47 Ronin

Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 21
  2. Negative: 12 out of 21

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Dec 23, 2013
    60
    Perhaps a folly and – Kikuchi aside - too deadpan to be a romp, this is still a decent, colourful samurai spectacle with a classical look (lots of symmetrical compositions) and a story which stands up under multiple retellings.
  2. 50
    This one never quite decides if it wants to be a big, boisterous epic or a solemn retelling, and it nearly disappears into the crack between the two.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Dec 28, 2013
    50
    An odd mix of stiff and sumptuous.
  4. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Dec 24, 2013
    50
    There’s little sense of urgency, or — oddly, given the film’s title — of scale. You never really think that the 47 are truly outnumbered, and the large action scenes are often just incomprehensible.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Dec 23, 2013
    50
    While the visuals are lovely to behold, this unremarkable version of the classic 18th century Japanese legend is stiff and uninvolving.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    Dec 28, 2013
    40
    Hollywood's latest play for the growing Asian market revisits the ancient Japanese legend of self-sacrifice, hoping to offset its garbled narrative and grinding humourlessness with 3D and Keanu Reeves as a samurai Jesus.
  7. Reviewed by: Nicolas Rapold
    Dec 24, 2013
    40
    47 Ronin can’t entirely paper over the void at its center, traceable partly to the shadowboxing of computer-aided filmmaking or studio tinkering.
  8. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Dec 23, 2013
    40
    As impressive as these visual elements prove to be, the film struggles to grab and maintain audiences’ interest, whether or not they know the underlying legend by heart.
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 374 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 122
  2. Negative: 22 out of 122
  1. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    Wow. I am shocked by the bad critic reviews. I thought this movie was excellent. Compelling story. Special effects support but don't dominateWow. I am shocked by the bad critic reviews. I thought this movie was excellent. Compelling story. Special effects support but don't dominate the story. The acting is a bit wooden at times, but it felt stylistically appropriate and didn't detract from the movie at all. I think it is an intentional nod to traditional Japanese form, but what do I know?

    Frankly this movie reminded me of one of the "Lord of the Rings" movies, Japanese style. It is a complete and intriguing universe. The cinematography and artistic direction feel coherent and well conceived. I feel like the characters were well developed and we understood their point of views by the end of the movie.

    I loved this movie. The time passed without notice while I was immersed in it. I'd see it again.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 28, 2013
    0
    What a piece of crud. Another display that KR is not capable of acting, unless mumble mumble mumble is actling. Dude, where is my katana?What a piece of crud. Another display that KR is not capable of acting, unless mumble mumble mumble is actling. Dude, where is my katana? With all the CGI, maybey they could have used some of it to make KR look Japanese and to show some acting! Full Review »
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    0
    Pointless scenes. Again,and again. That's sad,but this film was not only boring it was also ridiculous. NOT the film of the year. There'sPointless scenes. Again,and again. That's sad,but this film was not only boring it was also ridiculous. NOT the film of the year. There's nothing good to keep in it. Full Review »