Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 30
  2. Negative: 10 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Feb 20, 2014
    75
    Without Costner’s movie star equity, this thing could have fallen apart in the first 30 minutes. He keeps us involved, even as we’re thinking: Wait, WHAT just happened?
  2. 63
    Daft and sloppy as it is, 3 Days rarely fails to entertain.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Feb 19, 2014
    50
    Although it’s not impossible to mix humor and violence, as “Midnight Run” proves, it isn’t easy — as 3 Days to Kill proves. Points for effort all the way around, and welcome back, Costner. Let’s hope things get better from here.
  4. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Feb 25, 2014
    50
    Of course, the movie doesn't work. But Costner does. No matter now nonsensical and uneven 3 Days to Kill gets, he's miraculously consistent.
  5. Reviewed by: Steve Davis
    Feb 26, 2014
    40
    The central conceit in 3 Days to Kill – the family man moonlighting as a gun-for-hire – is hardly a fresh one. It worked in films released 10 or 20 years ago (see True Lies or Mr. and Mrs. Smith), but here it feels played out, clichéd.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Feb 20, 2014
    38
    The result is a convoluted mess that has one good twist and two good car chases. But it's hardly enough to bring this spy flick in from the cold.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Feb 20, 2014
    20
    It only comes alive when the star briefly shows the casual looseness that once was his calling card.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 31
  2. Negative: 6 out of 31
  1. Aug 19, 2014
    10
    Directed by McG, written by Luc Besson, lead acting by Kevin Costner...perfect combination!!! It was a thriller not in the usual Hollywood formula. The lead character shows weakness and major flaws, but is a full and well rounded person. Of course the plot line is implausible, but the dialogue and pace of the the movie kept it engaging! I don't see any steals from the movie "Taken". Instead, there's alot of originality in the movie. Plus, the soundtrack fits the movie perfectly, especially the song "Love it or Leave it". This movie is full of surprises, that only Luc Besson can do. The editing is superb. Expand
  2. Aug 1, 2014
    8
    I think many critics failed to recognize that this film was intentionally camp. This was a highly enjoyable film if you do not take it too seriously.
  3. Jun 19, 2014
    7
    While it is filled with plenty of secret agent/spy movie cliches, as well as an overly familiar father trying to reconnect with his estranged daughter story, there's enough entertaining action and humor here to make it worth a watch. It manages to stay entertaining throughout, and that's more than I can say about lot of other similar movies. So while Costner won't make you forget about Neeson anytime soon, he manages to keep the movie entertaining enough to make it worth a rental. It might not take the genre to any new heights, or reach a lot of the old ones, but it can be a fun watch. Expand
  4. May 8, 2014
    5
    The family drama and action doesn't blend well at all, but 3 Days to Kill soars due to Kevin Conster's fantastic performance and the level of entertainment it provides however implausible it is. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2014
    5
    The family drama and action doesn't blend well at all, but 3 Days to Kill soars due to Kevin Costner's fantastic performance and the level of entertainment it provides however implausible it is. Expand
  6. May 26, 2014
    4
    So 3 Days to Kill was a complete waste of 2 hours, i wouldn't even call this a action movie because the little action there is beyond bland and generic as hell. Plus the fact that over half of the film is Kevin Costner dealing with trying to rebuild a relationship with his family which was really annoying. I would say that it overshadows the action side of the story but see thats the thing the whole thing, the action part was so horribly underwritten that i consider this a drama more then anything else. Also the film is cliche after cliche with the whole father daughter aspect, like he teaches her how to ride a bike, teaches her how to dance, trying to be nice to her boyfriend, saves her from being molested by a bunch of dudes just your typical father/daughter crap. I was thinking maybe Costner could make a comeback with this movie but sadly not, i really like the guy but he has been making crap movies as of late. Amber Heard was the best part of the movie and see wasn't in it all that much anyways she looked absolutely gorgeous, Hailee Steinfeld was "Meh" unfortunately. McG has made several movies the only two worth watching are We Are Marshall and Terminator Salvation and those and those two are just average movies.

    Overall i give it a 4.0
    Expand
  7. Mar 2, 2014
    0
    I wasn't really a fan of this movie. When I first heard of it I thought I would really enjoy it but upon reading the story line of it I thought it was stupid and pointless Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Trailers