IFC Films | Release Date: January 23, 2008
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 274 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
214
Mixed:
34
Negative:
26
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
shaunmedJan 10, 2011
Not a bad movie but by no means worthy of all it's praise. A woman gets an illegal abortion, end. Yet another instance where a taboo subject matter is confused for a compelling story.
0 of 8 users found this helpful08
All this user's reviews
6
DavidB.Feb 12, 2008
It was good, but I felt unsatisfied when it ended. I think it lacked a clear theme or message so am quite surprised to see it receiving a higher accolade than other superb foreign language films, such as The Lives of Others.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
FelixK.Mar 3, 2008
Well-made, but it's correct that the Academy didn't give it a "foreign language movie" nominee !!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
johnsJan 1, 2010
How did this movie get such high reviews? I love foreign, art house, film noir but I just found this incredibly boring, slow and pretty slim on plot and dialogue. I just could not figure how many of the scenes even added to the overall How did this movie get such high reviews? I love foreign, art house, film noir but I just found this incredibly boring, slow and pretty slim on plot and dialogue. I just could not figure how many of the scenes even added to the overall theme, experience or anything. But glad the people who loved it loved it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
MIJan 18, 2008
In the end, this is an average movie, where not much (i.e. enough) happens. The story is mostly carried forward with constant and inane dialogue. A large portion of the conversations seem improvised. In the end this is a prototype of a movie In the end, this is an average movie, where not much (i.e. enough) happens. The story is mostly carried forward with constant and inane dialogue. A large portion of the conversations seem improvised. In the end this is a prototype of a movie that the critics love, but the average movie goer will remain ambivalent and indefferent over. Nevertheless, slow pacing and historically appropriate milieu do set a realistic and touching mood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SzalazarJan 26, 2008
this movie is a drag, a slow, depressing movie that is surprisingly average for the reviews it has been getting. The only reason its been rated so high is because it deals with abortion and thats a politically hot topic right now. I am a fan this movie is a drag, a slow, depressing movie that is surprisingly average for the reviews it has been getting. The only reason its been rated so high is because it deals with abortion and thats a politically hot topic right now. I am a fan of these kind of subtitled foreign art movies, but 4 Months is not that amazing of a movie. Well made, but thats about it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
ShaunBJan 31, 2008
Clearly overrated. In essence, this is a very well executed after school special. Proof that critics are often lemming like, and the French often confuse bleakness for art.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
glenfFeb 21, 2008
Juno was a much funnier pregnant-girl movie. I like movies. In France it's called cinema, why is that different.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AdrianP.Apr 15, 2008
Clearly, the reason that this film has such a high score from the critics is that it is a film made to entrance, to shock,and addressed directly to the liberal self reproach of the west world, and from the users because it receives massive Clearly, the reason that this film has such a high score from the critics is that it is a film made to entrance, to shock,and addressed directly to the liberal self reproach of the west world, and from the users because it receives massive votes from the Romanians, who are in a state that says every success outside the borders will uplift the image of our country. The film was very good technically, but if you analyze it a little bit it has NOTHING in stake, no ethical weight, no character deep study(mr. Bebe only seems real because he talks real but his actions are completely cartoonish and unmotivated) , and the girls are so common, so devoid of any ethical sense that i struggle to care for any of them. Plus, it?s more likely a short or a medium length movie, made a feature film by some pointless scenes. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
NickGAug 18, 2009
Not as great as it is rated, but watchable. Has some completely out of place grotesque violence. I didn't borrow this to see excessive violence (and neither would most people). You don't have to ruin what could have been a more Not as great as it is rated, but watchable. Has some completely out of place grotesque violence. I didn't borrow this to see excessive violence (and neither would most people). You don't have to ruin what could have been a more beautiful movie with a guys face been stabbed to nothing with a glass bottle. Poor judgment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MikeHAug 5, 2009
After having seen the rave reviews on Metacritic I decided to buy this film. Honestly, I'm at a loss as to what all the fuss is about! It seemed like the film never really got going, I couldn't connect with it, and, as other people After having seen the rave reviews on Metacritic I decided to buy this film. Honestly, I'm at a loss as to what all the fuss is about! It seemed like the film never really got going, I couldn't connect with it, and, as other people have said, not a great deal happens. Though not the worst film I've seen by a long-shot, disappointment was my main feeling, that and waiting for it to end... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
FionaB.Nov 12, 2008
Exceptional acting and as a viewer you experience the emotions of the actors but not what I would call a "thriller".
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
AilbheS.Nov 23, 2008
the depiction of a young woman having an abortion in soviet russia is a highly unusual and intriguing theme. the acting throughout the film is very well done although i still could not connect with this film, i found it quite boring at times the depiction of a young woman having an abortion in soviet russia is a highly unusual and intriguing theme. the acting throughout the film is very well done although i still could not connect with this film, i found it quite boring at times and i think something much more could be made out of it. it seems any films with the "a" word in them receive very high acclaim and i am worried that people are trying to be so politically correct that they feel they must give in and give films like this so much notoriety. over all impression is one of disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MikeD.Oct 22, 2008
Bill B. nailed it right on the head. Story is interesting but lacks a driving plotline. I expected a lot more given all the glowing reviews on metacritic.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
LanaS.Feb 14, 2008
I went to this film expecting a masterpiece; I left the theater without such an experience. In short, the film drags at times, and definitely overrated in the emotions evoked to the audience. Excellent acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AdyG.Oct 12, 2009
Superbly performed gritty tale - but I learnt nothing from it, it was simply harrowing for its own sake, and didn't preoccupy my mind for long after its viewing. This film has very little to say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
dscheeresDec 27, 2015
If this was awarded the #1 Best Movie, I can write off the rest of that year. Perhaps there is a lot of politics behind that award and the high "critical acclaim" which distorts the rating. The movie is dark and dull. I'd rate it lower butIf this was awarded the #1 Best Movie, I can write off the rest of that year. Perhaps there is a lot of politics behind that award and the high "critical acclaim" which distorts the rating. The movie is dark and dull. I'd rate it lower but I like films that have historical context, foreign cultures, and are in other languages. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews