Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 164 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In the action-comedy 30 Minutes or Less, Nick is a small town pizza delivery guy whose mundane life collides with the big plans of two wanna-be criminal masterminds. The volatile duo kidnaps Nick and forces him to rob a bank. With mere hours to pull off the impossible task, Nick enlists theIn the action-comedy 30 Minutes or Less, Nick is a small town pizza delivery guy whose mundane life collides with the big plans of two wanna-be criminal masterminds. The volatile duo kidnaps Nick and forces him to rob a bank. With mere hours to pull off the impossible task, Nick enlists the help of his ex-best friend, Chet. As the clock ticks, the two must deal with the police, hired assassins, flamethrowers, and their own tumultuous relationship.(Sony Pictures)
    Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 37
  2. Negative: 5 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Aug 10, 2011
    83
    There's nothing nice about 30 Minutes or Less. It's got no redeeming social value. It just ticks away, exploding all notions of where you think it's going to go. It blew me sideways.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Aug 12, 2011
    75
    Gut-bustingly funny -- perhaps this waning summer season's ultimate guilty pleasure.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Aug 12, 2011
    63
    The actors never stray too far from their comfort zones, resulting in a sporadically funny but mostly bland crime comedy that only occasionally feels fresher or more memorable than that cold pizza you scarfed for breakfast Monday morning.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Aug 5, 2011
    50
    "Less" has trouble framing simple action, yielding clumsy car chases that put the burden of generating excitement on the music and editing. As a result, pic looks cheap and feels clipped.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Aug 11, 2011
    50
    30 Minutes or Less could have been a guilty pleasure, but the crusty caper is half baked.
  6. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Aug 10, 2011
    50
    An egregiously miscast Eisenberg stars as a young man toiling as a pizza boy, even though he displays only slightly less intelligence and savvy than the world-beater Eisenberg played in "The Social Network."
  7. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Aug 11, 2011
    25
    Akin to watching a ring-tested champion punch far below his weight. What a comedown.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 57
  2. Negative: 12 out of 57
  1. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    I think it is an awesome movie. Not only is it really funny but also original and everybody are perfect for there roll especially MichealI think it is an awesome movie. Not only is it really funny but also original and everybody are perfect for there roll especially Micheal Pena who plays Chango. They all really make you believe that this could be true. Expand
  2. Aug 20, 2011
    9
    This movie was hilarious. You see such negative views on it simply because of its crude humor. Mainstream media isn't ready to embrace McBrideThis movie was hilarious. You see such negative views on it simply because of its crude humor. Mainstream media isn't ready to embrace McBride style movies, and as a result, score them low. 30 Minutes or Less is a well written and action packed comedy that leave you wanting more. I can't recommend seeing it enough! Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    It's truly difficult to dislike this film. It's harmless fun with a decent story and some seriously funny bits. Short and sweet, and couldIt's truly difficult to dislike this film. It's harmless fun with a decent story and some seriously funny bits. Short and sweet, and could have done with another 30 minutes or so. But rather watch a film wanting more, than struggle through something which feels like it never ends!
    Very much in the vain of Pineapple Express cross The Hangover. Jesse Eisenberg pulls off funny quite well ... and look out for classic line relating The Social Network - hilarious.
    McBride and Swardson do what they do best - silly. But the standout for me was Ansari who was very funny and has a thousand different facial expressions. I would buy this on blu-ray for those Friday nights when you are looking for a good laugh.
    Expand
  4. Aug 15, 2011
    5
    Well I watch the TV Spot and it was so funny. However, 30 Minutes or Less may be as less popular than Bad Teacher or Horrible Bosses. Kind ofWell I watch the TV Spot and it was so funny. However, 30 Minutes or Less may be as less popular than Bad Teacher or Horrible Bosses. Kind of like a mixed bag of Pineapple Express and Step Brothers. But the cast is hilarious and hopefully I'll check it out in theaters. Expand
  5. Dec 7, 2012
    5
    Like 08's Pineapple Express, 30 Minutes or Less strives to make-up for it's shortcomings with foul language, nudity, and flat jokes, but withLike 08's Pineapple Express, 30 Minutes or Less strives to make-up for it's shortcomings with foul language, nudity, and flat jokes, but with that in mind, it's also important to mention that there's still a lot of fun to be had with this. There are some genuine hilarious moments. The film is short and I think that's the main reason why this was not the disappointment it could have been. Not the best comedy of 2011 but I liked it! Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2011
    4
    Absolute disappointment. I waited for this movie in anticipation since I watched the totally awesome Zombieland, and while what I've seen inAbsolute disappointment. I waited for this movie in anticipation since I watched the totally awesome Zombieland, and while what I've seen in trailers wasn't exactly top notch, I had hoped that the final outcome will be just as good or better than Zombielad. Unfortunately, even though both director and Jesse Eisenberg are still here, this movie is just a generic flick. Barely watchable, boring, with an idea that has some potential, but it is wasted by flawed execution. Expand
  7. Dec 8, 2013
    0
    Obviously 30 Minutes or Less isn't an exact representation of the true-life tragedy. What 30 Minutes or Less is is an R-rated comedy, and theObviously 30 Minutes or Less isn't an exact representation of the true-life tragedy. What 30 Minutes or Less is is an R-rated comedy, and the bomb, the bank robbery, the car chases, and the shootings are all played for laughs. Too bad those expected laughs just don't come very often, if at all, in 30 Minutes or Less. Expand

See all 57 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.