Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jun 12, 2014
    88
    A hugely enjoyable shambles. It’s a comic deconstruction of that most useless of Hollywood artifacts — the blockbuster sequel — that refuses to take itself seriously on any level, which, face it, is just what we need as the summer boom-boom season shifts into high gear.
  2. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Jun 12, 2014
    83
    “22” merits a B grade. The long final credits, in which Dickson imagines dozens of future scenarios for the undercover boys, kicks it up one notch.
  3. Reviewed by: Jeff Baker
    Jun 12, 2014
    83
    Just think back to everything that was funny in "21 Jump Street." It's exactly the same.
  4. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Jun 3, 2014
    83
    Suffice it to say that it is a cannily-constructed film, and it does have a bigger "movie" feel than the first film. There are places where they swing for some big jokes that don't quite work, but the ambition is dizzying all the way through.
  5. Reviewed by: Oliver Lyttelton
    Jun 2, 2014
    83
    22 Jump Street might not be quite as good as "21 Jump Street," but it's remarkably close, to the point where subsequent viewings could see it elevated above its predecessor.
  6. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jun 12, 2014
    80
    A great deal of insanity ensues, none of which would work if Tatum and Hill weren't so disarming in their roles. Their level of comfort with the characters and each other helps 22 click.
  7. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Jun 12, 2014
    80
    More is more and is, at times, just right in 22 Jump Street, an exploding piñata of gags, pratfalls, winking asides, throwaway one-liners and self-reflexive waggery.
  8. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jun 11, 2014
    80
    22 Jump Street is, ultimately, a celebration of the silly and the sweet, a combination that's welcome again and again.
  9. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Jun 9, 2014
    80
    22 Jump Street is a success, as there is a little good ol’ fashioned “heart” beneath its post-modern veneer.
  10. Reviewed by: Jamie Graham
    Jun 8, 2014
    80
    Bigger and better – 22 Jump Street joins the exclusive list of sequels that out-gun their originals. We’re already knocking at the door of no.23.
  11. Reviewed by: Nick de Semlyen
    Jun 8, 2014
    80
    Rare is the film that understands the pleasures of letting an enraged Ice Cube take out his wrath on an all-you-can-eat buffet. And which other blockbuster in 2014 would interrupt its climactic car chase to lob in a gag about Benny Hill?
  12. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jun 6, 2014
    80
    It certainly provides that rarest of things: relaxing enjoyment. In all its uncompromising goofiness, 22 Jump Street brings onstream a sugar-rush of entertainment.
  13. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Jun 5, 2014
    80
    This excellent film is a sequel and knows it, and wants us to know that it knows it.
  14. Reviewed by: Ben Nicholson
    Jun 3, 2014
    80
    22 Jump Street is hugely successful in retaining - and in many instances, improving upon - the qualities of it predecessor and pitching some jokes that will still have people chuckling for days afterwards.
  15. Reviewed by: Inkoo Kang
    Jun 3, 2014
    80
    A few of the self-referential gags get recycled one too many times, but an exuberant buoyancy — and the belly-laugh-a-minute pacing of the jokes — makes 22 Jump Street a hilarious highpoint of an already quite funny summer season.
  16. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Jun 3, 2014
    80
    It's laugh-packed, self-aware in a manner that lets everyone in on the joke, and goofily satisfying in the action department.
  17. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Jun 3, 2014
    80
    22 Jump Street hits far more often than it misses, and even when it misses by a mile, the effort is so delightfully zany that it’s hard not to give Lord and Miller an “A” for effort.
  18. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Jun 13, 2014
    75
    Filmmakers Phil Lord and Chris Miller (who are themselves impressive partners at this point) know enough not to mess with a successful formula.
  19. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 13, 2014
    75
    It's a self-aware movie that makes fun of the macho clichés it indulges.
  20. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jun 12, 2014
    75
    This is a sequel that wears its well-worn formula, mocking inside jokes and gleeful taste for overkill proudly, flying the high-lowbrow flag for audiences that like their comedy just smart enough to be not-too-dumb.
  21. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 12, 2014
    75
    The car chases are unremarkable, but the stunts — which comically juxtapose Tatum's athletic grace and Hill's stocky clumsiness — are a hoot.
  22. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 12, 2014
    75
    Thanks to this team of merry pranksters, 22 Jump Street hurts so good.
  23. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 12, 2014
    75
    22 Jump Street is exactly what comedy is today. It's coarse, free-flowing and playful.
  24. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 12, 2014
    75
    The sharp writing and tag-team antics lift 22 Jump Street to a high level.
  25. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 12, 2014
    75
    The movie wouldn’t work, of course, without the chemistry between Hill and Tatum, an unlikely duo who share a tremendous charisma.
  26. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 12, 2014
    75
    Be sure to hang around for the closing credits, which imagine all sorts of "Jump Street" sequels to come.
  27. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 12, 2014
    75
    22 Jump Street is a mixed bag of clever spoofery and miscalculated outrageousness. The unveiled homoeroticism of practically all interaction between Jenko and Schmidt is amusing to the point when it isn't.
  28. Reviewed by:  Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Jun 11, 2014
    75
    A comedy about sequels. Like its predecessor, the movie continually teeters on the edge of breaking through the fourth wall.
  29. Reviewed by: Bill Zwecker
    Jun 11, 2014
    75
    There are certainly a lot of actors who can match Hill and Tatum as comic actors, but it’s the oddball connection between these two that makes for a very entertaining couple of hours at the movies.
  30. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jun 11, 2014
    75
    This comedy produces the biggest, loudest laughs of any movie this summer.
  31. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 16, 2014
    70
    22 Jump Street is hardly fresh, but the picture has enough energy to get by.
  32. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jun 12, 2014
    70
    The best comic turns are by the Afro-Asian twins Keith and Kenny Lucas, whose timing is eerie and superb.
  33. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 12, 2014
    70
    The repetitions are meant as a sort of metajoke, and it works well enough, more often than not, though heightened levels of raunch and chaos seem not so much meta as frantic.
  34. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Jun 11, 2014
    70
    22 Jump Street squeezes every last drop of comic inspiration it can get from Tatum and Hill, as well as the very notion of a sequel to such a superfluous enterprise.
  35. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 5, 2014
    70
    22 Jump Street isn't uncharitable or mean-spirited; at worst, it's just confused. Tatum is, predictably, adorable. His Jenko is a pumped-up naïf bumbling through life with a crooked smile, and Hill again makes a great sparring partner.
  36. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Jun 11, 2014
    67
    To cover up the script's lack of originality, screenwriters Michael Bacall, Oren Uziel, and Rodney Rothman pummel us with a string of self-aware meta-commentary jokes that poke fun at bloated sequels.
  37. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jun 13, 2014
    63
    There are times when 22 Jump Street is borderline brilliant. Unfortunately, those instances are outnumbered by segments that don't work for one reason or another.
  38. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jun 13, 2014
    63
    22 Jump Street's scattershot approach to comedy is rooted in the belief that for every anatomical, scatalogical, sexual, or pop-cultural reference and pun gone awry, another will stick to the wall like, um, bodily fluid.
  39. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 13, 2014
    60
    Here's the crazy thing, though. Against all odds, it works.
  40. 60
    At its best, 22 Jump Street is less an action comedy than a loosely plotted revue, and though it’s not as witty as either Joe Dante’s "Gremlins 2: The New Batch" or Edgar Wright’s "Hot Fuzz" (in which the directors evinced genuine love for their chosen genres), it’s sure as hell better than a straight buddy-cop sequel.
  41. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jun 12, 2014
    60
    22 Jump Street is the good-natured, sloppily rendered pile of balderdash for that moment, a movie that’s immune to all criticism and not worth bothering to dislike.
  42. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 12, 2014
    60
    The laughs are what keep the film together, even when the conceit feels been-there-done-that.
  43. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Jun 3, 2014
    60
    22 Jump Street knows how to play to its strengths: Tatum’s performance here is even more puppy-dog lovable than last time, and his scenes with Hill possess a goofy, low-key warmth too often lacking in big-budget comedy.
  44. Reviewed by: Louis Black
    Jun 11, 2014
    50
    An unusually fun and funny film.
  45. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jun 11, 2014
    50
    What’s the difference between “21 Jump Street” and 22 Jump Street? Same as the difference between getting a 21 and a 22 at blackjack.
  46. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    Jun 9, 2014
    50
    As funny and batshit insane as the movie often is, the fact that 22 Jump Street knows it's a tiresome sequel doesn't save it from being a tiresome sequel, even as Lord and Miller struggle to conceal the bitter pill of convention in the sweet tapioca pudding of wall-to-wall jokes.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 189 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 54
  2. Negative: 4 out of 54
  1. Jun 19, 2014
    10
    all i can say about this movie: the most hilarious comedy of the year! i really liked "21 Jump Street". it caught me by surprise, cause it was hilarious and awesome! but "22 Jump Street" is even better. in this movie, Schmidt and Jenko go undercover in college to stop a new drug ring for happening. like i said, this movie was hilarious, and it's even better cause it addresses it. first of all, Jonah Hill and Channing Tatum. these 2 dudes are the best! they got perfect chemistry with each other. and i really loved what they did to their characters in this movie, like it's kinda like a fork-road situation where they're like "Are we really what we want?" also, Ice Cube's in the movie, and he's awesome and hysterical too. there's this one scene where Ice Cube just melts down and i was like "it would've been even better if this guy could rage and melt down on almost everything". also, this movie has the best and funniest end credits ever! not only was the whole movie hilarious, but thanks to the end credits, it's comedy gold! the end credits are hysterical! i was laughing so much, i was like crying. and whenever a sequel pulls that off, that's a win. my main gripe with "22 Jump Street" is that it felt like it had a lotta plot points that were the same with this first movie. that kinda pulled me outta the movie a little bit, i was like "What? Really?" it kinda felt like it was rehashing the first movie a little bit. but all that aside, like i said: "22 Jump Street" is the most hysterical buddy-cop comedy we got so far this year. and i'll be damned if this wasn't better than the first movie, cause yea it was better and funnier. (with the most hysterical end credits ever!) Full Review »
  2. Jun 13, 2014
    9
    honestly, I was so surprised with how good it was because i knew it was going to be funny but not as funny as that I have not seen a better comedy like that in..god knows how long. The movie was funny, exciting and the best part was the twists and turns in the movie i mean the movie itself is the same case from 21 jump street so you would think its funny but not as good as the first one. Also many comedies do make a sequel if they are successful such as anchorman, Bruce almighty etc and they aren't as good as the first one but 22 jump street..oh no it was fantastic so far out of seeing the biggest movies this year X men, Godzilla, Spider man etc also being a Die hard marvel fan this movie was the best i've seen this year i haven't laughed this much at a comedy and i have not witnessed a audience laugh as much also. I don't want to explain the plot because you just need to see it seriously this weekend go and see it and you will get what im on about. W_D2014 is my second acc didn't know how to delete a review so i re uploaded it Full Review »
  3. Jun 13, 2014
    9
    Honestly, I was so surprised with how good it was because i knew it was going to be funny but not as funny as that I have not seen a better comedy like that in..god knows how long. The movie was funny, exciting and the best part was the twists and turns in the movie i mean the movie itself is the same case from 21 jump street so you would think its funny but not as good as the first one. Also many comedies do make a sequel if they are successful such as anchorman, Bruce almighty etc and they aren't as good as the first one but 22 jump street..oh no it was fantastic so far out of seeing the biggest movies this year X men, Godzilla, Spider man etc also being a Die hard marvel fan this movie was the best i've seen this year i haven't laughed this much at a comedy and i have not witnessed a audience laugh as much also. I don't want to explain the plot because you just need to see it seriously this weekend go and see it and you will get what im on about. Full Review »