Sony Pictures Releasing | Release Date: October 19, 2007
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 231 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
138
Mixed:
63
Negative:
30
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
QapqanaMMay 2, 2008
I am from Alaska and this was horribly inaccurate of Barrow. I hate to think what Barrow people thought of it. I couldn't enjoy the movie because the IDEA of Barrow was so off in not just the big things but the little ones as well. I I am from Alaska and this was horribly inaccurate of Barrow. I hate to think what Barrow people thought of it. I couldn't enjoy the movie because the IDEA of Barrow was so off in not just the big things but the little ones as well. I know it was just a movie, but some reality or just some investigation on Barrow would have made the movie a little better in my eyes. If it had been about maybe Canada or somewhere else in the North that i wasn't familiar with i may have enjoyed it more. Some research does wonders for the modern movie! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
NolanMar 14, 2008
Worthless movie. Ridiculously inaccurate. Now everyone thinks Barrow has 200 people and is a major oil town. Here's the deal folks- the two oil towns in Alaska are Prudhoe Bay and Valdez. Useless.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DougJ.Jul 11, 2008
Marginally less stuipid than the comics, but that doesn't take much -- the AND THEN A MAGIC GHOST SOLVES EVERYTHING ending for the comics is somewhat better handled, but... garbage in garbage out, y'know?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
CablesNov 12, 2007
Comically bad. seriously. the entire theater started laughing after it was over. I love horror movies and completely understand that they should be taken for what they are. In this case, it's a pile of crap and nothing else.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AustinB.Oct 21, 2007
A horror comedy. Very one note, but thats vampire slayings. The theatre I was in had one scream and more laughs. It wasn't scary, I didn't jump at all. Quiet a few people left early, and god knows how that guy (human) survived over A horror comedy. Very one note, but thats vampire slayings. The theatre I was in had one scream and more laughs. It wasn't scary, I didn't jump at all. Quiet a few people left early, and god knows how that guy (human) survived over 10 dynamite sticks at his feet blowing up, and not even being on fire. Strange. I wouldn't recommend you watch the movie in Theatre's, let alone rent the DVD. Maybe watch it on TV if you're bored. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DanT.Oct 30, 2007
This movie is a huge pile of dogs*it. Seriously, its that bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChadS.Jan 13, 2008
Since the upper-reaches of Alaska is a sparsely populated region, these marauding vampires must be hunting cold climate animals for sustenance, in lieu of human flesh, human blood. Sea lions? Mincemeat. Walruses? Mincemeat. Penguins? Since the upper-reaches of Alaska is a sparsely populated region, these marauding vampires must be hunting cold climate animals for sustenance, in lieu of human flesh, human blood. Sea lions? Mincemeat. Walruses? Mincemeat. Penguins? Mincemeat. These vampires are so lightning quick, they could probably take down a polar bear. The bloodsucking Popsicles must be starving when they arrive at the outpost in "30 Days of Night", the latest of the new breed of vampire pics that seem closer in spirit to George Romero's "Night of the Living Dead" than "Dracula". Some attention must be paid to "30 Days of Night" for trying to establish dread(it establishes tedium instead) with a methodical approach that is admirable, and welcome. "30 Days of Night" is not all sound and fury. The characters act accordingly to their surroundings(again, admirable), but muted behavior and whispered conversations in service of routine plotting and rote dialogue will induce REM sleep, not heart palpitations. Of course, there's violence. Of course, you have to kill in self-defense. But Sheriff Oleson(Josh Hartnett) kills with a little too much exuberance; five hacks with the ax, when four would suffice(the sheriff isn't satisfied until one vampire's head is completely detached), and the little vampire girl gets it real good in the throat. There's also the question as to how these vampires knew that the sun rarely shines in the Arctic. Did they read about it on the Internet? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JoshE.Feb 25, 2008
A very stupid movie. nothing interesting here. You basically watch a group of people move here and there hiding from the most stupid looking and acting vampires I've ever seen. They speak a stupid language that just makes them look like A very stupid movie. nothing interesting here. You basically watch a group of people move here and there hiding from the most stupid looking and acting vampires I've ever seen. They speak a stupid language that just makes them look like idiots. I don't recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LaurieG.Mar 10, 2008
I was extremely frustrated during this movie. They go from day one to day seven and then day eighteen yet nothing changed. It all seemed to be going on during the first night. Terrible story line.... I never even made it to the ending....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChrisKAug 24, 2008
I can only describe this film as the motion picture equivalent for your brain as a turd sandwich is for your mouth. Theres chewing, alot of nashing and you feel like you've been violated. And it'll ultimately make you sick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JamesNov 15, 2007
A great soundtrack and some decent visuals are the only positives, and these are overwhelmed by a dreadful script, leaden performances and an utter lack of tension.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
EduardoF.Nov 29, 2007
The movie tried to bring something new to a genre that has produced a lot of bad movies. The concept is brilliant and in the graphic novel this concept worked, but as a movie, it fails in every way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BoredS.Oct 28, 2007
Movie has no point, no explanations of antagonist.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SimonP.Feb 26, 2008
Basically its another Hollywood psycho splatter movie I wish Hollywood realize that loads of blood and guts are not scary any movie,theres no mystery to this movie theres no psychology theres no timing- they should learn a thing or two from Basically its another Hollywood psycho splatter movie I wish Hollywood realize that loads of blood and guts are not scary any movie,theres no mystery to this movie theres no psychology theres no timing- they should learn a thing or two from some of the Asian horror I'm so fed up with vampires please do something new and thats actually scary.. very average film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
franty1977Nov 29, 2007
Like an hysterical woman, 30 Days No Shower, i mean 30 Days of Night doesn't make any sense, doesn't bother explaining what's going on and screams all the friggin time. Worst vampire movie ever. Not scary, annoying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BobS.Dec 16, 2007
Awful film. The worst I've ever seen at the cinema. Terrible acting. Terrible script. Terrible monsters!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
avatar16Sep 6, 2011
Pas d'histoire, pas d'originalité, pas d'ambiance, pas de punch... 30 Jours de Nuit n'a pas grand chose à nous offrir. Du moins, tous ces défauts auraient pu être compensés parPas d'histoire, pas d'originalité, pas d'ambiance, pas de punch... 30 Jours de Nuit n'a pas grand chose à nous offrir. Du moins, tous ces défauts auraient pu être compensés par le reste. Il n'en est rien : les acteurs ne sont pas convaicants, les vampires grotesques, la mise en scène plate... Il reste néanmoins les effets spéciaux (scènes gores) pour combler les fans de suceurs de sang, et encore! Au final, ces 30 Jours de Nuit vont vous permettre de bien dormir durant un bon moment (pas un mois mais 1h48). Encore un film qui ne mérite pas toute la publicité faite autour... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews