of this bile! What happened to the "character development"? What happened to continuity? The filmmaker couldn't decide what kind of movie he wanted to make...was this a drama with bits of comedy? Was this a slapstick comedy with "heart"? Was this a cartoon? They wanted to capture the essence of "Kick-Ass" but missed completely! Expand
  24. Mar 23, 2012
    8
    Loved it too as I laughed out loud. If you are looking for a fun popcorn movie this is it. Everyone did an outstanding job. Just don't take it too seriously and you will have lots of fun.
  25. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    Very funny movie, would watch it again in a heartbeat, I took my mom and dad out to the show and they laughed Real hard. Must see movie. Very good twists and character development. Go see this flick.
  26. Mar 22, 2012
    8
    I just wish they had tone down the profanity a tad bit, sometimes it kills the flow of the movie, simply because it gets overwhelmingly vulgar, this film was obviously catered to teen high-schoolers
  27. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    I haven't cried and laughed this hard in a long time. Absolutely amazing. I can't believe how low the rating is on this movie. The entire theater was laughing non-stop.
  28. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    There is so much that could have gone wrong with this movie, but thanks to everyone involved, and especially Jonah Hill, (who co-wrote the intelligent script) make it a memorable gem. Honestly I haven't seen a film that had me laughing this much for years. Balancing whip-smart satire and meta-comedy with the immaturity of high school lets '21 Jump Street' transcend it's genre. This worthThere is so much that could have gone wrong with this movie, but thanks to everyone involved, and especially Jonah Hill, (who co-wrote the intelligent script) make it a memorable gem. Honestly I haven't seen a film that had me laughing this much for years. Balancing whip-smart satire and meta-comedy with the immaturity of high school lets '21 Jump Street' transcend it's genre. This worth seeing in theatres for the audience participation, (it had the packed theatre in stitches and clapping during the funniest parts), and worth seeing in general for the great script. In addition, Jonah Hill and Channing Tatum are one of the funniest comedy teams in years, Jonah Hill plays a reversal of most of his roles while Tatum plays the deadpan delivery for some of the biggest laughs in the movie. Tatum may have just found a new genre for himself, and proves he's a better actor than his typical fare has led us to believe, and returns to the glory of his "Stop-Loss" performance. Overall, "21 Jump Street" is original, hilarious and continually surprising. Expand
  29. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    As witty as it is funny, 21 Jump Street manages to fire on all cylinders throughout. Satisfying comedy fans and action fans, this film transcends genres very well. A well crafted story as well as a cast that rivals any movie in Hollywood, and you have a winning combination. Besides the beginning sequence, the movie is well paced and allows you to follow every joke and punchline withoutAs witty as it is funny, 21 Jump Street manages to fire on all cylinders throughout. Satisfying comedy fans and action fans, this film transcends genres very well. A well crafted story as well as a cast that rivals any movie in Hollywood, and you have a winning combination. Besides the beginning sequence, the movie is well paced and allows you to follow every joke and punchline without any trouble. The comedy is clever and the acting is handled extremely well. This is a rare movie that had me laughing all the way through and one that I wouldn't mind seeing again in theaters. I recommend it to anybody that wants a laugh and is looking for a good movie to see with your significant other or friends. Classic comedy that will be referenced for years to come! Expand
  30. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Comedy classic for me. Everything works. I was surprised at how funny ice cube and channing were. Didnt think they could handle comedy that good, but they both pulled it off with flying colors. This is non-stop laughter from beginning to end. In the same vein as 40year old virgin, pinapple express raunchy comedies.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew Lapin
    Mar 19, 2012
    70
    The devil-may-care attitude is what makes 21 Jump Street so entertaining.
  2. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    Mar 18, 2012
    50
    Directors Phil Lord and Chris Miller (Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs) seem to be after the gentle irreverence of David Gordon Green's buddy flick "Pineapple Express," but without his sensitivity and attention to character the movie quickly grows monotonous.
  3. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    Mar 16, 2012
    60
    With Hill on co-scripting duties with Scott Pilgrim scribe Michael Bacall, 21 Jump Street was always going to live or die by its gags. Fortunately, it boasts that sweet-yet-dirty comedy that Hill revels in.