User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1229 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 2, 2014
    3
    Despite storytelling promise, the choice of visualization over matter lead to the fall of this take on Sparta. Even the would-be-epic battle sequences are weakened by the direction.
  2. Aug 28, 2014
    8
    A beautiful movie to look at. David Wenham's narrative on the back is apt and appropriate; ruthless and simple like the rest of the movie.

    There isn't too much in 300 when it comes into a plot with twists and turns. The movie isn't too short or too long - though the scenes with the queen do not perhaps fall in between the fighting scenes as well as they could. They merge well enough,
    though, not making either part of the story to stand out too much.

    The fighting scenes are pretty human, considering what they could be.
    Expand
  3. Aug 7, 2014
    10
    I cannot find any fault with this movie..everything is perfect..The music score..The CGI...The actors..The story line...all excellent..Its going to go down as a classic and unfortunately for Gerald Butler..the high point of his acting career.
    A bone of contention with critics seems to historical accuracy . Why? It follows a graphic novel..The essence of the event is there...not staid
    adherence to the historical battle..A 9 foot Xerxes is much more exciting than a normal sized one anyway... Expand
  4. Jul 30, 2014
    4
    "300" is not a classic, that's for sure. Adaptation to an extremely historically inaccurate comic series as it is, you can't expect it to be a documentary about the Persian Wars. There is some commendable passion in otherwise weak performances by its prominent cast, but the film lacks completely in meaning and purpose. It is visually stunning, though, and the most interesting fact is that it actually looks like the comic, making it a superb comic-book adaptation. A poor picture but charming to look at. Expand
  5. chw
    Jul 17, 2014
    6
    I didn't really like 300. I thought it was boring most of the time, because I don't really care for a story that's just blood and guts unless it has a reasonable story behind it.
  6. Jul 8, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best Greek Mythology movie ever, you are an **** if you can't see this. It's so EPIC. all the Battle scenes was really awesome. the movie was really good and if you love good movies, watch it Expand
  7. Jun 15, 2014
    7
    Now it is safe to say that I am not a huge fan of heavy CGI based films and the 300 fits into this category perfectly. With this in mind I was not sure I would get on too well with this film.

    However, the stylised CGI in 300 moulds very well with the character design. Rather than the film feeling like they have simply pasted live actors into a CGI background, they blend perfectly. The
    resulting effect adds greatly to the film making it enjoyable to watch.

    The story is also quite compelling, with strong character backgrounds. So this is not simply a shallow "hack fest", although having said that there is plenty of gory scenes to keep the lads happy. Not one for sitting down with the wife and a bottle of wine though!

    All in all 300 is a very well produced film with quality CGI and for the most part good acting. Worth a rent for a lads night.
    Expand
  8. Jun 8, 2014
    8
    Zack Snyder's 300 is a visual masterpiece, with amazing special effects and lighting. However, there are a few problems. The historical accuracy in the film is horrible, but the fight scenes are brilliant. If you are a fan of gory action films, then this is your films. If you love historical events exactly the way they happened, you may wish to avoid this.
  9. Jun 8, 2014
    1
    Incredibly overrated non-movie. NOTHING in the movie is realistic and the whole movie is basically one over-drawn battle with ridiculous special affects and awful storyline. Would recommend avoiding, however it does have a large fan base and so surprisingly you may enjoy it. I thought it was awful.
  10. May 25, 2014
    7
    Zack Snyder's second take at directing has him doing the film 300 based on the 1998 comic book series. The film follows King Leonidas (Gerard Butler) who leads 300 Spartans into battle against the Persian empire lead by their leader the "god-King" Xerxes (Rodrigo Santoro). The film is visually stunning Zack Snyder classic slow-mo/speed up only adds the visual amazement. The action is also quite brutal and there is tons of blood and limbs all over the place so maybe the film isn't for everyone.

    The story though is rather thin and it lacks in areas as other films like Gladiator/Troy thrive in. Though that is why the action and other things on screen were to help with this. the film is just under 2 hours and though that is a decent length for a film i just fell that there should have been an extended cut that was like 15-20 minutes longer that would have help fill some of these story gaps

    Overall I give this a 7.5
    Expand
  11. May 3, 2014
    8
    300 was not a movie that i would watch by myself but some friends recommend it for me and i was not disappointed at all.There is a lot of action,the acting is really badass and graphics are unbelievable,but there is one point i didn't like from Zack Snyder's 300,and this is the CGI flood.
  12. Apr 27, 2014
    3
    I can't stand seeing such a great movie project fails that way. I believe it's stupid to try and make that kind of movies in a matchbox and expect to succeed. Gerard Butler made his best performance in this movie but unfortunately he was unlucky.
  13. Apr 11, 2014
    7
    I thoroughly enjoyed watching 300. The vivid imagery created especially in the battle scenes was excellent. The best part is that it was presented as a story that once it was finished it showed what was to happen, leaving it open for the new sequel. However like all movies based on mythology it over exaggerated the main characters and skewed the story. All in all it was a good film and I would, and shall, watch it again. Expand
  14. Apr 5, 2014
    7
    It's a really great movie for those who are in love with action, and by action I mean fighting, killing, slow-mo intense moments and especially the fighting, and slow-mo. For those who don't like the fighting and the blood and gore don't watch.
  15. Mar 12, 2014
    7
    300 is one epic battle movie for fans of Violence and epic pep talks by our man Leonidas. Based of the Graphic novels by Frank Miller 300 is just as great or almost just as great as the book itself.
  16. Mar 2, 2014
    6
    300 is an interesting movie, but it contain weird, boring and slow scenes which made it boring, not to mention the irritating yellowish environment. The story in 300 is okay, and I really enjoyed the fighting, because it was so cool. The music in this movie is great, the actors are awesome and I really liked the ending, compared to the awful opening scene. The beginning was also to slow, and it continued to have a low tempo through the first part of the movie.
    Generally is 300 an okay movie, but there was nothing unique or spectacular in this movie, and it felt boring at several occasions.

    300 gets a 6/10
    Expand
  17. PHJ
    Feb 25, 2014
    8
    The first 300 from Zack Snyder is revolutionary in all aspect, Zack Snyder allways make movies with great special effects, but 300 has a history and follows it weel, isn't the real Spartan History obviously, but it's ok. The weak points is that sometimes 300 is basically action above action, witch moves away the movie from the history. A good 80 movie.
  18. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    300 es un espectáculo visual, super entretenida y un pelotazo de adrenalina. Muy buena película, la historia es ÉPICA, la historia detrás de la reina todo es genial, Zack Snyder un genio como siempre.
  19. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    Epic movie. Totally epic and insane, with beautiful messages like don't be a coward and fight for your desires, this film has some problems with preconception, because they show the persians like barbarians, but ok, this movie is more than just it.
  20. Jan 3, 2014
    5
    O filme não todo ruim porém o Chroma Key absurdamente mal usado, a história incoerente os personagens são fracos, o efeitos visuais não grande coisa e a direção de arte ruim demais.
  21. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    Tremenda película por dios, Zack Snyder se lucio a partir acá. Que se puede decir, es espectacular emocionante, es casi la misma sensación que cuando vi Man Of Steel, sabiendo tambien que ambas causaron algo de polémica, 300 en aquellos años y ahora con MOS, y bueno sin palabras, terriblemente buena 300.
  22. Dec 12, 2013
    9
    A lot of exaggerated CGI gore and arguably unnecessary nudity. Charlatans everywhere bias their opinions of this film on its inaccuracy but if the film is surprisingly faithful to Herodotus' account of the campaign. If you ask me it's a film well worth watching, as a teenager it was my favourite of all films
  23. Dec 9, 2013
    8
    I think it's hilarious when people compare this film to the actual historical event. If you are doing so, you clearly didn't watch the movie, probably due to you overbearing, murky and obnoxious hubris clouding your field of vision and attention span. The story isn't supposed to be accurate, it's a STORY being told by the one eyed soldier that was sent off for his storytelling skills. That's why he's narrating it, and that's why everything in the movie is exaggerated and over-the-top, because it was meant to inspire troops. Pay attention people. Anyway as a whole the movie is powerful, visually engaging, sticks to the source material while being innovative and fun, and even manages to get a tad bit emotional at parts. Worth a watch for comic book fans and film buffs both. Expand
  24. Nov 29, 2013
    8
    This is a quite cheesy thriller. The battle sequences are pretty good for the most part. If you want to watch this for the action and gore, then this movie is for you.
  25. Nov 13, 2013
    6
    300 marches to a subsequent victory.
    300 uses its artistic style of story telling with its ancient concept, and creates a truly unique product unseen until now.
  26. Sep 19, 2013
    1
    One of the most racist movies to come out of Hollywood. This movie can take its place among the infamous The Birth Of A Nation, and The Eternal Jew. Snyder admits to being a bigot towards Muslims and biased towards Middle East culture and history.
  27. Sep 15, 2013
    10
    RRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA sorry it did not add that
  28. Sep 4, 2013
    0
    A complete disgrace to the actual battle. Nothing about it is historically accurate. Watching this film will kill off your brain cells faster than trying to break through a cement wall with your skull.
  29. Aug 31, 2013
    1
    It's too bad. It has nothing to do with the ancient Greek history. It's a very dangerous movie. Don't try to see it. You will waste your money. (I'm talking to those ones who understand what that movie is. It's not good.)
  30. Aug 17, 2013
    8
    This is a Zack Snyder hit. Before "Man of Steel" or "Watchmen", he made an instant classic. It's a bloody good time and visually dazzling. It is not only well written but extremely quotable. You never seen anything like this. Overall, THIS IS SPARTA!
  31. Aug 13, 2013
    7
    Too much action (even if it is awesome and totally bad ass) not enough talking. Zack Snyder did the same thing in Man of Steel, so much action that it's boring.
  32. Aug 7, 2013
    4
    it's over imagination movie for 300 killers killing the most powerful state that time persia so i love "meet the spartans" it shows the truth behind "300" and it's very imaginary
  33. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    Gerard Butler really made this film what it is. 300 was just an absolutely fantastic experience to watch, accompanied by how close to the edge of your seat this film can really get you!

    The story was great, and the action scenes were just utterly fantastic and very well planned out. The script was a little basic, however the narrative feel to the movie and the overall hook of it being a
    story getting told to the mighty army of Sparta made this film really hit me!

    If you like action with swords and shields and big muscle men over guns, this is definitely something you should watch!
    ...And then buy on Blu-Ray afterwards.
    Expand
  34. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is outstanding! Every couple of minutes there is a scene so epic that your jaw will drop so hard it wall fall off. The intro was great. It showed the audience how the Spartans trained and how they became the amazing warriors Greece was known for. The famous "This is SPARTA" quote at the beginning where the messenger is thrown into the pit was more than epic. The first half of the movie is all very well done because you know exactly what is going on, however the sex scene may not be what you came for. In the second half, the battles were amazing and the movie was constantly shifting from slow motion to normal. The movie can teach the audience a lot about how armies set up camps and wait, and that wars aren't over all at once. I did not like the giant Persian man. I thought it was very unrealistic and it took away from the movie for me in some ways. I did not know if the Persians with the metal faces were really humans either. I was disappointed that the Persian "Immortal" did not die at the end. The traitor really made the war end fast. Great movie all in all! Expand
  35. May 16, 2013
    10
    Writer-director Zack Snyder set out to faithfully adapt Frank Miller’s graphic novel 300 and his slavish devotion to the source material pays off with a visually stunning, innovative epic unlike anything we’ve seen. Aesthetically speaking, 300 is a remarkable piece of art. Snyder’s striking use of color helps to emphasize and enhance the mood of each scene, and the CGI work is fluid and flawless. With surprisingly fleshed out characters and a plot that’s both simple and deep, 300 blends bloody violence, sensuality, brutality, and moments of true beauty into an intoxicatingly unconventional film experience. 300 is a fantasy tale based on the Battle of Thermophylae in which 300 Spartans led by the fierce King Leonidas (a snarling Gerard Butler) made a heroic stand against the overwhelming Persian army commanded by Xerxes (Rodrigo Santoro, unrecognizable as the larger-than-life, pierced and golden androgynous creature). Leonidas’ refusal to bow down to Xerxes sets the events in motion, with the Spartan 300 ready to willingly giving up their lives in order to keep Sparta free from the clutches of Xerxes and his invading horde. Strategic placement allows Leonidas and his men the opportunity to efficiently dispense with thousands of hapless Persians without suffering many losses of their own. Even an elephant and a rhino are no match for the well-oiled machine that is the Spartan army. In a particularly stunning move, the Spartans use dead Persians to shore up a wall, effectively creating a barrier to hide behind and psyching out the enemy at the same time. All the while the men know there’s not a chance in hell they’ll come out of the battle alive. But as Leonidas explains when they meet up with soldiers who want to join the cause, his men are soldiers through and through and know no other life than one of defending their Sparta. There’s plenty of blood and body parts being chopped off and some of the best choreographed fight scenes on film, but it’s all stylized. Snyder’s use of stop-motion to capture specific moments during battle helps the film achieve a painting come to life tone. Yet for all the dismemberments and killings, there are a few passionate moments between Leonidas and Gorgo tossed in to balance it out (not to mention a smoking hot sex scene). In other words, there’s a little something for action film freaks as well as those more into drama and romance. And let’s be totally honest here. Just the sight of Butler and the talented cast of actors who make up the Spartan army (including David Wenham, Tom Wisdom, Vincent Regan, and Michael Fassbender) running around in ‘codpieces’ that barely conceal the family jewels and little else is reason enough for most women to want to check out the film. While the film fills the majority of its running time with nearly naked men with 6-pack abs and testosterone to spare discussing battles or actually engaged in them, Snyder wisely chose to devote a fair amount of time explaining the Spartan culture and focusing on Spartan’s Queen Gorgo (Lena Headey). The relationship between the King and Queen is expanded upon from the graphic novel, with Queen Gorgo portrayed as a strong leader on the same level as her husband. As brought to life by Butler, Leonidas is a passionate man loved by his soldiers and devoted to his Queen and Sparta. Butler makes Leonidas into a fully fleshed out character and not just a fighting machine. Headey’s equally terrific as the tough Queen Gorgo. In fact Snyder’s entire cast does an admirable job of bringing ancient history alive onscreen.
    Taking his cue directly from the pages of Miller’s graphic novel, Snyder has created a movie that works on many different levels. Mesmerizing and breathtaking, 300 is something you have to experience for yourself.
    Expand
  36. Apr 12, 2013
    5
    i don't know what's worst the script the makeup the effects the directing the movie picture or all of them i'm not really a big fan of these types of historical movies however i was ready to give it a shot and i'm glad i did so it would be the last time i see one of these movies also Gerard Butler somehow keeps getting from a horrible movie to another i guess some people are not right for Hollywood. Expand
  37. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    This Is
    SPARTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  38. Mar 9, 2013
    5
    Being a huge Snyder fan myself and knowing that this is his most famous film until Man of Steel comes out I have to say I was disappointed. The battle scenes weren't very epic and I imagine the Persian army could have and would have just run the f*ck over the Greeks if they were the small in numbers. and plus I hate Gerard Butler.
  39. Jan 21, 2013
    9
    Quality Action film that might be high on the corny-factor but there is certainly enough Action here to keep you thoroughly entertained! Gerard Butler leads the cast as Leonidas, King of Sparta and leader of the 300 Spartans that takes on the Persians. It's quite violent and gory but a very creative and visually stunning film with amazing special effects. Overall I really enjoyed watching this film, as violent as it may have been, and anyone in need of a good Action flick won't be disappointed! Expand
  40. Jan 2, 2013
    7
    Historicly inaccurate, yes it is, however 300 is a very entertaining movie that will keep you interested from start to finish. It's an original and enjoyable action movie.
  41. Dec 10, 2012
    8
    No body should be shocked to see the depiction of the white man's supremacy on the movies, it happens in almost every movie even foreign movies. This was the first movie of its kind and it was nicely polished, great memorable scenes and characters after all for those who don't know, this was based in actual history, but it is a movie it has to contain movie features such as exalted heroes, super human strength and stuff like that. This is a movie that one way or the other you finish enjoin. Expand
  42. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    A mostly enjoyable action flick that features a little too much style for my taste.
  43. Nov 9, 2012
    4
    Snyder tries to tell the classic epic battle story with a new vision, but forgets about his characters, and they're as good as cardboard. How the actors all kept straight faces with some of the lines they were asked to deliver, is a mystery of the highest peculiarity.
  44. Sep 2, 2012
    7
    300 brings with it a new style of film making and i am a fan. The story and acting isn't anything new but the battle scenes at the end are some of the best since Lord of the Rings.
  45. Aug 29, 2012
    6
    I really do not see why a lot of people like this movie so much. While it has some cool battle sequences and good special effects, the film feels slow and not as exciting as it could have been. One big issue I had with the film was the constant use of slow motion. It feels way too overused here and it takes away what could have made the action scenes more thrilling. The CGI blood looks pretty fake, but for the most part, it's a visually appealing film. The film also feels empty, narrative wise. Then again, the film gets its praise from so much people because of the battle sequences, not from story or characters. I must admit that Leonidas is a pretty cool character, well acted by Gerald Butler. The film is just ok to me. Expand
  46. Jul 27, 2012
    10
    300 shows in a very artistic and emotional way what Leonidas and his army of 300 men gave their lives for. If it weren't for them the Persians would have probably conquered ancient Greece and the history of the whole world would be a much different affair. If you are a free man who believes in the principles of ancient Greece, such as freedom of speech and act, you ought to yourself and your children to see this movie. An ever lasting story of how humanity progresses and one of the best films I've ever seen. You can feel all of the emotions these people would have been through and the feeling of catharsis that comes at the end is just magnificent. See it. Expand
  47. May 20, 2012
    8
    This movie teaches patriotism. This is its value, but on the other hand there are a lot of bloody savoring, it is in the negative. Also, minus the fact that, in the film a lot of computer graphics and an element of fantasy that comes at the expense of historical fact the Battle of Thermopylae.
  48. May 20, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This horseradish movie! The worst did not see anything! Do not see the **** Look better than the film's AvatarÑ Expand
  49. j30
    Apr 29, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 300 is great to look at, but incredibly stupid. Let's not kid ourselves. If you want to watch this testosterone filled, sleazy movie for a whopping 177 minutes (half of it is in Zack Snyder's trademark slow motion bull **** be my guest. I saw it once in IMAX and that was more than enough. I felt uncomfortable for all the women in the audience. Expand
  50. Apr 7, 2012
    2
    I'll forgive this film for being so historically inaccurate (after all, this is Hollywood we're talking about.) I won't forgive it, however, for being an utterly boring film that relies on graphics and violence, rather than an engaging plot, to deliver it's punches. Yawn.
  51. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    This movie is soo bad that is not funny! Since when Persians are black? Did you know where the Caucasus is? and gay? Don't they remember that the Spartan army is well known because their homosexual practices? I don't see anything negative in homosexuality, but I think is bad when it is used to demonized a group, because then it is given a negative connotation. Apart from the photography (it was beautiful, because of that I give it 1) the movie was a total failure. The performances were ridiculously bad. Even my 11 years old boy-who is extremely intelligent- noticed that...10 minutes after we turned it off. . What can I say? An embarrasment for the producers! I can't understand how it score. Quite honestly, even if the movie was not meant to be historically accurate (and a few movies are)...it didn't mean to portray almost the opposite either! Sorry, but I will take the risk and will be 'disrespectful" this movie is crap, and it showed a lack of considerations towards people with Persian roots. Expand
  52. Mar 27, 2012
    9
    well made movie with amazing unique graphic style, well made story based on true story, nice actors and everything else was just amazing, the only minus i would give is the ending, It was literary CUT OFF. So thats why i gave it 9.
  53. Mar 11, 2012
    4
    There is a lack of magnificence, too many battle sequences are overly-bloody, and the depiction of the battle of Thermopylae was a mess. Gladiator is WAY better than 300.
  54. Dec 23, 2011
    0
    A real racist film that demeans a whole culture. This is really a culture war between East and West, Iran and the U.S., given the bad relationship that both countries have with each other. It shows a completely false and negative picture of the Persians, both in terms of their clothes, habits, culture and so on. A false image of a high culture that has given much inspiration to today's western world, from language to philosophy and science. All the cultures of the World Have Both bad and good sides and You Will Never See Anything That is good with Persians in this movie but the actual barbarous Spartans are the angels. Expand
  55. Dec 11, 2011
    5
    Without the visuals, 300 would be nothing. The so called values it defends are just made up cliches to go to war. Moreover, some of the values shown here are very negative and is a huge downgrade to the movie, such as racism. I was emotionless during most of the scenes, I just admired the great visuals. All in all, I still think it's worth watching even if it's not a good movie, just for the visuals. Expand
  56. Nov 26, 2011
    8
    I thought it was a good action film. It looked amazing and the acting was solid. Lots of bloody combat that will entertain through out. Totally worth watching.
  57. Nov 11, 2011
    8
    Massive bodys and sprayed on tan is just what you will find in 300. And maybe some sex. ;) Ok, so first off im not the type of person who gets offended easily. So I don't care if this movie offended any great nations I just want to watch a good movie. And this is what 300 is. Three-hundred is based of a comic book about 300 Spartans fighting the mighty nation of Persia. This is historical except for some parts of the story. By the way the story is good, just because of the pacing and interesting characters. What put me on the edge of my seat was the action set peices, their amazing, the great visuals also make this movie nice to look at. The special features have alot of interesting stuff watch. One problem I had with the movie was the parts in Sparta during the fighting. They had me extremely bored and I just wanted to get back to the action.
    I would buy this movie.
    Expand
  58. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    I thought this movie was tremendous! The CGI and effects are stunning, as well as the computer generated land they fight in. Most of the movie was filmed inside in a set against blue and green screens, but they did well pulling it off. Lot's of blood and gore make this a perfect film for the battle lover. The coloring of the movie is interesting and unique, and the story-line is basic but good. It is based on true events, however exaggerated a bit. There's some elements of fantasy thrown into the mix as well, but not too much that it leads you off the path of the story. It's relatively easy to follow and I think it's a great movie filled with guts and brutal violence. Expand
  59. Oct 9, 2011
    9
    Excellent movie, I am happy to see that there are already more than three hundred positive votes. The film manages to show the ancestral life of an emblematic form, and ultimately contain enough mystery about certain topics, such as the shadow of arrows, and many others.
  60. Oct 4, 2011
    6
    This movie was great but I found Alexander do be much better. The war scene was the best part of this movie. It was given to much attention when it came out that made Butler famous, but this is probably the worst role he had taken aside Dracula 2000, and Phantom of the Opera where he actually used talent.
  61. Sep 29, 2011
    7
    "300" is just a massive cliche movie that has so many gaps as well as racism (Persian Asians are show to be fragile while white Spartans are depicted to be strong and muscular). Then why I enjoyed it? No particular reason, but I'm just impressed that Zack Snyder skillfully maneuvered the **** up movie till the end.
  62. Sep 6, 2011
    6
    Too much special effects and not enough meaning or significance. Too much mindless action but not enough original story. Too much style and not enough substance. I give this movie a pass as it might be worth your time on dvd but to those who claim this movie was 'good' need to get their heads checked.
  63. Aug 26, 2011
    4
    Unless you're thirteen, a bloodthirsty warrior, Quentin Tarantino, or have some sort of delusional idea that Persians are 9-foot-tall transvestites, 300 is boring movie.
  64. Aug 1, 2011
    9
    Frank Miller is a stellar talent in the comic book world and this brought Zack Snyder to the forefront of inspired directorial visionaries that would prove his love for the source material for his following films (which is why I have full confidence in him tackling the man of steel). Itâ
  65. May 21, 2011
    0
    Pretty to look at but too ridiculous to take seriously but not funny in any way shape or form. Its just so bland in every way besides the visuals and lacking any substance what so ever. I can see why people like it if they like style over substance but its surprisingly not badass (the entire reason my friends recommended it to me) and just terrible for people like me who don't put much stock in visuals. Expand
  66. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    Although the historical accuracy i terrible, this is not exactly what you watch a film for in the first place. If you wanted accuracy you would watch a documentary, the film is however amazing, the fight scenes are epic, the music awesome and the cgi superb.
  67. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Everything about this movie is just fantastic. The acting is superb, the cgi world is beautiful, the action is second to none. Their is nothing that this movie has done wrong and nothing could have made it any better.
  68. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    Outstanding. The acting, directing, CGI, originality (somewhat historical) , action, directing and narration are all exceptional. It was less violent on TV as it was PG-13 and that was bad enough. For me more violence would have been......over kill. The end is great!!
  69. Feb 19, 2011
    2
    Some of the scenes are impressive which saves this film from a score of "0". Other than that the acting is hilariously bad, the plot is terrible, the characters are all one-dimensional, and the message the film attempts to convey is laughable.
  70. Jan 30, 2011
    7
    300 is heavy on breathtaking effects, but much less on creating a solid narrative with good dialogue. That being said, it is one of the most epic movies you will ever see with excellent cinematography and a great score. Worth a rental.
  71. Jan 14, 2011
    5
    The film itself had a very good cinematography amazing contrasts and colours that blew me away my concern is its story telling it wasnt up to scratch
  72. Jan 10, 2011
    8
    The storyline is simple, but the visual and action is a revolutionary breakthrough. Itâ
  73. Nov 27, 2010
    8
    A great film. Not the best movie on Earth, but still better than most of the crap produced these days. This movie teaches honor, courage, and sacrifice, which is unfortunately rare today. I was actually suprised this got such a low score, since everyone I know liked it. Screw the critics who bashed this film. Everyone should watch 300.
  74. Oct 12, 2010
    5
    I was really excited to see this movie. However, it turned out the battles weren't as epic as the trailer made them look. Not to mention historical inaccuracies and racism. Thumbs down!
  75. Sep 17, 2010
    7
    Based on Frank Miller's graphic novel, beardy Spartan King & his 300 bodyguards take on the Persians to stop their conquest of Greece.
    The battle scenes are excellent with great choreography & decent special effects.
    People have complained about the "look" of the film but I thought it added to the whole experience & atmosphere.
    Where is does fall down is the acting &, with the exception of
    Gerard Butler & Lena Headey, it is pretty shocking. Expand
  76. Aug 28, 2010
    8
    a entertaining film abou a old spartan story redone to look bad ass . not much of a plot outside of 300 spartans go to fight the persians . it has some amazing action and visauls . its a fun roller coaster ride that doesnt disappoint.
  77. Aug 19, 2010
    5
    300 is a movie I saw, I appreciated the look of the movie, and a few scenes were pretty memorable, but after I finished it I really had no urge to see it again. Even for just silly escapist entertainment for me there needs to be more depth than there is here. It's just a bunch of macho warriors screaming about war, preparing for war, and making war, and never did I really care about the outcome, never was I the least emotionally involved. Frankly for certain stretches of the movie I was bored. Collapse
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 35
  2. Negative: 6 out of 35
  1. In epic battle scenes where he combines breathtaking and fluid choreography, gorgeous 3-D drawings and hundreds of visual effects, director Zack Snyder puts onscreen the seemingly impossible heroism and gore of which Homer sang in "The Iliad."
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    60
    A blustery, bombastic, visually arresting account of the Battle of Thermopylae as channeled through the rabid imagination of graphic novelist Frank Miller.
  3. 75
    300 may not offer masterful storytelling in a conventional sense, but it's hard to beat as a spectacle and that makes it worthwhile viewing for all but the most squeamish of potential audience members.