300

Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: March 9, 2007
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1462 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,012
Mixed:
196
Negative:
254
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
JamalS.Mar 10, 2007
The critics got it right on this one. The story-telling, and, more specifically, acting and script is laughable in this one. Though the super saturated look is interesting, the repetitive environments and cinematography grows monotonous The critics got it right on this one. The story-telling, and, more specifically, acting and script is laughable in this one. Though the super saturated look is interesting, the repetitive environments and cinematography grows monotonous awefully fast. Call it campy, but the lack of humor, and expectance on the viewer to care about the characters puts this movie in the mediocre area. That said watching this movie is fun, if only for the gratuitous violence and even the corn helps make it a funny video to watch with friends. But, its insistance on taking itself seriously is its downfall, and keeps it from being a "so bad its good" movie. See it for brainless entertainment, but don't expect more. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
j30Apr 29, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 300 is great to look at, but incredibly stupid. Let's not kid ourselves. If you want to watch this testosterone filled, sleazy movie for a whopping 177 minutes (half of it is in Zack Snyder's trademark slow motion bull **** be my guest. I saw it once in IMAX and that was more than enough. I felt uncomfortable for all the women in the audience. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
5
Christopher_G2Aug 19, 2010
300 is a movie I saw, I appreciated the look of the movie, and a few scenes were pretty memorable, but after I finished it I really had no urge to see it again. Even for just silly escapist entertainment for me there needs to be more depth300 is a movie I saw, I appreciated the look of the movie, and a few scenes were pretty memorable, but after I finished it I really had no urge to see it again. Even for just silly escapist entertainment for me there needs to be more depth than there is here. It's just a bunch of macho warriors screaming about war, preparing for war, and making war, and never did I really care about the outcome, never was I the least emotionally involved. Frankly for certain stretches of the movie I was bored. Expand
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
5
RoeylDec 11, 2011
Without the visuals, 300 would be nothing. The so called values it defends are just made up cliches to go to war. Moreover, some of the values shown here are very negative and is a huge downgrade to the movie, such as racism. I wasWithout the visuals, 300 would be nothing. The so called values it defends are just made up cliches to go to war. Moreover, some of the values shown here are very negative and is a huge downgrade to the movie, such as racism. I was emotionless during most of the scenes, I just admired the great visuals. All in all, I still think it's worth watching even if it's not a good movie, just for the visuals. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
J-ShapAug 26, 2011
Unless you're thirteen, a bloodthirsty warrior, Quentin Tarantino, or have some sort of delusional idea that Persians are 9-foot-tall transvestites, 300 is boring movie.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
5
niazMar 14, 2007
please! if someone is making a movie , it has to be representing the whole true face of that nation. we are not here to restate the histrory as 300 is trying to do. characters are not and not representing anything but a false idea about theplease! if someone is making a movie , it has to be representing the whole true face of that nation. we are not here to restate the histrory as 300 is trying to do. characters are not and not representing anything but a false idea about the persians and their nations, if u read the history you will see what i am saying, a movie has to be based on reality not a personal view of what u think or what u want other ppl to think. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
6
WilliamT.Jan 7, 2008
When I first sat down to watch this movie, I didn't have high hopes for it. Reading other reviews, I imagined it to be an over-hyped, internet meme inspiring, dull action flick. Was I right? Sort of. 300 is not a bad movie. It certainly When I first sat down to watch this movie, I didn't have high hopes for it. Reading other reviews, I imagined it to be an over-hyped, internet meme inspiring, dull action flick. Was I right? Sort of. 300 is not a bad movie. It certainly could have been better no doubt, but it isn't bad. The action is good though there is many an overuse of dramatic slow motion for the simplest skirmishes. The story manages to make itself known, but isn't paid enough attention. I didn't love this movie when I finished it, but I was content with it. As a cult movie, it's great but as a Hollywood action flick, it lacks. Not bad but certainly not fantastic. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
6
ClintT.Jan 20, 2008
A visually exciting film adapted from Frank Miller
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
AndyG.Mar 9, 2007
Terrible voice-over, lacking subtlety (even a hint), and completely over the top. Definitely entertaining. And little else.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MattAug 10, 2007
ok, the formula should've been awesome

Matrix style+Gladiator story and action, but what did it =? the worst cliches of both movies. what was the deal with the guy from the wire ass humping the queen? i was really put off by
ok, the formula should've been awesome

Matrix style+Gladiator story and action,
but what did it =?

the worst cliches of both movies. what was the deal with the guy from the wire ass humping the queen? i was really put off by that. then i was expecting for some serious action. instead i got matrix slo-mo and speed ups but nothing really sank in. the only times i thought it was cool was when there were a ton vs the 300. and those moments were short lived and never realized in their supposed "glory". not to mention a lot of dude roaring like they're being assfucked, and one pussy crying about his son getting decapitated. wasn't that guy supposed to go apeshit and slaughter like 1,000 guys? no, he fuckin died. just like the king who bowed down before that persian fuck, and then you know. got killed. oh yeah. the persian guy realized he wasnt "God" because he could bleed. great. all i saw in this movie was the 300 winning a bunch of battles, but losing the war. for the ending? i could care less if that cyclops pixie dude from the lord of the rings dies. this movie had nothing to go for it except for a few moments of leading the viewers on to thinking it was gonna break out into a bloodbath and then you know... nothing. just like the movie as a whole. ill be sure to steer clear of a sequel. i mean, they're making a Sin City 2, (which sucked for similar reasons), im sure they'll bank in on the testosterone of a bunch of adolescent guys that dont realize that nothing actually happened in the movie. EAT IT SPARTA
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
annanymousJan 4, 2008
this movie was enjoyable but not great I must agree with the critics on this one. it was fun to watch but the overall quality of the movie was poor
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
BobS.Mar 11, 2007
Sloppy movie. Ridiculous dialog which is delivered like Hulk Hogan yelling at Macho Man before a match. Settings that change drastically: first your fighting on a flat beach, then you're being pushed over a cliff? WHAT? Hipocrasy at all Sloppy movie. Ridiculous dialog which is delivered like Hulk Hogan yelling at Macho Man before a match. Settings that change drastically: first your fighting on a flat beach, then you're being pushed over a cliff? WHAT? Hipocrasy at all times: We are honorable spartans but we will kill our deformed babies and push messengers down wells. An antagonist that drew out loud laughter from the crowd (NOT in a good way.) I was told after I saw the movie that I was being too critical and picking it apart too much. I'm sorry, I can't turn my brain off like that. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful
4
AlQAug 17, 2008
I would buy the DVD if it featured a version without dialogue, which was uniformly dopey. In fact, the whole script looked like it was written by a team of 8th-graders on a glue bender. Anyone who didn't want to kill the narrator 15 I would buy the DVD if it featured a version without dialogue, which was uniformly dopey. In fact, the whole script looked like it was written by a team of 8th-graders on a glue bender. Anyone who didn't want to kill the narrator 15 minutes into the film wasn't paying attention. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
HelpuJul 19, 2009
Hmmmm. Another action movie. Only way it stands out is with the creativity on the Mortal Kombat style fatalities.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
AndrewQ.Jan 13, 2008
Hitler would have loved this movie. Mindless Hollywood fascism.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
kingshahidOct 4, 2011
This movie was great but I found Alexander do be much better. The war scene was the best part of this movie. It was given to much attention when it came out that made Butler famous, but this is probably the worst role he had taken asideThis movie was great but I found Alexander do be much better. The war scene was the best part of this movie. It was given to much attention when it came out that made Butler famous, but this is probably the worst role he had taken aside Dracula 2000, and Phantom of the Opera where he actually used talent. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
gm101Oct 12, 2010
I was really excited to see this movie. However, it turned out the battles weren't as epic as the trailer made them look. Not to mention historical inaccuracies and racism. Thumbs down!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
796712Jan 14, 2011
The film itself had a very good cinematography amazing contrasts and colours that blew me away my concern is its story telling it wasnt up to scratch
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Captain_KirkAug 29, 2012
I really do not see why a lot of people like this movie so much. While it has some cool battle sequences and good special effects, the film feels slow and not as exciting as it could have been. One big issue I had with the film was theI really do not see why a lot of people like this movie so much. While it has some cool battle sequences and good special effects, the film feels slow and not as exciting as it could have been. One big issue I had with the film was the constant use of slow motion. It feels way too overused here and it takes away what could have made the action scenes more thrilling. The CGI blood looks pretty fake, but for the most part, it's a visually appealing film. The film also feels empty, narrative wise. Then again, the film gets its praise from so much people because of the battle sequences, not from story or characters. I must admit that Leonidas is a pretty cool character, well acted by Gerald Butler. The film is just ok to me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Iky009Jan 3, 2014
O filme não todo ruim porém o Chroma Key absurdamente mal usado, a história incoerente os personagens são fracos, o efeitos visuais não grande coisa e a direção de arte ruim demais.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
ExKingApr 12, 2013
i don't know what's worst the script the makeup the effects the directing the movie picture or all of them i'm not really a big fan of these types of historical movies however i was ready to give it a shot and i'm glad i did so iti don't know what's worst the script the makeup the effects the directing the movie picture or all of them i'm not really a big fan of these types of historical movies however i was ready to give it a shot and i'm glad i did so it would be the last time i see one of these movies also Gerard Butler somehow keeps getting from a horrible movie to another i guess some people are not right for Hollywood. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
moviemayhemApr 28, 2015
From the moment the emphatic opening narration begins, 300 is full of exclamation points. Admittedly, it's worthy of them—the story of the Battle of Thermopylae, where 300 Spartans and a sparse group of allies held the line against a vastFrom the moment the emphatic opening narration begins, 300 is full of exclamation points. Admittedly, it's worthy of them—the story of the Battle of Thermopylae, where 300 Spartans and a sparse group of allies held the line against a vast army for several crucial days, lends itself to fabulist hyperbole, especially in the hands of Sin City writer-artist Frank Miller. Still, it's hard to maintain a straight face through dialogue that all seems to be delivered through a megaphone, and orchestral surges that seem to want to grab viewers and shake them to attention. Director Zach Snyder (2004's Dawn Of The Dead remake) put a great deal of effort into making 300 look like Miller's graphic-novel version of the story, which is to say, into making it so relentlessly artificial that it's hard to tell where the actors' bodies end and the CGI begins. But did every other aspect of the film have to be just as synthetic?

Gerard Butler (the Phantom from 2004's similarly histrionic The Phantom Of The Opera) stars as King Leonidas, the steadfast ruler determined not to let Sparta fall to Xerxes' invading Persians, in spite of the best efforts of corrupt priests and wily politicians. Throwing Xerxes' envoys down a well ("This is blasphemy! This is madness!" "THIS! IS! SPARTA!"), he takes his hand-picked 300 off to seemingly certain death, but lesser men can't stand up to their well-honed force. The slaughter that follows is as overblown, calculated, spectacle-driven, and just plain beautiful as any good wu xia film, but it's also tediously leaden, as lines like "Only the hard and strong may call themselves Spartans! Only the hard! Only the strong!" thud clumsily into place amid endless dramatic zooms, slow-motion beheadings, and stylized gouts of animated blood.

It's obvious Snyder is trying for Miller's specific brand of comic-book surrealism, but he achieves it so well that the whole film looks as though it could have been shot on a single 5-foot-square sound stage, and eventually, amid all the beefcake, windswept capes, and gore, the question of what percentage of any given shot wasn't manufactured wholesale inside a computer becomes more interesting than the question of whether the Persians' latest sally will succeed. Part of the fascination of the Thermopylae story is that it really happened, and it helped define real heroism. There's nothing remotely like reality to be had in this film.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
AndrzejB.Mar 10, 2007
300 somewhat takes you in, it is easily the most "masculine" film you'll see in a ridiculous over the top tone, but with all the slow motion fights, possibly unintentional humor at times, and countless decapitations it feel somewhat 300 somewhat takes you in, it is easily the most "masculine" film you'll see in a ridiculous over the top tone, but with all the slow motion fights, possibly unintentional humor at times, and countless decapitations it feel somewhat cribbed from previous epic films. Ah, and don't forget CG Blood, the film just becomes more and more like your average video game every step you take. For a film about brotherhood and power and strength in a group, you rarely care what happens to the King's family, from the points of the son dying to the queen being raped, you feel particularly unmoved. Not to mention pointless scenes of (was there a point for that early mountain scene?). But if you are willing to forgive all the overty over-the-topness (countless limb-loss, decapitations, arrows flung, possibly sexism (is there any female in the film who doesn't just flip out and get naked, unless they were nude already?). You'll have a silly good-time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
****Jul 30, 2007
300 is the story of a group of smooth-shaven Calvin Klein underwear models who set out to save the world from RuPaul and his army of unattractive abominations, which consists of brown people, disabled people and other unsightly minorities. 300 is the story of a group of smooth-shaven Calvin Klein underwear models who set out to save the world from RuPaul and his army of unattractive abominations, which consists of brown people, disabled people and other unsightly minorities. The movie makes a great argument for eugenics and I wish governments would start using it to weed out gross monsters like that hunchback. Everything was awesome but after watching the movie I was left wondering, 'did Triumph of the Will really need a sequel?'. I mean the first movie is a classic and I doubt by adding explosions and lots of screaming you can top the original. Also, the ending was a bit of a disappointment. I would have preferred to see it end with the villains ending up in a crematorium or maybe even some kind of gas chamber. That would have been sweeeet! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
VladA.Mar 11, 2007
From the previews I knew exactly what to expect - plotless action extravanga that would be fun on the eyes - but what I didn't expect was to be bored to death. If you've ever been pissed off at someone who likes to see replays in From the previews I knew exactly what to expect - plotless action extravanga that would be fun on the eyes - but what I didn't expect was to be bored to death. If you've ever been pissed off at someone who likes to see replays in sports games in slo mo you'll blow your brains out watchin this. I had a feelin Snyder couldn't tell an epic tale of courage properly and it looks like I was right. Gladiator this isn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ShawnM.Mar 11, 2007
Great visuals. Poor script. Laughable acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MimiB.Mar 17, 2007
Lots of style, lots of bellowing instead of acting and comic book violence for it's own sake. The portrayal of the Persians is absurdly biased, inaccurate and zenophobic. Butler is ripped and loud, but nothing else about his performance Lots of style, lots of bellowing instead of acting and comic book violence for it's own sake. The portrayal of the Persians is absurdly biased, inaccurate and zenophobic. Butler is ripped and loud, but nothing else about his performance will be remembered. He's Gerard One Note in this film, but then, it's a comic book/video game brought to the big screen after all, so maybe he's just right, considering. I found the film unpleasant and over the top. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BobbyD.Mar 19, 2007
Braveheart and Gladiator wannabe...this storyline was unoriginal. The visuals were good but that's the only reason it got a five. They even steal a lot of the fight choreography from Braveheart and Gladiator.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ErikMar 20, 2007
It starts with full expectations but can't satisfy towards the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JasperS.Mar 28, 2007
A shallow, good looking pool of water.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GaborA.Mar 9, 2007
Repetitive and remarkably unoriginal. I haven't read the graphic novel so I don't know if those flaws stem from the source material. Either way this movie has a few fluttering themes but lacks an overall point giving it nothing to Repetitive and remarkably unoriginal. I haven't read the graphic novel so I don't know if those flaws stem from the source material. Either way this movie has a few fluttering themes but lacks an overall point giving it nothing to link the endless and endlessly long battle scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DecepticonPomApr 10, 2007
Loads of claret and slow-mo muscle men. It sure looks pretty....but that's about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
VasantH.May 4, 2007
I was prety disappointed with the movie for its poor story telling and addition of some unwanted scenes or characters (I am pointing at the feminine looking king or the villian, the lesbians, the vampires in the cave, the hunch back ugly I was prety disappointed with the movie for its poor story telling and addition of some unwanted scenes or characters (I am pointing at the feminine looking king or the villian, the lesbians, the vampires in the cave, the hunch back ugly person, who were absolutely unwanted in the movie) Gerrard Buttler and the other warriors were great, I liked their witty sarcastic and courageous dialogues against their enemy.The Queen does a very good supportive role. The movie could have been better with slightly more realistic look and less extravaganza.The fights are good but at times monotonous. Lack of good memorable dialogues which movies like TROY gave), poor story telling are the major weaknesses in the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NicholasB.Mar 16, 2007
Overall, the movie was fine. But for something one ths scale I expect more than just fine. I would have liked to see more plot, but I guess that wasn't the point of the movie. The ending was pretty weak sauce, as they fight for days to Overall, the movie was fine. But for something one ths scale I expect more than just fine. I would have liked to see more plot, but I guess that wasn't the point of the movie. The ending was pretty weak sauce, as they fight for days to die in about 2 minutes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RoyR.Mar 10, 2007
I have to say that 300 is the biggest disappointment I've experienced at the movies in a long time. The movie is completely unaffecting, the characters one-note and ultimately at about the half-way point the movie becomes tedious and a I have to say that 300 is the biggest disappointment I've experienced at the movies in a long time. The movie is completely unaffecting, the characters one-note and ultimately at about the half-way point the movie becomes tedious and a choir to sit through. Not being familiar with the graphic novel I was stunned by how unoriginal the material is. We've seen this movie before and done much more effectively in Gladiator, Braveheart, etc. 300 makes a great trailer but not much else. Also, the visuals aren't that impressive. Aside from a handful of stunning images that are in the trailer the movie is actually quite dull and grainy looking. The entire time I was aware that the images were computer generated, making it difficult to care or believe in the action. Don't believe the hype. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
Rev.R.Mar 21, 2007
This film is totally forgettable, and I am confident it will succumb to that fate. The cinematography is fascinating, and is the film's most redeeming quality. Those concerned about the use of violence must remember that war is violent. This film is totally forgettable, and I am confident it will succumb to that fate. The cinematography is fascinating, and is the film's most redeeming quality. Those concerned about the use of violence must remember that war is violent. Like others, I abhor the exploitation of violence for profit. However, perhaps vivid scenes of violence related to war is needed by a culture that sterilizes war. Still, the violence here is almost "comic book" in nature. Whereas "The Departed" often made me lower my eyes from the screen, I never flinched in this film. I took my eye from the screen only for reason of occassional boredom. I hope this film is not indicative of where the "blue screen" is taking us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
EricS.Mar 9, 2007
Purely for fans of the graphic novel and/or action genres. There is not much depth, emotional or political, to be found in 300, but superbly choreographed battles and a lot of heart make it worth seeing with modest expectations. At least Purely for fans of the graphic novel and/or action genres. There is not much depth, emotional or political, to be found in 300, but superbly choreographed battles and a lot of heart make it worth seeing with modest expectations. At least it's better than most of what is out in theatres now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
YigitcanE.Apr 11, 2007
I found Gerard Butler and Lena Headey flat. Also, I believe the battle scenes fail to capture the "thousand nations", because they are shot too personal. And finally, I think they have used slow-motion a little too much. But the dialogues, I found Gerard Butler and Lena Headey flat. Also, I believe the battle scenes fail to capture the "thousand nations", because they are shot too personal. And finally, I think they have used slow-motion a little too much. But the dialogues, plot and visual effects were marvelous (yes, I like the comic). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnOApr 12, 2007
While I appreciate its not going to be to everyone's taste I found it hugely entertaining. While its not highbrow and flouts 'historical' detail, it retains the essential operatic mysticism and fantasy that were sadly absent While I appreciate its not going to be to everyone's taste I found it hugely entertaining. While its not highbrow and flouts 'historical' detail, it retains the essential operatic mysticism and fantasy that were sadly absent from 'Troy' and 'Alexander' and that make the Greek classics so appealing. Not a classic but good fun nonetheless! Ta. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MickApr 10, 2007
Visually this film was stunning, and to be honest it almost got told the story in an interesting way, but unfortunately missed the mark and it became very boring in parts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RG.Apr 2, 2007
Manual for Sparta: press triangle to yell sparta press square to use spear press circle to use your shield R1 is to slow time down (feel free to use previous buttons, case sensitive) after battle: press x to gather around and talk about how Manual for Sparta: press triangle to yell sparta press square to use spear press circle to use your shield R1 is to slow time down (feel free to use previous buttons, case sensitive) after battle: press x to gather around and talk about how we dont need anything, not even armor to kill the persians. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ShawnC.Apr 6, 2007
The only reason to see this movie is the way it looks. As far as a story goes, forget it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JamesW.May 8, 2007
300 in a nutshell: All graphics, no movie. Almost completely devoid of any amount of thought, coherence, or sense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MerleHJul 30, 2007
Don't give me that "a lot of muscular men for the ladies, a lot of action and violence for the lads" line. Get over it, this film is the most homerotic spectacle since the deleted scenes from Spartacus and does not try to hide it. Don't give me that "a lot of muscular men for the ladies, a lot of action and violence for the lads" line. Get over it, this film is the most homerotic spectacle since the deleted scenes from Spartacus and does not try to hide it. Gerard Butler in 300 is this generations Tim Curry of Rocky Horror and fanboys need to accept it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PatC.Aug 23, 2007
Truly a mixed bag as a movie construction. I didn't see any negative criticism of this film I didn't agree with. But there is a genuineness about the way people at war in those times are depicted that can't be captured any Truly a mixed bag as a movie construction. I didn't see any negative criticism of this film I didn't agree with. But there is a genuineness about the way people at war in those times are depicted that can't be captured any other way. Those of us with the luxury to call them fakey wouldn't have lasted five minutes back then. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JamesN.Mar 11, 2007
Take ear-plugs. Omitting the dialouge, and musical score is the best thing you can do to help this movie. Just admire the hypnotic visuals and create your own plot. No matter what your created plot is, it will be better than the one the Take ear-plugs. Omitting the dialouge, and musical score is the best thing you can do to help this movie. Just admire the hypnotic visuals and create your own plot. No matter what your created plot is, it will be better than the one the screenwriter has provided. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MoneyhausMar 12, 2007
A huge fan of Sin City, I had high hopes for this second Miller novel filmatization. The movie employs much of the same great visual style as Sin City, especially with the great backdrops. I'd give this movie a high rating purely in A huge fan of Sin City, I had high hopes for this second Miller novel filmatization. The movie employs much of the same great visual style as Sin City, especially with the great backdrops. I'd give this movie a high rating purely in terms of the visuals, but visuals alone do not make a movie. While the visuals are creative and original, the script unfortunately isn't, featuring cheesy lines and acting typical of any epic movie, and the action is woefully predictable. Besides the visuals, there is just nothing original about this movie, nothing that Braveheart, Troy, Alexander etc didn't already beat to death. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ArturoC.Mar 12, 2007
It is what it is. It would be wrong to expect more from an ultra-violent, macho film, about blood, guts, and heroic monologues. Oh and what is a movie for male adolescent without hot women and a steamy sex scene in slo-motion. C'mon the It is what it is. It would be wrong to expect more from an ultra-violent, macho film, about blood, guts, and heroic monologues. Oh and what is a movie for male adolescent without hot women and a steamy sex scene in slo-motion. C'mon the packaging is very straight forward. I think it would be the viewer's fault to expect some kind of responsible message from it. It's not like it was pretending to be higher than a blood and guts movie, let's just take it for what it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KatieS.Mar 13, 2007
Everybody who is not white, male, heterosexual, and physically un-handicapped is a good guy. Everybody else... is not.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JonasM.Mar 14, 2007
Being a fan of comic books, greek mythology, and ancient history, it would seem that someone like me would like this movie. But you know what; I'm also a fan of good movies. I'll start with the positives. The movie is extremely Being a fan of comic books, greek mythology, and ancient history, it would seem that someone like me would like this movie. But you know what; I'm also a fan of good movies. I'll start with the positives. The movie is extremely good-looking, and I wouldn't be surprised if it gets nominated for art direction. And people are complaining about it being historically inaccurate. Duh! Didn't you see the previews. This movie's about a certain style, not a history lesson. Having said that, the action was boring because most of it was in slow motion. It seemed like half the movie was in slow motion. I've also read that people say its really manly, but its dumb, meat-head manly. And I'm all for sex, but what's the deal with the awkward, pointless sex scene. And it was hard to get "inspired" by this movie (unless inspired means going to the gym, but still, I would rent "Pumping Iron.") I didn't leave it thinking "man, those spartans went through a lot, dealing with giant rhinos, giant deforms with axes, and ninjas." It would have been good if it was a stupid, fun movie, like Sin City, but a stupid, inspirational movie? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BrioneMar 14, 2007
It is a beautiful film and other than that, there isn't much to it but 300 spartan men who don't want to give up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PaulMar 16, 2007
Just an average movie. Yeah it was pretty, but the disappearing blood bothered me a bit. It's just ehhhhh. Wait for a rental.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BrandonD.Mar 16, 2007
I've seen it twice (don't ask). It's not so much the acting but the script....it seemed as if it was read right from the comic book. The action is good but the Spartans are kind of hard to like. Yes, they are tough as hell but I've seen it twice (don't ask). It's not so much the acting but the script....it seemed as if it was read right from the comic book. The action is good but the Spartans are kind of hard to like. Yes, they are tough as hell but they come off football player jock dicks, dumb lines like "you fight like a girl" and the annoying "whoo whoo whoo" chants.. The sex scene and the hunchback could have been left out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AndyMar 18, 2007
Great effects, battle sequences and action; poor screenplay and script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DanB.Mar 18, 2007
A 5 for the occasional great visual, but in the end the action just didn't get to me. I wasn't exactly yawning during the fight scenes but they were kind of dull and definitely repetitive. I really wanted to like it and it was just A 5 for the occasional great visual, but in the end the action just didn't get to me. I wasn't exactly yawning during the fight scenes but they were kind of dull and definitely repetitive. I really wanted to like it and it was just kinda eh. Beyond the fact the action didn't get me, I found the plot and characters pretty thin. That could be forgiven if the movie moved quickly , had good action or even just some good dialogue but it didn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BRizzaMar 18, 2007
Good, but lacked that "wow" factor. Great special effects & fight sequences, but no goosebumps or adrenaline rushes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JohnS.Mar 23, 2007
Great visuals. Extremely poor acting. Weak overall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ElliotP.Mar 25, 2007
Excellent as a video game; poor excuse for a movie. Blantant rape of known historical facts. To paraphrase a recent facetious college editorial about sexual rape - close your eyes and relax and you may find you enjoy it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MartinS.Mar 25, 2007
I thought the battle scenes were spectacular. The rest was kind of silly. "Give them nothing, but take from them everything?" Come on Now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JosakMar 26, 2007
Silly, cheesy. A few good action scenes, not much else to it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BrendanApr 16, 2007
The action and cinematography will keep you entertained through out. But the lack of storyline and gory bloodshed may send most average moviegoers out the door.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GinoM.Apr 7, 2007
Like watching an inverted version of widespread modern-day Terrorism. The Spartans are depicted as freedom-fighthing prophets who aim to rid the world of the cancerous Persians. This idea seemed so evident and overt to me upon watching 300 Like watching an inverted version of widespread modern-day Terrorism. The Spartans are depicted as freedom-fighthing prophets who aim to rid the world of the cancerous Persians. This idea seemed so evident and overt to me upon watching 300 it seemed to take away from the brilliant battle scenes of which paved the way for new ground in the film industry. It's really too bad that this movie went nowhere fast...and completely mocked a race of people while doing it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
HollyC.Apr 8, 2007
This movie actually met my expectations---which were: a shallow/war-porn movie full of awesome fighting scenes--with little depth, & lots of good-looking abs. Really--that's what this movie is. Slick sparta action. Not much else (& This movie actually met my expectations---which were: a shallow/war-porn movie full of awesome fighting scenes--with little depth, & lots of good-looking abs. Really--that's what this movie is. Slick sparta action. Not much else (& definitely not an 'actors' movie--ha). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
attaboyAug 15, 2007
this movie was forced upon me by a friend, otherwise i would never have seen it. as a visual spectacle it's tolerable, if not occasionally impressive. as a movie, it's pure rubbish. i would expect stupid American white males to this movie was forced upon me by a friend, otherwise i would never have seen it. as a visual spectacle it's tolerable, if not occasionally impressive. as a movie, it's pure rubbish. i would expect stupid American white males to enjoy this movie as the lesson to be had is apparently that yelling and a sense of pride for your homeland are desirable and more important than strategy and/or intelligence. to each demographic their own (that means you Shane K). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JustinH.Sep 8, 2007
Pretty mediocre movie. Nothing really special about it. Way to over hyped.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JeffO.Mar 11, 2007
This movie was nothing more than an overlong videogame with different levels that looked remarkably similar and with no originality at all. Even with all of the cool ways there were to be stabbed and sliced, I found myself completely bored This movie was nothing more than an overlong videogame with different levels that looked remarkably similar and with no originality at all. Even with all of the cool ways there were to be stabbed and sliced, I found myself completely bored after the second major battle waiting for anything to surprise me or make me want to give a damn about any of the characters. Even with the stylized CGI and obvious painstaking attempts at detail, it just seemed dull and devoid of any soul. I guess people equate good acting with shouting and nowadays as well. There were redeeming parts of the movie but they were few and far between which is terribly disappointing as I realloy wanted to like this movie. I can't remember feeling as lousy after a movie since Natural Born Killers. At least there won't be a sequel..... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JoshMar 11, 2007
The film's technical achievement's aside, this is a mediocre to poor film. There is little emotion to connect with, and the film becomes tiresome. The performances are good, the direction good, but the script is bad--if there is a The film's technical achievement's aside, this is a mediocre to poor film. There is little emotion to connect with, and the film becomes tiresome. The performances are good, the direction good, but the script is bad--if there is a script at all. By the end of the film, these are not people, but digital creations who just happen to be made of flesh and bone. Sorry, but the film just doesn't ring the humanity that such an underdog story needs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CasperMar 13, 2007
Simply put, if you are looking for a movie with complex characters, keep looking. If you want to be inundated with Playstation 3 gore and pseudo-sexual closeups of muscular men, run to see this "film".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChrisK.Mar 17, 2007
Artistically and narratively done well, the actors bring out the best in the movie. Unfortunately, I came in to watch what I thought was indeed overrated by people who have not seen it or was taken in by the blood gushing, jaw dropping Artistically and narratively done well, the actors bring out the best in the movie. Unfortunately, I came in to watch what I thought was indeed overrated by people who have not seen it or was taken in by the blood gushing, jaw dropping visual effects rather than the whole thing put together. Possibly just the general public who are easily entertained or found some good somewhere, to be frank, it needed more work. Sure, comic book and history may be the problem, but I still don't see it mix and matching. It reminds me of Braveheart mixed into some bits of Gladiator, just not as well. If you like blood, gore, stunning scenes, and love dining in hell go watch it. If not, wait to rent. I can tell you thing though, a lot of movies are keeping a constant thing going, something new would be nice. Almost like some companies here who just love to make more than 10 of the same sports game for product sales (can't point fingers). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SammyR.Mar 17, 2007
The movie was a little above average. The special effects were breathtaking, but that's about it. The story is barely even there, and the constant war scenes get tiring after you see them over and over again. It didn't bother me The movie was a little above average. The special effects were breathtaking, but that's about it. The story is barely even there, and the constant war scenes get tiring after you see them over and over again. It didn't bother me that it wasn't historically accurate, I prefer it that way. I consider Sin City a masterpiece and was disappointed that 300 wasn't of the same quality. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
NickS.Mar 17, 2007
This flick looked really good, big hand to the post-production team for sleepless nights. I love the original book; it was a great read and a feast for the imagination. I went knowing that this was not going to be "Sin City" I went knowing This flick looked really good, big hand to the post-production team for sleepless nights. I love the original book; it was a great read and a feast for the imagination. I went knowing that this was not going to be "Sin City" I went knowing that it would be full of propaganda. To depict a great civilization as monsters and their great king as a seven-foot Latin metro-sexual was a bit much (even though it was the same as the book) this film was almost a US Marines recruitment ad. I can see it now, a young Spartan solider fending off wave after wave of Persians then after the battle he raises his spear, getting hit by lightening he transforms into a Marine with his spiffy uniform. Also, to those who think there weren Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JeffF.Mar 28, 2007
Great looking, but the story is pure crap. Macho warmongering bullshit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TylerD.May 17, 2007
Great looking movie with an absolutely terrible story. All flash, no substance. Boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KeithJul 23, 2007
Really one of the best times I've had since Showgirls. The movie certainly LOOKS amazing. I'm not up on my Persian history nor am I on any comic books. I can only comment on the movie. And I thought it was a riot, unintentionally Really one of the best times I've had since Showgirls. The movie certainly LOOKS amazing. I'm not up on my Persian history nor am I on any comic books. I can only comment on the movie. And I thought it was a riot, unintentionally so, but still a riot. I only wished so many serious minded teenage boys weren't in the audience, so my friends and I could have laughed with complete abandon. I give it a five because it hits where it aims, and because I did actually have a great time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DaveMoNov 3, 2016
Worth watching if streaming online. I liked the art style and there was some clever combat. There was just too much for it to remain compelling. Most characters were incredibly cheesy, especially the Spartan King and all his yelling. MostWorth watching if streaming online. I liked the art style and there was some clever combat. There was just too much for it to remain compelling. Most characters were incredibly cheesy, especially the Spartan King and all his yelling. Most yelling lines were embarrassing to watch. When that many actors seem inept, it means poor directing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
davenbettridgeSep 6, 2011
Too much special effects and not enough meaning or significance. Too much mindless action but not enough original story. Too much style and not enough substance. I give this movie a pass as it might be worth your time on dvd but to those whoToo much special effects and not enough meaning or significance. Too much mindless action but not enough original story. Too much style and not enough substance. I give this movie a pass as it might be worth your time on dvd but to those who claim this movie was 'good' need to get their heads checked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Jedi_JettsonMar 11, 2012
There is a lack of magnificence, too many battle sequences are overly-bloody, and the depiction of the battle of Thermopylae was a mess. Gladiator is WAY better than 300.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
csw12Nov 26, 2015
300 brings with it a new style of film making and i am a fan. The story and acting isn't anything new but the battle scenes at the end are some of the best since Lord of the Rings.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SpangleFeb 18, 2016
300 is a badass, testosterone-fueled, behemoth of a film that rides on Zack Snyder's talent as a director while practically everything else falls flat. The action sequences are all very well done and well choreographed, Snyder also does a300 is a badass, testosterone-fueled, behemoth of a film that rides on Zack Snyder's talent as a director while practically everything else falls flat. The action sequences are all very well done and well choreographed, Snyder also does a great job capturing the comic book feel required for the film and makes an incredibly entertaining film to boot. The cinematography is alright, but comes second to the brilliant golden color scheme. I loved the entire look and feel of the film. The mythology also stands in the "pro" category. However, everything else is basically a con. The film is racist, homophobic, and potentially sexist. All whites are portrayed as the good guys. Non-whites, however, are cast as the Persians. The film plays on the events of present and is entirely anti-Arab as it paints them as stupid barbarians who want nothing more than to just kill people. Meanwhile, the Spartans are painted as strategic and wise warriors. There has to be some middle ground here, as the Spartans certainly are representative of the United States at times, especially in quotes from the film about how "freedom is not free" and about the discussions about going to war. It certainly seems to look down on those who oppose war, as well. The film calls the Athenians "boy lovers" as a snide remark and the leader of the Persians could certainly be interpreted as being gay. Finally, women are relegated to simply being sex dolls for the men and when one has the gall to speak to the senate, she is roundly ignored and called an adulterous whore (though she does kill the man who said it, but nobody seemed too bothered by it in the end). The writing is horrible and all of the characters are one-dimensional (and no, not being able to show emotion because of Spartan culture is not an excuse, nor is it another dimension to their personality). Characters are cardboard cutouts of one another and it is impossible to distinguish who is is who, aside from King Leonidas of course. The film, however, is a jackpot for gyms looking for inspirational quotes to hang on their walls. I am sure most gyms got a complete makeover in that department after this film was released. Finally, the Spartan costumes seem to be an attempt to attract female viewers. For their sake, let us hope that they did not see this one, because this strikes me as a film that only men will really enjoy due to the badass nature of it.

Though I was a touch harsh here, I was entertained by 300 and the "pros" do equal the "cons" for me. Entertainment is certainly a pro as well. Overall, 300 is not horrible, but could have been far better if its ideology was not so awful.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
cameronmorewoodNov 9, 2012
Snyder tries to tell the classic epic battle story with a new vision, but forgets about his characters, and they're as good as cardboard. How the actors all kept straight faces with some of the lines they were asked to deliver, is a mysterySnyder tries to tell the classic epic battle story with a new vision, but forgets about his characters, and they're as good as cardboard. How the actors all kept straight faces with some of the lines they were asked to deliver, is a mystery of the highest peculiarity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
A mostly enjoyable action flick that features a little too much style for my taste.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TheWalrus2000Mar 9, 2013
Being a huge Snyder fan myself and knowing that this is his most famous film until Man of Steel comes out I have to say I was disappointed. The battle scenes weren't very epic and I imagine the Persian army could have and would have just runBeing a huge Snyder fan myself and knowing that this is his most famous film until Man of Steel comes out I have to say I was disappointed. The battle scenes weren't very epic and I imagine the Persian army could have and would have just run the f*ck over the Greeks if they were the small in numbers. and plus I hate Gerard Butler. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheApplegnomeMar 2, 2014
300 is an interesting movie, but it contain weird, boring and slow scenes which made it boring, not to mention the irritating yellowish environment. The story in 300 is okay, and I really enjoyed the fighting, because it was so cool. The300 is an interesting movie, but it contain weird, boring and slow scenes which made it boring, not to mention the irritating yellowish environment. The story in 300 is okay, and I really enjoyed the fighting, because it was so cool. The music in this movie is great, the actors are awesome and I really liked the ending, compared to the awful opening scene. The beginning was also to slow, and it continued to have a low tempo through the first part of the movie.
Generally is 300 an okay movie, but there was nothing unique or spectacular in this movie, and it felt boring at several occasions.

300 gets a 6/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
enilyoAug 7, 2013
it's over imagination movie for 300 killers killing the most powerful state that time persia so i love "meet the spartans" it shows the truth behind "300" and it's very imaginary
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
300 marches to a subsequent victory.
300 uses its artistic style of story telling with its ancient concept, and creates a truly unique product unseen until now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
fracko333Mar 18, 2017
A visual feast of violence, '300' is a fictional retelling of the Battle of Thermopylae within the Persian Wars and an adaptation of the comic series by Frank Miller (Sin City). Aside from the stylized fight scenes and the films high-energy,A visual feast of violence, '300' is a fictional retelling of the Battle of Thermopylae within the Persian Wars and an adaptation of the comic series by Frank Miller (Sin City). Aside from the stylized fight scenes and the films high-energy, there is very little else this film has to offer. The characters are one-dimensional, their dialogue uninspired and the film has hardly any substance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DenisManuSep 5, 2014
300 gives you the battle of Thermopylae in 480 B.C., with King Leonidas of the Spartans battling against thousands of Persians to defeat Xerxes.300 is a great graphic novel adaptation filled with blood and gore, cool actual spartan fighting300 gives you the battle of Thermopylae in 480 B.C., with King Leonidas of the Spartans battling against thousands of Persians to defeat Xerxes.300 is a great graphic novel adaptation filled with blood and gore, cool actual spartan fighting techniques, lots and lots of slow-mo, some yelling and general awesomeness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ZuqolynOct 4, 2014
It was cheesy, but enjoyable. Actions scenes were decent, and other than that there's nothing that stands out, really. I guess it's worth to watch it for Lena Headey.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MrMovieBuffFeb 19, 2016
Before director Zack Snyder was given the DC Cinematic Universe on a silver platter, one of the early films he made included '300'.

This is probably going to be a very unpopular opinion as it seems that while the critical reaction is
Before director Zack Snyder was given the DC Cinematic Universe on a silver platter, one of the early films he made included '300'.

This is probably going to be a very unpopular opinion as it seems that while the critical reaction is somewhat mixed, the audiences responded more positively and more effusive. Looks like I'm with the critics on this one.

The movie stars Gerard Butler as Leonidas, King of Sparta who leads 300 Spartans into battle against Xerxes (Rodrigo Santoro) who has an army of roughly 300,000 soldiers. The movie is very stylish in terms of how it wants to execute its story. Director Zack Snyder does make this visually lush, but unfortunately the story comes off as non-existent as one may find the epic use of slow-motion during the battle scenes more involving than the actual story and the characters. Did anybody care, or even shed a tear for any of the soldiers that died throughout battle?

That is the main problem...if you don't care for the characters or the story, why should the amazing special effects keep us entertained? This is shot beautifully, but, there just isn't enough focus on what matters the most. 4/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
aadityamudharApr 18, 2016
The critics got it right on this one. The story-telling, and, more specifically, acting and script is laughable in this one. Though the super saturated look is interesting, the repetitive environments and cinematography grows monotonousThe critics got it right on this one. The story-telling, and, more specifically, acting and script is laughable in this one. Though the super saturated look is interesting, the repetitive environments and cinematography grows monotonous awfully fast. Call it campy, but the lack of humour, and expectance on the viewer to care about the characters puts this movie in the mediocre area. That said watching this movie is fun, if only for the gratuitous violence and even the corn helps make it a funny video to watch with friends. But, its insistance on taking itself seriously is its downfall, and keeps it from being a "so bad its good" movie. See it for brainless entertainment, but don't expect more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews