Lionsgate | Release Date: September 7, 2007
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 414 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
305
Mixed:
64
Negative:
45
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
HyperboleJan 15, 2012
Human fleshed out characters with motives and a history to them, even if imagined off screen (that's how well they are written and played). Excellent performances, quiet moments of reflection, cruelty and understanding, great actionHuman fleshed out characters with motives and a history to them, even if imagined off screen (that's how well they are written and played). Excellent performances, quiet moments of reflection, cruelty and understanding, great action sequences and a sly but honest script. You can forgive the somewhat unrealistic ending to quite a large degree if you apply the fore mentioned motivation and understanding.

Ben Foster deserved best supporting actor for this film.
Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
6
tonyGreenJun 4, 2011
In most regards this is a very traditional western. Well cast, well acted. There is a little too much moral ambiguity with a central character, to a degree which for me was not credible. Overall a little lacking in substance
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
wololoooMar 26, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. James Mangold's remake of the stellar 3:10 to Yuma is a mixed bag - there's some great acting, and beautiful camerawork, but also a fairly implausible script. Christain Bale and Russel Crowe star as a poor ranch owner Dan Evans and the infamous highwayman Ben Wade. Ben Foster and Peter Fonda strengthen the otherwise lacklustre supporting cast, both giving powerful performances. A lot of users have rather harshly critiqued the lack of realism in the script and if it weren't for Bale and Crowe's strong acting the implausibility and holes in the script might have shone through even moreso. For example, the bizarre ending - Crowe suddenly decides to allow himself to be captured, but rather than simply call off his gang he further endangers himself and Bale by being chased by the bloodthirsty gang to the train station. If he was trying to make Bale's character look like a hero, this would make some sense, but then all logic is thrown out the window as he shoots every remaining member of his gang. This really held back the film for me, and I otherwise would have scored it an 8.
It's a little hard to score 3:10 to Yuma, because there's a lot of conflicting elements holding back the film from legend status, but despite these frustrations it's still a very entertaining watch.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
hamadcriticsDec 27, 2011
I cant say much but wow. I wasn't so sure about this movie at the beginning, but as it progressed, it drew me in more and more. The star part of this movie is it's ending. In simple words, suspenseful, amazing, beautiful. Dialog may be aI cant say much but wow. I wasn't so sure about this movie at the beginning, but as it progressed, it drew me in more and more. The star part of this movie is it's ending. In simple words, suspenseful, amazing, beautiful. Dialog may be a little difficult to understand at important parts, but once you go back and put the pieces together, you will quickly realize this movie is a master piece. I got it on Blu ray for 5 dollars. Best 5 dollars iv ever spent. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
Jefflyn90Feb 26, 2012
Its something that we've seen before, its almost impossible to have an actor whose so high powered (Crowe) play the bad guy, he can do "bad" things but he must always have a reason. Ben Wade (Crowe) is like that he can kill anybody but he'sIts something that we've seen before, its almost impossible to have an actor whose so high powered (Crowe) play the bad guy, he can do "bad" things but he must always have a reason. Ben Wade (Crowe) is like that he can kill anybody but he's kind of excused because he likes to sketch and has that I'm not all bad look. Its pretty much Collateral but with horses and dirt. Its a remake of an imperfect movie having the imperfections of the original, but with better actors and more emphasis on the journey. There are some shining moments from the supporting cast, but the movie is all about Bale and Crowe. The relationship present is more due to the actors rather than the characters. Bale manages to make Evans very likable as he comes to terms that the journey is for something more than money. Despite all this Crowe overshadows everybody, presenting a character that's interesting and humane. Although the actors have their shining moment, the action is not all that great especially the final shoot-out. Its a shame to see a solid movie being spoiled so late. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
RalphS.Jan 26, 2008
Your viewer Ed D. has it almost exactly right: it amazes that none of the mainstream reviewers remarked on the extraordinary implausibility of the plot, which weakens the story to virtually laughable. It also surprises me that all reviewers Your viewer Ed D. has it almost exactly right: it amazes that none of the mainstream reviewers remarked on the extraordinary implausibility of the plot, which weakens the story to virtually laughable. It also surprises me that all reviewers thought Russell Crowe's performance excellent. He came across as Russell Crowe having a great ol' time, not as a 19th century villain. All the other actors were excellent, the scenery beautiful and the psychological play between the two protagonists interesting. The ending sequence between Crowe and his gang makes no sense whatsoever and is utterly implausible. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
JohnM.Sep 14, 2007
Too violent, too long, implausible ending.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
DavePFeb 20, 2009
The characters kept making decisions and doing things that just are not plausible! How do movies like this get made? In pre-production does nobody ever say "hey lets change the script to make it more plausible or not insulting to someone The characters kept making decisions and doing things that just are not plausible! How do movies like this get made? In pre-production does nobody ever say "hey lets change the script to make it more plausible or not insulting to someone with a brain". How does Russell Crowe or SOMEBODY not have a little chat to the director and change a few things so i don't have to roll my eyes and think 'are you kidding me! you expect me to swallow that! Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
3
RobSFeb 19, 2008
3.10 to Yuma perpetuates the naive myth cold blooded psychopathic criminals are charismatic, surrounded by beautiful women and capable of becoming good. Having worked in in the criminal law field, I can tell you this is far from reality. 3.10 to Yuma perpetuates the naive myth cold blooded psychopathic criminals are charismatic, surrounded by beautiful women and capable of becoming good. Having worked in in the criminal law field, I can tell you this is far from reality. Criminals or anyone who's been in trouble with the law for serious crimes are not capable of empathy (their brain wiring is different) or change. Furthermore they surround themselves with skanky money hungry women who are insecure (because of their self-perceived ugliness). They have no charm as the only thing in life they chase is sex and money. They are not interested in history, art, travel, or gain any enjoyment in the the world or the human experience. 3.10 to Yuma could have been a great film (beautifully filmed, multilayered conflict, great actions sequences and performances) but sadly it was cliched-bad person gets a conscience. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DavidD.Feb 24, 2008
Fairly well made movie _until_ the last scene, as it totally went against the orginal 3:10 to Yuma movie (rent it) and the character played by C Bale lives (with his wife looking on, no less)! The ending of this remake is absolutely foolish, Fairly well made movie _until_ the last scene, as it totally went against the orginal 3:10 to Yuma movie (rent it) and the character played by C Bale lives (with his wife looking on, no less)! The ending of this remake is absolutely foolish, and the writer and director should be given a 1 year suspension for silly and useless graphic violence for the sake of blood letting. Why not let the Hero (Bale) live and let the repentant murderer (Crowe) be judged willingly? It is just plain silliness for box office receipts. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ChristopherS.Feb 20, 2008
Pretty awful stuff this. Followed it up with the equally dreadful Michael Clayton. Has American cinema reached its nadir? If not it soon will.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JohnJan 23, 2008
This is one of those films that makes a farce of the entire movie review system. It got very good reviews from almost all sources, and it is so horribly bad that I really had to ask if the I had seen the right movie. The acting, the This is one of those films that makes a farce of the entire movie review system. It got very good reviews from almost all sources, and it is so horribly bad that I really had to ask if the I had seen the right movie. The acting, the directing, and everything else about this piece of garbage is almost remarkable. Have a clue. those of you who review films. This thing is a very bad joke. If there could be a rating lower that 0 I'd use it here. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
SteveTFeb 2, 2008
A solid, but maybe a bit slow-moving western, up until the last 15 minutes. The ending is a real head-scratcher and knocked at least 2 points off my rating.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
XerxesNov 23, 2010
One of my favourite movies ever, absolutely lovced it everytime i saw it, the amount of idiots on here that gave this a low score is laughable. It is one of the best westerns i have ever seen and the music to it was wonderful.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
JeanD.Oct 1, 2007
I'm not crazy about westerns, nor of violent films. I was convinced to see this movie and I'm so glad I did. The use of psychology and philosophy to show the characters was brilliant. Showing that anybody, regardless of moral I'm not crazy about westerns, nor of violent films. I was convinced to see this movie and I'm so glad I did. The use of psychology and philosophy to show the characters was brilliant. Showing that anybody, regardless of moral character, can fall over to the opposite side. Even the good guys struggled with staying "good." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanC.Sep 16, 2007
A very entertaining. The story gets a little fuzzy near the end regarding Wade's choices, but otherwise a great story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelS.Sep 10, 2007
Good Western's have provided meaningful messages about life and relationships and this one provided several good ones. Crowe's and Bale's performances standout in this film and together they enabled the director to deliver Good Western's have provided meaningful messages about life and relationships and this one provided several good ones. Crowe's and Bale's performances standout in this film and together they enabled the director to deliver valuable lessons about home, family, and the brutalities of life. Despite some of the character actors and script flaws in the film, a good western was delivered for the money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricS.Sep 20, 2007
Simply good...don't go further! Classic western, efficient and true! A must see for all western lovers!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JimSSep 6, 2007
Very good, entertaining film. I was never a huge fan of westerns, but was surprised at how much I enjoyed this movie. Well paced and acted, I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good action drama.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BillyP.Sep 7, 2007
The treacherous ending immediately erases all the very substantial accomplishments in the film. Shame. Go rent the original first at least.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RowanJ.Sep 9, 2007
The acting was solid but the script was DREADFUL... more holes in it than the shot up bodies in the film and that ending??? Save your money and rent "Unforgiven"-- which deserves the reviews this bad movie seems to be racking up. Sorry, just The acting was solid but the script was DREADFUL... more holes in it than the shot up bodies in the film and that ending??? Save your money and rent "Unforgiven"-- which deserves the reviews this bad movie seems to be racking up. Sorry, just not good -- again, despite many terrific performances. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrianF.Mar 31, 2008
Absolutely ridiculous all the way through. From the needlessly bloody and ill-handled stagecoach robbery, to the mind-numbingly insipid ending, the entire film was an exercise in credulity assault. The bad guy escapes as often as he wants Absolutely ridiculous all the way through. From the needlessly bloody and ill-handled stagecoach robbery, to the mind-numbingly insipid ending, the entire film was an exercise in credulity assault. The bad guy escapes as often as he wants and kills as he goes because his captives mindlessly do not secure him, outside of some handcuffs. Sharpshooters are killing moving stagecoach drivers from improbable distances with deadly accuracy but in the final sequences can't seem to hit the broad side of a barn while standing right in front of it. I could not get past the miserable storyline to enjoy any 'psycho drama' said to be unfolding along the way. Even watching the film for free, I felt violated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RexOct 1, 2007
This was a modern version of an old style western. I loved that it wasn't super realistic and gritty. I loved Russell Crowe and the ease in which his character
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KarenW.Oct 22, 2007
A lot of violence, but awesome performances. Grabs hold of your emotions. The Western is back!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
H.K.C.Oct 8, 2007
Yes this is the one if you like the old West with a twist. Twist it does just about throughout the whole movie. So put on your spurs and saddle-up with a bag of Non-Buttered Popcorn and a 16 Caliber Diet Coke and Enjoy the Show. Regards, HK.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
jwhSep 11, 2007
This movie is a farce. If you are looking for a movie so unrealistic that it is comedic - go see this. Example: a group of lawmen are in an upstairs room looking down on 7 bad guys (all of whom are known murderers) who are ALL LINED UP in This movie is a farce. If you are looking for a movie so unrealistic that it is comedic - go see this. Example: a group of lawmen are in an upstairs room looking down on 7 bad guys (all of whom are known murderers) who are ALL LINED UP in front of them, but they don't open fire. Instead, they hold up their hands and walk out in their own straight line so they can be shot down and butchered. It is a movie with NOTHING to offer and the reviews here mystify me. Go rent Unforgiven to see a class act western. This is dreck. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DeborahL.Sep 13, 2007
Revival of a great genre with 21st century technique, led by fine performances
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BMSep 14, 2007
Worst movie ever. melodramatic, non-westerner, nothing to look forward to. Bale and Crowe can't even hide their accents.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FredW.Sep 17, 2007
As the movie is based on the work of one of my favorite writers (Elmore Leonard), and starring some of my favorite actors (Christian Bale and Russell Crowe), I felt compelled to watch it. I'm happy to report it is simply the best movie As the movie is based on the work of one of my favorite writers (Elmore Leonard), and starring some of my favorite actors (Christian Bale and Russell Crowe), I felt compelled to watch it. I'm happy to report it is simply the best movie I've seen all year. The pace is tight, there are no extraneous material to distract. The acting is superb, as is the story. There isn't so much as one thing I can negatively review about this movie. Watch it and enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DWillySep 18, 2007
Oh, Lordy, this is a mess. Mildly effective at times, but jaw-droppingly bad much more often. Ridiculously overrated, especially if you like westerns or what you thought was Russel Crowe's work ethic (he smirks his way, Burce Willis Oh, Lordy, this is a mess. Mildly effective at times, but jaw-droppingly bad much more often. Ridiculously overrated, especially if you like westerns or what you thought was Russel Crowe's work ethic (he smirks his way, Burce Willis style, through this). [***SPOILER***] Character's constantly switch loyalties without real motivation, Peter Fonda is shot in the solor plexis, yet responds as if merely bothered by a 24 hour flu, Russel Crowe is treated like a prince when he's captive and offered repeated oportunities to kill, one by one, his meaner captors, while the nice ones react with chagrin; at one point the menacing, one dimensional bad guys cluster like a shooting gallery in the open, but, nope, our lug headed good guys don't take a shot, they're thinkin' on what to do. At one point, I swear, I thought a reel had been skipped. You've been warned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful