Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 34
  2. Negative: 9 out of 34
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Mar 10, 2014
    60
    For all the energetic milling, Rise of an Empire proves superior to its predecessor by making war a game both sexes can play, on nearly equal terms. In comparison, the R-rated "300" seems as innocent as Adam in the Garden before the delicious complication of Eve — or Eva.
  2. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Mar 6, 2014
    60
    The spectacularly brutal fighting is the film's main calling card, and in that "Rise of an Empire" doesn't disappoint. Still, in the battle for best guilty pleasure, I'd give it to the Spartans of "300," by a head.
  3. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Mar 6, 2014
    60
    If 300’s human touch largely came down to Butler’s roaring and screaming, it’s left entirely to Green to goose the sequel into life. Happily she obliges.
  4. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Mar 5, 2014
    60
    Just as bloody yet much more conventional, 300 #2 offers splashy thrills aplenty but fails to make a watertight case for its own existence. Green, however, ensures it stays afloat.
  5. Reviewed by: Guy Lodge
    Mar 4, 2014
    60
    It’s all extravagantly daft, moves at a fair clip and is over before you expect it to be.
  6. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Mar 10, 2014
    50
    The best thing about the new 300: Rise of an Empire is that Zack Snyder didn’t direct it. And the worst thing about it is that Zack Snyder didn’t direct it.
  7. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Mar 7, 2014
    50
    Stunningly shot and stupidly written.
  8. Reviewed by: Nicolas Rapold
    Mar 6, 2014
    50
    The naval collisions and melees play out in panel-like renderings that are bold and satisfying for the first half-hour but lack the momentum and bombastic je ne sais quoi of “300.”
  9. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Mar 6, 2014
    50
    Basically, if the first “300” was a pep-talk from Coach on how to lose with dignity, Rise of an Empire is an inspirational speech on the value of teamwork.
  10. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Mar 3, 2014
    50
    Other than for the pleasure of watching Green try to conquer ancient Greece dressed as a distant forebearer of Catwoman, more is less and a little late in this long-aborning sequel.
  11. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Mar 10, 2014
    40
    It really is pretty dull, though, with the same moments of campy silliness: the same frowning gym bunnies with the same digitally enhanced abs.
  12. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Mar 6, 2014
    40
    The best thing about the movie, by far, is Green. Her Artemisia is a real nut case with a taste for blood, and Green is the only one in the cast who seems to be having any fun at all.
  13. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Mar 5, 2014
    40
    The film feels epic in scope, visually at least, but the depth of its deep-focus composition is bitterly at odds with the flimsiness of its characterization and plotting.
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 506 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 120
  2. Negative: 30 out of 120
  1. Mar 13, 2014
    0
    Totally Forgettable. Too much cliche scenes and very weak story makes this sequel one of the worst I have ever seen. Amazing how the trailerTotally Forgettable. Too much cliche scenes and very weak story makes this sequel one of the worst I have ever seen. Amazing how the trailer could be so deceiving. Don't waste your money! Full Review »
  2. Mar 7, 2014
    3
    Saw this movie last night in 2-D. My first issue was that the blood effect look cheesy but perhaps in 3-D may have looked better. Eva GreenSaw this movie last night in 2-D. My first issue was that the blood effect look cheesy but perhaps in 3-D may have looked better. Eva Green was awesome but the leading man sucked. Wasn't buying the story because they had these regular soldiers able to take on the immortals like they were nothing. Absolutely loved the first 300 but this 300 I walked away disappointed and bored. Full Review »
  3. Mar 23, 2014
    0
    The only thing I find myself thinking when I see a movie like this and then arrive @ metacritic, is what on Earth these people are thinkingThe only thing I find myself thinking when I see a movie like this and then arrive @ metacritic, is what on Earth these people are thinking who give it a positive score. I wish I could be in their head for just an hour, just to see how truly stupid these people are. Full Review »