Fox 2000 Pictures | Release Date: January 18, 2008
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 118 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
51
Mixed:
44
Negative:
23
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
4
magnesiumgJan 27, 2009
I watched this back to back with Enchanted on an airplane. Guess what? Enchanted, with the talking cartoons was actually the better movie. Strangely both featured an actor / actress from Grey's Anatomy. Apparently having left the safe I watched this back to back with Enchanted on an airplane. Guess what? Enchanted, with the talking cartoons was actually the better movie. Strangely both featured an actor / actress from Grey's Anatomy. Apparently having left the safe confines of Seattle Grace, Katherine Heigl is neither as sweet nor as charming as she is on the show. I felt that her character wasn't innocent enough to warrant the sympathy, nor was she sarcastic enough to be funny. The ending was clever, but the rest of the plot was only middling at best. Watch only if your strapped onto a chair for a intercontinental flight, and all other options are exhausted. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
TaylorCJan 30, 2008
My girlfriend decided she wanted to see this movie, and naturally I was brought along expecting to have to endure a couple hours of a trite, predictable movie. My initial impressions of the movie turned out to be correct (mainly the My girlfriend decided she wanted to see this movie, and naturally I was brought along expecting to have to endure a couple hours of a trite, predictable movie. My initial impressions of the movie turned out to be correct (mainly the predictability), but I was surprised by the fact that I ended up somewhat enjoying the movie. Though my opinion of the movie is probably augmented due to the fact that the last movie I saw before it was One Missed Call (ugh). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
RachelF.Mar 15, 2008
The movie was average, neither good nor bad. I enjoyed Katherine Heigl's acting. I predict that she will soon join other actresses such as Reese Witherspoon as America's Sweethearts. Although both Heigl and co-star James Marden The movie was average, neither good nor bad. I enjoyed Katherine Heigl's acting. I predict that she will soon join other actresses such as Reese Witherspoon as America's Sweethearts. Although both Heigl and co-star James Marden were enjoyable, I felt that this movie was too predictable. Everything happened just as one would have suspected. Loved the stars, not so much the plotline. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MichaelM.Feb 19, 2008
Cliche and passable at best. It's everything you would expect (or feared). A giggle or two can be found, but outside of that, hardly worth the price of admission.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
MorganF.Aug 2, 2008
Predictable, but surprisingly funny. Used nearly cliche in the book. The end really made me mad though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CarolH.May 7, 2008
Heigl is not believable as the lonely single girl pining away for her oblivious boss--she's way too attractive! Her monstrous sister suddenly turning into the model of common sense at the end completely turned me off and ruined what Heigl is not believable as the lonely single girl pining away for her oblivious boss--she's way too attractive! Her monstrous sister suddenly turning into the model of common sense at the end completely turned me off and ruined what little ending there was. Can chick flicks not insult our intelligence??? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LaurensJan 20, 2009
It's a cute enough movie to watch every now and then. It wasn't superb, it wasn't terrific, but it wasn't horrible. All in all, it is generally a movie with mixed emotions, but with cute scenes. It's good, but comedy It's a cute enough movie to watch every now and then. It wasn't superb, it wasn't terrific, but it wasn't horrible. All in all, it is generally a movie with mixed emotions, but with cute scenes. It's good, but comedy is also limited. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JeffS.Jan 31, 2008
A middle-of-the-road romantic comedy for me, though my wife enjoyed it considerably more. Acting wasn't bad, but the attempts at humor didn't resonate with me. Again, though, my wife (and a female friend) both found this movie A middle-of-the-road romantic comedy for me, though my wife enjoyed it considerably more. Acting wasn't bad, but the attempts at humor didn't resonate with me. Again, though, my wife (and a female friend) both found this movie quite funny. It was worth the time and money, but it's not near my favorite romantic comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LuisG.Feb 18, 2008
Heigl is for me the closest thing to Julia Roberts since Reese Witherspoon ala sweet home Alabama. Heigl makes an honest impression on you but unlike many other actresses shes not forgettable hope to her blossom with grace... Marsden is lone Heigl is for me the closest thing to Julia Roberts since Reese Witherspoon ala sweet home Alabama. Heigl makes an honest impression on you but unlike many other actresses shes not forgettable hope to her blossom with grace... Marsden is lone overdue for a leading role a shame his role was sort of bland. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KayleighmsMar 28, 2008
With little imagination (think
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ZalJan 11, 2012
It was OK. I didn't like it much but I can't bring myself to hate it. I will say this: There is nothing new in this movie. Well, except for the fact that this is the first movie I've seen where James Marsden gets the girl in the end. That was it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JawsLaxerDramaDec 21, 2012
This is not a bad movie. However, it's not the best either. Chalk full of cliches, old-time metaphors, and the feeling that this sort of movie has been filmed before; it's not all bad. There is laugh to be heard here and there. It was disapointing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
awesomefastguyJul 31, 2014
I'd like to start this review making a point that one would think is obvious. '27 Dresses' is a rom-com. It is the most typical rom-com you will find. Anyone who gave this a bad reviews obviously doesn't like rom-coms. It is filled to theI'd like to start this review making a point that one would think is obvious. '27 Dresses' is a rom-com. It is the most typical rom-com you will find. Anyone who gave this a bad reviews obviously doesn't like rom-coms. It is filled to the brim with cliches and I imagine that most people can predict the entire plot of the film within the first twenty minutes. Despite this, I like romantic comedies. They are brainless, fun and pass the time. As they go, this is the perfect rom-com; it was well written, has an adorable ending and has two or three particularly funny gags. I'm not saying this film is amazing, because it's not; there are plenty of moments where there are no good jokes and it could easily be funnier with a better script. What I'm saying is that if a person likes chick-flicks/ rom-coms, they will almost certainly enjoy this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
TheFilmDoctorMar 22, 2016
It's not easy to be a beauty and a funny girl — a va-va-voom body tends to distract from the jokes. But Katherine Heigl has the knack — look at Knocked Up. Just don't look here. Heigl fights an uphill battle in 27 Dresses, a chick-flickIt's not easy to be a beauty and a funny girl — a va-va-voom body tends to distract from the jokes. But Katherine Heigl has the knack — look at Knocked Up. Just don't look here. Heigl fights an uphill battle in 27 Dresses, a chick-flick compendium of wedding cliches that will have every guy bolting for the exits. Screenwriter Aline Brosh McKenna also wrote The Devil Wears Prada, but she's dipped her sharp wit in sentimental syrup. It helps to have Judy Greer around as Heigl's acid-tongued BFF. But McKenna and director Anne Fletcher (Step Up) make a fatal error. They want us to believe that the gorgeous Heigl is a plain Jane who saves her bridesmaid dresses — all twenty-seven of them — while stoking her unrequited love for her macho boss (Ed Burns). Not buying it. Even James Marsden, so good in Enchanted and Hairspray, can't put any zip into the role of a cynical wedding columnist who morphs unpersuasively into our girl's Prince Charming. 27 Dresses is so flimsy it gives froth a bad name. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews