50/50

Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Sep 29, 2011
    60
    The best parts are the in-between ones, neither laugh-out-loud funny nor overtly heart-wrenching.
  2. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Sep 29, 2011
    50
    A feel-good and slightly bad comedy-drama about a young man's fight against cancer, aims to put a tear in your eye and a sob in your throat, if not for long.
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Sep 30, 2011
    60
    Scene by scene, 50/50 can be both amusing and moving, with the tightly wound Gordon-Levitt and the boundaryless Rogen forming an oddly complementary pair. But as a whole the movie never quite coheres, seeming to skitter away at the last minute from both full-body laughter and full-body sobs.
  4. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Sep 29, 2011
    50
    All these roles could have been found at a garage sale of comedy stereotypes. To the extent that 50/50 works, it is because of Gordon-Levitt, one of my favorite actors.
  5. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Sep 27, 2011
    60
    The story is an autobiographical one from screenwriter Will Reiser's own ordeal; you smile with the thought that he had such women in his life, tough yet supportive, giving him the license to be funny again.
  6. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Sep 14, 2011
    60
    Will Reiser's semiautobiographical script initially prescribes too artificial a story treatment for its characters but is rescued by a genial, low-key vibe that builds in sensitivity and emotion up through the final reels.
  7. Reviewed by: Dan Kois
    Sep 27, 2011
    60
    Although it veers maudlin in its final act - 50/50 mostly succeeds as a movie about a young man fighting cancer that doesn't give in to sap or sentiment.
  8. Reviewed by: David Ehrlich
    Sep 14, 2011
    60
    A soft and sweet cancer drama that hits with the force of an ill-timed hug.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 497 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 103
  2. Negative: 2 out of 103
  1. Oct 7, 2011
    4
    novictim: What does anything have to do with your residency at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center? How does that make you more qualifiednovictim: What does anything have to do with your residency at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center? How does that make you more qualified to criticize this movie? You said that the jokes were juvenile. Is that what you diagnosed as you were making your rounds in the oncology department? Jokes about vomit, yeast infections, and dogs licking themselves are funny. Go give another poor soul at Kettering a frown. Full Review »
  2. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    I loved this film. It's been awhile since I gave a movie a 10 but I was cast into this movie's spell. I cared about all the characters, evenI loved this film. It's been awhile since I gave a movie a 10 but I was cast into this movie's spell. I cared about all the characters, even though the Rogen character was a little close to being over the top. Levitt is absolutely perfect as the cancer stricken person holding all his emotions in, until he finally explodes the night before his surgery. I haven't cried at a movie in years but definitely teared up at this one. I'm glad the time of the year has arrived when the good movies are shown. Highly recommended. Deserves the great reviews it's getting. Full Review »
  3. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    Joseph Gordon-Levitt plays a nice guy who finds out he has a serious form of cancer. While he deals with the unpleasant side effects of hisJoseph Gordon-Levitt plays a nice guy who finds out he has a serious form of cancer. While he deals with the unpleasant side effects of his treatment and the reactions of the women in his life, his best friend (Seth Rogen) supports him with plenty of humor. There are moments of pain and earnest drama, but a good laugh is never far away. Rogen shines with his constant comic comments and Gordon-Levitt delivers another touching, but strong performance. Don't be dismayed by the subject and enjoy the jokes! Full Review »