3 Women

3 Women Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: This re-release of Robert Altman's 1977 drama stars Spacek as a shy, quiet girl named Pinky who starts working in a nursing home and strikes up a friendship with the talkative Millie (Duvall).

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Written and directed by a brilliant screen artist at the peak of his powers, it's an utterly original comedy-drama.
  2. 80
    Absorbing moody and often compelling story.
  3. A film such as this, which relies on mood, atmosphere, and ideas, rather than plot, depends on its acting to be effective, and the entire cast is extraordinary, with Shelley Duvall and Sissy Spacek both giving their finest performance ever.
  4. Today, the movie doesn't portend Altman's subsequent tailspin into irrelevance as much as it suggests a restlessness with the comic realism he had mastered.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. May 2, 2013
    10
    A dreamlike film with no pat ending. This is Robert Altman's best film and a showcase for both Sissy Spacek and Shelley Duvall, who areA dreamlike film with no pat ending. This is Robert Altman's best film and a showcase for both Sissy Spacek and Shelley Duvall, who are amazing in this hypnotic example of 70'S cinema at its best. Collapse
  2. Feb 12, 2016
    10
    It's a movie that always seems to be unraveling before me, regardless of how many times I have watched it. Very few films have the ability toIt's a movie that always seems to be unraveling before me, regardless of how many times I have watched it. Very few films have the ability to always feel like it's your first time watching it. I can't quite explain, it's just hypnotic and I found myself thoroughly immersed in it's constant feeling that something is just slightly off.

    Easily has become one of my favorites.
    Expand
  3. ArmondA.
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    Everyone who saw this film and enjoyed it seems to have seen his own personal piece of cinema. While the individual elements are highly Everyone who saw this film and enjoyed it seems to have seen his own personal piece of cinema. While the individual elements are highly distinctive, enabling its enthusiasts to know that they are indeed discussing the same movie, I believe that NOBODY knows what "it" is about, including the people who made it. Yet after 30 years the film remains a very good work of art that says what it says in exactly the way that it says it. We accept that paintings, poems, and piano concertos inform and move us in ways that do not translate into prose essays. But if you must have proof that this is more than an exercise in film-school experimentalism, the performances of the Three Women who star are just superb, giving us precisely drawn people who take up permanent residence in your own life history. Expand
  4. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    I like this movie because sissy spacek is in it she is a very good actress !!! Why A Carrie Remake, in God's name?!!!! It's a perfect film!I like this movie because sissy spacek is in it she is a very good actress !!! Why A Carrie Remake, in God's name?!!!! It's a perfect film! Brian de Palma filmed it perfectly, Sissy Spacek and Piper Laurie are absolutely perfect ,they both got Oscar nominations out of it, for God sake! Expand

See all 8 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.