Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 576 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: This is a story of boy meets girl, begins the wry, probing narrator of 500 Days of Summer, and with that the film takes off at breakneck speed into a funny, true to life and unique dissection of the unruly and unpredictable year-and-a-half of one young man’s no-holds-barred love affair.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. 100
    Here is a rare movie that begins by telling us how it will end and is about how the hero has no idea why.
  2. 100
    Visually witty, flawlessly played romantic comedy.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    88
    Much like Annie Hall did for a previous generation, (500) Days of Summer may be the movie that best captures a contemporary romantic sensibility.
  4. A funny, seductive, and surprisingly honest dramatization of the ways we snooker ourselves into incompatible love.
  5. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    75
    An irresistible feel-good movie about love gone bad.
  6. 70
    Slight, charming and refreshingly candid little picture.
  7. An exhaustive and exhausting dissection of a relationship that was never all that promising in the first place.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 199
  1. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    one of the best in 2009, its ending was totally unexpected. Its cleaver dialog and script makes 500 days of summer one of the best romantic comedy's of all year and maybe of all time. Both leads play there part perfectly as i believed them 100% of the movie. Just the way they told the story was something i have never seen in movies before, i though it would get confusing skipping from day 352 to 2 but it didn't as the director made it work perfectly it added a really good twist to the movie. Collapse
  2. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    The screenplay is genuinely written, and the story doesn't stop from surprising us during the hole movie with its twists and turns. But the thing is, people who watched it easily do projections on their emotional life which is normal because of nature of the story that shows us another dark and bitter side of our human condition witch is pretty disappointing for those people, and yet completely true. It is actually a very bright and cheerful movie to show the sadness that a man can go through somewhere in his life. Expand
  3. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    If you are building the relationship you hope will last forever watch this movie at least twice. Girls? Don
  4. May 26, 2011
    9
    Too often compared to the neo-quirky comedies of Wes Anderson and the smart-teen dialogue of "Juno," "500 Days of Summer" is a singularly original comedy in its own right that deserves recognition for brilliant direction, writing, and editing, as well as the wonderful performances from leads and supporting players. A new twist on old formulas, this feature from music video director Marc Webb doesn't pander to the audience's expectations, and recognizes that drama must coincide with laughs. Expand
  5. Jun 30, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I first saw the title, I thought it’s a story about a guy spending time with a girl for 500 days, which felt Summer to him. I am somehow correct after watching the movie. It is about a guy spending time with a girl named Summer for 500 days.

    The movie had an amazing cinematography, editing and direction. It was brilliantly visualized and it had its eye candy moments.

    The chemistry between Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Zooey Deschanel is excellent. The characters they played, Tom and Summer made them feel like they’re a real couple without making them a rom-com couple.

    The script from the brilliant screenwriters of The Fault in Our Stars and The Spectacular Now is really great and hence, why the visual art and the direction in this movie is amazing.

    The plot and the concept is very clever and I could relate to it verywell. I relate to Tom so badly based on my own experience with a crush that I am no longer speaking terms with. And the plot twist where Summer is now married felt like a knife stabbed into my heart. I felt really bad for Tom and I see himself there as well.

    The humor is the highlight of this movie and the comedic timing in this perfect for a movie like this.

    Overall, I would love to see this movie again and again because it had the feels and the light-heartening moments with brillaint script, clever plot and amazing chemistry between the movie’s stars.
    Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2011
    8
    This is a great movie,
    This movie has a great plot, great cinematography, great cast, and great use of music. This movie is without spoiling a
    realistic romantic comedy. It is indeed an incredible film even though romantic comedies in general suck and are predictable this movie stands out. The movie has a non linear use of plot which is extremely cool. The great shots ans use of color are great. The music overall stood out. The choice of music was great, with the combination of certain effects like muting the movie really does create emotions. I really enjoyed this movie and suggest you see it if you dislike or are bored of the normal unrealistic romantic comedy. Expand
  7. Apr 29, 2012
    0
    A truly awful movie. Utterly without point and extremely boring it will literally feel like its been 500 days by the time you have finished watching it. Truly one of the worst movies i have ever seen. Expand

See all 199 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors

    Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors Image
    Published: August 31, 2010
    Before Anton Corbijn was directing feature films like this week's "The American," he was the driving force behind iconic music videos for Depeche Mode, U2, and Nirvana. Inside, we look at the careers of Corbijn and over 20 other directors who have made the jump from MTV to the big screen.