Columbia Pictures | Release Date: February 13, 2004
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 213 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
119
Mixed:
67
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
JinC.Feb 15, 2004
A completely amiable movie. it's not rocket science and doesn't try to be. what it is is simple and charming with a really great supporting cast... not just saying that... really really good supporting cast the really helps theA completely amiable movie. it's not rocket science and doesn't try to be. what it is is simple and charming with a really great supporting cast... not just saying that... really really good supporting cast the really helps the movie succeed. yes it's syruppy. yes it's crass. and yes it's offensive - for the ludicrously oversensitive. and a fantastic but inexplicable 80s soundtrack. imo, sandler's frustrated weepings alone make the flick worthwhile. good fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanielleBJul 28, 2004
Very funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicoleT.Jul 4, 2004
This movie was funny, and sad. I love Adam Sandler, and Drew Barrymore. This movie was perfect!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WillardJ.Jan 27, 2007
I liked it ok. It was pretty funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
tensecondTomAug 4, 2007
I usually hate these chick flick hollywood films but this one is sweet,funny and well acted.Ok not a classic but enjoyable. I usually hate these chick flick hollywood but... He..He.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerS.Feb 11, 2004
It's the best movie i ever saw!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SarahR.Feb 15, 2004
Ok, so this isn't a masterpiece. But who expects that from an Adam Sandler film? So, instead of rating this against most of the other films i go to see, i'm going to compare it to his other movies. I'd rate it third, behind 1. Ok, so this isn't a masterpiece. But who expects that from an Adam Sandler film? So, instead of rating this against most of the other films i go to see, i'm going to compare it to his other movies. I'd rate it third, behind 1. The Wedding Singer and 2. Big Daddy. My Adam-Sandler-Flick expectations were thoroughly satisfied and I really enjoyed this one. The last couple of ones (Mr. Deeds, Anger Management) have been ok, but not great. 50 first dates was a lot funnier and the relationship between Adam and Drew is a lot sweeter and more believable. If you don't mind crude jokes, and if you don't go in with huge expectations, this film can be really enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleB.Feb 15, 2004
I LOVED THIS MOVIE! It really kept me laughing the whole entire time! Rob Schneider was excellent in this movie and even though I'm not much of a Drew Barrymore fan, I really enjoyed her character in this movie! I recommend it to all if I LOVED THIS MOVIE! It really kept me laughing the whole entire time! Rob Schneider was excellent in this movie and even though I'm not much of a Drew Barrymore fan, I really enjoyed her character in this movie! I recommend it to all if you want a good laugh! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SteveS.Feb 15, 2004
Though some of the dialogue is ribald and a couple characters are annoying and/or mildly offensive it is hard to miss that the story is rewarding, touching and loving. Adam Sandler is funny and doesn't overdo it here like in so many Though some of the dialogue is ribald and a couple characters are annoying and/or mildly offensive it is hard to miss that the story is rewarding, touching and loving. Adam Sandler is funny and doesn't overdo it here like in so many other of his films. This is what the BORING Punch Drunk Love should have been. Drew Barrymore (looking better than ever!) is terrific. Rob Schneider was good for a few good yucks as was Sean Astin. What it all boiled down to was a delightful story of love and compassion, dedication and understanding. If you can't feel a bit choked up or have your heart tugged and warmed by the story you need to check your pulse. Those stating they walked out of this movie probably couldn't even get their own first date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RobertA.Feb 15, 2004
1.funny 2.funny 3.better then mr. deeds 4.liked it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LawrenceR.Feb 16, 2004
Expected so little from Sandler, but Drew has so much charm that even he couldn't trash this movie. Do I hear a Hepburn/Tracey comparison coming on? Well Adam, I knew Tracey, I saw his films and you are no Mr. Tracey!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KateT.Feb 18, 2004
My husband and I really enjoyed this movie. I am very surprised to see such a low metascore. It was funny, cute, and utterly enjoyable to watch. At under 2 hours, it was the right length for a non-serious movie. All in all, a great date flick!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterD.Feb 19, 2004
First of all, i thought this movie was hilarious, and to those of u who cant stand the "potty humor" you shoulda known it would be in this movie since it stars adam sandler, and its not offensive, its funny, this movie was probably gearedFirst of all, i thought this movie was hilarious, and to those of u who cant stand the "potty humor" you shoulda known it would be in this movie since it stars adam sandler, and its not offensive, its funny, this movie was probably geared towards todays generatain anways, not yesterdays.......=) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MaxB.&AlexJ.Mar 3, 2004
Funny but sandler continues to get less funny and worse in each of his movies. Seann Astin was hilarious though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickH.Jun 17, 2004
Absolutely hilarious!!! Very creative!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GinoE.Jun 19, 2004
A lightweight, funny and touching little film. You gotta like Adam Sandler movies though!!! Otherwise you might not enjoy it. It contains a lot of great jokes that really hit the spot! (too bad that not everyone by far would understand) The A lightweight, funny and touching little film. You gotta like Adam Sandler movies though!!! Otherwise you might not enjoy it. It contains a lot of great jokes that really hit the spot! (too bad that not everyone by far would understand) The nature shots are wonderful and love is sometimes truly in the air! If you're a couple who's in love and both enjoy Sandler-humor, this is the one to see!!! Good apperance by Dan Aykroyd by the way. And Schneider as usual. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KellyJun 25, 2004
A good movie with a lot of laughs. I love the original plot and Adam Sandler's great singing!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CynthiaT.Jul 14, 2004
This movie was very hilarious. what i really liked about it was that it had a true ending. not a crappy disney ending where everything is happily ever after. i would recommend it 2 mostly girls or couples that just started going out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackieR.Jul 7, 2005
Of course the chemistry between Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore was fabulous. The plot, while a little far-fetched, was unique and fun. Rob Schneider wasn't offensive to Hawaiians, had he played his own ethnicity would you have thought Of course the chemistry between Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore was fabulous. The plot, while a little far-fetched, was unique and fun. Rob Schneider wasn't offensive to Hawaiians, had he played his own ethnicity would you have thought him offensive to them? He is not trying to portray all Hawaiians, only his character, who happens to be the way he is. It was a funny movie. What did you expect from an Adam Sandler movie? You're supposed to approach them light-hearted and open-minded. Who cares that the humor was slightly crude at some times? It certainly made me laugh. It really is a good movie, and if you're going to be all serious about it then you should go see a serious movie with no humor or crazy plotlines. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlieG.Jun 4, 2006
Not a great movie, but a hilarious one with heart too - just what a romantic comedy is supposed to be. The movie engages the viewer and holds on until the end. It keeps the jokes coming consistently throughout and unlike other Sandler movies Not a great movie, but a hilarious one with heart too - just what a romantic comedy is supposed to be. The movie engages the viewer and holds on until the end. It keeps the jokes coming consistently throughout and unlike other Sandler movies the plot doesn't suffer from excessive cheesiness. By the way, it's better than Groundhog Day. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyP.Oct 11, 2007
This movie is the bomb. i love this movie. it is so awesome how he continually tries to win her heart everyday. if a guy did that for me i would definetly give him a shot. i think this movie definetly should be watched by everyone. if youThis movie is the bomb. i love this movie. it is so awesome how he continually tries to win her heart everyday. if a guy did that for me i would definetly give him a shot. i think this movie definetly should be watched by everyone. if you dont like this movie then you have no taste in movies what so ever. peace homedogs Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
Bob.B.Feb 14, 2004
I liked it, was funny but lacked sense. Strange ending and I do not know what to think. Enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AimeeB.Feb 26, 2004
This movie was hilarious..omg..one of the funniest movies so far this year. Adam and Rob are a great team that make this movie funny and awesome! Two thumbs up..now if only that Rachel girl could just disapper! Life would be soo much better!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NateD.Apr 23, 2004
Original script. Very entertaining. Not real deep or life changing...but a good Sandler movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SaerA.Jun 19, 2004
50 First Dates does work. I enjoyed the way Drew Barrymore and Adam Sandler work in this hilarious comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EverettKJun 17, 2005
Funny, quirky, sincere. A great movie once you give yourself over to the story. I was prepared to bored, but it won me over. Several laugh out loud moments and some very romantic ones that manage to be sweet without being overdone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JosephZOct 18, 2006
One of my favorite movies. Having read some of the negative reviews, it is clear that the critics responsible for those reviews take themselves way too seriously. Unfortunately, they don't have the intelligence to pull it off. Enjoy the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NoemyJan 21, 2006
Very funny and has a nice love story to it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElizabethC.Dec 20, 2006
By Far Sandler's Best!!!!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
WhitG.Dec 26, 2006
If you want to spot the pretentious snob reviewers (professional and amateur) who take themselves and life too seriously, then look for anyone who rated this movie less than a 60 or 6. Only a limited and narrow mind would dismiss this movie If you want to spot the pretentious snob reviewers (professional and amateur) who take themselves and life too seriously, then look for anyone who rated this movie less than a 60 or 6. Only a limited and narrow mind would dismiss this movie because of its occasionally crude humor. Overall it delivers lots of laughs, an Inventive premise and very little cheese, which is unusual for a PG-13 romantic comedy. One of Sandler's better efforts, right up there with Happy Gilmore and The Wedding Singer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
wrestla88Sep 22, 2010
Surprisingly it manages to be a cute and funny romantic comedy.
I would recommend this movie. Not Adam Sandlers best but still funny. If you're looking for Billy Madison or Happy Gilmore then this is ot even close to them. It is a more mature movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerMay 17, 2012
Hilarious and romantic, Adam Sandler at his best, starts off slow but then ramps up to be not only a totally funny movie, but also a sweet and touching one. This makes it into my top 3 favorite Sandler movies of all time. If you haven'tHilarious and romantic, Adam Sandler at his best, starts off slow but then ramps up to be not only a totally funny movie, but also a sweet and touching one. This makes it into my top 3 favorite Sandler movies of all time. If you haven't watched it I highly recommend that you do. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
lususgreeneMay 11, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Better than expected, this movie delivers an good premise and some decent acting. The movie most impressed me by not resorting to the expected cliche ending. Which might be why it has some unfavorable reviews. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZiggyStardustJul 3, 2011
I actually enjoyed this movie quite a lot. Adam and Drew have a really good chemistry going and the movie had me laughing on several occassions. Definitely worth a watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
abductionOct 6, 2011
I love this movie. It is not my favorite but I like it. My favorite movie is Abduction! Having read some of the bad reviews you can just tell that they are just thinking about themselves way to much. If you go to the Abduction page I wroteI love this movie. It is not my favorite but I like it. My favorite movie is Abduction! Having read some of the bad reviews you can just tell that they are just thinking about themselves way to much. If you go to the Abduction page I wrote about how people alway think about them selves and not how it might affend others. I hate that about others. Be possitive you know. Well anyway I do love this movie. It is not a ten but it is a eight. Haha. Lol. Ok. Well I better go. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
EssenceOfSugarJul 31, 2012
I was particularly put off by the beginning - the jokes were more or less unfunny - so I was almost put off from watching the whole film. The jokes began to get funnier and I felt kind of at ease because it was less about slapstick and moreI was particularly put off by the beginning - the jokes were more or less unfunny - so I was almost put off from watching the whole film. The jokes began to get funnier and I felt kind of at ease because it was less about slapstick and more about what was going on. Adam Sandler has that unique humour where you either like it or hate it. I think the film was slightly messy in its construction, certain pieces were skipped to and the conclusion was a bit rushed. It lacked depth because of its limited explanation - although it helped to replay events that had previously happened. That doesn't make it a bad film though, because sometimes romantic comedies are just meant to be enjoyed, and this example of a medical condition in a beautiful romantic environment is refreshingly original. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
csw12Apr 3, 2012
A very good Adam Sandler film. Some of the scenes in the resturant are absolutelyy hilarious. Story doesn't make sense but who cares. It comes across as an enjoyable film that is very funny.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Jun 27, 2013
This is one of those great relaxing movies that is just full of charm and wit. Very entertaining with a premise that is unique than the majority of romantic comedies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
Though it may lack originality, 50 First Dates is consistently funny, and at times, heartwarming.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sil3nt_nickMar 24, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A funny and creative film that didn't have as much 'just plain stupid' characteristics as other Adam Sandler films like "Big Daddy" or "Grown Ups". Drew Barrymore did a great job playing Lucy, as did Sean Astin as her steroid-abusing brother. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DibbHansenJul 16, 2013
I love this movie- it is hilarious, heart warming, romantic and above all: entertaining. I just love these Adam Sandler romantic comedies. And this film is a classic, it has me laughing harder every time I see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
applesandorangeSep 17, 2013
This film is heart-warming, even though every time I watch it I cry, it has very sad moments and very happy moments. You know a film is good when it takes you on an emotional journey just like the characters in the film. Highly recommended
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bladeagentMar 1, 2014
See Sandler? When you show us your warm side, we can laugh at you. You don't always have to fill the screen with gross-out humor. I wish you'd make more of these.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeAug 20, 2014
I had high expectations for this movie.Unfortunately,the movie was not has funny has i expected.But the performances were actually pretty good and the movie has his laughs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
youlouzJan 28, 2015
This movie is not the best of Adam Sandler, it needs work. Its a little sad, boring, and stupid. But, it has a nice plot, and some parts are funny .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheDude-Aug 29, 2015
50 first dates is a good romantic comedy with some very sweet moments between Barrymore and sandler due to their outrageously good chemistry the film is also pretty funny at times my only issue is that despite having an original concept in50 first dates is a good romantic comedy with some very sweet moments between Barrymore and sandler due to their outrageously good chemistry the film is also pretty funny at times my only issue is that despite having an original concept in delves into formula and rob Schneider's character was a dickhead and not funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews