Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: April 29, 2005
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 41 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
36
Mixed:
3
Negative:
2
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
M.DayeFeb 4, 2006
Though it may discard prolix dialogue in favour of visuals, it is almost impossible to find yourself not moved in the slightest by the end.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
CodyK.Sep 19, 2005
This is a very good movie. I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulH.May 2, 2006
This is an incredible movie,mysterious and moving using just the barest brushstrokes to compose a gentle flickering masterpiece.It was interesting to see how the director would follow-up his previous film and in its quiet unassuming manner This is an incredible movie,mysterious and moving using just the barest brushstrokes to compose a gentle flickering masterpiece.It was interesting to see how the director would follow-up his previous film and in its quiet unassuming manner this is in no way a disappointment.It is refreshing to see a Korean director working against the stereotypical extreme cinema his nation has been churning out recently presenting characters and feelings with an honesty and imagination that is both refreshing and memorable.I think the jury at Venice got it spot on would recommend this movie for anyone interested in whats happening in contemporary world cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DeniseB.Feb 17, 2007
The premise was good so I watched it and was keenly dissapointed. It was slow with very little dialouge.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CoryT.Sep 18, 2005
Sure, I can see what the effective elements of this movie are, but man, the ball (golf ball ...I guess!) is dropped in many places. One minute your egrossed, the next you're scratching your head dissapointed. Beautiful foreign film Sure, I can see what the effective elements of this movie are, but man, the ball (golf ball ...I guess!) is dropped in many places. One minute your egrossed, the next you're scratching your head dissapointed. Beautiful foreign film meets Hollywood- "eye watering, oignon cutting, first blood type crap!...Simon Says..work on 'yer swing at the range-not the course! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
V.N.Jan 30, 2006
This is a fantastic movie! It is so original! There was no dialogue between the 2 main characters and I was creating it myself. You try to imagine what the motivation of the characters is what is in their heads. This movie touches humanity This is a fantastic movie! It is so original! There was no dialogue between the 2 main characters and I was creating it myself. You try to imagine what the motivation of the characters is what is in their heads. This movie touches humanity on a sublime level. With its simplicity it is close to perfection. I am so glad that I saw it ... I can't stop thinking about it. I will see it again Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Aug 22, 2005
For the most part, the silence in "3-Iron" that's observed by both actors during their benevolent home invasions doesn't play like an art film joke (for instance, Gus Van Sant's "Gerry") because director Ki-Duk Kim gives this For the most part, the silence in "3-Iron" that's observed by both actors during their benevolent home invasions doesn't play like an art film joke (for instance, Gus Van Sant's "Gerry") because director Ki-Duk Kim gives this prolonged quietude a proper context to help efface some of the narrative's self-consciousness. "3-Iron" starts off as a deadpan comedy, and it's vaguely reminiscent of Jim Jarmusch's "Stranger than Paradise". At first, the male lead struck me as a metaphorical zombie who breaks into strangers' homes because he misses the routine of domestic life, and the woman he indoctrinates in his world of non-crime, pretends to have the same catalepsy as a means of escape from her abusive marriage. But then he's incarcerated, and in his cell, the man seems to change from a material being into something more incorporeal, which brings to mind a similar jail-cell transformation in "Lost Highway", when Bill Pullman inexplicably turns into Balthazar Getty. Ki-Duk Kim has the same "don't explain a thing" ethos as David Lynch, which will enthrall and frustrate moviegoers in equal numbers. We wait for the big revelation, a definitive answer to explain all of "3-Iron('s)" enigmas, like "The Sixth Sense", but the final frame leaves us with more questions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
xiviriMar 29, 2012
Simply brilliant script great. Spectacular sound track, in short, a masterpiece of South Korean cinema. I recommend all the films of Kim Ki-duk, especially ''Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter ... and Spring'' (2003)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews