50 First Dates

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 194 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 194

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Dec 10, 2012
    0
    Sandler usually makes stupid movies but every now and then hits the bulls-eye with a hilarious movie, unfortunately this is not the case, it's very bad story. Sandler being a Casanova thing!! really? and honestly the best thing that Drew Barrymore has ever done it's to appear in E.T. Far more better things to watch!
  2. Colm
    Mar 3, 2004
    3
    Can you say Groundhog's Day meets the Dating Game? I knew you could.
  3. FuggiMcGoo
    Mar 5, 2004
    0
    U don't wanna see this movie, If you wanna "in depth" review, check boneho's review on "Confessions of A Teenage Drama Queen.' Its just about the same story.
  4. MarkB.
    May 24, 2004
    0
    Absolutely nothing works in this astonishingly grotesque, remarkably ill-advised farrago of manipulative sentimentality and unfunny, repulsive gross-out comedy that's reminiscent of Jerry Lewis at his laziest AND most self-indulgent, except that Jerry was never this mean-spirited or misogynistic toward his female supporting characters. If you're looking for Sandler and Drew Absolutely nothing works in this astonishingly grotesque, remarkably ill-advised farrago of manipulative sentimentality and unfunny, repulsive gross-out comedy that's reminiscent of Jerry Lewis at his laziest AND most self-indulgent, except that Jerry was never this mean-spirited or misogynistic toward his female supporting characters. If you're looking for Sandler and Drew Barrymore to repeat their genuine chemistry and rapport from The Wedding Singer, forget it; she seems to sense on some level how unworkable this concept is and seems extremely uncomfortable. Meanwhile, Sean Astin seems to be working very hard...both to appear as repulsive onscreen as costar Rob Schneider AND to completely erase all the goodwill he built up in the Lord of the Rings trilogy. (He nearly succeeds, too.) Under any other circumstances you'd admire the film for not taking the easy way out, but the combination of medical tragedy and truly foul humor is reminiscent of -- to use one of the movie's own images -- an anchovy sundae. No, wait -- let's pick an even more apt image from the film: it's pure, unadulterated walrus vomit. Expand
  5. Elizabeth
    Jul 17, 2004
    1
    I only could watch the first 15 minutes of this garbage then i had to leave the room because i was too embrassed for adam sandler and drew barymore (however you spell her name). i couldnt believe they had took part in making such an awful movie.
  6. SteveC.
    Feb 13, 2004
    0
    First movie I've ever walked out of. Really offensive characters. Really far fetched premise. Childish potty humor - to really crass. Can't believe any critic would give this a thumbs up. Worst movie I've seen.
  7. RachelZ.
    Feb 16, 2004
    0
    can adam sandler please go away. he needs to be booted off the planet along with the following: rob schneider, paul mcartney, celine dion, justin timberlake, michael jackson, britney spears, ic cube, eddie murphy, courtney love, tommy lee, that malcolm in the middle kid, fred durst, kid rock, donald trump, roger lodge, austin powers, mick jagger, janet jackson, aerosmith, and many more can adam sandler please go away. he needs to be booted off the planet along with the following: rob schneider, paul mcartney, celine dion, justin timberlake, michael jackson, britney spears, ic cube, eddie murphy, courtney love, tommy lee, that malcolm in the middle kid, fred durst, kid rock, donald trump, roger lodge, austin powers, mick jagger, janet jackson, aerosmith, and many more who make entertainment suck. Expand
  8. PatrickS.
    Jun 23, 2004
    0
    What went wrong? I went into 50FD with high expectations. After all, this is the same genius who struck comedy gold with his subtle, touching masterpiece Billy Madison. But this movie was bad, with a capitol S T I N K S! You'll feel like you're watching it 50 times, not just once! That's not to say my two fave actors, Adam and Drew of course, aren't great. Sandler What went wrong? I went into 50FD with high expectations. After all, this is the same genius who struck comedy gold with his subtle, touching masterpiece Billy Madison. But this movie was bad, with a capitol S T I N K S! You'll feel like you're watching it 50 times, not just once! That's not to say my two fave actors, Adam and Drew of course, aren't great. Sandler gives a smart, subtle performance, and Berrymore is terrific as a girl who's both exactly what she seems and exactly the opposite. However, this plot moves slowly, and it feels like we've seen it all before. The guy who was in The Lord and the Rings saga makes a hillarious guest appearance, but it is not enough to save this sinker. This is one date you won't want to make with your local theater! Expand
  9. Nov 13, 2013
    3
    50 First Dates goes home alone.
    The movie begins with an interesting idea that develops at a monotonous pace, with laughs few and far between. A very poor execution by Mr. Sandler.
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 38
  2. Negative: 6 out of 38
  1. As a comedy, 50 First Dates is standard Sandler, but as a love story it left me pleasantly buzzed, if not quite punch-drunk.
  2. 30
    Oscillating gracelessly between the coarse and the merely saccharine, 50 First Dates, directed with zero visual or comedic flair by Peter Segal (Anger Management, Tommy Boy), showcases Sandler's cuddlier side as it reprises the tepid chemistry that he and Barrymore road-tested in "The Wedding Singer."
  3. 50
    The movie's sole selling point turns out to be its sweetness. Sandler, Segal and writer George Wing obviously like all of the characters despite the constant ribbing, and Sandler and Barrymore are as cuddly as a pair of love-struck walruses. But only a sucker would get too close.