Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 158 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In the action-comedy 30 Minutes or Less, Nick is a small town pizza delivery guy whose mundane life collides with the big plans of two wanna-be criminal masterminds. The volatile duo kidnaps Nick and forces him to rob a bank. With mere hours to pull off the impossible task, Nick enlists the help of his ex-best friend, Chet. As the clock ticks, the two must deal with the police, hired assassins, flamethrowers, and their own tumultuous relationship.(Sony Pictures)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 37
  2. Negative: 5 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Aug 10, 2011
    83
    There's nothing nice about 30 Minutes or Less. It's got no redeeming social value. It just ticks away, exploding all notions of where you think it's going to go. It blew me sideways.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Aug 12, 2011
    75
    Gut-bustingly funny -- perhaps this waning summer season's ultimate guilty pleasure.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Aug 12, 2011
    63
    The actors never stray too far from their comfort zones, resulting in a sporadically funny but mostly bland crime comedy that only occasionally feels fresher or more memorable than that cold pizza you scarfed for breakfast Monday morning.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Aug 5, 2011
    50
    "Less" has trouble framing simple action, yielding clumsy car chases that put the burden of generating excitement on the music and editing. As a result, pic looks cheap and feels clipped.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Aug 11, 2011
    50
    30 Minutes or Less could have been a guilty pleasure, but the crusty caper is half baked.
  6. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Aug 10, 2011
    50
    An egregiously miscast Eisenberg stars as a young man toiling as a pizza boy, even though he displays only slightly less intelligence and savvy than the world-beater Eisenberg played in "The Social Network."
  7. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Aug 11, 2011
    25
    Akin to watching a ring-tested champion punch far below his weight. What a comedown.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 54
  2. Negative: 12 out of 54
  1. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    I think it is an awesome movie. Not only is it really funny but also original and everybody are perfect for there roll especially Micheal Pena who plays Chango. They all really make you believe that this could be true. Expand
  2. Aug 12, 2011
    10
    I like the fact that the movie had gotten mixed reaction because it shows me that half the people know what a good comedy is. 30 Mins is sooooo funny, itâ Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2011
    7
    A respectable comedy, not the best I've seen but one of your better options, it's mostly funny because the characters are really just goofy, it does take a while to get into and has some pacing issues, but once the bomb gets strapped to his chest the laughs start, although I feel the excessive use of the F-bomb was often unnecessary and never made anything funnier but instead made the dialog sound like it was coming from bratty 12 year olds as opposed to adults, but still I got laughs from it, so in the end it's a decent comedy with flaws, but it is worth at least a rental. Expand
  4. Jan 19, 2012
    5
    All the parts were there, but it did not congeal into a funny movie. Great cast, fun plot, but something was missing. The jokes. There weren't enough of them to satiate someone going to see a comedy. They tried, but swung and missed a lot. There were some funny gags and quips, but so far apart between laughs at a comedy doesn't bode well for the film. Expand
  5. Aug 15, 2011
    4
    I was hoping this would be funny, but I rarely laughed and neither did the rest of the audience....this is HBO movie material at best. I wanted to write this review as soon as possible, because I have almost forgotten this movie already. Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2011
    4
    Absolute disappointment. I waited for this movie in anticipation since I watched the totally awesome Zombieland, and while what I've seen in trailers wasn't exactly top notch, I had hoped that the final outcome will be just as good or better than Zombielad. Unfortunately, even though both director and Jesse Eisenberg are still here, this movie is just a generic flick. Barely watchable, boring, with an idea that has some potential, but it is wasted by flawed execution. Expand
  7. Dec 8, 2013
    0
    Obviously 30 Minutes or Less isn't an exact representation of the true-life tragedy. What 30 Minutes or Less is is an R-rated comedy, and the bomb, the bank robbery, the car chases, and the shootings are all played for laughs. Too bad those expected laughs just don't come very often, if at all, in 30 Minutes or Less. Expand

See all 54 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.