Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 354 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: When a group of animal rights activists frees primates from a research facility, a deadly virus which causes murderous behavior is unleashed.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. A first-rate zombie movie. The best tribute I can offer is that it makes you want to go out directly afterward and down some expensive single-malt scotch.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    88
    The genuine article, a hard-core horror picture from start to finish... Prepare to get seriously stresed.
  3. 88
    Boyle and screenwriter Alex Garland plumb the violence of the mind with slashing wit and shocking gravity. Happy nightmares.
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    75
    A damn-near great end-of-the-world zombie movie, terrifying on the basic heebie-jeebie level, respectful toward its B-movie forebears, and all the more unnerving for coming out in this fretful era of SARS and germ warfare.
  5. 75
    A tough, smart, ingenious movie that leads its characters into situations where everything depends on their (and our) understanding of human nature.
  6. 70
    Heir to a long tradition of apocalyptic scare stories, the film wears its influences proudly.
  7. 30
    Unrelentingly grim, unremittingly gross and unforgivably unattractive, 28 Days Later is an orgy of troubling images and bestial sound effects.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 161
  1. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    Hands down, the best horror movie ever made since The Shining in 1980. Danny Boyle proves his versatility as a director with this movie, mixing a love story with real, intense scares. The scenery is memorable, as is the phenomenal John Murphy soundtrack. I highly recommend this movie. Also, in response to some of the negative comments on here, the cameras were intentionally rough until the end of the movie. I felt it added confusion and harshness to the most intense parts. Expand
  2. May 6, 2011
    10
    Fantastic horror film. I daresay there hasn't been a zombie film this good since the original Dawn of the Dead. What really makes it work is the utterly desolate atmosphere, and the convincing desperation of the performers. Scary but not reliant on gore, this is a class act. One of the best horror films in decades. Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    This movie was outstanding it has a very strong political message and it is very well structure Love the directing style for this film. David Boyle did an outstanding jib with directing it. The cast is good but the only problem is it might be boring to some people. Overall this film is one of my favorite zombie films, its different this movie isn't supposed to be action pack, this is the beginning of the zombie apocalypse. I love the multiply cam shots in the streets. You should watch this film if you like good movies. Expand
  4. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    The film explores the human's most basic needs and instincts. Among them are, the fight for one's individual survival at all costs, and the need for a perspective on the future of humankind, even if that would lead to detaining and raping the last few women. Interstingly, one of the characters in the movie claims that people have killed each other since the birth of humankind, and that therafter nothing has changed since the arrival of zombies. This claim is open for interpretation and might imply that our kind's rage against one another will eventually lead to our own apocalypse. Another character suggests that due to the short time men have inhabitated Earth, the world will go back to normalcy after the extinction of the humans. Nevertheless, the movie is by far not nihilistic, but also claims that love for one another is our most important need, and therefore gives life a purpose even in the most dire situations. A great, and at times intense, low budget movie. Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2011
    8
    One of the very few zombie or horror films that are actually scary and suck you in into a post-apocalyptic world where you are helpless and scared to death. Expand
  6. Jan 23, 2013
    7
    Although I thought the movie was great, it didn't actually scare me all that much. It was more of a thriller than it was a horror film. What really got me was the sheer brutality of it all, The ending was somewhat disappointing, but it can be overlooked. Expand
  7. Aug 26, 2013
    4
    This movie was very, very boring. I was not impressed with the storyline or the acting. The movie contains a naked man laying on a hospital bed. Some language. Expand

See all 161 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best Horror Films Since 2000

    Ranked: The Best Horror Films Since 2000 Image
    Published: October 28, 2010
    From Sam Raimi's "Drag Me to Hell" to more comedic efforts like "Shaun of the Dead," the past decade has seen a number of solid new entries in the horror canon. We run down the 15 best-reviewed horror movies from the past ten years.