User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 507 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 96 out of 507
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 15, 2014
    7
    Unfortunately, 300 Rise of an Empire does not live up to the original 300. It can be said that if you liked the first one that you will like the sequel as well, but that's not entirely true. In my opinion, the first movie succeeded on more levels than just bloody swordplay and spectacular special effects. At it's heart, Leonidas was fighting for a political ideal that was bigger thanUnfortunately, 300 Rise of an Empire does not live up to the original 300. It can be said that if you liked the first one that you will like the sequel as well, but that's not entirely true. In my opinion, the first movie succeeded on more levels than just bloody swordplay and spectacular special effects. At it's heart, Leonidas was fighting for a political ideal that was bigger than himself and he knew it. He was expendable if it meant protecting the freedom of his family and people for even one more day.
    Rise of an Empire fails to connect on that level and is the lesser film for it. Still, there is a lot to enjoy here with some back story on Xerxes and some follow up with the treacherous hunchback. And finally Eva Green steals the show in every scene she is in and her performance alone makes the film worth watching. This 300 ends up being more a companion piece to the original 300, and that is good enough reason to watch. Just don't expect to be walking out of the theater on a triumphant high like the first one.
    Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2014
    9
    300 rise of an empire ,is masterfully crafted,brilliantly choreographed,interesting war film.It stays true to the original 300 ,it maintains the unique look and feel of the first movie but makes it even bigger, badder and bolder.and while it's short 1 and a half length keeps it from showing its true self and keeps you wishing for more this is still one of the most badass,visually arresting300 rise of an empire ,is masterfully crafted,brilliantly choreographed,interesting war film.It stays true to the original 300 ,it maintains the unique look and feel of the first movie but makes it even bigger, badder and bolder.and while it's short 1 and a half length keeps it from showing its true self and keeps you wishing for more this is still one of the most badass,visually arresting films i've ever seen.

    As a big fan of the first movie,i was really excited to see this movie,especially after hearing this is a prequel-sequel companion of the first one,the events take place before ,during and after the 300,which itself is a unique spin ,that you don't see that often.The performances given by Sullivan Stapleton and Eva Green are terrific especially Eva Green's Artemisia ,she is a scary,crazy,seductive and not-apologetic,you don't want to mess with this bad girl.As for Sullivan's Themistocles he's great and inspirational speeches ,they may not be on par with Gerrard Butler's Leonidas,but he definetely fights a lot better than him.

    The story itself is quite good and intriguining ,sure it's no masterpiece but hey its based off a graphic novel done by Frank Miller,so you can forgive it.The backstory of characters is thankfully given so you can have a lot more reasons to care for them and even Artemisia has a surprisingly heartbreaking past that gets you to understand her nature and why she truly wants revenge on Greece.

    But it's the stylistic action and gore that gets people to watch 300,and from that standpoint the movie is glorious amounts of kick-ass fun.The director Noam Murro maintains Zack Snyder's perfect feel of all-out war ,he adds more slo-mo shots that perfectly captures the fighting skill of Themistocles,within the first 5 minutes you already get a fight scene ,the movie gets this well prepared rythm of telling the story and embracing the action.The blood effects might not be for everyone to like but i certainly got used to it and started to enjoy the hell out of it.The sea battles also dynamically change up to combat and make it a damn fun movie and not repetitious.There is an end fight which is both a dissapointment and satisfaction.it's satisfying because it feels extremely epic with Themistocles riding a horse jumping from ship-to-ship tearing Persians limb from limb and ending the fight with Artemisia,now the problem of it is that it ends very abruptly and makes you wish just a tad bit more but maybe in a sequel.

    And it definetely will have a sequel with box office surpassing the budget and the box office of the first movie,this epic series is going to go on for a long time.300 rise of an empire is a MUST SEE for the fans of the original and fans of action movies,it's a wild ride from start to finish that does not slow down during talks ,but ends with an open note.

    P.S. if you get a chance to see it in 3D absolutely see it like that,it's a real visual treat.
    Expand
  3. Mar 9, 2014
    7
    300: Rise of an Empire was a really good movie but it failed to deliver on the epicness of the first film. But I'll first touch on the positives. The visuals are really, REALLY cool. It seemed like the blood spurts weren't done quite as well as the first one but overall the visuals in this movie were fantastic. Whether it was Artemisia igniting the Greek Navy or Themistokles leading the300: Rise of an Empire was a really good movie but it failed to deliver on the epicness of the first film. But I'll first touch on the positives. The visuals are really, REALLY cool. It seemed like the blood spurts weren't done quite as well as the first one but overall the visuals in this movie were fantastic. Whether it was Artemisia igniting the Greek Navy or Themistokles leading the Greek forces, the special effects and visuals were a definitely strength. The acting was also really good. Was it "Oscar-worthy"? No but it's a different kind of movie. I thought the actors delivered their roles well, especially Eva Green, who I thought stole the movie. Her beauty is stunning, sure, but she did an incredible job with Artemisia. The plot also developed well and I thought they connected it to the first film really well. Instead of this being a sequel, though, it's essentially occurring at the same time as the first movie, just at a different location. That being said, that is also one of the elements that hurt the movie, in my humble opinion. The movie builds and builds and builds and then right when you think you're about to get the biggest battle of the film, it ends. That is just a part of what I consider the weakest area of the movie... there just isn't enough combat. The first movie was littered with epic fight sequences while this one focused more on the politics. I think they forgot why so many people loved the first one. It was different from the Troys and the Bravehearts and the Gladiators. It was in your face war and had a charm and joy to it. This movie, while good in its own right, lost a lot of that charm and joy and tried to take a more serious cinematic approach, ultimately missing its mark in the process. Expand
  4. Jul 13, 2014
    10
    Amazing film in 3D. Better than the 1st, and the 1st was pretty god dang amazing. Highly recommended, amazing action and CG sequences. Casting, acting, and performances are all dead-on brilliant. Audio, sound fx are grand and perfectly sourced. Soundtrack is genius, inspiring, epic. Best period action film in years (since Troy imho).
  5. Mar 28, 2014
    7
    If you loved the original 300, then this movie brings more of the same testosterone-filled action, stylized fight scenes, awesome costumes, over-the-top CGI effects, overdramatic pre-battle speeches, slow motion, unrealistic blood, shirtless men yelling, shirtless men dying, shirtless men killing one another, etc. etc. Doesn't really add much to this formula, except possibly Eva Green, whoIf you loved the original 300, then this movie brings more of the same testosterone-filled action, stylized fight scenes, awesome costumes, over-the-top CGI effects, overdramatic pre-battle speeches, slow motion, unrealistic blood, shirtless men yelling, shirtless men dying, shirtless men killing one another, etc. etc. Doesn't really add much to this formula, except possibly Eva Green, who brings a great performance and makes a relatable villain. Needless to say, if you didn't like the original then this film won't do anything to change your opinion about the franchise, but if you liked the original, then you should definitely check the sequel out as well. Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2014
    7
    It lacks the unworldly mythologies of the first title, but its spectacular animation will still be entertaining enough. 300: Rise of an Empire is the prequel, event in between and also sequel of 300, this might be overreaching as it cumbersomely tries to tell wider scale background of the war. There are more characters, each with their own tale and the change into naval battle is aIt lacks the unworldly mythologies of the first title, but its spectacular animation will still be entertaining enough. 300: Rise of an Empire is the prequel, event in between and also sequel of 300, this might be overreaching as it cumbersomely tries to tell wider scale background of the war. There are more characters, each with their own tale and the change into naval battle is a welcomed one, not to mention clever ways to divulge more effects, however they can't replace the charm of mystical charisma from the predecessor.

    Story revolves mainly on Themistocles (Sullivan Stapleton) and his ambivalence struggle against slightly insane Persian general, Artemisia (Eva Green). Stapleton is not exactly inadequate on the leader role. He showcases a decent performance as the weight of war slowly burdens him, but the brash hawkish lead from Gerard Butler is sorely missed. The movie utilizes almost the same merry band of warriors as 300, despite acknowledging the less superhuman original profession. They might be too similar, especially physique-wise, it feels like a shallow reenactment than legitimate replacement, and it's not about the blue cape instead of red.

    Eva Green is absurdly filled with anguish, almost excessively. It's very passionately awkward, but admittedly effective nonetheless as she oozes strength at times. King Xerxes (Rodrigo Santoro) gets an exposition of his metamorphosis past, a "before" and "after" look as herbal steroid, magic spell and CG alter his appearance to that of a giant. This retains some of the magical vibe from previous title, although only a mere fragment of it.

    He does not possess the same on-screen threat as he did, currently he's not even the same level as his madly obsessive lady general. Queen Gorgo (Lena Headey) serves as narrator, she partakes in only a handful of scenes as the focus shifts away from Sparta. Her voice has weight, although not as poignant as Dilios (David Wenham) in the first movie, who is now relegated into a flimsy support role.

    The trademark fight scenes are splendid, stylishly choreographed with elegant brute force. Maritime warfare presents more effects added into bloody skirmish, be it may water or fire, they are visually delightful. It moves very aggressively, slowing at just the right critical moments. In a sense, it almost resembles a game; I wouldn't be surprise if it has health meter and death count display. This mix of battle macabre and CGI stand tall in the peak of action genre, audience will most likely find no disappointment in this regard.

    Unfortunately, screenplays aren't constructed concisely enough; they don’t continue momentum from plot to action smoothly, making some occasions feel dry. It offers some degree of political and social aspect, but not carrying the depth needed to stimulate the audience. While the spectacle is undeniably impressive, 300: Rise of an Empire is just a glorified war movie.
    Expand
  7. Mar 21, 2014
    8
    I have to say i was not looking forward to this film, i watched the trailer a few times and was going to give it a miss but im so glad i watched it, i thought that the story was pretty good, the way it was close to 300 i liked that, the comic book violence was spot on, the blood was a little dodgy in 2D so i wish i had seen it in 3D, the acting was pretty good, Eva Green was really goodI have to say i was not looking forward to this film, i watched the trailer a few times and was going to give it a miss but im so glad i watched it, i thought that the story was pretty good, the way it was close to 300 i liked that, the comic book violence was spot on, the blood was a little dodgy in 2D so i wish i had seen it in 3D, the acting was pretty good, Eva Green was really good she really surprised me, and she looked hot :) one thing that was a downer the middle of the film got a bit flat, it started off fast paced then lost it a bit but it soon picked up pace. I left the cinema with a huge smile on my face and i am really looking forward to the next instalment. Expand
  8. May 9, 2014
    7
    Beautifully painted art on canvas like visuals, gory action sequences and Eva Green makes this movie a visual feast to watch. The amount of work that's put in doesn't disappoint the viewers.
  9. Mar 22, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Its a good movie..not a great one nor inspirational
    watch it in 3D for cinematography,graphics,stunning visual graphics scenery,slo-mo action scenes

    about the story : watch what happens in the side of original 300
    A navy battle

    -ve : lots of graphic blood '; spills on camera
    slow second half followed by comedy

    Rated R : for Curse words & a nude sex scene
    +ve : not boring
    Expand
  10. Mar 12, 2014
    7
    this was what i expected it to be bloody gory action film. i enjoyed it personally the acting was surprisingly good and the action scenes were awesome! overall for what its worth i thought it was a solid movie and sequel to 300. the lead actor of Themistocles performed really well
  11. Apr 7, 2014
    9
    Thus movie definitely isn't for everybody, but I enjoyed watching this a lot. The movie is action packed and full of excellent fighting scenes, with sometimes fake looking gore and blood, which still seemed awesome none the less. I love the actors and I love the scenery, I'd watch this again if given a chance.
  12. Mar 13, 2014
    7
    I've liked Eva Green since Casino Royale and now I have even more reason to be a fan. She gives the movie such a spark when she is on the screen she makes the rest of the cast seem a little boring. While not as good as the first "300" it is still an enjoyable experience.
  13. Mar 11, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First of all, Eva Green is beautiful, sexy, bad ass, and really good to look at. That alone is good enough.

    Second, this is not a historical movie. Nor is the first 300 movie. For example, the battle at Thermopylae is not "Leonidas and his 300" but Leonidas, 300, and some Greek hoplites/levies. This movie is NOT historical at all. Artemisia is not leading the battle of Salamis, the seamanship of the Persians are better than the Greeks, the Persians use the same type of ships than the Greeks, and the rocks trick is used at the final battle of Salamis, instead in the opening battle.

    Third, Eva Green is a beautiful women.

    Fourth, I am an action junkie so my score will reflect that. There are a lot of gore and blood. The sword battles are not so nice, mostly the action scenes are jumbled of one-on-one battles, or hero vs. tons of enemies battle, while it's better if the action also focuses on the wide carnage of the battle. The CGI is great, but CGI can't help weak action scenes. The Persians, are, as usual, slaughtered by the "Greek farmers". This is boring, the Persians should have a chance of an EVEN FIGHT. In fact, the Persian soldiers should have upper hand against "standard" Greek levies. The only Persian capable of fighting back is The Immortals, but these also will be slaughtered in large number if they fight the Hero. Seriously, this thing bores me.

    Fifth, there are so many plot holes. For instance, the Spartans refusal to help. Seriously? The Spartans are so badass in the first movie. They are warrior society, yes they have lost their king and the kings bodyguard, but after losing this they think "no more"? The other city states farmers and artisans are fighting to death, against greater number with less training and less martial skill, and yet still fight? The Spartans do look like a douche. And in the end, the Spartans still have a large number of soldiers, where are these guys in the first movie?

    Good movie to have in theater, but you don't have to buy it.
    Half of my score is given to Eva Green and her good "scene".
    Expand
  14. Mar 7, 2014
    9
    Rise of an Empire is a sumptuous feast for the eyes that’s a worthy sequel to the action classic that doesn’t improve on the formula, but does entertain for the majority of its run-time. A sequel that's better than it has any right to be, Rise of an Empire is an adrenaline-fuelled blast of bloody fun.
  15. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    The new instalment of 300 is a excellent, exciting, fast paced, action with some of the best visual I have seen to date. The movie is generally pleasing and a fun time to watch with mates. A note worthy script and a well all round cast is everything fans craved for. 300: Rise of an Empire is a must watch sequel to the original classic.
  16. Mar 9, 2014
    8
    It's simple really, if you liked the first one, you'll probably like this one as well. As a fan of the first film, the was everything I wanted. Sometime I just want to see big burly men cut each other with sharp objects. :)
  17. Mar 29, 2014
    7
    300: Rise of an Empire is a good movie overall, there are good actions scenes with great special effects and a lot of blood , Some drama parts are, sometimes, cliche an it can be little bit boring..., but if you don't care about that you will enjoy the movie, there are good actors like Eva Green, Rodrigo Santoro and Sullivan Stapleton.
  18. Apr 3, 2014
    8
    If you like slo-mo action sequences, this film delivers. Feels a little more long winded than the original, but certainly delivers exactly what the fans expected.
  19. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    I thought this movie was great. I loved the first 300 and this one was just as good.

    They basically take the time to frame every shot and angle and it's great action.

    I will definitely see the 3rd installment in 2018 or whenever it comes out in the future.
  20. Mar 12, 2014
    8
    300 - Rise of an Empire tells another view from his predecessor, witch shows a history before and after the predecessor 300. 300 - Rise of an Empire shows who is Zack Snyder, in visuals, animations, especial effects, photography and all others topics in the gaphics area this movie rocks, Zack Snyder is great in combat scenes, the camera angles is just perfect, and you know exactly what is300 - Rise of an Empire tells another view from his predecessor, witch shows a history before and after the predecessor 300. 300 - Rise of an Empire shows who is Zack Snyder, in visuals, animations, especial effects, photography and all others topics in the gaphics area this movie rocks, Zack Snyder is great in combat scenes, the camera angles is just perfect, and you know exactly what is happening in the combat.

    But as always, just epic scenes with bunch of combat and slow motion can't make the movie great, the History of the movie is well telled, but I think the movie needs a little bit of more explanation of the history, how everything happened, you just see a bit of history and bunch of combat scenes in a loop all the movie, witch was a little bit awkward.

    Seeing by this point, as what a complete movie needs to offer you, 300 - Rise of an Empire is a 5 or 6 out 10 movie, but the objective of the movie is to impress you with the high quality action scenes, with the slow motions scenes and with the all blood, and this object the movie completes well, as a complete movie needs? No. But is a 8 out 10 movie in a lot of ways.
    Expand
  21. Mar 7, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pretty simple; if you liked 300 you will enjoy this companion piece, if you didn't, well don't waste your time. I actually thought it was slightly better than 300 based on Eva Green's character and performance which surpassed Domnic West's turn as bad guy in the first flick.

    What made her part so interesting was that it almost seems that the writers themselves did not know what to make of her character. In many ways she is more sympathetic than the lead male figures, and in the movie's sex scene (amazing that a man choking a struggling woman while he attempts to take her from behind earns an R, but a man performing oral sex on a woman equals a NC-17) I felt that she in fact took over as lead character as the male hero is left befuddled by her. I'm clearly out of my league in applying a feminist perspective to a movie designed to make men want to hit the the local crossfit, but in dispatching her character at the end (finally getting her to knees before the male hero) I felt there is a comment to made regarding the inability of men to accept challenging women (including male screenwriter's inability to deal with them in movies).

    I should note that I saw this movie in IMAX 3D which I find to be so impressive that I also recommended John Carter after seeing it in IMAX 3D, something which my friends remind me of all the time.

    But that
    Expand
  22. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    As far as the graphics go, the visuals are amazing. Smooth and great looking 3d efects that did not irritate my eyes. The story itself was amazing, taking place at the same time as the first movie. And i really liked the naval idea, because i thought to make combat at sea would be hard to pull of, but they did s great job mixing different combat tactics making it intresting. The actorsAs far as the graphics go, the visuals are amazing. Smooth and great looking 3d efects that did not irritate my eyes. The story itself was amazing, taking place at the same time as the first movie. And i really liked the naval idea, because i thought to make combat at sea would be hard to pull of, but they did s great job mixing different combat tactics making it intresting. The actors were good both in acting and visually, tho not as tough as the spartan Expand
  23. Mar 13, 2014
    9
    So I had pretty low expectations watching this after I read critic reviews. Is it as good as 300 (the original) no but it plays things out in a different manner and it does work well. Eva Green stole the show she was amazing. Her performance will come to mind for years to come, yes she is that good in this movie. Overall the acting was top notch. This film had a more political take on theSo I had pretty low expectations watching this after I read critic reviews. Is it as good as 300 (the original) no but it plays things out in a different manner and it does work well. Eva Green stole the show she was amazing. Her performance will come to mind for years to come, yes she is that good in this movie. Overall the acting was top notch. This film had a more political take on the war but I thought they did a great job with it. Visuals were great, music was outstanding. I was skeptical but I'm glad I saw it anyway. Eva Green's performance alone is well worth the price of admission. Expand
  24. Mar 15, 2014
    7
    Visually this sequel to 300 is very impressive. The colors and visuals on screen make it so you cant look away. However like with most sequels I believe they tries to put too much in this movie and thus missed the mark. The battles lacked their previous amazement and there was very little to do with the spartans (reasons we all loved the first so much) but they have set themselves up forVisually this sequel to 300 is very impressive. The colors and visuals on screen make it so you cant look away. However like with most sequels I believe they tries to put too much in this movie and thus missed the mark. The battles lacked their previous amazement and there was very little to do with the spartans (reasons we all loved the first so much) but they have set themselves up for an epic 3rd installment hopefully between the spartans and the persians Expand
  25. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    i will give 10 out of 10 for this movie. long time waiting, really worth watching at the big screens. It has alots of new features, from the costumes designers up to the actors that really played an important role into this movie. has to be the greatest war movie type of niche.
  26. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    Eva Green's performance in this movie is amazing and it makes the movie more epic to watch! sure there were the fighting sequences, and how Xerxes became a God King not to mention, the parallel between the first movie and the second movie and more! but honestly the thing that stands out the most is Eva Green if she doesn't deserve the praise then it's obvious that movie critics don't haveEva Green's performance in this movie is amazing and it makes the movie more epic to watch! sure there were the fighting sequences, and how Xerxes became a God King not to mention, the parallel between the first movie and the second movie and more! but honestly the thing that stands out the most is Eva Green if she doesn't deserve the praise then it's obvious that movie critics don't have taste the reason it's a 9/10 it's because why bother making a parallel movie when clearly you can fuse both 300 and this movie together it makes much more sense story wise Expand
  27. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    I watched this movie at the cinema and it is a really good movie it's not better than the first 300 but this movie is really good i can feel the 2014 touch in the movie! I give it 10/10 becuase it's a movie with the 2014 touch!

    My wore may game - Alidengote 2014
  28. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    Realmente muy buena la película, super entretenida y super espectacular, la critican por el gore, por favor y a ver una película de 300 es ir a ver sangre, batallas y sexo, que mas quieren los críticos?. Epic film.
  29. Mar 8, 2014
    8
    Great sequel. It's just as gory and stylish as the previous one. The 3D is well implemented, Eva Green is great as the villain and we get to see her Xerxes backstory. The movie takes place both before, during and after the events of 300, and i think that's really awesome. The special effects are great too. There's some memorable lines as always and then there's the sex scene which, while iGreat sequel. It's just as gory and stylish as the previous one. The 3D is well implemented, Eva Green is great as the villain and we get to see her Xerxes backstory. The movie takes place both before, during and after the events of 300, and i think that's really awesome. The special effects are great too. There's some memorable lines as always and then there's the sex scene which, while i normally don't like those sorts of scenes is actually not only tasteful but also hilarious considering how it ends. Only downside is that Themistocles, the new protagonist, isn't as memorable as Leonidas. I felt like it was a great sequel. I guess there's just no pleasing some people. Expand
  30. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    I absolutely enjoyed the film. The story, the acting, the atmosphere, the gore... just thrilling. To top it all off; I watched it in IMAX 3D, so it felt like I was there!
  31. Mar 9, 2014
    7
    This movie seems to have evolved from the original and the attempt to mobilize the most complex production with the intent of recasting Greek mythology for a modern viewer is simply unparalleled. Death and Glory are on center stage.
  32. Mar 11, 2014
    8
    300: Rise of an Empire was an action-filled ride similar to its predecessor, but amped to a much higher degree. The story sustained itself by the power of the sexes and provided closure to the first film. Frank Miler’s story and Zack Snyder’s film adaptation were impressive. It was like experiencing graphic fiction come to life. It was a surreal experience.
  33. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    Gran pelicula,por supuesto no a la altura de la 1era,pero aun asi una gran pelicula con escenas memorables, no puedo esperar para ver la 3, q sera seguramente la ultima
  34. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    meh....................................................................................................................................................
  35. Mar 9, 2014
    8
    300: Rise of an Empire is a very well-filmed gory action movie, and the absence of Zack Snyder as the director is barely noticeable (for me, at least). The fight scenes are fierce, bloody and gripping, I absolutely loved them. Eva Green is both sexy and dangerous, and the film's visceral sex scene is the culmination of those qualities. The soundtrack is quite fitting and memorable, and300: Rise of an Empire is a very well-filmed gory action movie, and the absence of Zack Snyder as the director is barely noticeable (for me, at least). The fight scenes are fierce, bloody and gripping, I absolutely loved them. Eva Green is both sexy and dangerous, and the film's visceral sex scene is the culmination of those qualities. The soundtrack is quite fitting and memorable, and Black Sabbath's War Pigs during the end credits really make you go out the cinema hall in style. The dialogues are sometimes too primitive and the speeches about Freedom™ and Democracy™ are boring, but those downsides are outweighed by the movie's strengths in my opinion. Anyway, a solid action movie I recommend to watch. Expand
  36. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Maybe the change in the shoes of director have changed a bit of movie's taking but still a good sequel prequel .noam murro did his part.. and must thank eva green and santaro for their roles. lena headey did her part and debutant sullivan was good with his stunts and physique. Expand
  37. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    One word: Badass. Much better than the first film, just forget about realism and you will be fine. The only thing i think i could question was the fact that the random sex scene was rather confusing to the actual story and portrayed a bad image of the main character.
  38. Jun 27, 2014
    8
    This was most expected sequel by me. I loved the first installment for its awesome vfx. So I anticipated similar visual pack in this, especially in digital 3d version the expectation was a bit higher. Who's this director and how did he get this project, miraculously, he managed to handle this mega task with mostly the not so famous actors, probably except Eva Green. It's really a greatThis was most expected sequel by me. I loved the first installment for its awesome vfx. So I anticipated similar visual pack in this, especially in digital 3d version the expectation was a bit higher. Who's this director and how did he get this project, miraculously, he managed to handle this mega task with mostly the not so famous actors, probably except Eva Green. It's really a great achievement for a filmmaker like him like Peter Jackson did a decade ago for 'The Lord of the Rings'. It may change his future, hope he continues with the remarkable works further on.

    As I said I wanted a sequel to '300', but after seeing its ending I thought the title won't fit for the follow-up. It was cleverly written for 'Rise of an Empire'. In the first movie and this, the story had no much scope deliberately. Because the main intense was the stunts and visuals. In this part, OMG, it was one of the best digital 3Dised movie I ever saw. Some of the scenes, especially the sex scene was totally inappropriate. I never knew what was its purpose, maybe because to have a movie's one of the powerful dialogue that follow like this: You fight much harder than you f&%#.

    ‘‘There is only one thing to make sure of when the fighting starts.
    Don't get killed on the first day’’

    The cast performances were good, in the end it was the graphics that ruled the movie. How amazingly created those scenes, sometimes it was mind blowing. I was just thinking what it would have done if the popular stars had in it. Might have been year's best, but I still consider it the upcoming Oscars strong contender in the visual effects category along with 'The Battle of the Five Armies'. If this won't get a place in the final list, that will be a greater insult for sure.

    This was not exactly a follow-up story, instead simultaneously happening one of the first. The story that happens other side of the country which meets in the middle and goes on with the originally intended. The vicious villain Xerxes played by a Brasilian actor had extended display of his role which briefs how he became the god-king. Without a second thought Eva Green is this movie's strength. Would have been an unimaginably worse without her, I guess. This movie is for graphic geeks like me and also who love comic strip mode movies. You should try it in digital 3D then the entertainment is guaranteed, but still would not be your favourite of the year if I am not wrong.

    7.5/10
    Expand
  39. Nov 3, 2014
    10
    the best movie ever made, only second to the original. overuses special effects/ fight scenes perfectly like a good movie should, doesn't waste time on story and bores you to the point of mental masturbation
  40. Jul 7, 2015
    10
    Absolutely one of my favourite films of all time, I love the musical score, the cinematography and the very over the top combat. Packed full of action, no Leonidas of course sadly as the battle of Thermopylae and the sea battle happened pretty much the same time. Good acting, and narrated with a monologue in the same way as my favourite film, the original 300.
  41. May 1, 2015
    10
    Is there a better film in Acnient Greece to date? No, so I guess until one is made the score remains at 10/10,

    300: Rise of an Empire is simply all I wanted from such a film. Minus the sec scene with Eva Green, which by the way wtf is up with people and their over-hyped on-the-pedestal reaction to this actress? She was good, that is it. I liked her in this film but lets face it, she
    Is there a better film in Acnient Greece to date? No, so I guess until one is made the score remains at 10/10,

    300: Rise of an Empire is simply all I wanted from such a film. Minus the sec scene with Eva Green, which by the way wtf is up with people and their over-hyped on-the-pedestal reaction to this actress? She was good, that is it. I liked her in this film but lets face it, she didn't carry it neither gave a memorable performance. Horny much people?

    Anyway. The action was awesome. From the beach of Marathon we start off and get into the thick of it on the go. With amazing choreography and an action style that only Zack can deliver on with such delicate quality.

    We get to see for the first time an awesome take of the Athenian triremes in action. Finally! We also get a completely different perspective to life and death, honour and war, from the Athenian side, a more relatable side to us in a way as opposed to the more hero-like Spartans.

    The elements of the story were fairly simple, and perhaps as complex as a film like this should be. It doesn't need more than that people. It is a film about a historical war! And also, once again, based on a comic. Which that alone upped the take on many things and added some more plot lines.

    The way it connects to the first 300 is also uncanny. I had made a complete feature film with both films in one (till my HDD crashed and I lost it). And it is simply amazing the idea of making it take place at the same time as the original 300.

    The action as I already said was amazing, as a war film should be. The characters simply fitting and great, the themes behind the war touching indeed, and very moving. The notion of freedom and a united Greece once more present, going one step further now to vengeance. That alone should make any fan of the original happy, the way it was portrayed and depicted, a sense of "making Leonidas proud".

    The visuals where much better than the first film, and at parts seemed even more comical but much richer. The fact that it all has a blue tone to it, reflecting Athens and the sea and naval battles more, was also a great take, whilst 300 had that red tone to it all.

    Themistocles was great in the film, as were the rest of the actors for a war film based in Ancient Greece. Simply awesome.

    More of these please guys, we have been waiting for great films in Ancient Greek History or Mythology, and yet all we have gotten thus far the last years is Clash/Wrath of the Titans and a slightly Better/serious The Immortals. (Haven't seen Dwayne Johnson Hercules yet, I am genuinely afraid to do so, lol).

    Troy made a 10 year war into a 12 day parody, with a million and one historical inaccuracies. Alexander gave us a psychopath bisexual and dressed the Hellenic army with skirts as opposed to their proper atire (not to mention all the other sh!t wrong with those films) and so till a better film in Ancient Greece arises, this stays at a 10/10 along with the first 300.

    I kinda enjoyed the Titan films, but as a cheesy one-time thing alone. Zacks' work here is by far the best in quality, putting in more work than any other film out there clearly, and taking the job seriously in the process. This film was great. It had a few flaws, but very very few. For the most part, even with a better film coming out, I still doubt it will not deserve a 9/10 at least.

    Did I mention the soundtrack? Yeah. That soundtrack blew me away!
    Expand
  42. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    Much better than the first. More historical, better narration, much less slow motion-- and the presence of an actual storyline. I hated the first but this one was one I'll probably buy.
  43. Jul 14, 2014
    8
    Brilliant special effects, a quote-ready script, and a stellar performance from Eva Green, 300: Rise of an Empire manages to live up to expectations and thoroughly entertain viewers.
  44. Sep 4, 2014
    7
    if you like a movie with a intermediate story but lots of action nd sloooooow moootiooooon then this is a movie for you and me! although the story is like almost the same as 300 the only difference is that the men now are greek and not on land but fight on boats..... ow yeah Slowmotion Bewbs :D
  45. Dec 18, 2014
    9
    as much i adore Frank Miller's work also his wild imagination with graphic novels such as Sin City, Elecktra. 300 has not change a bit it has well terrible matrix effects as warriors (or what ever they are called) kill each other. Meanwhile with bad ass effects 300 returns with a sequel ! all of these stunning actors Eva Green kills and fights thats what makes this 300 rise of an empireas much i adore Frank Miller's work also his wild imagination with graphic novels such as Sin City, Elecktra. 300 has not change a bit it has well terrible matrix effects as warriors (or what ever they are called) kill each other. Meanwhile with bad ass effects 300 returns with a sequel ! all of these stunning actors Eva Green kills and fights thats what makes this 300 rise of an empire epic with blood and boobs Miller does it again! creates good quality bad ass character also good kills. Expand
  46. Dec 19, 2014
    10
    This movie was a blast... Noam Murro is an amazing director, this movie was epic... It has it all.
    - Casting 6/10
    - Special Effects 7/10
    - Screen Play 6/10
    - Sound Effects 6/10
    - Story 6/10
    - Sex Scene 20000/10
  47. Jun 20, 2015
    7
    It was not as good as the first 300, and I would of preferred it to have been about Spartans instead. But the combat was fantastic and I could tell from the noises of excitement from the other people in the Cinema they though the same.
  48. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    ----->>>>>Watch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online----->>>>>Watch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) freeWatch online 300 rise of an empire (2014) free Collapse
  49. Aug 8, 2014
    9
    A Sequel-Prequel to 300. It doesn't match the original which to mind is one the best movies I have seen in the 21st century..but it gives it a good shot..Great CGI, production and cinematography..Pretty good actors in Stapleton and Green (Though I didn't buy her super toughness so much). But nowhere close to Gerard Butler's brilliance as Leonidas. Xerxes is underutilized and even hisA Sequel-Prequel to 300. It doesn't match the original which to mind is one the best movies I have seen in the 21st century..but it gives it a good shot..Great CGI, production and cinematography..Pretty good actors in Stapleton and Green (Though I didn't buy her super toughness so much). But nowhere close to Gerard Butler's brilliance as Leonidas. Xerxes is underutilized and even his character a tad diminished here too..which was a pity..He was truly awesome in the first 300...Minus points were the use of modern cursing which was grating..and a hardcore sex scene???Why I don't know??...Major pluses were the fabulous fight scenes...The macho fight for Greece and freedom dialogue and the smashing slo mo stuff which i really love.. Expand
  50. Aug 31, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 300 Rise of an empire may not be that good in the eyes of other people but hot damn this movie was awesome! (For me that is). The story is pretty straight forward and takes place as the original 300 is going on. A soldier from Athens called Themisticleas is trying to hold of the Persian naval army until the 300 Spartans can unite Greece. What follows is balls-to-the-knee ACTION! I am sure many of you saw tens of thousands of plot holes but i was mesmerized by seeing Themisticleas jump from ship to ship, on a horse cutting through Persians like a video of a lawn mower on fast forward. People do questionable yet awesome things like jump in to a lake full of advancing enemy's and try and fight them all in the water. This move was time well spent for me but maybe not for other people. If you are in it for awesome fight scenes this will blow you away. Expand
  51. Mar 27, 2015
    7
    There is a lot of blood in this movie and yes it looks fake as hell but it's better then ninja assassin, the main villain was alright and the main hero of the film was boring to watch I mean the actor was not terrible but the character was boring to watch.
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 34
  2. Negative: 9 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Apr 18, 2014
    75
    300: Rise Of An Empire is a worthy sequel to "300," stylistically consistent and equally loony, featuring what may well be the first truly can't-miss performance in a film this year.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Mar 10, 2014
    60
    For all the energetic milling, Rise of an Empire proves superior to its predecessor by making war a game both sexes can play, on nearly equal terms. In comparison, the R-rated "300" seems as innocent as Adam in the Garden before the delicious complication of Eve — or Eva.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Mar 10, 2014
    40
    It really is pretty dull, though, with the same moments of campy silliness: the same frowning gym bunnies with the same digitally enhanced abs.