Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 93 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 30
  2. Negative: 10 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Feb 20, 2014
    75
    Without Costner’s movie star equity, this thing could have fallen apart in the first 30 minutes. He keeps us involved, even as we’re thinking: Wait, WHAT just happened?
  2. 63
    Daft and sloppy as it is, 3 Days rarely fails to entertain.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Feb 19, 2014
    50
    Although it’s not impossible to mix humor and violence, as “Midnight Run” proves, it isn’t easy — as 3 Days to Kill proves. Points for effort all the way around, and welcome back, Costner. Let’s hope things get better from here.
  4. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Feb 25, 2014
    50
    Of course, the movie doesn't work. But Costner does. No matter now nonsensical and uneven 3 Days to Kill gets, he's miraculously consistent.
  5. Reviewed by: Steve Davis
    Feb 26, 2014
    40
    The central conceit in 3 Days to Kill – the family man moonlighting as a gun-for-hire – is hardly a fresh one. It worked in films released 10 or 20 years ago (see True Lies or Mr. and Mrs. Smith), but here it feels played out, clichéd.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Feb 20, 2014
    38
    The result is a convoluted mess that has one good twist and two good car chases. But it's hardly enough to bring this spy flick in from the cold.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Feb 20, 2014
    20
    It only comes alive when the star briefly shows the casual looseness that once was his calling card.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 33
  2. Negative: 6 out of 33
  1. Aug 19, 2014
    10
    Directed by McG, written by Luc Besson, lead acting by Kevin Costner...perfect combination!!! It was a thriller not in the usual HollywoodDirected by McG, written by Luc Besson, lead acting by Kevin Costner...perfect combination!!! It was a thriller not in the usual Hollywood formula. The lead character shows weakness and major flaws, but is a full and well rounded person. Of course the plot line is implausible, but the dialogue and pace of the the movie kept it engaging! I don't see any steals from the movie "Taken". Instead, there's alot of originality in the movie. Plus, the soundtrack fits the movie perfectly, especially the song "Love it or Leave it". This movie is full of surprises, that only Luc Besson can do. The editing is superb. Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2014
    7
    This film has quite an unusual mix of action, violence, comedy and schmaltz. Its not great but I found it entertaining and it held my interestThis film has quite an unusual mix of action, violence, comedy and schmaltz. Its not great but I found it entertaining and it held my interest for the entire time. Its a film that doesn't take itself seriously and has some funny moments. Its a different twist on the usual action movies and I liked it for being a bit different to the norm. Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2014
    7
    Kevin Costner is making a comeback and he's just as hot as ever. This movie was action filled and fun to watch, that you ignore some of theKevin Costner is making a comeback and he's just as hot as ever. This movie was action filled and fun to watch, that you ignore some of the unrealistic parts. Definitely worth the watch in the theater. Expand
  4. Feb 24, 2014
    5
    I don't know what's good for Luc Besson, even though Kevin Costner might've saved his comeback for another Oscar run. But it seems to me likeI don't know what's good for Luc Besson, even though Kevin Costner might've saved his comeback for another Oscar run. But it seems to me like he wants to take a page out of Liam Neeson's "Taken" scoresheet on becoming the bad ass that he is today. 3 Days to Kill is like Blown Away ripped off by Die Hard as to joining a member of the AARP special agents club. The acting is great, but the story is boring and not enough gas in the tank for McG (you know, the guy 5 years ago killed the Terminator series into oblivion in Salvation) and Besson to copy what's left of "Taken." But on the good side, the action scenes were pretty good. So I'm not so sure about this film, but I'll have to wait for "Non-Stop" instead. Rent "3 Days To Kill." Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2014
    5
    The family drama and action doesn't blend well at all, but 3 Days to Kill soars due to Kevin Costner's fantastic performance and the level ofThe family drama and action doesn't blend well at all, but 3 Days to Kill soars due to Kevin Costner's fantastic performance and the level of entertainment it provides however implausible it is. Expand
  6. May 10, 2014
    4
    Borrow heavily from Taken and while Costner and his fellow talented cast members try their hardest to deal with the terrible dialogue andBorrow heavily from Taken and while Costner and his fellow talented cast members try their hardest to deal with the terrible dialogue and generic plot, They just can't over come that hump. The needlessly long run time, 2 hours, puts a damper on things and they focus far more on needless sub-plots than they do the action scenes, Which are actually quite good.

    I think with a better plot to it, A bit more originality, 3 Days To Kill easily could have been the start of another Taken like series but sadly that is not the case. It's not that it's a bad movie, It's the fact that it wastes so much potential that is the real disappointment.
    Expand
  7. Mar 2, 2014
    0
    I wasn't really a fan of this movie. When I first heard of it I thought I would really enjoy it but upon reading the story line of it II wasn't really a fan of this movie. When I first heard of it I thought I would really enjoy it but upon reading the story line of it I thought it was stupid and pointless Expand

See all 33 User Reviews

Trailers