Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 37
  2. Negative: 5 out of 37
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Aug 10, 2011
    83
    There's nothing nice about 30 Minutes or Less. It's got no redeeming social value. It just ticks away, exploding all notions of where you think it's going to go. It blew me sideways.
  2. Reviewed by: William Thomas
    Sep 12, 2011
    80
    Outrageous and endearing, the Zombieland team swaps horror for crime in a daft caper that's undoubtedly slight but terrifically entertaining all the same. Very fast and lots of fun.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Aug 10, 2011
    80
    At barely 80 minutes, the film seems like a slight little adventure, but Fleischer fleshes out his twists and turns to make it feel like a fully-rendered story.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Aug 13, 2011
    75
    Tone is critical to a movie of this nature, and Fleischer gets it right.
  5. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Aug 12, 2011
    75
    Gut-bustingly funny -- perhaps this waning summer season's ultimate guilty pleasure.
  6. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Aug 11, 2011
    75
    Slight and not exactly memorable, but it moves quickly and has some surprising twists and top-notch performances all around.
  7. Reviewed by: M. E. Russell
    Aug 11, 2011
    67
    It's a brisk, though laugh-imbalanced, B-comedy with a hard R.
  8. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Aug 11, 2011
    65
    For every line or gag that works, there are three or four more that seem to belong in a different movie altogether, either a darker one or a breezier one.
  9. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Aug 12, 2011
    63
    The actors never stray too far from their comfort zones, resulting in a sporadically funny but mostly bland crime comedy that only occasionally feels fresher or more memorable than that cold pizza you scarfed for breakfast Monday morning.
  10. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Aug 11, 2011
    63
    Fleischer isn't much on details. It's all about the zigzagging rush of the ride. Fair trade.
  11. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Aug 11, 2011
    63
    The movie ends up being just sharp enough at its peaks to be frustrating in its valleys. But the laughs are there.
  12. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Aug 10, 2011
    63
    There's too much cheese, but there are still enough amusing action beats and funny one-liners to let one say, 30 Minutes or Less delivers, more or less on time.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 164 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 57
  2. Negative: 12 out of 57
  1. Feb 13, 2012
    5
    "30 Minutes or Less" is dumb. The action is aided with too obvious CGI and the film's very cliched and skimmed. I suggest watching something alse.
  2. Aug 15, 2011
    6
    It's a fun film, but I want to devote most of my comment to giving huge props to Michael Pena as Chango, Juicy's hit-man/boyfriend. He'sIt's a fun film, but I want to devote most of my comment to giving huge props to Michael Pena as Chango, Juicy's hit-man/boyfriend. He's absolutely hilarious in this role. Reminds me of what Benicio did for The Usual Suspects. His speaking style made me roar. I think he needs his own comedy vehicle sometime soon. And sure, Aziz is funny, his on-screen sister from Greek is solid (and should get more roles), but I'm getting a little tired of seeing Eisenberg. Lastly, it seems like Danny McBride - while funny - is essentially playing Kenny Freakin' Powers in every role. He needs to mix it up soon lest he wear out his welcome. Full Review »
  3. Aug 15, 2011
    4
    I was hoping this would be funny, but I rarely laughed and neither did the rest of the audience....this is HBO movie material at best. II was hoping this would be funny, but I rarely laughed and neither did the rest of the audience....this is HBO movie material at best. I wanted to write this review as soon as possible, because I have almost forgotten this movie already. Full Review »