Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: December 19, 2002
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 229 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
202
Mixed:
16
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JoshCFeb 3, 2007
In the 25th hour, Mr. Lee exercises his prodigious visual talents with unusual restraint, and keeps some of his more confrontational urges in check. Because the movie is so measured, so melodic, its bursts of wild invention, which might In the 25th hour, Mr. Lee exercises his prodigious visual talents with unusual restraint, and keeps some of his more confrontational urges in check. Because the movie is so measured, so melodic, its bursts of wild invention, which might otherwise be irritating, are electrifying. The ending, narrated by Mr. Cox, is as bittersweet and sincere an evocation of the American dream as I have seen on film in quite some time, acknowledging both the futility of the collective national fantasy and its consoling, resilient power. Almost as touching is a moment when Monty, staring into a men's room mirror, launches into a profane tirade against his fellow New Yorkers (and everyone else). His rage is impressively ecumenical, encompassing blacks, brutal police officers, gays, Osama bin Laden, the rich, the poor and every other ethnic or social type you can think of: all of them put down with ruthless, scabrous precision. The rant recalls a famous sequence in ''Do the Right Thing'' and also Eminem's more recent invocation, in ''White America,'' of ''so much anger aimed/in no particular direction just sprays and sprays.'' But like Eminem's rhymes, Monty's outburst, and the montage that accompanies it, contain tenderness as well as hate. Mr. Lee, an irreplaceable New York filmmaker, understands better than most that the true New Yorker's deep, exasperated and unquenchable love for his city is sometimes best expressed in the language of rage. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AxeFishApr 28, 2013
This certainly isn't a movie that I would want to watch together with friends. Instead of trying to grab your attention with visual-heavy scenes, this movie mainly consists of conversations. It's about a realistic scenario and how the peopleThis certainly isn't a movie that I would want to watch together with friends. Instead of trying to grab your attention with visual-heavy scenes, this movie mainly consists of conversations. It's about a realistic scenario and how the people affected by it are dealing with it. And I really like the movie for that. It's different from what I usually watch.
The conversations are also very realistic. There are some scenes that were kind of unnecessary but still blew me away by how these characters talked to each other. A lot of times I thought to my self: "Yea, I could see my self taking part of that conversation." Although the drug mobster is kind of overblown.
I can see why people find this movie boring. It's not for everyone. If you're the type of guy that can sit down for 2 hours and listen to people talk to each other about what they think will happen to them and what they're afraid of instead of them taking part in action scenes, then give this movie a shot. I certainly really enjoyed it.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MelindaV.Jan 4, 2007
It was an awesome movie, with an awesome plot. Lee did a wonderful job on this one.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ConstarB.Jul 9, 2003
Loved every bit of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelM.Oct 23, 2004
I don't like Spike Lee that much. I don't think he is a very talented director. In his whole career I only liked three films he has made... 1) Jungle Fever; 2) Summer of Sam; 3) 25th Hour. Despite Spike Lee I really loved this I don't like Spike Lee that much. I don't think he is a very talented director. In his whole career I only liked three films he has made... 1) Jungle Fever; 2) Summer of Sam; 3) 25th Hour. Despite Spike Lee I really loved this film. The highlight of the film is definetly Edward Norton's absolutley riveting performance! Other good performances by Philip Seymour Hoffman, Barry Pepper and Brian Cox. The movie, although very disturbing, actually is wildly entertaining. The only part of the movie I hated was the annoying D.E.A. agent who had an absolutley dreadful high nasley voice. I was very surprised Edward Norton didn't get nominated for a Golden Globe for his performance. But you never know, he may get nominated for an Academy Award ... but knowing the Academy, I wouldn't hold my breath. If you haven't already seen this movie, go see it now! (1/23/03) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeG.Jan 10, 2003
Alright, this film was very interesting. There were great performances by Norton, however his character was under-developed.The main thing I enjoyed about this film was how Lee, had all of this post-911 influence in the background. It made Alright, this film was very interesting. There were great performances by Norton, however his character was under-developed.The main thing I enjoyed about this film was how Lee, had all of this post-911 influence in the background. It made you think of what this world has went through, and how we have been dealing with it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndyD.Feb 12, 2003
A truly amazing piece of work. Spike Lee can make someone walking down the street more interesting and beautiful then most movies. A great story based on what must be a well written book. I like that you'll think well watching the movie A truly amazing piece of work. Spike Lee can make someone walking down the street more interesting and beautiful then most movies. A great story based on what must be a well written book. I like that you'll think well watching the movie and that Spike doesn't try to push to much onto the viewer. I'll buy it as soon as it's on DVD. Go see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanM.Feb 8, 2003
I test you--find a movie with more to say than "25th Hour" in 2002. You won't. Lee mends this piece into something magnificent, one of the best movies of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JukkaR.Apr 6, 2003
Simply put, a good film. But not for brainless action fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MathieuD.Jun 13, 2003
Good performances, interesting storyline. An overall interesting society critic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattZ.Jun 7, 2003
I was into the movie from start to finish. what a great film! as i watched the film i expected something rediculous to happen but it never did which is why the film is so good. most movies you can predict. this one was so simple that all ofI was into the movie from start to finish. what a great film! as i watched the film i expected something rediculous to happen but it never did which is why the film is so good. most movies you can predict. this one was so simple that all of my guesses of what was going to happen were wrong. and i love to be wrong. the camera angles and views were terrific. also, the film touched base on real life problems. norton is shaping into one of the best actors of this century. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VincenzoC.Jul 16, 2003
Ed Norton did it again!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Feb 10, 2004
Great direction, great actors, deep and touching, congratulation mr. lee.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanC.Apr 30, 2004
I just saw this movie yesterday and I was completely blown away! This is Lee's best work since Malcolm X! Every single actor is perfect! Ed Norton's monologue is one of the most memorable moments of the new milennium!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngelM.Jul 4, 2004
What a great movie. Spike Lee's directing is superb and Edward Norton's performance is as great as usual. If you think this movie was "too strong" for you, your ignorant. Lee told it how it is!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
pamb.May 23, 2005
Execellent!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LanceN.Oct 20, 2006
Great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
pabloe.Oct 23, 2007
This movie got me from the start. The intensity of the human drama is very high, like in a Bergman movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EddieC.Oct 6, 2003
This movie was one of the most moving films i have ever seen. It keeps me thinking for days after seeing it each time. It tributes and depicts new york fantastically and being a native new yorker i see this movie as a fantasy but at the same This movie was one of the most moving films i have ever seen. It keeps me thinking for days after seeing it each time. It tributes and depicts new york fantastically and being a native new yorker i see this movie as a fantasy but at the same time so incredibly true. Do you know how many Boys in a private NY H.S. that seem to have it all going and use their intelligence for something so easy and rewarding as dealing drugs? Its crazy but true, i grew up in that scenario and sometimes these "good boys" go to far and pay the ultimate price. Loss of love, friends, family, self. This movie impacted me greatly and lead me to think again about my actions, especially when the viewer has his father whom he loves and would never want to let down, his lover he never wants to leave, his best friends since childhood who would do anything for him but regret they didint do something sooner, and his "other friends" who are not realy friends at all. I was moved and enthralled by this fantastic movie about the greatest city in the world and all the s**t that goes down in it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WheelerFeb 28, 2003
I enjoy "conversation" films and this is the best I've seen in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
YippieK.Mar 29, 2003
Very interesting characters and good music in a great film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulieT.May 1, 2003
Wow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JasonZ.May 27, 2003
This is a great film - with amazing performances from Dawson, Hoffman, Pepper, and Cox. Norton is okay, but lacks the typical fire & depth of a Lee protagonist. Lee's directorial vision is simply capitivating as he seamlessly blends This is a great film - with amazing performances from Dawson, Hoffman, Pepper, and Cox. Norton is okay, but lacks the typical fire & depth of a Lee protagonist. Lee's directorial vision is simply capitivating as he seamlessly blends authentic "real" dialogue between characters we quickly CARE about with one of the best film soundtracks of all time. Lee has much to say about our post-9/11 culture in The 25th Hour ... and most of it's not good or nationalistic. Those of you expecting a film with a beginning, middle or end will be disappointed. This is about a "day in the life". There are no happy endings. Just pain and uncertainty. If you can watch this film and somehow get comfortable with the pain, then you will hear what the film is trying to tell you ... we have lost our innocence in this country and we don't yet know how to respond. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JanS.Jun 21, 2003
This was a riveting film, with the poignancy and loss of 9-11 woven into a story about regrets. The acting was superior, the directing was Lee at his stylized best, and the music was especially moving - underscoring the sadness of the story. This was a riveting film, with the poignancy and loss of 9-11 woven into a story about regrets. The acting was superior, the directing was Lee at his stylized best, and the music was especially moving - underscoring the sadness of the story. I would love to own a copy of the soundtrack. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeT.Jun 22, 2003
This is a very powerful movie. I have no clue how Brian L. could say that there was no depth to the characters played by great actors. Maybe if you had stayed for the entire movie, you wouldn't be so ingorant about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JustnJul 27, 2003
"ed norton did it again!". that says it all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RichardDec 23, 2002
Talky and downbeat, but not without considerable rewards. Excellent performances from most of the cast, particularly Norton and Pepper. Using post-9/11 New York as a backdrop for people who seem stuck and unable to change is daring, Talky and downbeat, but not without considerable rewards. Excellent performances from most of the cast, particularly Norton and Pepper. Using post-9/11 New York as a backdrop for people who seem stuck and unable to change is daring, sometimes feels shoehorned in typical Spike Lee style, but ultimately adds worthy weight to the story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreaDec 11, 2003
That was Great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JessFeb 23, 2003
Edward Norton is awesome in this movie like he was in Fight Club. I love the whole line he said when looking in the mirror.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RachelApr 29, 2003
Good movie, i would have liked to see nortons charcter be more passionate and show a bigger range of emotion, dawson did nothing except for pout and look frustrated the whole movie, barry pepper was awsome and had great screen presence, iGood movie, i would have liked to see nortons charcter be more passionate and show a bigger range of emotion, dawson did nothing except for pout and look frustrated the whole movie, barry pepper was awsome and had great screen presence, i dont see how the whole student teacher lust thing fit into the plot at all , a good movie with a bad ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhatManJun 26, 2003
I loved this movie. Very different from all the crap coming out these days.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Som3oneyoushouldlistentoJul 27, 2004
Norton and Pepper are great... the story is realistic and the use of the city is perfect. The use of the music is just sugar(hill) on top.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JonT.Dec 21, 2002
Inspired but uneven. Some great performances by Norton, Pepper, Hoffman and Paquin. A couple of classic scenes. Norton cursing at himself and everything else in a bathroom mirror. The "seduction" sequence between Paquin as a sexy student and Inspired but uneven. Some great performances by Norton, Pepper, Hoffman and Paquin. A couple of classic scenes. Norton cursing at himself and everything else in a bathroom mirror. The "seduction" sequence between Paquin as a sexy student and Hoffman as her uptight teacher is hilarious and wonderfully acted. I'd like to see Paquin in Hoffman in another film again. Good movie. Could've been great, often is. But not enough. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
lordslayerNov 8, 2014
it does bloody grabs you from the start, one of the best first scenes in cinema history if you ask me.

However the mid of the film felt slow to me, was plannin on giving it a 6 but the last scene really redeemed it and got it an extra
it does bloody grabs you from the start, one of the best first scenes in cinema history if you ask me.

However the mid of the film felt slow to me, was plannin on giving it a 6 but the last scene really redeemed it and got it an extra point.

so, really awesome start and perfect ending, if only the journey was as captivating..
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ZiggyStardustJul 3, 2011
The one scene where Norton's character is talking to himself in the mirror of that restaurant is the one that totally sold me on this film. It was pretty good until that point but when that happened I was blown away. Great film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleDec 29, 2014
When it comes to 25th Hour, this one succeeds in spite of Spike Lee. One of my least favorite directors for the way he randomly interjects race into films that are not about race at all, he manages to largely keep his mouth shut in this one,When it comes to 25th Hour, this one succeeds in spite of Spike Lee. One of my least favorite directors for the way he randomly interjects race into films that are not about race at all, he manages to largely keep his mouth shut in this one, though he did add some very useless elements of racism that just did absolutely nothing for the plot in classic Spike fashion. Now, luckily for him, the film has a very interesting plot and storyline that Lee does tell well, but the true reason why 25th Hour is so successful is the acting. Truly a great cast, Edward Norton, Barry Pepper, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Rosario Dawson, Brian Cox, and Anna Paquin, are all awesome in this one and truly carry it. Norton and Hoffman are two of my favorite actors of all-time, but yet I cannot help but feel as though Pepper kind of stole the show a little bit. He was just that good. Emotionally powerful at many different times, 25th Hour is a riveting tale of man facing his last 24 hours of freedom before going to prison for seven years and on the back of the acting, this one soars in spite of Lee's attempts to try and mess it all up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
askewreviewsJun 19, 2013
The 25th Hour is a faithful adaption, sticking closely to the novel. The only real deviation is Spike Lee's inclusion of the aftermath of the 9/11 attacks and the event's effect on NYC, and it's done masterfully. The acting is superb acrossThe 25th Hour is a faithful adaption, sticking closely to the novel. The only real deviation is Spike Lee's inclusion of the aftermath of the 9/11 attacks and the event's effect on NYC, and it's done masterfully. The acting is superb across the board, the pacing near-perfect and it all adds up to one of the most moving films I've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheFilmDoctorMar 22, 2016
A little king of New York turned outcast princeling, Edward Norton wanders through a purgatory of his own design in the Spike Lee-directed 25th Hour, enjoying (if the word applies) one last day of freedom before serving a seven-year sentenceA little king of New York turned outcast princeling, Edward Norton wanders through a purgatory of his own design in the Spike Lee-directed 25th Hour, enjoying (if the word applies) one last day of freedom before serving a seven-year sentence on felony drug charges. The story, which David Benioff adapted from his own novel, unfolds mostly over the course of that one day, but it's enough to reveal a lifetime. The gifted son of an Irish firefighter-turned-bartender (Brian Cox), Norton entered his ill-fated life of crime one easy step at a time. Neither the quiet disapproval of his lifelong friends (Barry Pepper, as a high-stakes stockbroker, and Philip Seymour Hoffman, as a lonely high-school English teacher) nor the love of a good woman (Rosario Dawson) could steer him away from it. From a tasteful Manhattan apartment, beneath an unknowingly ironic Cool Hand Luke poster, he became an inconspicuous criminal, the drug lord as Harper's subscriber. Now his reign has ended, and the business of living has become considerably less pleasant. Telling what's essentially a story of introspection, Lee lets Norton drape his reflections over a whole city. Norton and his friends go about their day against the backdrop of a New York still unsteady from the recent attacks of Sept. 11, a phase in the city's history captured in The 25th Hour with almost journalistic detail. Where a less disciplined filmmaker might have used this merely to echo his characters' frames of mind, Lee sets up a complicated relationship between the city and its inhabitants, particularly Norton, who at one point explodes in a hateful monologue that barely hides the love beneath it. But love it or hate it, he knows he has to leave it, and that knowledge gives every moment a clear sense of urgency. It doesn't hurt that all of the performances are, at the least, remarkable. Norton creates a character who seems fully capable of the offenses he commits, and just as capable of the crippling regret he struggles to keep at bay. After all, one small change anywhere along the line, and things could have turned out differently. The film at its simplest serves as a cautionary tale, but it also functions as a meditation on how little it takes to redirect a life by choice or by chance: A woman could fall for a shameless volley of flirting, or a sideline business dealing pot could turn into a career dealing heroin, or a plane could fall from the sky, or the police could knock on the door and everything could change. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews