Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 481 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 34
  2. Negative: 9 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Mar 6, 2014
    88
    Even with the uniformly good performances — and the standout work from Ms. Green — 300: Rise of an Empire is foremost a triumph of production design, costumes, brilliantly choreographed battle sequences and stunning CGI.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Mar 4, 2014
    70
    Rise of an Empire might have been essentially more of the same, but for one distinction that makes it 300 times better than its predecessor: Mere mortals of Athens, Sparta, and every city from Mumbai to Minneapolis, behold the magnificent Eva Green, and tremble!
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 6, 2014
    63
    The lack of a creative driver behind the film leads to a level of fundamental dissatisfaction. The movie delivers all the necessary elements but their impact is dull.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Mar 3, 2014
    50
    Other than for the pleasure of watching Green try to conquer ancient Greece dressed as a distant forebearer of Catwoman, more is less and a little late in this long-aborning sequel.
  5. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Mar 10, 2014
    50
    The best thing about the new 300: Rise of an Empire is that Zack Snyder didn’t direct it. And the worst thing about it is that Zack Snyder didn’t direct it.
  6. Reviewed by: Adam Nayman
    Mar 6, 2014
    38
    By throwing herself headfirst into scenes that a more cautious actress might beg off, Green earns herself a citation for valour – a Purple Heart in a movie that’s otherwise way too grim and grey for its own good.
  7. Reviewed by: James Rocchi
    Mar 7, 2014
    0
    The empty violence and pointless style are only the biggest problems.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 115
  2. Negative: 29 out of 115
  1. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    Realmente muy buena la película, super entretenida y super espectacular, la critican por el gore, por favor y a ver una película de 300 es irRealmente muy buena la película, super entretenida y super espectacular, la critican por el gore, por favor y a ver una película de 300 es ir a ver sangre, batallas y sexo, que mas quieren los críticos?. Epic film. Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2014
    9
    300 rise of an empire ,is masterfully crafted,brilliantly choreographed,interesting war film.It stays true to the original 300 ,it maintains300 rise of an empire ,is masterfully crafted,brilliantly choreographed,interesting war film.It stays true to the original 300 ,it maintains the unique look and feel of the first movie but makes it even bigger, badder and bolder.and while it's short 1 and a half length keeps it from showing its true self and keeps you wishing for more this is still one of the most badass,visually arresting films i've ever seen.

    As a big fan of the first movie,i was really excited to see this movie,especially after hearing this is a prequel-sequel companion of the first one,the events take place before ,during and after the 300,which itself is a unique spin ,that you don't see that often.The performances given by Sullivan Stapleton and Eva Green are terrific especially Eva Green's Artemisia ,she is a scary,crazy,seductive and not-apologetic,you don't want to mess with this bad girl.As for Sullivan's Themistocles he's great and inspirational speeches ,they may not be on par with Gerrard Butler's Leonidas,but he definetely fights a lot better than him.

    The story itself is quite good and intriguining ,sure it's no masterpiece but hey its based off a graphic novel done by Frank Miller,so you can forgive it.The backstory of characters is thankfully given so you can have a lot more reasons to care for them and even Artemisia has a surprisingly heartbreaking past that gets you to understand her nature and why she truly wants revenge on Greece.

    But it's the stylistic action and gore that gets people to watch 300,and from that standpoint the movie is glorious amounts of kick-ass fun.The director Noam Murro maintains Zack Snyder's perfect feel of all-out war ,he adds more slo-mo shots that perfectly captures the fighting skill of Themistocles,within the first 5 minutes you already get a fight scene ,the movie gets this well prepared rythm of telling the story and embracing the action.The blood effects might not be for everyone to like but i certainly got used to it and started to enjoy the hell out of it.The sea battles also dynamically change up to combat and make it a damn fun movie and not repetitious.There is an end fight which is both a dissapointment and satisfaction.it's satisfying because it feels extremely epic with Themistocles riding a horse jumping from ship-to-ship tearing Persians limb from limb and ending the fight with Artemisia,now the problem of it is that it ends very abruptly and makes you wish just a tad bit more but maybe in a sequel.

    And it definetely will have a sequel with box office surpassing the budget and the box office of the first movie,this epic series is going to go on for a long time.300 rise of an empire is a MUST SEE for the fans of the original and fans of action movies,it's a wild ride from start to finish that does not slow down during talks ,but ends with an open note.

    P.S. if you get a chance to see it in 3D absolutely see it like that,it's a real visual treat.
    Expand
  3. Mar 9, 2014
    8
    300: Rise of an Empire is a very well-filmed gory action movie, and the absence of Zack Snyder as the director is barely noticeable (for me,300: Rise of an Empire is a very well-filmed gory action movie, and the absence of Zack Snyder as the director is barely noticeable (for me, at least). The fight scenes are fierce, bloody and gripping, I absolutely loved them. Eva Green is both sexy and dangerous, and the film's visceral sex scene is the culmination of those qualities. The soundtrack is quite fitting and memorable, and Black Sabbath's War Pigs during the end credits really make you go out the cinema hall in style. The dialogues are sometimes too primitive and the speeches about Freedom™ and Democracy™ are boring, but those downsides are outweighed by the movie's strengths in my opinion. Anyway, a solid action movie I recommend to watch. Expand
  4. May 25, 2014
    6
    300: Rise of an Empire is an ok movie i knew going into it that it wasnt going to be anything great but as a sequel it stands ok i guess. For300: Rise of an Empire is an ok movie i knew going into it that it wasnt going to be anything great but as a sequel it stands ok i guess. For the most part the plot fails, the cgi fails, the acting fails well other then Eva Green she was really the only likable character and really the best part of the film. The action was good so that does help for the rest of the movie but i will say that this movie does has a ton of blood. While i was on my way home i remembered the poster with the wave made of blood for the movie yeah that is no joke its like that. Ill be honest and say that i wouldnt have watched this in theaters but i went with some friends that wanted to watch it so if it wasnt for them i would have just seen this when outs out on blu ray/dvd and would recommend people just watch it that way and not waste your money.

    Overall i give it a 6.0
    Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dissapointment
    This new movie of 300 is a big dissaster, the screenplay is HUGE dissaster in many parts it has no sense. One thing it really surprise me, was the part Artemisia had brown eyes and later her eyes were completely blue. The direction in charge of Noam Murro is a regular performance. The effects of 300 and 300 Rise of an Empire have no difference between them. This film is only another movie
    Expand
  6. Jul 25, 2014
    4
    It took them seven years to make a sequel. There isn't much to say about this film. It's disappointing. The storyline isn't really anythingIt took them seven years to make a sequel. There isn't much to say about this film. It's disappointing. The storyline isn't really anything interesting because its pretty much the typical revenge **** like in almost every other film thats being released nowadays, the characters are boring, they're the standard characters wanting vengeance, and the CGI is insanely bad. At some points it actually felt like I was looking at video game gameplay...

    As a comparison as this film has large battle sequences, Lord of The Rings budget was $93 Million and the budget for this (ROAE) was $110 Million. A film from 2001 had more believable CGI then a film from 2014, and I'm not even a fan of Lord of The Rings.

    Of course, they're making another sequel for this film when they could had easily just made this film another 30-40 minutes, then it would had been the end of it... Either way, I hope they do a better job next time. Although, what do we expect digging out a sequel to a 7 year old film? It'll probably be another 5 years for the sequel.
    Expand
  7. Sep 22, 2014
    0
    I read a lot of the other comments and I'll borrow the highlights that matched how I feel most closely.
    Foul, racist American propaganda
    I read a lot of the other comments and I'll borrow the highlights that matched how I feel most closely.
    Foul, racist American propaganda painting the great and enlightened Persian empire as a bunch of savages. The "suicide bomber" was particularly sickening. Spot on with this comment. This is an example of a film that should never make it past the drawing board. (another pretty close feeling to what I had watching it). Ugh! Down right awful! (short but to the point). If they changed eva green's character to a male character and tweaked the story i mean a lot it would have a shot. (this is closest though to how I really felt). In what world are people stupid enough to watch these chicks lead armies fighting with the men. At on point the queen raises a sword, and all it's missing is her screaming VAGINA POWER!! with like a rainbow or something, that's the only way I could have thought to make this movie any worse and honestly it may have made me laugh so that could have even been an improvement. The only thing I'll take away from this movie other then my head hung low, will be to know that if I ever lead a country that's a huge world power with 10's of thousands of ships maybe I shouldn't let an 80 pound slave ship slut have complete control of them. It a strange situation to be at the end of a movie hoping that the guy beats the girls azz in moral combat. I'd say more but I feel I've put a lot more effort into this comment then the movie was worth.
    Expand

See all 115 User Reviews

Trailers