28 Weeks Later

28 Weeks Later Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 438 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: 28 Weeks Later, the follow up to 28 Days Later, picks up six months after the rage virus has annihilated the Mainland Britain. The U.S. Army declares that the war against infection has been won, and that the reconstruction of the country can begin. As the first wave of refugees return, a28 Weeks Later, the follow up to 28 Days Later, picks up six months after the rage virus has annihilated the Mainland Britain. The U.S. Army declares that the war against infection has been won, and that the reconstruction of the country can begin. As the first wave of refugees return, a family is reunited, but one of them unwittingly carries a terrible secret. The virus is not yet dead, and this time, it is more dangerous than ever. (Fox Atomic) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. A ferociously entertaining thriller with sympathetic characters, stunning set pieces and pulsating excitement.
  2. There's no better fun for movie lovers than a small, unheralded film that turns out to be terrific -- unless it's a small, unheralded sequel that trumps the original.
  3. 28 Weeks Later has a stronger story line, equally fine performances, greater tension, enough gore to satisfy the most hard-core zombie fan, and a narrative pace that flings us from the opening scenes to the very last image.
  4. 80
    This sequel to the apocalyptic splatter flick "28 Days Later" . . . (2002) is still well equipped to rip your face off.
  5. 28 Weeks Later is flawed -- the constant reappearance of one key character verges on the absurd -- but it knows where it's going, and it gets there in a chilling blaze of fire, blood and poisonous fog.
  6. 75
    Hold on for a hell of a ride.
  7. Deals with emotional concerns for half an hour. Then it turns into a mindless bloodfest, where it's impossible to care which characters end on the zombie gore-gasbord.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 190
  1. LarryB
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    No, Conor B., how misleading Metacritic users can be. Are you serious? You're suggesting that a zombie movie is...implausible? Are you No, Conor B., how misleading Metacritic users can be. Are you serious? You're suggesting that a zombie movie is...implausible? Are you kidding me? You're an idiot. Zombie movies aren't supposed to be about realism. They're supposed to be scary and intense, and that's exactly what 28 Weeks Later was. Stick to the more important George Clooney type movies with realistic situations and realistic people. Or, you know, you could just go outside and experience realistic situations yourself, but those aren't that entertaining, are they? And, Harry G., what they hell are you talking about? There were only a few scenes that even used CG.... Most of the people underrating this excellent movie don't even know what the hell they are talking about: they're either enraged that this movie is a sequel (and all sequels MUST suck, it's a traditional POV to take on all sequels) or they're upset over the lack of realism...in a movie about zombies. I'll stick with the critics, thanks. Expand
  2. StephenM
    May 17, 2007
    10
    I was honestly blown away. 28 Days Later owned me...and this just couldn't have exceeded my expectations more. There is not a single I was honestly blown away. 28 Days Later owned me...and this just couldn't have exceeded my expectations more. There is not a single optimistic moment in this movie- and it's glorious to see in a world where movies almost always acheive some happy ending. I was intrigued the entire movie and felt that it ended perfectly too- the director didn't bother to add too much or, conversely, leave out some necessary things. 28 Weeks Later is well worth your money...and all of your friends' money too. Expand
  3. TerryO.
    May 31, 2007
    9
    Great portrayal of a worst-case infectious disease outbreak. Although some of the science/public health was a little off, for the most part Great portrayal of a worst-case infectious disease outbreak. Although some of the science/public health was a little off, for the most part it was outstanding. Outstanding cross between "Outbreak" and "Dawn of the Dead"! Expand
  4. TonyS.
    May 12, 2007
    8
    Much Better then what I was expecting. True, there is a lot more gore in this film then the last. However, to my surprise it stayed real and Much Better then what I was expecting. True, there is a lot more gore in this film then the last. However, to my surprise it stayed real and never got cheesy. A Worthy Sequel! Expand
  5. ColbyS.
    May 12, 2007
    7
    Jarring and unpleasant, but still a good movie. The critics were wrong about it surpassing the first one, though, as this one lacks the sense Jarring and unpleasant, but still a good movie. The critics were wrong about it surpassing the first one, though, as this one lacks the sense of isolation that made 28 Days Later so effective. Expand
  6. AMovieCritic
    May 12, 2007
    5
    Alright, I haven't seen 28 Days Later so I'm not comparing this to that. Keep that in mind. 28 Weeks Later was an extremely Alright, I haven't seen 28 Days Later so I'm not comparing this to that. Keep that in mind. 28 Weeks Later was an extremely well-directed, very intense, very bleak, and very dreary horror movie with no hope in sight and nothing but endless darkness and despair. The director did a great job with this movie. The problem is....it is almost too effective for its own good. The movie's just completely depressing. I realize that was the point and the filmmakers did a great job with it, but I still go to movies to be entertained (even horror movies,) and this movie just didn't entertain. I honestly can't recommend it to people. Now...if you do go to movies to be depressed, then by all means, see this, because there's no hope in sight whatsoever for any of these characters and there are some really intense and scary moments in here. But it's a downer. It just isn't a movie I'd recommend to people. It's just so bleak and hopeless that it ended up not being enjoyable for me. Expand
  7. AudleyS.
    May 21, 2007
    0
    The opening is astounding, but this terrifying rush soon turns into a plodding and implausible plot in which the characters are little but The opening is astounding, but this terrifying rush soon turns into a plodding and implausible plot in which the characters are little but tired emotional stereotypes and are frankly so negligent and stupid that they all deserved their brutal fates. The infra red scene in the underground station was an unintentional high comedy homage to "most Haunted" and what started off as grim horror ended up as pure farce. The basic premise is the biggest hole in the plot. Stupid, unintentionally funny and a damned shame. Expand

See all 190 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best Horror Films Since 2000

    Ranked: The Best Horror Films Since 2000 Image
    Published: October 28, 2010
    From Sam Raimi's "Drag Me to Hell" to more comedic efforts like "Shaun of the Dead," the past decade has seen a number of solid new entries in the horror canon. We run down the 15 best-reviewed horror movies from the past ten years.
  2. The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best

    The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best  Image
    Published: August 27, 2016
    We rank this summer's highest-grossing films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.