300

Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: March 9, 2007
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1464 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,013
Mixed:
197
Negative:
254
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
PatM.Apr 17, 2007
Great Movie, from first minute to the last, lacks in historical detail, but everything else is very good!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FeverMay 2, 2007
Watching this movie was wonderful experience - special effects, soundtrack and story, all great. I especially liked slow motion battle scenes. I don't care if it is historically accurate or not (and it really isn't). When I watched Watching this movie was wonderful experience - special effects, soundtrack and story, all great. I especially liked slow motion battle scenes. I don't care if it is historically accurate or not (and it really isn't). When I watched it, I wanted to see it again, right there. Masterpiece of movie art. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DimitrisMay 21, 2007
Being Greek all I wanted to see was a movie that is what it should be , nothing , nothing else. The Director manage to capture the Spartan philosophy. This is a Spartan movie. Straight to the point . It capture the heart of this historic Being Greek all I wanted to see was a movie that is what it should be , nothing , nothing else. The Director manage to capture the Spartan philosophy. This is a Spartan movie. Straight to the point . It capture the heart of this historic battle , something that historic documentaries have failed to do . It does not try to put drama into the scenario, it does try to make Spartan look human. It is not try to outsmart the viewer.It is only show what Spartans were. If you are after seeing a really "great" movie, then open your eyes, and open a book. Read what Sparta was all about. And then go to see the movie , then you will understand why . Simply perfect. The end. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
christosMar 12, 2007
This movie is great. Its action sences are pimpin', but some other parts are a little boring. But still the awsome fighting makes up for it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnthonyO.Mar 12, 2007
Action throughout 85 percent of the movie..loved it...
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlecR.Apr 13, 2007
300 was an awesome movie, with very few problems. It looks beautiful, and is modeled after the graphic novel in the way the scenes are played out and how everything looks. A very clever thing they did was have the training of a Spartan boy 300 was an awesome movie, with very few problems. It looks beautiful, and is modeled after the graphic novel in the way the scenes are played out and how everything looks. A very clever thing they did was have the training of a Spartan boy in the beginning of the movie, which actually was quite close to what actually happened back then. To tell the truth, the storyline was good, but could have used a little more work. I thought Gerard Butler was a great choice for Leonidas, though Lena Headey was a bit flat. 300 is a great movie for those who can stand LOTS of blood and guts, and the occasional bare women's chest with nothing censoring it, with a sex scene and a rape scene. You don't see much, nor are they long scenes. And the slow mo scenes were awesome. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SarahH.Jun 3, 2007
300 is the absolute best movie ever made. I love it more than words can explain and ofcourse, Gerard Butler made it all the more captivating. His acting was superb along with his fighting. 300 cannot be topped. It is effortlessly Sheer 300 is the absolute best movie ever made. I love it more than words can explain and ofcourse, Gerard Butler made it all the more captivating. His acting was superb along with his fighting. 300 cannot be topped. It is effortlessly Sheer Perfection in all aspects since it encompassed so much different themes: Love, Brutality, Revenge, and even humour along with all the rest. It is a movie that is beyond all others and could not and will not be able to be done any better. It should be more accurately rated as exponential to infinity! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NoneofYourBusinessApr 11, 2007
The MetaCritic review system is way wrong. For some movies they show only the good reviews and for some movies they show all the bad ones. "300" is the case for the bad ones. They didn't include E!Online or Chicago Sun Times which gaveThe MetaCritic review system is way wrong. For some movies they show only the good reviews and for some movies they show all the bad ones. "300" is the case for the bad ones. They didn't include E!Online or Chicago Sun Times which gave it an A and A- meaning in the 90's. Seattle Post gave it a B+. An 83 isn't a B+. For more comparisons go to:
http://movies.yahoo.com/movie/1809262865/critic

For the movie history wise, it is very inaccurate. The Persians was the only empire who called their kings, kings of kings, not gods as referred to in this movie. The Persians were also the first to start freedom of speech, religion, and freedom itself.

THE MOVIE: The movie is very good. The cinematography was amazing. Every scene, every shot was taken with skill. The sound and visuals add even more to the experience. Very well done. The acting was exceptionally done by Gerard Butler and the Spartans, but some other characters were a bit off. The sex and nude scenes though did seem a bit too forced. Also, Xerxes did look a little gay. Xerxes in the movie is portrayed by a Brazilian actor which doesn't make any sense at all. Beside Xerxes had a beard. Overall the movie is very good and I recommend anybody who still hasn't seen it to go and watch it while it's still in theaters.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JackMeHoffApr 28, 2007
If you don't like this movie, then you are a fag. Just becauuse it's not historically acurate doesn't mean that it sucks, it means that you suck. It has the word "fiction" in the discription, so if you give this a 0 because ofIf you don't like this movie, then you are a fag. Just becauuse it's not historically acurate doesn't mean that it sucks, it means that you suck. It has the word "fiction" in the discription, so if you give this a 0 because of history, than you are a stupid fag....p.s. this movie rocks!!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DavidB.Oct 18, 2008
This movie was awesome there was nothing gay about it and you do realize that one of the guys who said it was bad was named Fabio I mean seriously you cant listen to him.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AnonymousMCJan 21, 2008
Ahahaha heh heh he *sigh* I'm sorry but i just read a review that said this movie was "historically inaccurate". Where did this say that it was a historical picture. This had good acting (maybe not good writing but still), good specialAhahaha heh heh he *sigh* I'm sorry but i just read a review that said this movie was "historically inaccurate". Where did this say that it was a historical picture. This had good acting (maybe not good writing but still), good special effect and an all around entertaining experience. People please turn you brains off for a few minutes and just enjoy the ride. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JakeR.Jan 27, 2008
Amazing picture and top of the line fighting scenes.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JagFeb 19, 2008
300 is an action movie that takes heroic action back to the Medieval times. Its about the legendary 300 Spartans who stood against the might Persian army. A lot of people complain that this movie is very inaccurate historically. That is 300 is an action movie that takes heroic action back to the Medieval times. Its about the legendary 300 Spartans who stood against the might Persian army. A lot of people complain that this movie is very inaccurate historically. That is partly true however there were some parts in which the movie was historically accurate. The Spartans really did throw out there kids and they really did give them brutal training they really did grow up in a world of violence. However the the movie was inaccurate in some of the battle scenes. There weren't really trolls the Spartan soldiers did were armor on their torsos and the famous line ''we will fight in the shade'' was not said by after a Spartan sliced off a Persian army however the arrows did block out the sun they got that part right. No doubt about it this movie is hard core except for the end were the king went soft. The battle scenes were very satisfying to watch.The story is enough to keep you interested in what will happen next.however if its the historically inaccurate content that deflects your interest away from the movie than watch a documentary or something. This movie was not intended to be historically accurate.There is some content that they just didn't need to put in there but if you want some graphically realistic movie than you've come to the right place. Over all this movie is worth watching if you a fan of action movies. the acting was good and its a good movie overall. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AnonymousMCMar 14, 2009
Completely overrated film. All the haters don't understand the point of the film, which is sacrifice for good. I don't see any reason to call it homoerotic or racist. There's nothing gay about it, and it isn't saying thatCompletely overrated film. All the haters don't understand the point of the film, which is sacrifice for good. I don't see any reason to call it homoerotic or racist. There's nothing gay about it, and it isn't saying that the Persians where cowards. This is from the Spartans perspective, and that is what the filmmakers where trying to portray. No, it isn't perfect, but in the end it is a fun, moving film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SLWilliamsDec 24, 2007
Beautiful, unique, ground-breaking, courageous, stirring, one-of-a-kind. I believe that there should be a law that prohibits any critics' reviews until the film has been out a week. "300" made nearly half a BILLION DOLLARS, world wide, Beautiful, unique, ground-breaking, courageous, stirring, one-of-a-kind. I believe that there should be a law that prohibits any critics' reviews until the film has been out a week. "300" made nearly half a BILLION DOLLARS, world wide, and won several awards, and that was before it came out in DVD. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
B.R.Dec 28, 2007
Great action, some things are exaggerated (ie: the deformed guy), but other than that, I thought it was very entertaining and catches my attention at all times.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TomSMar 12, 2007
Enjoyed this flick. Thought the visuals were great. Not sure why folks didn't like the acting. Sure I doubt that the Spartans went to battle naked as they were, but then I also doubt that wolves had glowing eyes back. It'sEnjoyed this flick. Thought the visuals were great. Not sure why folks didn't like the acting. Sure I doubt that the Spartans went to battle naked as they were, but then I also doubt that wolves had glowing eyes back. It's called 'imagination'. Use some.

All in all good movie.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
GuillermoGalindoMar 8, 2007
Based upon i have seen so far, this movies is nothing short of spectacular action and dramatic scenes that can show us that ancient battles can be more exciting trough the eyes and mind of a great director. Really a must see for everyone thatBased upon i have seen so far, this movies is nothing short of spectacular action and dramatic scenes that can show us that ancient battles can be more exciting trough the eyes and mind of a great director. Really a must see for everyone that loves a great epic movie. Expand
9 of 14 users found this helpful
7
grandpajoe6191Sep 29, 2011
"300" is just a massive cliche movie that has so many gaps as well as racism (Persian Asians are show to be fragile while white Spartans are depicted to be strong and muscular). Then why I enjoyed it? No particular reason, but I'm just"300" is just a massive cliche movie that has so many gaps as well as racism (Persian Asians are show to be fragile while white Spartans are depicted to be strong and muscular). Then why I enjoyed it? No particular reason, but I'm just impressed that Zack Snyder skillfully maneuvered the **** up movie till the end. Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
10
JesseY.Mar 17, 2008
I loved this movie. It is more than just blood and gore. I mean if some would be to get hit by a sword there will be blood.... lots of blood. A thought it was a very interesting story. Except that humpback thing was really scary.
3 of 5 users found this helpful
8
RirenMar 9, 2007
Unabashed entertainment, beautifully rendered and digitally touched up, excellently scoped and choreographed, 300 is at its best when it is throwing bodies around. Much of the side drama feelings like a side drama, leaving the target Unabashed entertainment, beautifully rendered and digitally touched up, excellently scoped and choreographed, 300 is at its best when it is throwing bodies around. Much of the side drama feelings like a side drama, leaving the target audience craving even more of its ultraviolent ancient warfare. It is a bloody and lewd picture, absolutely not for the kids, but for people desensitized enough to accept a movie where most of the warriors aren't treated as people, and by the body count alone, life has very little meaning until it is gone, if then. It is funny that its few bare breasts and short erotic sequences receive more protest than the various dismemberments, but be prepared for both, and be prepared to enjoy them, or don't see 300 at all. This is not a profound movie, often stopping short where it might examine greater morality or elevate the plot. Instead, its best dramatic feature is how it makes you believe things will happen when you walked into the movie theatre knowing they couldn't. If you rate this as a high drama, you miss its point - it is a superb action movie and needs to be judged and enjoyed as such. With all its references to Greek and specifically Spartan patriotism, its bold moral values unshared by mainstream America, and a plot driven by Persian aggression on European soil, this movie is absolutely not an allegory for America's conflicts with the Middle East, and only the dimwitted could see this as supporting an American war with Iran. However if that does happen, many marines may use this to psych themselves up. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
7
AdamWestDec 11, 2007
A relatively good movie. It's good for the fights and such but the love between the main dude and his queen is kind fake. The emotions other than bloodlust or other similar feelings are all kind of fake. The slow downed fighting is A relatively good movie. It's good for the fights and such but the love between the main dude and his queen is kind fake. The emotions other than bloodlust or other similar feelings are all kind of fake. The slow downed fighting is alright. You should give it a try or a rent. Completely fantasy history, just in case you were looking for a good representation of the Battle of Thermopylae. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
8
BobWJan 14, 2010
300 is a cinematic piece of artistry, focusing more on cinematography than story. Surprisingly, it works very well. The basic story line serves as the spine of the film; merely there to support the glorified action. It's this visceral 300 is a cinematic piece of artistry, focusing more on cinematography than story. Surprisingly, it works very well. The basic story line serves as the spine of the film; merely there to support the glorified action. It's this visceral beauty that makes it watchable, more so than a film that focuses on the fundamental story. 300 applies to males; those of you who don't appreciate slaughter and gore will not find it appealing. It's a movie that you have to watch without criticising, because you will surely find a fallacy within its simplicity and emphasis on visuals. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JimP.Mar 12, 2007
Some movies are meant to be over-the-top. 300 is a testosterone-dripping masterpiece laden with male-oriented dialogue, action, heroes, villians, action, and gore delivered with stunning scenic backdrops and a rocking score, making this an Some movies are meant to be over-the-top. 300 is a testosterone-dripping masterpiece laden with male-oriented dialogue, action, heroes, villians, action, and gore delivered with stunning scenic backdrops and a rocking score, making this an instant "guy movie" classic. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MichaelS.Mar 9, 2007
Loved every minute of it! Visually stunning! Keep in mind, it is based off of a comic based on real life events, so there are comic-like elements, such as the giants & mutants that come into the picture every now again. If you want a bloody Loved every minute of it! Visually stunning! Keep in mind, it is based off of a comic based on real life events, so there are comic-like elements, such as the giants & mutants that come into the picture every now again. If you want a bloody good time, this is the flick for you!!!!! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
mobyMay 16, 2007
i feel sorry for these people that when tto see this as a documentry of the 300 spartans, i went to see this as a action flick, this film looks fantastic and im the type of person who found pans labrynth a great film, but im also someone whoi feel sorry for these people that when tto see this as a documentry of the 300 spartans, i went to see this as a action flick, this film looks fantastic and im the type of person who found pans labrynth a great film, but im also someone who can enjoy a mindless romp,
If you enjoyed such films as SinCity, Final Fantasy, Sky Captain, dusk til dawn then you will enjoy 300.
I enjoyed this movie all the way through and ill get it when it arrives on DVD.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
KieranF.Dec 7, 2008
Excellent homo-eroticism.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
BobDickMar 16, 2008
I'm Greek and I found this movie quite interesting... *SPOILERS FOLLOW*
I have read the comments and reviews submitted from the other users and I have to say that most people are quite ignorant either in regards to the movie or to the
I'm Greek and I found this movie quite interesting... *SPOILERS FOLLOW*
I have read the comments and reviews submitted from the other users and I have to say that most people are quite ignorant either in regards to the movie or to the history of Thermopylae. This movie was not made to offer a historical account of how things happened and as such one can find a lot of inconsistencies. I read a comment about the Spartans being savages and worthless (LOL!) now how can they be worthless and victorious at the same time (although they were all killed this was a HUGE strategic victory) I do not know. I have to say though that there is a tendency in this movie to portray the Persian army as decadent and weak but I think this serves as a method to contrast the two civilizations and their strengths and weaknesses. For example the Spartans were exceptional in hand-to-hand combat while the Persian army relied on archers and cavalry (including chariots).Furthermore, the Spartan soldiers wore heavy armour and carried large round shields in contrast to their opponents who wore expensive jewellery and bright coloured garments -to impress their adversaries with their wealth- and light armour (their shields were made from some kind of bamboo).Both civilizations were equally magnificent (in my book) and the fact that the 'immortals' are portrayed as deformed people is outrageous. Further to that the Persian army had no ogres and goblins (lol) and I do not think they brought any elephants or rhinoceros to fight the Spartans. The side story with the Spartan queen being 'raped' is 100% BS - if there was ONE place in the world at that time where women had power and were respected (sometimes even more than men) that was Sparta...I cannot imagine any woman being raped in Sparta let alone the QUEEN! Since the movie is based on a COMIC BOOK I believe it was wise to use a CG environment and give it a gleam tone so that it will look like a comic. The fight sequences are very impressive and I think this is a very good action movie overall.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
TrentK.Aug 14, 2008
Love the style, subject matter and acting in this movie. This is totally original filmmaking. Something like I've never seen before. I like how faithful it was to the graphic novel.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MitchAttitudeAug 18, 2008
I cannot believe that the average score 300 has received. Very entertaining and great performances!!Top class!!!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
JonnyFendiJan 10, 2011
The storyline is simple, but the visual and action is a revolutionary breakthrough. Itâ
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
JamesIrish68Aug 7, 2014
I cannot find any fault with this movie..everything is perfect..The music score..The CGI...The actors..The story line...all excellent..Its going to go down as a classic and unfortunately for Gerald Butler..the high point of his acting career.I cannot find any fault with this movie..everything is perfect..The music score..The CGI...The actors..The story line...all excellent..Its going to go down as a classic and unfortunately for Gerald Butler..the high point of his acting career.
A bone of contention with critics seems to historical accuracy . Why? It follows a graphic novel..The essence of the event is there...not staid adherence to the historical battle..A 9 foot Xerxes is much more exciting than a normal sized one anyway...
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Dorian182Apr 28, 2011
Although the historical accuracy i terrible, this is not exactly what you watch a film for in the first place. If you wanted accuracy you would watch a documentary, the film is however amazing, the fight scenes are epic, the music awesome andAlthough the historical accuracy i terrible, this is not exactly what you watch a film for in the first place. If you wanted accuracy you would watch a documentary, the film is however amazing, the fight scenes are epic, the music awesome and the cgi superb. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
EricCotterMar 23, 2007
Yes, the violence was ridiculously excessive. Yes, it wasn't historically accurate (I don't think the Persians had rhinoes in their arsenal). Yes, there was some terrible dialogue. But come on. Did you not see the preview? Jeez.Yes, the violence was ridiculously excessive. Yes, it wasn't historically accurate (I don't think the Persians had rhinoes in their arsenal). Yes, there was some terrible dialogue. But come on. Did you not see the preview? Jeez. It's called a guy flick, and a d@%$ good one. The only other guy flicks out there right now are Ghost Rider, Norbit, and Wild Hogs, and really, who the hell wants to sit through those? Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
10
MattD.Mar 8, 2007
If this movie does not get nominated for any Academy Awards for graphics/cinematography/costumes/best picture, etc, I will be very annoyed. The action was relentless and the editing team made amazing use of slow motion. Certain parts were If this movie does not get nominated for any Academy Awards for graphics/cinematography/costumes/best picture, etc, I will be very annoyed. The action was relentless and the editing team made amazing use of slow motion. Certain parts were slowed down and sped up to emphasize the impact of certain strikes. The acting was amazing, as was the characters' interaction with the environment. Through the use of digital editing, the entire movie was made on a digital set - the only actual on location filming the crew did was for a horse action shot. The only qualm I had with the movie was its insertion of "freedom and liberty prevailing over all else. I have read the comic several times (I now own it, too. Go Chapters!) and though the Spartans preached that a new age was beginning, an age of "great deeds, reason, and justice," the comics never referenced freedom and liberty. It sort of left an "American" taste in my mouth. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
8
NalyotovMay 20, 2012
This movie teaches patriotism. This is its value, but on the other hand there are a lot of bloody savoring, it is in the negative. Also, minus the fact that, in the film a lot of computer graphics and an element of fantasy that comes at theThis movie teaches patriotism. This is its value, but on the other hand there are a lot of bloody savoring, it is in the negative. Also, minus the fact that, in the film a lot of computer graphics and an element of fantasy that comes at the expense of historical fact the Battle of Thermopylae. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
BenD.Mar 9, 2007
Exactly what you expect, but pulled off very well.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
EthanMar 9, 2007
This film is incredible. all this talk of "nothing much to remember but pretty effects" is complete garbage. it's a tale of bravery beyond any of our capacity, it's a fight for freedom against over-whelming odds. i will never forgetThis film is incredible. all this talk of "nothing much to remember but pretty effects" is complete garbage. it's a tale of bravery beyond any of our capacity, it's a fight for freedom against over-whelming odds. i will never forget this film. and yes... the effects are cool, but that's not the only reason to adore the film. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
RichardF.Mar 9, 2007
This movie is both a great adaptation of the original comic book and based on a great battle of history. If you have not seen this movie yet and you enjoy movies that get your heart beating.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
NickApr 18, 2008
I have never met anyone, *ever* in real life who hasn't loved this movie. Young and old alike, friend and foe. I cant belive these rating are so low. I own a "300" T-shirt; I get complements all day when i wear that thing. There is I have never met anyone, *ever* in real life who hasn't loved this movie. Young and old alike, friend and foe. I cant belive these rating are so low. I own a "300" T-shirt; I get complements all day when i wear that thing. There is something seriously wrong when a movie like "the mist" gets a better rating than an instant classic like "300". Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
YeahRightSep 28, 2008
A work of Art! Put your preconceptions aside and enjoy it for what it is.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
NikoLJan 3, 2009
Well polished universe with a unique style. Wasn't expecting a compelling narrative, but it's there for those who care. I can watch this over and over.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
AndreyP.Dec 20, 2007
It is the best movie I've ever seen!!Zack Snyder and his team are absolute genieses!!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
7
JohnSmithMar 20, 2007
Well i had been waiting to see 300 for some time and i finally saw it. I enjoyed it yes, but admittedly i did walk away feeling somewhat less satisfied than i thought i would.

The visuals were brilliant, action second to none, and im sure
Well i had been waiting to see 300 for some time and i finally saw it. I enjoyed it yes, but admittedly i did walk away feeling somewhat less satisfied than i thought i would.

The visuals were brilliant, action second to none, and im sure so many oiled, well chiseled bodies have never graced the screen at any one time.

But i think that the somewhat second rate script, and at times sub-par acting took something away from it in the end.

To be sure it was an enjoyable 2 hours. But it just wont be a 2 hours your likely to remember for a great deal of time.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
AlexMar 30, 2007
IT IS AN AMAZING ACTION MOVIE.WHO DOES NOT KNOW THE HISTORY OF LEONIDAS AND HIS 300 CAN NOT UNDERSTAND WHAT THEIR SACRIFICE MEANT FOR ALL OF US.WE SHOULD BE MORE GRATEFUL AND APPRECIATE WHAT THESE MEN HAVE ACHIEVED.AND SOMETHING ELSE, IF I AMIT IS AN AMAZING ACTION MOVIE.WHO DOES NOT KNOW THE HISTORY OF LEONIDAS AND HIS 300 CAN NOT UNDERSTAND WHAT THEIR SACRIFICE MEANT FOR ALL OF US.WE SHOULD BE MORE GRATEFUL AND APPRECIATE WHAT THESE MEN HAVE ACHIEVED.AND SOMETHING ELSE, IF I AM NOT MISTAKEN THERE IS NO WAR WITHOUT BLOOD.IS THERE? Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
7
RubenP.Mar 9, 2007
Do not go into the theater expecting to compare '300' to 'Gladiator'. In the '300' the cinematography is astounding as the entire movie was filmed in a warehouse. Although beyond the battle grounds, the Do not go into the theater expecting to compare '300' to 'Gladiator'. In the '300' the cinematography is astounding as the entire movie was filmed in a warehouse. Although beyond the battle grounds, the storyline could not live up to the Spartan scenes. The battle scenes had the audience cheering and made you feel like leaping off your seat to grab a shield and sword. This movie was entertaining and fun even with the cheezy inspirational speeches. The movie left me wanting more. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JimA.Mar 9, 2007
A really fantastic movie which never becomes boring. Very good actors and perfect plot. None should miss it!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
BlurMar 9, 2007
I usually give a score close to the ones the critics give, but I really think the critics are under rating this one. The visuals were really astounding, and I thoughti t was cool how they showed how Spartan men were really brought up. I read I usually give a score close to the ones the critics give, but I really think the critics are under rating this one. The visuals were really astounding, and I thoughti t was cool how they showed how Spartan men were really brought up. I read one reviewer say the copper colors were overused, i thought it looked good. Sure, the movie exploits sex and violence (it is the goriest movie I have ever seen by a long shot) , but we are watching a war movie. Only gripe I had at first all the Spartans look like models, instead of barbarians, but I think it just added to the style. I think some critics forget to enjoy a movie for what it is. Amazing movie. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
andyJul 31, 2007
Gladiator on steriods!!!! Excellent war movie. If your a male, there is no way you shouldnt love this movie. Pure testosterone...........People who look/seek for political/religious themes in this movie , need a labotomy! Pure action, pureGladiator on steriods!!!! Excellent war movie. If your a male, there is no way you shouldnt love this movie. Pure testosterone...........People who look/seek for political/religious themes in this movie , need a labotomy! Pure action, pure violence, pure adrenaline!!!!! Just awesome all the way around.........How you cannot have a blast watching this movie is beyond me.....! Just watch this movie, tell me you dont like it......there aint no way you cant like this movie....Everything about it, is beyond well done. People that criticise this movie are the type of dopes that just look for negatives in everything. This movie was the bomb!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
9
samsmithAug 23, 2007
Amazing. Anyone who says "this film isn't accurate, this film is the worst I have ever seen" seriously need to take a step back a realise its not ment to be accurate its based on a comic and to say its the worst film ever is just crazyAmazing. Anyone who says "this film isn't accurate, this film is the worst I have ever seen" seriously need to take a step back a realise its not ment to be accurate its based on a comic and to say its the worst film ever is just crazy talk. you'll like this film if you don't take it too seriously and enjoy a bit of violence and massive battles. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
9
ShaneGOct 2, 2008
I thought this fil was amazing. Visually stunning and well edited as well as a decent plot. I don't understand why some people have gave it such bad reviews, I can understand a woman who isn't into the whole blood and violence I thought this fil was amazing. Visually stunning and well edited as well as a decent plot. I don't understand why some people have gave it such bad reviews, I can understand a woman who isn't into the whole blood and violence scene but the film offers much more than just that. As for the comment by Kass B, you are the kind of person who gives gay people a bad name, You admit that you take it up the wrong one and yet watching real men brutally kill each other is too gay for you. hmmm. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JtT.Mar 3, 2008
Great film, very well made, it is more than just blood and gore. This film showcases integrity, honor, doing the right thing, something that is missing in the predominantly leftist media. The situation we are facing from terrorism and how Great film, very well made, it is more than just blood and gore. This film showcases integrity, honor, doing the right thing, something that is missing in the predominantly leftist media. The situation we are facing from terrorism and how the left and democrats deal with a threat is so well displayed in the actions of the Spartan politician who sells out his homeland to the Persians. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
9
KevinAApr 10, 2008
This movie is the perfect action movie. While the storyline isn't too solid, it doesn't have to be. The fight scenes more than make up for the lack of thrilling plot. The Persians are attacking the Greeks, and the Spartans wont This movie is the perfect action movie. While the storyline isn't too solid, it doesn't have to be. The fight scenes more than make up for the lack of thrilling plot. The Persians are attacking the Greeks, and the Spartans wont have it. The council wont let the whole army fight, so 300 men stand up to an entire army. It's a true story of valor and honor that is anything but easy to find in today's society. If you're looking for a good action movie with amazing fight scenes, then 300 is the movie for you. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
PhilM.Jul 6, 2008
I can't begin to understand why anyone wouldn't like this movie. The message of the movie is to not take crap from anyone. And it seems the people who hate this movie have a sexual fantasy with the government bossing them around.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
8
RWDec 22, 2007
Eventhough the story was historically inacurate the movie was still entertaining.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
9
ArboA.Mar 8, 2007
Old hag reviewers without any sense of style or artistry review this movie badly simply on the basis that they can't handle it. Anyone with a quarter brain and an understanding of what this movie is, a movie version of a graphic novel, Old hag reviewers without any sense of style or artistry review this movie badly simply on the basis that they can't handle it. Anyone with a quarter brain and an understanding of what this movie is, a movie version of a graphic novel, would understand that the imagery was simply meant to be a comic in motion, maintaining all the extremes of a great graphic novel. They think it's supposed to be completely true to life and fails. No. It's art in motion. This movie is incredible if you get past your ego and actually have a real taste for artistic expression. See it if you're one to enjoy new, fresh cinematic ideas ...instead of just chalking everything up to the same textbook formula that these so-called expert reviewers seem to do. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
8
CarmichaelMar 9, 2007
A spectacle!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
SarahC.Apr 9, 2008
I thought this was an utterly inspiring and moving film from start to finish. Sure it was highly interspersed with CG, holding it that much further away from reality, but do we go to films to watch straight cut- to- screen believable themes? I thought this was an utterly inspiring and moving film from start to finish. Sure it was highly interspersed with CG, holding it that much further away from reality, but do we go to films to watch straight cut- to- screen believable themes? Not all the time. It didn't dally about with crap, it cut to the point and no, it didn't leave much to the imagination but it didn't have to. It laid everything out for you to just enjoy.The musical score was moving, the visual lighting set the right mood -harsh, aggressive, dark and powerful. As a woman, the visuals never suited me any better. The sad thing is, these type of men actually don't exsist in real life. Ones who are willing to fight for their right to live, for their people and their country. These men have no fear and real honour in themselves, who could ask for more? The fact that it was set in a time before guns and nuclear weapons is a breath of fresh air too, the violence in it didn't make me want to throw up like so many modern day "action films" try to make their audience do. I'd see this film over most of the rubbish currently airing, if i wanted to see another will ferrel movie i'd have myself committed. 300 is highly enjoyable, send a few Spartans round to my place any day. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
9
TomS.Mar 9, 2007
Gladiator is at the top of my favorite movie list. I went to the midnight screening of the movie knowing nearly nothing about it. Hoping, praying, that it would have the potential to win me over and take the #1 spot
1 of 4 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCFeb 15, 2009
Really? a 51? There is no realm of reality in which this movie deserves a 51. The movie has everything you could want, awesome action sequences, great special effects, and an intriguing narrative which never gets boring. Admittedly, theReally? a 51? There is no realm of reality in which this movie deserves a 51. The movie has everything you could want, awesome action sequences, great special effects, and an intriguing narrative which never gets boring. Admittedly, the story, which recounts( an all be it somewhat exaggerated version of) the Battle of Thermopylae, has a political, and at times even racist or homophobic, undertone which may alienate some viewers, but if you can get past the obvious West vs. East political parable, 300 is a great movie which does not dissapoint. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
10
DarklinkJul 27, 2012
300 shows in a very artistic and emotional way what Leonidas and his army of 300 men gave their lives for. If it weren't for them the Persians would have probably conquered ancient Greece and the history of the whole world would be a much300 shows in a very artistic and emotional way what Leonidas and his army of 300 men gave their lives for. If it weren't for them the Persians would have probably conquered ancient Greece and the history of the whole world would be a much different affair. If you are a free man who believes in the principles of ancient Greece, such as freedom of speech and act, you ought to yourself and your children to see this movie. An ever lasting story of how humanity progresses and one of the best films I've ever seen. You can feel all of the emotions these people would have been through and the feeling of catharsis that comes at the end is just magnificent. See it. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
ChrisAug 5, 2007
An exceptionally entertaining move from start to finish. In response to people who say this movie has nothing going for it besides it's visuals or action...who cares? Yes the story is simple but it really doesn't matter. Movies areAn exceptionally entertaining move from start to finish. In response to people who say this movie has nothing going for it besides it's visuals or action...who cares? Yes the story is simple but it really doesn't matter. Movies are made to entertain and 300 does it better than a lot of other films. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
10
T.TohMar 3, 2007
300 gave me a total adrenaline/testosterone rush from watching well-oiled, bronzed, nude-torsoed men with rippling muscles and six(teen)-pack abs put their lives on the line to preserve the liberty of their city-state. Never a dull moment.300 gave me a total adrenaline/testosterone rush from watching well-oiled, bronzed, nude-torsoed men with rippling muscles and six(teen)-pack abs put their lives on the line to preserve the liberty of their city-state. Never a dull moment. And oh, the gore and blood splatter - they made it almost artistic and sure stirred my blood lust! Very visceral, with slo-mo used to great effect in the fighting scenes. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
VincentVdB.Jun 30, 2007
Awesome movie! The best fight sequences I have ever seen in my life (better than Kill Bill)!!! The plot is maybe less interesting, but it's just a classic story and the excellent actors raise the movie to another level. Tonight, I Awesome movie! The best fight sequences I have ever seen in my life (better than Kill Bill)!!! The plot is maybe less interesting, but it's just a classic story and the excellent actors raise the movie to another level. Tonight, I won't dine in hell, but watch the movie in the cinema again. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
AndyS.Apr 1, 2007
This movie was a lot of fun. Not historically accurate and must be taken for what it is (a piece of entertainment) rather than a faithful recreation of the events of the battle of Thermopylae. Visually lavish battle scenes and sound, in my This movie was a lot of fun. Not historically accurate and must be taken for what it is (a piece of entertainment) rather than a faithful recreation of the events of the battle of Thermopylae. Visually lavish battle scenes and sound, in my opinion definitely worth a watch Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JamieA.Apr 10, 2007
A truly brilliant film that captures the story of thermopylae perfectly. People who dislike this film are the kind of people who think the english patient is the peak of moviemaking. 300 is better than Braveheart, Troy, Gladiator and A truly brilliant film that captures the story of thermopylae perfectly. People who dislike this film are the kind of people who think the english patient is the peak of moviemaking. 300 is better than Braveheart, Troy, Gladiator and Alexander by far. Its the perfect film for our fight-club-loving, 'tarantino' generation. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
YoshiA.Apr 10, 2007
A fantastic Miller graphic novel brought to screen. Just remember that 300 is a graphic novel brought to screen and told by a surviving Spartan soldier, thus hyperbole exist. This is not the history itself. Anyways, I think the story is A fantastic Miller graphic novel brought to screen. Just remember that 300 is a graphic novel brought to screen and told by a surviving Spartan soldier, thus hyperbole exist. This is not the history itself. Anyways, I think the story is decent. But the graphic is smashing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MaxC.Sep 7, 2007
A very artistic movie that closely follows the original comic by Frank Miller that it is based on. If you have read the comic, you will notice a lot of scenes straight out of it. I'm not too pleased with the inclusion of the whole A very artistic movie that closely follows the original comic by Frank Miller that it is based on. If you have read the comic, you will notice a lot of scenes straight out of it. I'm not too pleased with the inclusion of the whole politic intrigue, but otherwise, I loved the movie. Check it out if you like battle movies and don't mind a little nudity. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
GregSFeb 21, 2010
While it may not be strong in what critic's look at, it succeeds at what it tries to be: a movie that caters specifically to men with stylistic, over the top violence, and boobs.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MichaelRDec 30, 2007
The movie was a bit slow,the dialog was ok.In a nutshell this movie shines in the action parts.Its a fun popcorn movie and nothing special.If you really like action movies then this movie is for you.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PeteHammondMar 3, 2007
As Pete Hammond of Maxim put it. This is a landmark movie epic that will change the face of cinema forever. Destined for the Gladiator response from the Audience and the Oscars, 300 will be a smashing success. But when you focus just on theAs Pete Hammond of Maxim put it. This is a landmark movie epic that will change the face of cinema forever. Destined for the Gladiator response from the Audience and the Oscars, 300 will be a smashing success. But when you focus just on the quality of the movie itself, and ignore all the hype and glorious reviews, you can see, this movie is truly a moving, unbelievable, groundbreaking motion picture event that can change lives around the world with its stunning acting and direction and absolute graceful perfection. A+. 5 Stars. 100/100/ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BangellMar 25, 2008
It may not be historically accurate. The plot may not be intricate or interesting. But this film rocks for its amazing action. The line, THIS IS SPARTA!!! will be bellowed by people worldwide forever!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ArkonBladeAug 28, 2010
a entertaining film abou a old spartan story redone to look bad ass . not much of a plot outside of 300 spartans go to fight the persians . it has some amazing action and visauls . its a fun roller coaster ride that doesnt disappoint.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
ERG1008Sep 17, 2010
Based on Frank Miller's graphic novel, beardy Spartan King & his 300 bodyguards take on the Persians to stop their conquest of Greece.
The battle scenes are excellent with great choreography & decent special effects.
People have complained
Based on Frank Miller's graphic novel, beardy Spartan King & his 300 bodyguards take on the Persians to stop their conquest of Greece.
The battle scenes are excellent with great choreography & decent special effects.
People have complained about the "look" of the film but I thought it added to the whole experience & atmosphere.
Where is does fall down is the acting &, with the exception of Gerard Butler & Lena Headey, it is pretty shocking.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
AI88Nov 27, 2010
A great film. Not the best movie on Earth, but still better than most of the crap produced these days. This movie teaches honor, courage, and sacrifice, which is unfortunately rare today. I was actually suprised this got such a low score,A great film. Not the best movie on Earth, but still better than most of the crap produced these days. This movie teaches honor, courage, and sacrifice, which is unfortunately rare today. I was actually suprised this got such a low score, since everyone I know liked it. Screw the critics who bashed this film. Everyone should watch 300. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
CritiqueGirlMar 2, 2011
Outstanding. The acting, directing, CGI, originality (somewhat historical) , action, directing and narration are all exceptional. It was less violent on TV as it was PG-13 and that was bad enough. For me more violence would haveOutstanding. The acting, directing, CGI, originality (somewhat historical) , action, directing and narration are all exceptional. It was less violent on TV as it was PG-13 and that was bad enough. For me more violence would have been......over kill. The end is great!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
XxKingLeonidasMar 17, 2011
Everything about this movie is just fantastic. The acting is superb, the cgi world is beautiful, the action is second to none. Their is nothing that this movie has done wrong and nothing could have made it any better.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
drlowdonOct 30, 2014
Inspired by a true story, 300, tells the story of King Leonadis who, bound by honour, leads his 300 man Spartan army against the seemingly endless Persian Horde attacking his homeland.

As with Sin City the movie remains faithful to Frank
Inspired by a true story, 300, tells the story of King Leonadis who, bound by honour, leads his 300 man Spartan army against the seemingly endless Persian Horde attacking his homeland.

As with Sin City the movie remains faithful to Frank Millers graphic novel providing a truly fantastic spectacle as the Spartans face up to the unknown. The simple plot plays in the movies favour by allowing the focus to remain largely on the battle itself which is brilliantly directed and as good, if not better, than anything else in cinema history. As the movie progresses it is difficult not to side with Leonadis as they continue to fight against insurmountable odds and the two hours will simply fly by.

A true milestone for visuals in cinema that has still yet to be bettered.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
heybuddymoviesAug 1, 2011
Frank Miller is a stellar talent in the comic book world and this brought Zack Snyder to the forefront of inspired directorial visionaries that would prove his love for the source material for his following films (which is why I have fullFrank Miller is a stellar talent in the comic book world and this brought Zack Snyder to the forefront of inspired directorial visionaries that would prove his love for the source material for his following films (which is why I have full confidence in him tackling the man of steel). Itâ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JoseRochaPTOct 9, 2011
Excellent movie, I am happy to see that there are already more than three hundred positive votes. The film manages to show the ancestral life of an emblematic form, and ultimately contain enough mystery about certain topics, such as theExcellent movie, I am happy to see that there are already more than three hundred positive votes. The film manages to show the ancestral life of an emblematic form, and ultimately contain enough mystery about certain topics, such as the shadow of arrows, and many others. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DesdicadoJul 7, 2015
My favourite film of all time, looks like a beautiful canvas painting, some great acting, Gerry Butler, David Wenham, Lena Hedley, Awesome one liners, "fight in the shade", "Come and get them!" The Spartans were known for being laconic.My favourite film of all time, looks like a beautiful canvas painting, some great acting, Gerry Butler, David Wenham, Lena Hedley, Awesome one liners, "fight in the shade", "Come and get them!" The Spartans were known for being laconic.
Lovely fight scenes, loved the historical detail of the phalanx. I've watched it again and a gain, a great workout motivator too.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MediaCriticOct 19, 2011
I thought this movie was tremendous! The CGI and effects are stunning, as well as the computer generated land they fight in. Most of the movie was filmed inside in a set against blue and green screens, but they did well pulling it off. Lot'sI thought this movie was tremendous! The CGI and effects are stunning, as well as the computer generated land they fight in. Most of the movie was filmed inside in a set against blue and green screens, but they did well pulling it off. Lot's of blood and gore make this a perfect film for the battle lover. The coloring of the movie is interesting and unique, and the story-line is basic but good. It is based on true events, however exaggerated a bit. There's some elements of fantasy thrown into the mix as well, but not too much that it leads you off the path of the story. It's relatively easy to follow and I think it's a great movie filled with guts and brutal violence. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
oxanaAug 28, 2014
A beautiful movie to look at. David Wenham's narrative on the back is apt and appropriate; ruthless and simple like the rest of the movie.

There isn't too much in 300 when it comes into a plot with twists and turns. The movie isn't too
A beautiful movie to look at. David Wenham's narrative on the back is apt and appropriate; ruthless and simple like the rest of the movie.

There isn't too much in 300 when it comes into a plot with twists and turns. The movie isn't too short or too long - though the scenes with the queen do not perhaps fall in between the fighting scenes as well as they could. They merge well enough, though, not making either part of the story to stand out too much.

The fighting scenes are pretty human, considering what they could be.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
RegOzApr 6, 2012
This movie is soo bad that is not funny! Since when Persians are black? Did you know where the Caucasus is? and gay? Don't they remember that the Spartan army is well known because their homosexual practices? I don't see anything negative inThis movie is soo bad that is not funny! Since when Persians are black? Did you know where the Caucasus is? and gay? Don't they remember that the Spartan army is well known because their homosexual practices? I don't see anything negative in homosexuality, but I think is bad when it is used to demonized a group, because then it is given a negative connotation. Apart from the photography (it was beautiful, because of that I give it 1) the movie was a total failure. The performances were ridiculously bad. Even my 11 years old boy-who is extremely intelligent- noticed that...10 minutes after we turned it off. . What can I say? An embarrasment for the producers! I can't understand how it score. Quite honestly, even if the movie was not meant to be historically accurate (and a few movies are)...it didn't mean to portray almost the opposite either! Sorry, but I will take the risk and will be 'disrespectful" this movie is crap, and it showed a lack of considerations towards people with Persian roots. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobJan 2, 2013
Historicly inaccurate, yes it is, however 300 is a very entertaining movie that will keep you interested from start to finish. It's an original and enjoyable action movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ParanoiaMar 27, 2012
well made movie with amazing unique graphic style, well made story based on true story, nice actors and everything else was just amazing, the only minus i would give is the ending, It was literary CUT OFF. So thats why i gave it 9.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
kublay0880Dec 10, 2012
No body should be shocked to see the depiction of the white man's supremacy on the movies, it happens in almost every movie even foreign movies. This was the first movie of its kind and it was nicely polished, great memorable scenes andNo body should be shocked to see the depiction of the white man's supremacy on the movies, it happens in almost every movie even foreign movies. This was the first movie of its kind and it was nicely polished, great memorable scenes and characters after all for those who don't know, this was based in actual history, but it is a movie it has to contain movie features such as exalted heroes, super human strength and stuff like that. This is a movie that one way or the other you finish enjoin. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonMay 16, 2013
Writer-director Zack Snyder set out to faithfully adapt Frank Miller’s graphic novel 300 and his slavish devotion to the source material pays off with a visually stunning, innovative epic unlike anything we’ve seen. Aesthetically speaking,Writer-director Zack Snyder set out to faithfully adapt Frank Miller’s graphic novel 300 and his slavish devotion to the source material pays off with a visually stunning, innovative epic unlike anything we’ve seen. Aesthetically speaking, 300 is a remarkable piece of art. Snyder’s striking use of color helps to emphasize and enhance the mood of each scene, and the CGI work is fluid and flawless. With surprisingly fleshed out characters and a plot that’s both simple and deep, 300 blends bloody violence, sensuality, brutality, and moments of true beauty into an intoxicatingly unconventional film experience. 300 is a fantasy tale based on the Battle of Thermophylae in which 300 Spartans led by the fierce King Leonidas (a snarling Gerard Butler) made a heroic stand against the overwhelming Persian army commanded by Xerxes (Rodrigo Santoro, unrecognizable as the larger-than-life, pierced and golden androgynous creature). Leonidas’ refusal to bow down to Xerxes sets the events in motion, with the Spartan 300 ready to willingly giving up their lives in order to keep Sparta free from the clutches of Xerxes and his invading horde. Strategic placement allows Leonidas and his men the opportunity to efficiently dispense with thousands of hapless Persians without suffering many losses of their own. Even an elephant and a rhino are no match for the well-oiled machine that is the Spartan army. In a particularly stunning move, the Spartans use dead Persians to shore up a wall, effectively creating a barrier to hide behind and psyching out the enemy at the same time. All the while the men know there’s not a chance in hell they’ll come out of the battle alive. But as Leonidas explains when they meet up with soldiers who want to join the cause, his men are soldiers through and through and know no other life than one of defending their Sparta. There’s plenty of blood and body parts being chopped off and some of the best choreographed fight scenes on film, but it’s all stylized. Snyder’s use of stop-motion to capture specific moments during battle helps the film achieve a painting come to life tone. Yet for all the dismemberments and killings, there are a few passionate moments between Leonidas and Gorgo tossed in to balance it out (not to mention a smoking hot sex scene). In other words, there’s a little something for action film freaks as well as those more into drama and romance. And let’s be totally honest here. Just the sight of Butler and the talented cast of actors who make up the Spartan army (including David Wenham, Tom Wisdom, Vincent Regan, and Michael Fassbender) running around in ‘codpieces’ that barely conceal the family jewels and little else is reason enough for most women to want to check out the film. While the film fills the majority of its running time with nearly naked men with 6-pack abs and testosterone to spare discussing battles or actually engaged in them, Snyder wisely chose to devote a fair amount of time explaining the Spartan culture and focusing on Spartan’s Queen Gorgo (Lena Headey). The relationship between the King and Queen is expanded upon from the graphic novel, with Queen Gorgo portrayed as a strong leader on the same level as her husband. As brought to life by Butler, Leonidas is a passionate man loved by his soldiers and devoted to his Queen and Sparta. Butler makes Leonidas into a fully fleshed out character and not just a fighting machine. Headey’s equally terrific as the tough Queen Gorgo. In fact Snyder’s entire cast does an admirable job of bringing ancient history alive onscreen.
Taking his cue directly from the pages of Miller’s graphic novel, Snyder has created a movie that works on many different levels. Mesmerizing and breathtaking, 300 is something you have to experience for yourself.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
UntoldAv3nGerJun 9, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is outstanding! Every couple of minutes there is a scene so epic that your jaw will drop so hard it wall fall off. The intro was great. It showed the audience how the Spartans trained and how they became the amazing warriors Greece was known for. The famous "This is SPARTA" quote at the beginning where the messenger is thrown into the pit was more than epic. The first half of the movie is all very well done because you know exactly what is going on, however the sex scene may not be what you came for. In the second half, the battles were amazing and the movie was constantly shifting from slow motion to normal. The movie can teach the audience a lot about how armies set up camps and wait, and that wars aren't over all at once. I did not like the giant Persian man. I thought it was very unrealistic and it took away from the movie for me in some ways. I did not know if the Persians with the metal faces were really humans either. I was disappointed that the Persian "Immortal" did not die at the end. The traitor really made the war end fast. Great movie all in all! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
HazaRDReborNMay 1, 2015
It is based on a graphic novel which is based on historical events.

Having that said, the film was perfect. Did it change certain events around? Indeed it did. Leonidas did not die last. Did it however keep the basics the same? Indeed it
It is based on a graphic novel which is based on historical events.

Having that said, the film was perfect. Did it change certain events around? Indeed it did. Leonidas did not die last. Did it however keep the basics the same? Indeed it did. Even to the last man when the Spartans were surrounded, the Persians dared not close in on them and they killed them with arrows.

Some are claiming it was racist, showing Persians and Asians as skinny and what not. Derp. Have you seen Asians today? But apart from that, have any of you even bothered to look at the film? What skinny men? The Persian army looked like normal fighters, they simply had crappy equipment which is exactly one of the main problems their army had historically.

So the barbarians with the lash were skinny? Herpa derpa dooo...

Were the Spartans depicted more mucho? Yes. Why? Because they were. The only racism I tend to see is people hating on Hellenism because they are jealous and not wanting to face the facts. A Spartan shield, held by ONE spartan alone, is that heavy it needs three average men of our time to hold it up today...

Not to mention that the Spartans, as most ancient civilizations back then, were rather short. How do you think they would look? o.O

Back to the film. The story in itself historically does not have such a wide range of events and story elements to go on, so the fact that it had as much as it did in this take from Frank Miller and Zack Snyder is more than great. It is awesome.

The notions of a united Greece, of rising up against Mysticism and Tyranny, of freedom, all important elements that are after all the most important things to fight for and such war films are great for simply depicting such elements. And they did.

The story is simple, 300 Spartans block the Persian march for 3-4 days until the rest of Greece gets ready to defend. That is it. And that is what they showed.

Extra kudos for also ending it in the phrase that is actually written on the statue of Leonidas at Thermopylae today. Extra props for the "return with your shield or on it" that every Spartan wife told to their husband before war. Extra props for the famous "we will fight in the shade" mocking phrase the Spartans gave the Persians. And of-course the "come and get them", the phrase that history has never forgotten.

Despite the comic approach and some extremities shown, like undead warriors for the Immortals, or a more twisted take on Efialtes, the film included the most important things that no film based on Leonidas and his brave 300 should ever forget to include.

And, with Zack Snyder behind the chair of the action, we get the best ever to date action film in Ancient Greece, especially for it's time (2007).

10/10... Ten.... out of TEN!
Very much deserved. The haters can dig themselves a hole and crawl into it. Yes we get it, many of you are still jealous over Hellenism, thus depicting evident racism in your comments, then turn around and call events that happened a certain way in history as "racist" to even show of such events. Nice try.

But showing Russians as criminals all the time and Arabs as evil is not racist is it? Derp.

Its ok. Hating wont help you. But its ok.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
huntiborMar 23, 2013
This Is
SPARTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Movie1997Aug 17, 2013
This is a Zack Snyder hit. Before "Man of Steel" or "Watchmen", he made an instant classic. It's a bloody good time and visually dazzling. It is not only well written but extremely quotable. You never seen anything like this. Overall, THIS IS SPARTA!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MetalFoXJul 16, 2013
Gerard Butler really made this film what it is. 300 was just an absolutely fantastic experience to watch, accompanied by how close to the edge of your seat this film can really get you!

The story was great, and the action scenes were just
Gerard Butler really made this film what it is. 300 was just an absolutely fantastic experience to watch, accompanied by how close to the edge of your seat this film can really get you!

The story was great, and the action scenes were just utterly fantastic and very well planned out. The script was a little basic, however the narrative feel to the movie and the overall hook of it being a story getting told to the mighty army of Sparta made this film really hit me!

If you like action with swords and shields and big muscle men over guns, this is definitely something you should watch!
...And then buy on Blu-Ray afterwards.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Zack Snyder's second take at directing has him doing the film 300 based on the 1998 comic book series. The film follows King Leonidas (Gerard Butler) who leads 300 Spartans into battle against the Persian empire lead by their leader theZack Snyder's second take at directing has him doing the film 300 based on the 1998 comic book series. The film follows King Leonidas (Gerard Butler) who leads 300 Spartans into battle against the Persian empire lead by their leader the "god-King" Xerxes (Rodrigo Santoro). The film is visually stunning Zack Snyder classic slow-mo/speed up only adds the visual amazement. The action is also quite brutal and there is tons of blood and limbs all over the place so maybe the film isn't for everyone.

The story though is rather thin and it lacks in areas as other films like Gladiator/Troy thrive in. Though that is why the action and other things on screen were to help with this. the film is just under 2 hours and though that is a decent length for a film i just fell that there should have been an extended cut that was like 15-20 minutes longer that would have help fill some of these story gaps

Overall I give this a 7.5
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
cag11Nov 29, 2013
This is a quite cheesy thriller. The battle sequences are pretty good for the most part. If you want to watch this for the action and gore, then this movie is for you.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
leosteelDec 12, 2013
Tremenda película por dios, Zack Snyder se lucio a partir acá. Que se puede decir, es espectacular emocionante, es casi la misma sensación que cuando vi Man Of Steel, sabiendo tambien que ambas causaron algo de polémica, 300 en aquellos añosTremenda película por dios, Zack Snyder se lucio a partir acá. Que se puede decir, es espectacular emocionante, es casi la misma sensación que cuando vi Man Of Steel, sabiendo tambien que ambas causaron algo de polémica, 300 en aquellos años y ahora con MOS, y bueno sin palabras, terriblemente buena 300. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
skippylikenoDec 9, 2013
I think it's hilarious when people compare this film to the actual historical event. If you are doing so, you clearly didn't watch the movie, probably due to you overbearing, murky and obnoxious hubris clouding your field of vision andI think it's hilarious when people compare this film to the actual historical event. If you are doing so, you clearly didn't watch the movie, probably due to you overbearing, murky and obnoxious hubris clouding your field of vision and attention span. The story isn't supposed to be accurate, it's a STORY being told by the one eyed soldier that was sent off for his storytelling skills. That's why he's narrating it, and that's why everything in the movie is exaggerated and over-the-top, because it was meant to inspire troops. Pay attention people. Anyway as a whole the movie is powerful, visually engaging, sticks to the source material while being innovative and fun, and even manages to get a tad bit emotional at parts. Worth a watch for comic book fans and film buffs both. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
camo1989Dec 12, 2013
A lot of exaggerated CGI gore and arguably unnecessary nudity. Charlatans everywhere bias their opinions of this film on its inaccuracy but if the film is surprisingly faithful to Herodotus' account of the campaign. If you ask me it's a filmA lot of exaggerated CGI gore and arguably unnecessary nudity. Charlatans everywhere bias their opinions of this film on its inaccuracy but if the film is surprisingly faithful to Herodotus' account of the campaign. If you ask me it's a film well worth watching, as a teenager it was my favourite of all films Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
PHJFeb 25, 2014
The first 300 from Zack Snyder is revolutionary in all aspect, Zack Snyder allways make movies with great special effects, but 300 has a history and follows it weel, isn't the real Spartan History obviously, but it's ok. The weak points isThe first 300 from Zack Snyder is revolutionary in all aspect, Zack Snyder allways make movies with great special effects, but 300 has a history and follows it weel, isn't the real Spartan History obviously, but it's ok. The weak points is that sometimes 300 is basically action above action, witch moves away the movie from the history. A good 80 movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
leonardarkFeb 15, 2014
300 es un espectáculo visual, super entretenida y un pelotazo de adrenalina. Muy buena película, la historia es ÉPICA, la historia detrás de la reina todo es genial, Zack Snyder un genio como siempre.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews