30 Days of Night

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 196 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 196

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. R
    Feb 27, 2008
    4
    I went to this movie thinking it was going to be terrible...it was. But it was better than expected. Would have been ok if not for the terrible design of the vampires and the screaming. It wasn't scary it was just aggravating.
  2. MartinJ.
    Dec 4, 2007
    5
    The main problem with 30 days of night is that it's a brand new vampire flick trapped in the body of a 30-year old zombie flick. Replace vampires with zombies, add a shopping mall, and you basically have Day of the dead, complete with whiny, predictable characters ( the nervous guy who wants to run for it, the confident leader-type, the nurturing motherly type, the teen with no The main problem with 30 days of night is that it's a brand new vampire flick trapped in the body of a 30-year old zombie flick. Replace vampires with zombies, add a shopping mall, and you basically have Day of the dead, complete with whiny, predictable characters ( the nervous guy who wants to run for it, the confident leader-type, the nurturing motherly type, the teen with no personality to speak of... the list goes on). Did anyone involved in this movie even bother to read the graphic novel it was based on? We've got the 30 days of night, vampires and that's about where the similarities end. A nice soundtrack, cool vampire language (Romanian perhaps?), nifty camerawork and a not-too horrible Josh Hartnett can't save this movie from the mediocre gore-fest pile. Too bad. Expand
  3. GlenF
    Jul 4, 2008
    6
    Clearly, based on reviews from Alaskans, this movie made the Alaskans seem to smart.
  4. GemmaS.
    Nov 12, 2007
    5
    The start of the film was fab and the story line looked very promising, but was spoiled by the middle and end being slow and unsatisfying. The good points are has lots of gore blood and guts ( Man getting his head hacked off was great!!! ) ( Little girl in shop was freaky!!) Maybe a possibility of a 2nd one????? I hope so.
  5. AsianS.
    Oct 17, 2007
    6
    Completely original idea, the first three-quarters of the film were very entertaining, but the end was very tacked on.
  6. DanL.
    Oct 20, 2007
    6
    For a vampire movie, it was all right. I say go see it!
  7. jimk
    Oct 22, 2007
    4
    Just watched it, glad I didn't pay to see it in theaters.
  8. JadaG.
    Oct 22, 2007
    5
    This movie was laughable and scary. I was ready to walk out after the first 5 minutes. The acting was grade D. There was a Tea Leoni look alike and act alike. Next time, they need to sew her upper lip to her bottom lip. The vampires do not know how to ration food nor bathe. Wait for video.
  9. syzygy
    Oct 23, 2007
    5
    It was all too heavy, quite un-inspired, rather dull and painfully predictable. But it was decently acted; mood had its occasional creepiness; pacing was fine, editing somewhat overworked to hide a shallow plot. I especially liked the setting of the film (hence the title) and the director's shooting style.
  10. BillyS.
    Oct 29, 2007
    5
    When did horror movies quit being scary? Isn't that the point in the whole genre anyway? Like every horror movie that comes out, 30 days of Night is just another assembly line film with no scares and special effects trying to cover for it. The one positive thing is Danny Huston, almost unrecognizable as the head vampire, but that's not enough to make this worth seeing in a When did horror movies quit being scary? Isn't that the point in the whole genre anyway? Like every horror movie that comes out, 30 days of Night is just another assembly line film with no scares and special effects trying to cover for it. The one positive thing is Danny Huston, almost unrecognizable as the head vampire, but that's not enough to make this worth seeing in a theatre- wait for the dvd. Collapse
  11. RockF.
    Feb 26, 2008
    6
    Overall, a disappointment, but I give it points for portraying vampires as hungry monsters rather than fey poets. It was also nice to see some decent gore. Could have been much better had the characters been developed and the ending changed.
  12. AlejandroR.
    Oct 23, 2007
    4
    This movie is kind of interesting in the beginning, but it gets repetitive and boring towards the middle and end. The ending was a joke. Some parts of the movies had me saying "Oh wow" of how unreal it is. A man lights dynamite right in front of him and it blows up and hes not dead or on fire. Even in cartoons they turn black from the burns. Anyways, the story could have been delivered This movie is kind of interesting in the beginning, but it gets repetitive and boring towards the middle and end. The ending was a joke. Some parts of the movies had me saying "Oh wow" of how unreal it is. A man lights dynamite right in front of him and it blows up and hes not dead or on fire. Even in cartoons they turn black from the burns. Anyways, the story could have been delivered better and the best actors were the vampires who didn't speak English. If it had better acting, I might have given it two more points. Expand
  13. DavidK
    Oct 31, 2007
    6
    A fairly Decent horror film, with little horror. like amny horrors nowadays, there is very little actual horror, and mostly some gore and jumps, while this film is not to much on either side (gore or jumpy) and has a nice balance, it still isnt scary. the film is called 30 days of night, now from the title you thought it would be dark, but no its pretty light for night. i found the film A fairly Decent horror film, with little horror. like amny horrors nowadays, there is very little actual horror, and mostly some gore and jumps, while this film is not to much on either side (gore or jumpy) and has a nice balance, it still isnt scary. the film is called 30 days of night, now from the title you thought it would be dark, but no its pretty light for night. i found the film made me loose interest at parts when the film mostly repeats the same senario over and over. hide somewhere, decide to make a break for it, loose someone, stay somewhere, hide somewhere, decide to make a break for it, loose someone, stay somewhere, hide somewhere, decide to make a break for it, loose someone, stay somewhere. which made the film that little bit less interesting, another bad point is i don't think the director successfully portrayed the story to be set over 30 days, it felt to me more like the film was set over one day, as everything that happened could have easily just have been done in one day /night besides that, its a fair Vampire film, with little horror, nice balance of jumps and gore, which will suprise you and it even made some people laugh (not me) so for that 6/10. Expand
  14. ScottQ
    Jun 13, 2008
    4
    Okay, this movie has its moments but really is a diappointment and could have been so much better. The vampires are cool and the lead vampire is great but there needed to be more plot to take up all the 30 days of this film and I was willing to forgive everything that I didn't like except the ending, doesn't make sense at all. If you haven't seen the movie, stop reading Okay, this movie has its moments but really is a diappointment and could have been so much better. The vampires are cool and the lead vampire is great but there needed to be more plot to take up all the 30 days of this film and I was willing to forgive everything that I didn't like except the ending, doesn't make sense at all. If you haven't seen the movie, stop reading this review as I reveal the ending. Josh hartnet puts the vampires blood into his which is fine because he wants to have their power to fight back at them but that is the problem, he should want to kill all of his friends once he changed fully. He can't be part human and vampire, doesn't make sense. Disappointing, but I love some originallity it had. Expand
  15. Sep 17, 2010
    5
    Vampires come to Alaska taking advantage of "30 days of night" in the winter.
    The big problem for me is that the vampires really aren't scary but unintentionally funny. And the main one looks like Fat Boy Slim.
    If you said to a 10-year old "Be a scary vampire" they'd act like the vampires in this. Ironically the scariest vampire in it is a 10-year old. Bit silly all round really although
    Vampires come to Alaska taking advantage of "30 days of night" in the winter.
    The big problem for me is that the vampires really aren't scary but unintentionally funny. And the main one looks like Fat Boy Slim.
    If you said to a 10-year old "Be a scary vampire" they'd act like the vampires in this.
    Ironically the scariest vampire in it is a 10-year old.
    Bit silly all round really although some nice axe action.
    Expand
  16. Dec 10, 2012
    6
    The movie has very cliched type of characters, but at the same time it's a different vampire perspective, as well as the location, overall I think that the whole idea was not properly exploded, you are in Alaska! surprise us with something that it hasn't been seen! you can have a few minutes of fun with this movie.
  17. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    Pretty frightening visuals throughout, but the film suffers a great deal from slightly bland storytelling and characters.
  18. WJS
    Jun 13, 2015
    6
    Some very effective scare and gore scenes and some well executed performances can't help the lack of a cohesive narrative. It is an interesting premise though and Danny Huston is quite effective as the leader of the pack of marauding vampires.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. 50
    Director David Slade's stab at the story is actually rather ordinary.
  2. You can expect a lot of shredding and gurgling. 30 Days of Night is relentless, but it's also relentlessly one-note.
  3. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    50
    Excels at bloodthirsty action, though dialogue and human-interest aspects are a tad anemic. Result is a mixed bag but has a catchy premise and quite enough splatter to satisfy gorehounds.