Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 346 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In Arizona in the late 1800's, infamous outlaw Ben Wade and his vicious gang of thieves and murderers have plagued the Southern Railroad. When Wade is captured, Civil War veteran Dan Evans, struggling to survive on his drought-plagued ranch, volunteers to deliver him alive to the 3:10 to Yuma, a train that will take the killer to trial. On the trail, Evans and Wade, each from very different worlds, begin to earn each other’s respect. But with Wade’s outfit on their trail – and dangers at every turn – the mission soon becomes a violent, impossible journey toward each man's destiny. (Lions Gate)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 100
    James Mangold's 3:10 to Yuma restores the wounded heart of the Western and rescues it from the morass of pointless violence.
  2. Reviewed by: KJ Doughton
    90
    Mangold has time to build sensational, studied characterizations, brilliant pacing (courtesy Mike McCuster, who also edited the director’s previous effort, the Johnny Cash biopic “Walk the Line”), and blistering action.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Fox
    88
    The nerve-racking wait at the Contention hotel is no longer the film's centerpiece, but the deeper characterization gives Bale an opportunity to once again sink his teeth into a complex role, and offers a reminder as to why the notoriously difficult Crowe is sometimes worth the trouble.
  4. This film is an example of a Western that ought to appeal to a healthy-sized contemporary audience, and is also a remake of the 1957 film of the same name, which is a hallmark of the type of psychological Western.
  5. 75
    The 30-minute finale, which includes a tense stand-off with Ben's gang, is masterfully executed. It's perfectly paced, suspenseful, and ends in a way that's both appropriate and satisfying.
  6. This is how a Western today tries to give us more bang for the buck. By working this hard to be a crowd-pleaser, though, it may please fewer crowds.
  7. The remake adds 24 minutes and subtracts most of the suspense.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 132
  2. Negative: 30 out of 132
  1. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    Amazing movie. Alot of action in it, really lives up to a wild west movie. Had interesting characters, great actors. Twisting moments that would set you amaze at what just happened throughout it. The end was shocking, and somewhat confusing, (spoilers!) but if you understood the ending, it was rewarding. Seeing the horse follow the train at the end makes you no doubt think of what happened afterwards. If you're into Wild west movies, this is a movie you must NOT miss. A true Hollywood movie! Expand
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    A well-acted, visually fascinating western drama crafted by the hands of James Mangold. "3:10 To Yuma" is an intense film generated by themes surrounding the ideas of agricultural hardships, good and evil, and doing the right thing. Although the ending isn't particularly satisfying, I felt it was fairly appropriate in relation to the subject matter presented in the rest of the film. Overall, "3:10 To Yuma" is good stuff. Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2011
    9
    I cant say much but wow. I wasn't so sure about this movie at the beginning, but as it progressed, it drew me in more and more. The star part of this movie is it's ending. In simple words, suspenseful, amazing, beautiful. Dialog may be a little difficult to understand at important parts, but once you go back and put the pieces together, you will quickly realize this movie is a master piece. I got it on Blu ray for 5 dollars. Best 5 dollars iv ever spent. Expand
  4. Jun 12, 2011
    7
    This movie actually surprised me a lot. I didn't have very high hopes but after seeing the movie it was actually pretty darn good. The only things I didn't like were a couple of the explosions. I am not sure but I think its kind of hard to hit a bag of explosives from a moving stagecoach while they are attached to a running horse. Also may be very difficult to hit a falling stick of dynamite from your moving horse. I also didn't know you that shooting a stick of dynamite would make it blow up. Other then that the acting was great and the plot flowed nicely. Overall a great movie. Expand
  5. Aug 5, 2013
    7
    3:10 to Yuma 7/10.....................................................................................................................................
  6. Nov 13, 2013
    6
    3:10 to Yuma soars.
    The movie begins well and continues to hold the viewers interest. The character motives in certain parts are a bit
    sketchy, but with that being said the premise and acting are acceptable. Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I like westerns, and I like modern westerns. I like the dust and sweat and the "hard" men, following in the footsteps of Eastwood's High Plains Drifter. This film is good to look at and has all the makings of a good movie, but the way the characters behave just become more and more unbelievable until in a climax of illogic for both the characters and the audience we are supposed to suddenly find Ben Wade a likeable chap, and he is expected to kill the remnants of his gang with a sparkle at his eye teeth.

    How many times were the good guys to let Wade kill one of there number without doing anything about it? Every time. How often was Dan Evans going to turn his back on Wade without being killed? Innumerable times. And why oh why, in one of the final scenes when the baddies are all lined up in the street like ducks at a fair, and they kill the unarmed Sheriff and all his men, and Dan is a sharp shooter and has his rifle in an upstairs window, why does he just sit there and let it happen? No idea.

    Lucky to get a three score really. That's for the grime and sweat :)
    Expand

See all 132 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Remakes of the Past Decade

    Ranked: Best and Worst Remakes of the Past Decade Image
    Published: August 16, 2011
    This Friday brings remakes of "Conan the Barbarian" and "Fright Night" to theaters. Just how good (and bad) can a remake possibly be? We take a look at examples of both extremes released since 2000.
  2. Ranked: The Best and Worst Westerns of the Past 25 Years

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Westerns of the Past 25 Years Image
    Published: June 15, 2010
    "Jonah Hex" (opening Friday) is, among other things, a western -- a genre that seems uncommon these days. But the past 25 years have seen a number of great examples of the genre, as well as a failure or two. Find out which westerns made our list(s).