27 Dresses

27 Dresses Image
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 115 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Jane has always been good at taking care of others, but not so much in looking after herself. Her entire life has been about making people happy – and she has a closet full of 27 bridesmaid dresses to prove it. One memorable evening, Jane manages to shuttle between wedding receptions inJane has always been good at taking care of others, but not so much in looking after herself. Her entire life has been about making people happy – and she has a closet full of 27 bridesmaid dresses to prove it. One memorable evening, Jane manages to shuttle between wedding receptions in Manhattan and Brooklyn, a feat witnessed by Kevin, a newspaper reporter who realizes that a story about this wedding junkie is his ticket off the newspaper’s bridal beat. Jane finds Kevin’s cynicism counter to everything she holds dear – namely weddings, and the two lock horns. Further complicating Jane’s once perfectly-ordered life is the arrival of younger sister Tess. Tess immediately captures the heart of Jane’s boss, George. Tess enlists her always-accommodating sister to plan yet another wedding – Tess and George’s – but Jane’s feelings for him lead to shocking revelations…and maybe the beginning of a new life. (20th Century Fox) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Predictable but utterly engaging, 27 Dresses will likely be remembered as the film that made Katherine Heigl an A-list star.
  2. It delivers everything you expect on a timetable you can predict to the minute. It's filmmaking as a cross between a carefully choreographed dance and an elaborate pageant.
  3. 63
    A sporadically entertaining cupcake of a movie.
  4. 27 Dresses dutifully privileges its formulaic plot over its stick-figure characters, slapping a happy ending on a setup that, say, "Happiness" director Todd Solondz could have gone to town on.
  5. 50
    Katherine Heigl makes an official bid for America's Sweetheart in her sophomore effort, 27 Dresses, a romantic comedy that -- despite her undeniable, apple-cheeked appeal -- sags like a day-old bouquet.
  6. 50
    No worse and no better than the majority of chick flicks.
  7. It gets worse and worse as it goes along and finally ends just as it's becoming unbearable.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 41
  2. Negative: 9 out of 41
  1. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    very emotional, cry a lot, and katherine is great. it was predicted as all romantic movies, but it is unique, in dialogue and direction.
    I love it!
  2. Judith
    Feb 5, 2008
    8
    I thought it was tremendous fun.
  3. StephanieC
    Feb 8, 2008
    8
    I saw this with my friend, and we enjoyed it quite a lot. Yes, it's predictable because it is a romantic comedy. But let me say this, it I saw this with my friend, and we enjoyed it quite a lot. Yes, it's predictable because it is a romantic comedy. But let me say this, it was not as cheesy or stupid as it could have been. It felt semi-realistic. And more importantly, it made me laugh. Oh yea, and we were glad she ended up with the much cuter journalist. Expand
  4. Jul 31, 2014
    6
    I'd like to start this review making a point that one would think is obvious. '27 Dresses' is a rom-com. It is the most typical rom-com youI'd like to start this review making a point that one would think is obvious. '27 Dresses' is a rom-com. It is the most typical rom-com you will find. Anyone who gave this a bad reviews obviously doesn't like rom-coms. It is filled to the brim with cliches and I imagine that most people can predict the entire plot of the film within the first twenty minutes. Despite this, I like romantic comedies. They are brainless, fun and pass the time. As they go, this is the perfect rom-com; it was well written, has an adorable ending and has two or three particularly funny gags. I'm not saying this film is amazing, because it's not; there are plenty of moments where there are no good jokes and it could easily be funnier with a better script. What I'm saying is that if a person likes chick-flicks/ rom-coms, they will almost certainly enjoy this film. Expand
  5. Dec 21, 2012
    5
    This is not a bad movie. However, it's not the best either. Chalk full of cliches, old-time metaphors, and the feeling that this sort of movieThis is not a bad movie. However, it's not the best either. Chalk full of cliches, old-time metaphors, and the feeling that this sort of movie has been filmed before; it's not all bad. There is laugh to be heard here and there. It was disapointing. Expand
  6. Zal
    Jan 11, 2012
    4
    It was OK. I didn't like it much but I can't bring myself to hate it. I will say this: There is nothing new in this movie. Well, except forIt was OK. I didn't like it much but I can't bring myself to hate it. I will say this: There is nothing new in this movie. Well, except for the fact that this is the first movie I've seen where James Marsden gets the girl in the end. That was it. Expand
  7. MonoApe
    Apr 3, 2008
    0
    Utterly predictable. Cringingly not funny. Uses every cliché known to lazy scriptwriters. I'm sure I came out more stupid than I went in.

See all 41 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.