Sony Pictures Releasing | Release Date: October 19, 2007
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 231 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
138
Mixed:
63
Negative:
30
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
RFeb 27, 2008
I went to this movie thinking it was going to be terrible...it was. But it was better than expected. Would have been ok if not for the terrible design of the vampires and the screaming. It wasn't scary it was just aggravating.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MartinJ.Dec 4, 2007
The main problem with 30 days of night is that it's a brand new vampire flick trapped in the body of a 30-year old zombie flick. Replace vampires with zombies, add a shopping mall, and you basically have Day of the dead, complete with The main problem with 30 days of night is that it's a brand new vampire flick trapped in the body of a 30-year old zombie flick. Replace vampires with zombies, add a shopping mall, and you basically have Day of the dead, complete with whiny, predictable characters ( the nervous guy who wants to run for it, the confident leader-type, the nurturing motherly type, the teen with no personality to speak of... the list goes on). Did anyone involved in this movie even bother to read the graphic novel it was based on? We've got the 30 days of night, vampires and that's about where the similarities end. A nice soundtrack, cool vampire language (Romanian perhaps?), nifty camerawork and a not-too horrible Josh Hartnett can't save this movie from the mediocre gore-fest pile. Too bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GlenFJul 4, 2008
Clearly, based on reviews from Alaskans, this movie made the Alaskans seem to smart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GemmaS.Nov 12, 2007
The start of the film was fab and the story line looked very promising, but was spoiled by the middle and end being slow and unsatisfying. The good points are has lots of gore blood and guts ( Man getting his head hacked off was great!!! ) ( The start of the film was fab and the story line looked very promising, but was spoiled by the middle and end being slow and unsatisfying. The good points are has lots of gore blood and guts ( Man getting his head hacked off was great!!! ) ( Little girl in shop was freaky!!) Maybe a possibility of a 2nd one????? I hope so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AsianS.Oct 17, 2007
Completely original idea, the first three-quarters of the film were very entertaining, but the end was very tacked on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DanL.Oct 20, 2007
For a vampire movie, it was all right. I say go see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
jimkOct 22, 2007
Just watched it, glad I didn't pay to see it in theaters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JadaG.Oct 22, 2007
This movie was laughable and scary. I was ready to walk out after the first 5 minutes. The acting was grade D. There was a Tea Leoni look alike and act alike. Next time, they need to sew her upper lip to her bottom lip. The vampires do not This movie was laughable and scary. I was ready to walk out after the first 5 minutes. The acting was grade D. There was a Tea Leoni look alike and act alike. Next time, they need to sew her upper lip to her bottom lip. The vampires do not know how to ration food nor bathe. Wait for video. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
syzygyOct 23, 2007
It was all too heavy, quite un-inspired, rather dull and painfully predictable. But it was decently acted; mood had its occasional creepiness; pacing was fine, editing somewhat overworked to hide a shallow plot. I especially liked the It was all too heavy, quite un-inspired, rather dull and painfully predictable. But it was decently acted; mood had its occasional creepiness; pacing was fine, editing somewhat overworked to hide a shallow plot. I especially liked the setting of the film (hence the title) and the director's shooting style. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BillyS.Oct 29, 2007
When did horror movies quit being scary? Isn't that the point in the whole genre anyway? Like every horror movie that comes out, 30 days of Night is just another assembly line film with no scares and special effects trying to cover for When did horror movies quit being scary? Isn't that the point in the whole genre anyway? Like every horror movie that comes out, 30 days of Night is just another assembly line film with no scares and special effects trying to cover for it. The one positive thing is Danny Huston, almost unrecognizable as the head vampire, but that's not enough to make this worth seeing in a theatre- wait for the dvd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RockF.Feb 26, 2008
Overall, a disappointment, but I give it points for portraying vampires as hungry monsters rather than fey poets. It was also nice to see some decent gore. Could have been much better had the characters been developed and the ending changed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AlejandroR.Oct 23, 2007
This movie is kind of interesting in the beginning, but it gets repetitive and boring towards the middle and end. The ending was a joke. Some parts of the movies had me saying "Oh wow" of how unreal it is. A man lights dynamite right in This movie is kind of interesting in the beginning, but it gets repetitive and boring towards the middle and end. The ending was a joke. Some parts of the movies had me saying "Oh wow" of how unreal it is. A man lights dynamite right in front of him and it blows up and hes not dead or on fire. Even in cartoons they turn black from the burns. Anyways, the story could have been delivered better and the best actors were the vampires who didn't speak English. If it had better acting, I might have given it two more points. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidKOct 31, 2007
A fairly Decent horror film, with little horror. like amny horrors nowadays, there is very little actual horror, and mostly some gore and jumps, while this film is not to much on either side (gore or jumpy) and has a nice balance, it still A fairly Decent horror film, with little horror. like amny horrors nowadays, there is very little actual horror, and mostly some gore and jumps, while this film is not to much on either side (gore or jumpy) and has a nice balance, it still isnt scary. the film is called 30 days of night, now from the title you thought it would be dark, but no its pretty light for night. i found the film made me loose interest at parts when the film mostly repeats the same senario over and over. hide somewhere, decide to make a break for it, loose someone, stay somewhere, hide somewhere, decide to make a break for it, loose someone, stay somewhere, hide somewhere, decide to make a break for it, loose someone, stay somewhere. which made the film that little bit less interesting, another bad point is i don't think the director successfully portrayed the story to be set over 30 days, it felt to me more like the film was set over one day, as everything that happened could have easily just have been done in one day /night besides that, its a fair Vampire film, with little horror, nice balance of jumps and gore, which will suprise you and it even made some people laugh (not me) so for that 6/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ScottQJun 13, 2008
Okay, this movie has its moments but really is a diappointment and could have been so much better. The vampires are cool and the lead vampire is great but there needed to be more plot to take up all the 30 days of this film and I was willing Okay, this movie has its moments but really is a diappointment and could have been so much better. The vampires are cool and the lead vampire is great but there needed to be more plot to take up all the 30 days of this film and I was willing to forgive everything that I didn't like except the ending, doesn't make sense at all. If you haven't seen the movie, stop reading this review as I reveal the ending. Josh hartnet puts the vampires blood into his which is fine because he wants to have their power to fight back at them but that is the problem, he should want to kill all of his friends once he changed fully. He can't be part human and vampire, doesn't make sense. Disappointing, but I love some originallity it had. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ERG1008Sep 17, 2010
Vampires come to Alaska taking advantage of "30 days of night" in the winter.
The big problem for me is that the vampires really aren't scary but unintentionally funny. And the main one looks like Fat Boy Slim.
If you said to a 10-year old
Vampires come to Alaska taking advantage of "30 days of night" in the winter.
The big problem for me is that the vampires really aren't scary but unintentionally funny. And the main one looks like Fat Boy Slim.
If you said to a 10-year old "Be a scary vampire" they'd act like the vampires in this.
Ironically the scariest vampire in it is a 10-year old.
Bit silly all round really although some nice axe action.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
kublay0880Dec 10, 2012
The movie has very cliched type of characters, but at the same time it's a different vampire perspective, as well as the location, overall I think that the whole idea was not properly exploded, you are in Alaska! surprise us with somethingThe movie has very cliched type of characters, but at the same time it's a different vampire perspective, as well as the location, overall I think that the whole idea was not properly exploded, you are in Alaska! surprise us with something that it hasn't been seen! you can have a few minutes of fun with this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Pretty frightening visuals throughout, but the film suffers a great deal from slightly bland storytelling and characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
WJSJun 13, 2015
Some very effective scare and gore scenes and some well executed performances can't help the lack of a cohesive narrative. It is an interesting premise though and Danny Huston is quite effective as the leader of the pack of marauding vampires.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews