Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 425 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 34
  2. Negative: 9 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Mar 6, 2014
    88
    Even with the uniformly good performances — and the standout work from Ms. Green — 300: Rise of an Empire is foremost a triumph of production design, costumes, brilliantly choreographed battle sequences and stunning CGI.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Mar 4, 2014
    70
    Rise of an Empire might have been essentially more of the same, but for one distinction that makes it 300 times better than its predecessor: Mere mortals of Athens, Sparta, and every city from Mumbai to Minneapolis, behold the magnificent Eva Green, and tremble!
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 6, 2014
    63
    The lack of a creative driver behind the film leads to a level of fundamental dissatisfaction. The movie delivers all the necessary elements but their impact is dull.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Mar 3, 2014
    50
    Other than for the pleasure of watching Green try to conquer ancient Greece dressed as a distant forebearer of Catwoman, more is less and a little late in this long-aborning sequel.
  5. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Mar 10, 2014
    50
    The best thing about the new 300: Rise of an Empire is that Zack Snyder didn’t direct it. And the worst thing about it is that Zack Snyder didn’t direct it.
  6. Reviewed by: Adam Nayman
    Mar 6, 2014
    38
    By throwing herself headfirst into scenes that a more cautious actress might beg off, Green earns herself a citation for valour – a Purple Heart in a movie that’s otherwise way too grim and grey for its own good.
  7. Reviewed by: James Rocchi
    Mar 7, 2014
    0
    The empty violence and pointless style are only the biggest problems.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 104
  2. Negative: 23 out of 104
  1. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    Realmente muy buena la película, super entretenida y super espectacular, la critican por el gore, por favor y a ver una película de 300 es ir a ver sangre, batallas y sexo, que mas quieren los críticos?. Epic film. Collapse
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    meh.................................................................................................................................................... Expand
  3. Mar 21, 2014
    8
    I have to say i was not looking forward to this film, i watched the trailer a few times and was going to give it a miss but im so glad i watched it, i thought that the story was pretty good, the way it was close to 300 i liked that, the comic book violence was spot on, the blood was a little dodgy in 2D so i wish i had seen it in 3D, the acting was pretty good, Eva Green was really good she really surprised me, and she looked hot :) one thing that was a downer the middle of the film got a bit flat, it started off fast paced then lost it a bit but it soon picked up pace. I left the cinema with a huge smile on my face and i am really looking forward to the next instalment. Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2014
    6
    It ended just as it was getting interesting. Lots of flashy slow-mo bits and action, but it left me wanting more.

    Also the immortals'
    combat sequence were obviously done in CGI, their movements were unrealistic and they stood out a bit, it was also a bit annoying how the Athenians' combat skill completely disappeared when fighting the immortals. I know it's necessary to show a skill gap, but come on.. Expand
  5. Jul 8, 2014
    5
    אם אהבתם את הסרט הראשון מהסיבות הנכונות, אתם לא תאהבו ואפילו תשנאו את הסרט הזה, אבל אם מה שאהבתם בסרט הראשון זה את האפקטים הדם והקרבות ולא הבנתם את הנקודה בסרט הקודם אתם תאהבו גם את זה ויכול להיות שגם יותר מהקודם. אבל עדיין יש שם כמה דברים טובים כמו זה שהם לפחות לא הרסו את הדמויות הישנות ועדיין מרגישים ב-480 לפנהס Expand
  6. Jun 19, 2014
    4
    -Blood effects were "overdone"
    -Fighting looked very unreal almost like a videogame and didn't fit the theme of the movie
    -This movie is
    clear example of why moviemakers should not abuse CGI as it destroys the immersiveness and
    no one takes it seriously for instance how can a skinny female slice through piles of armoured warrior in one stoke and pour gallons of blood.What a joke of a movie.
    Expand
  7. Aug 12, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You know that movie you like? And then that sequel that comes out and ruins it? Well, this is that movie! I never loved 300, but it's super macho killing was moderately interesting when watched either drunk or stoned, but rise of an empire basically comes along and takes a huge dump on it. *Spoilers ahead *

    Okay... Get this... According to this movie, you know that Xerxes god character? Well he has this sister right... And she's totally the brains of the operation and 100% manipulated everything that happened in movie 1 because... She's... Ugh... Female I guess... And it's only %10,000 unrealistic for a bunch of arab men to follow a woman into battle in ancient times, but WHATEVER, it's a movie... But... This whole flick is about her failed attempts to look arousing while smirking from ear to ear and it culminates in her telling off Xerxes really big to "Go sit on your golden throne and enjoy the safety my army provides you." If the makers of this film had any sort of respect for the 1st movie, they wouldn't reduce Xerxes to such a pathetic character, I mean, he already basically lost in movie 1, and now we're supposed to believe he can't even run his own army? What's left? Will the 3rd 300 movie feature a distant cousin who totally manipulated Xerxes, his sister and all of humanity into a war while leisurely eating grapes in a distant land? Makes about as much sense as this crap. I enjoyed the movie for a while but little sis running the show and her 13 foot brother being a weakling got old really fast. After she told him off, I didn't even bother watching the final battle. What for? I did jump ahead a little and saw Leonidas' queen charging the enemy, and instantly felt good about my decision to skip the last 25 minutes... It was bad.
    Expand

See all 104 User Reviews

Trailers