IFC Films | Release Date: January 23, 2008
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 274 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
214
Mixed:
34
Negative:
26
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
The neorealism and morbidity of of the subject might shy away some viewers, but everything about this movie is handled with such delicate care - the acting, the cinematography, the absence of a film score - that it really does suck you intoThe neorealism and morbidity of of the subject might shy away some viewers, but everything about this movie is handled with such delicate care - the acting, the cinematography, the absence of a film score - that it really does suck you into it's existence, forcing you to feel the hardships of living in a state of oppression. Moral of the Story: don't live in a place where abortions are illegal. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
GraziB.Feb 3, 2008
Devastating movie. Besides the abortion plot. It's a movie about female friendship. Anamaria Marinca is amazing, Bravo!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
rosesOct 31, 2009
I run a boutique cinema. This movie drew my smallest crowed of 2009. It was the only one I cannot remove from my mind, and I think the fact that it hasnt won an award reveals the hypocrisy of the Oscars. Harrowing and mundane in the same I run a boutique cinema. This movie drew my smallest crowed of 2009. It was the only one I cannot remove from my mind, and I think the fact that it hasnt won an award reveals the hypocrisy of the Oscars. Harrowing and mundane in the same breath. If you can get out of this film without white knuckles, you are made of strong stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JessS.Sep 2, 2009
A powerful and great foreign drama, the cinematography in this picture is simply stunning, the acting faultless lead by the mesmarising Anamaria Marinca . When i know I've seen a great film is when i could watch it with no sound or A powerful and great foreign drama, the cinematography in this picture is simply stunning, the acting faultless lead by the mesmarising Anamaria Marinca . When i know I've seen a great film is when i could watch it with no sound or subtitles and it still has an effect on my emotions and i can safely say i could with this film, the location of this film was filmed perfectly to portray what life was like in 1987 romania, those who don't find the simplicity in this film capturing must have no heart. The only reason i didn't score it a 10 was because i didn't like the ending as much as the other parts of the film. I hope foreign cinema has some more delights like this up there sleeves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ValentinMJan 20, 2008
One of the "must see movie" of all times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ZoltanZFeb 15, 2008
Strong in many respects, realism, consistent tone, acting, suspense, tension etc... However, the ending represented a HUGE misstep. [***SPOILER***] Within an hour after such a late-term abortion that woman would not be sitting down at a Strong in many respects, realism, consistent tone, acting, suspense, tension etc... However, the ending represented a HUGE misstep. [***SPOILER***] Within an hour after such a late-term abortion that woman would not be sitting down at a restaurant ordering dinner. she'd be lucky if she hadn't bled to death. completely unrealistic moment to an otherwise very realistic film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
dyldFeb 3, 2008
This film is bleak--and that will put off many people. But don't let it put you off. This film is a strong experience--relentless tension. Admits that people make mistakes under pressure, which is difficult to watch. Above all, however, This film is bleak--and that will put off many people. But don't let it put you off. This film is a strong experience--relentless tension. Admits that people make mistakes under pressure, which is difficult to watch. Above all, however, the film rings true. And on the rare occasions this happens in cinema you have to confront the ideas of the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
usmanhaiderFeb 9, 2008
this is not a movie.its an experience.how can a movie be so real so grasping.........i do not envy as such but feels competitive with a person named mungiu.whole abservation of life is so deep and true.it comes from inner consciousness.ithis is not a movie.its an experience.how can a movie be so real so grasping.........i do not envy as such but feels competitive with a person named mungiu.whole abservation of life is so deep and true.it comes from inner consciousness.i firmly can claim this to be the most brilliantly acted and directed movie i have seen and i can see in future.the minute details are hard to understand by everyone.its unforgettable and matchless.no exxagaration but the truth.i cant see anyone could have done a performance like anmaria.its not "acting".its performance.this film is a must see for those who see Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmanuelA.Mar 29, 2008
Only people that lived during that Romanian/Ceausescu era can understand this movie!Very well done and love the overall story.A+
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomegunApr 2, 2008
A little slow at first for my taste....but it drags you in and gets pretty intense!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndyM.Jun 30, 2008
I was quite excited about seeing this movie, what with the fantastic reviews. And... I can't say I was disappointed, really. It had superb acting, and on the whole it was very well done. It was gripping, to the point that my friend and I was quite excited about seeing this movie, what with the fantastic reviews. And... I can't say I was disappointed, really. It had superb acting, and on the whole it was very well done. It was gripping, to the point that my friend and I were enthralled by every detail the film threw at us as we watched. The sad part is that, after all the thrills and the suspense and the drama, it didn't deliver. We wanted it to go in a Hollywood direction, we wanted that I.D. at the desk to mean something, for that little mention of a phone number to lead somewhere, but it didn't. It was comical, really, how much... MORE wanted. In any other film, this would have been devastating, but the incredible single takes and the emotion that the viewer couldn't help but feel along with the actors made it all too good otherwise. It's a worthwhile watch, just don't go into it expecting anything near your conventional film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelBOct 9, 2009
This is frighteningly realistic rendition of life in the Eastern Bloc under communism. The awfulness of everything down to the clothes and the offensive drunk waiters make compelling viewing. Easily the best film I saw last year, and I saw This is frighteningly realistic rendition of life in the Eastern Bloc under communism. The awfulness of everything down to the clothes and the offensive drunk waiters make compelling viewing. Easily the best film I saw last year, and I saw Cargo 200!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IainfJan 9, 2009
I don't really know what to say about this film really. Right off the bat, you're probably wondering whether you should watch it, and yes, yes you most certainly should. The film itself is amazing, I just don't really I don't really know what to say about this film really. Right off the bat, you're probably wondering whether you should watch it, and yes, yes you most certainly should. The film itself is amazing, I just don't really understand why to be honest. Nothing really happens in it! But the acting, the emotions it makes you feel and several all factors help pull it through. It doesn't deserve the near perfect reviews in my opinion, but it still the best film I've saw in a while. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronS.Jan 12, 2008
This was easily one of the best films I saw in 2007. Clearly there is something stirring in Romanian cinema as '4/3/2' is another outstanding work for that country's burgeoning film scene.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabiUJan 10, 2008
brilliantly acted! you can feel the tension and the lack of edited scenes brings you into the drama. the camera doesn't even exists, you don't feel it like a movie but like a fact, a scene happening in front of you. i'm not brilliantly acted! you can feel the tension and the lack of edited scenes brings you into the drama. the camera doesn't even exists, you don't feel it like a movie but like a fact, a scene happening in front of you. i'm not surprised it's a rewarded film. not recommended to youngs (they can't fully understand the scale of the event or sense the minor details). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DmitryP.Jan 23, 2008
If Andrei Tarkovsky made a Dogma 95 movie, it might look and sound and feel like this. Cinematically, this is a masterpiece of artistic discipline, the perfect marriage of form and content, the freshest thing in years, a brand-new way to get If Andrei Tarkovsky made a Dogma 95 movie, it might look and sound and feel like this. Cinematically, this is a masterpiece of artistic discipline, the perfect marriage of form and content, the freshest thing in years, a brand-new way to get your truth twenty-four times a second, blah, blah, blah. . . .Dramatically, it does the last thing you expect from an issue movie: give you an engaging, realistic central character, so you forget about political abstractions and start worrying about what will happen to her and what she's going to do. This is a time capsule movie, a Voyager spacecraft movie, a great and perfect film that may all on its own redeem traditional narrative cinema for the next few years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PerspicaciousCriticJan 25, 2008
[***SPOILERS***] I appreciate "4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days" for its excellent craftsmanship: the artfully composed shots are worthy of a gallery exhibit; the stubborn refusal to cut away from certain scenes is brave and inspirational; and [***SPOILERS***] I appreciate "4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days" for its excellent craftsmanship: the artfully composed shots are worthy of a gallery exhibit; the stubborn refusal to cut away from certain scenes is brave and inspirational; and the acting (or non-acting, it was so realistic) is sublime. Overall, I agree with the critics that "4 Months" is an uncompromising work of art. But the problem I have with "4 Months" are in the form of red herrings, and plenty of them. For example, when the brooding back-alley abortionist, Mr. Bebe, pleads with his mother to go back into her apartment, the tension mounts to where you think he's going to physically toss her inside. During this moment, in Mr. Bebe Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CoraN.Jan 27, 2008
Terrifyingly grey, as everyday life in communism, and exceptionally beautiful, as Otilia's friendship and unselfishness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
philmoootenFeb 11, 2008
this is an involving and very moving film. highly recommended. to shaun b - you sound so pompus. firstly one film doesn't 'prove' anything, especially when your point of view is supposedly the evidence, and the filmthis is an involving and very moving film. highly recommended. to shaun b - you sound so pompus. firstly one film doesn't 'prove' anything, especially when your point of view is supposedly the evidence, and the film doesn't even reply to your silly sweeping statement about the french - the film is romanian. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeteCFeb 22, 2008
I've seen it three times already and enjoy it every time. Brilliant acting, image, camera work. The scenes with long moments of silence are my favorite. You can see here how powerful can be acting without saying anything.... Ana Maria I've seen it three times already and enjoy it every time. Brilliant acting, image, camera work. The scenes with long moments of silence are my favorite. You can see here how powerful can be acting without saying anything.... Ana Maria Marinca transmitted with her back at the camera things that many actors have to use face and words to do it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoshBFeb 23, 2008
OK, this movie is very good, but it's not THAT good. A score of 98 would lead you to believe it's one of the best films to come out in the last 10 years, and it's not (I'm just trying to manage expectations). My main OK, this movie is very good, but it's not THAT good. A score of 98 would lead you to believe it's one of the best films to come out in the last 10 years, and it's not (I'm just trying to manage expectations). My main problem is the ending [no spoilers], which is a little abrupt and leaves several issues unresolved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KateR.Feb 20, 2008
As good a film as any I've ever seen or expect to see again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ConnorSMar 9, 2008
Felix K. This movie came out in 2008 how can the academy give this a foreign language nod when this movie came out in 2008. The Oscars are for 2007! that being said this was was very well made and beautiful film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LAKISP.Apr 5, 2008
Pure filmaking . Answer to all these kind of movies which sucrifice a good idea for an oscar.BRAVO Romania.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IulianJun 6, 2008
Some of the finest acting I have seen on film. Beautiful shots and not melodramatic. I have found nothing in it to falsify reality (1980s in Romania).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyPJan 28, 2009
A powerful, disturbing film with amazing performances. You will feel sick to your stomach after watching this - which is an indicator of great filmmaking that draws you in forces you to face realities that you'll never be comfortable A powerful, disturbing film with amazing performances. You will feel sick to your stomach after watching this - which is an indicator of great filmmaking that draws you in forces you to face realities that you'll never be comfortable with. Easily the best film I've seen in many, many years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MirceaC.Feb 4, 2009
For those who don't know yet (and I can see there are a lot in here) Romania IS/WAS NOT PART OF THE SOVIET UNION. Learn some geography before posting here, ok?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnnaMay 29, 2009
Excellent movie, not for the light hearted, though. paradoxically enough, it is not really about what seems to be the main event: an abortion. Instead, it captures in a both subtle and gripping manner the essence of communism: a system Excellent movie, not for the light hearted, though. paradoxically enough, it is not really about what seems to be the main event: an abortion. Instead, it captures in a both subtle and gripping manner the essence of communism: a system corrupt to the bone that rules through fear, where everyone keeps an eye on someone else and the only way to survive is to become part of that system. The inherent dehumanisation such a system brings about does not escape the director. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CocoBunnyJun 23, 2009
One of the most compelling and heartbreaking films I've ever seen. It tackles the hard subjects of totalitarianism or abortion without beating you over the head with a given message. It simply tells the story of these two girls--a very One of the most compelling and heartbreaking films I've ever seen. It tackles the hard subjects of totalitarianism or abortion without beating you over the head with a given message. It simply tells the story of these two girls--a very sad one at that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeahRJan 10, 2010
Filmgoers are so used to being spoon-fed their neatly shrinkwrapped "takeaway" messges from Hollywood that they flounder helplessly when a film staunchly refuses to tell them what to think.
0 of 0 users found this helpful