Summit Entertainment | Release Date: September 30, 2011
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 574 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
509
Mixed:
59
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
BikerjamesOct 2, 2011
I loved this film. It's been awhile since I gave a movie a 10 but I was cast into this movie's spell. I cared about all the characters, even though the Rogen character was a little close to being over the top. Levitt is absolutely perfectI loved this film. It's been awhile since I gave a movie a 10 but I was cast into this movie's spell. I cared about all the characters, even though the Rogen character was a little close to being over the top. Levitt is absolutely perfect as the cancer stricken person holding all his emotions in, until he finally explodes the night before his surgery. I haven't cried at a movie in years but definitely teared up at this one. I'm glad the time of the year has arrived when the good movies are shown. Highly recommended. Deserves the great reviews it's getting. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
monkey89Oct 6, 2011
A brilliant film if JGL and this movie aren't nominated for a golden globe and Oscar they are stupid. The film was able to balance out the funny and serious scenes really well. This probably the best film of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MoviebuffreviewOct 4, 2011
Perfectly acted, emotionally flawless, and laugh out loud funny, 50/50 is one of the best movies of the year, with at least a couple of Oscar worth performances, the funniest lines of the year, and a powerful blend of crying and laughing.Perfectly acted, emotionally flawless, and laugh out loud funny, 50/50 is one of the best movies of the year, with at least a couple of Oscar worth performances, the funniest lines of the year, and a powerful blend of crying and laughing. This movie is basically flawless, and should not be missed by anyone. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
keccc20Oct 21, 2011
A tremendous disappointment!! The acting was so unbelievable! Talk abou the dumbing down of movies. I was expecting so much! The acting was horrible! So contrived. I really thought it was so very stupid.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Khunter4382Jan 30, 2012
Fantastic film! Every performance hits the bullseye! This film deals with such a sensitive topic in a truly amazing way: truth and humor. JGL is so truthful in his performance and we watch his character take the news, inform his family, andFantastic film! Every performance hits the bullseye! This film deals with such a sensitive topic in a truly amazing way: truth and humor. JGL is so truthful in his performance and we watch his character take the news, inform his family, and deal with the fear, anger, and denial associated with those events. Rogen, as one can imagine, provides non-stop humor and yet, there is an enormous truth with his character as well.......he deals with the stress and grief just like a confused friend probably would. Such a great film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
j30Nov 8, 2011
I absolutely loved this movie. One of my favorites I've seen all year. With the combination of Joseph Gordon Levitt's boyish charm to Seth Rogan's Seth Rogan, it's comedic heaven. It's the type of movie that makes you grateful for what youI absolutely loved this movie. One of my favorites I've seen all year. With the combination of Joseph Gordon Levitt's boyish charm to Seth Rogan's Seth Rogan, it's comedic heaven. It's the type of movie that makes you grateful for what you have and who you share that with. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
destroya1artOct 1, 2011
AMAZING FILM! the cast, story, music, everything was perfect. adam is a guy who gets cancer and the movie is just about how he deals with it! adam is played by joseph gorden levitt and he plays him really well! its so believable. he playedAMAZING FILM! the cast, story, music, everything was perfect. adam is a guy who gets cancer and the movie is just about how he deals with it! adam is played by joseph gorden levitt and he plays him really well! its so believable. he played him perfecty. Kyle is adams friend played by Seth Rogen and he plays him well, i mean hes basically the same guy in every movie although in this movie he has some heart, he may look like the funny, **** type guy who just wants to get laid, but towards the end of the movie, it is shown that hes been reading a cancer book that shows how to help someone out who has it! Anna kendrick plays katty a psychiatrist whos trying to get their doctorate and adam is one of her patients. she is WOW AMAZING!!! shes so Beautiful in this movie shes really the cute girl who tries to help out adam but somehow she cares alot about him and falls for him in a way. and i seriously fell in LOVE WITH HER! Bryce howard plays rachel, adam's girl friend. i don't wanna spoil anything so i'll leave it at that. overall the movie was brilliant. i loved how they took something so serious as "Cancer" and not made it funny but somehow make the story around it funny! The movie was hilarious! and also had some sad moments, it was a NICE movie! people should go watch it! BEAUTIFUL MOVIE!... it definitely makes you think differently about cancer. 10/10 i'll definitely be getting the bluray :) Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
m3xcJul 20, 2012
In a market where the majority of films rely upon superfluous amounts of violence and gore, massage use of sex appeal, shallow and exaggerated melodrama, and an exploitation of CGI, it is always refreshing to come across a diamond in theIn a market where the majority of films rely upon superfluous amounts of violence and gore, massage use of sex appeal, shallow and exaggerated melodrama, and an exploitation of CGI, it is always refreshing to come across a diamond in the rough, so the speak, that shines with a novelty that is memorable and entertaining. Joseph Gordon-Levitt plays a character that discovers he is diagnosed with a formation of a tumor on his spine that is a rare type of cancer. Despite the medical lingo involved in such a situation, the terminology used from the very beginning of the film and then throughout the progression of therapy, there never is a moment where the entertainment value is hindered by such. This is much in part because of the clear nature in which it is presented Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hoops2448Dec 9, 2011
50/50 is one of those films that you either love or hate. If you hate it, you really hate it, you loathe it with a passion because for some reason you find the film offensive. If you are in the love category the film floors you with its50/50 is one of those films that you either love or hate. If you hate it, you really hate it, you loathe it with a passion because for some reason you find the film offensive. If you are in the love category the film floors you with its depiction of a man way too young contracting a deadly disease. As you may have figured out by the score and what I just said, I found 50/50 to be one of the most heart wrenching honest films of the year as it tackled so many themes and issues while infusing the film with a lot of crude yet hilarious comedy.
The fact that the writer went through the same experience definitely helped make the film the way it is but the director clearly understood the delicacy it took to walk the line between drama and comedy. The comedy was well structured into the script and the scenes so that the emotional beats had time to resonate. In fact 50/50 manages to avoid the problem of most comedies in that its last 30 minutes are the best of the film. It doesn't lose focus at any time in the film, it stays on message thanks to a great script, some skillful direction and a touching lead performance by Joseph Gordon-Levitt.

Not only does Levitt prove himself as a skilled performer but the rest of the cast is perfectly cast. There is only one dud performance in the shape of Bryce Dallas Howard's shrill Rachael. Despite that Anna Kendrick acts as a perfect foil for Levitt as his inexperienced therapist as they both try to give such reserved performances but with so much going on under the surface. As always Anjelica Houston brings life to a character that could have easily been a cliche if undertaken by a lesser actress. Rogen to an extent plays his usual character but that is what is required to relieve some of the tension and lighten the mood.
It's a well put together drama that just so happens to be hilarious at times, with one of the best ending all year. While not as good as Beginners it is pretty close to being the best film of 2011.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StonecutterFeb 3, 2012
Loved it!!! Great Great movie!!! The acting was amazing. A great mix of funny and sad moments. Shows how some one can get through cancer treatment a positive way with help and support from friends and family. A must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
OstafOct 22, 2011
This movie made me laugh and cry. Any movie that can do that to a 20 something year old boy must be a great film. So touching and sad and as the tears start to stream down your face you can't help but laugh out loud at the outrageouslyThis movie made me laugh and cry. Any movie that can do that to a 20 something year old boy must be a great film. So touching and sad and as the tears start to stream down your face you can't help but laugh out loud at the outrageously funny parts in this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Tranquilbez22Mar 12, 2013
Never I have I cried and laughed so hard in the same movie! This is an underated masterpiece. Everyone is casted fanatastically. Props to Anjelica Houston for playing the neurodic mother, probably one her best roles ever. Joseph Gordon-Never I have I cried and laughed so hard in the same movie! This is an underated masterpiece. Everyone is casted fanatastically. Props to Anjelica Houston for playing the neurodic mother, probably one her best roles ever. Joseph Gordon- Levitt is extremely likeable and sympathetic as a lead. The plot is typical but still moving. Go and See this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jasper611Nov 22, 2011
Probably the best movie I've seen this year. The story of the movie was amazing and the movie had the perfect balance between drama and comedy and knows perfectly when they have to switch between them. The humor is insanely funny and theProbably the best movie I've seen this year. The story of the movie was amazing and the movie had the perfect balance between drama and comedy and knows perfectly when they have to switch between them. The humor is insanely funny and the emotional moments were REALLY emotional. The acting performances are also really amazing by Joseph Gordon-Levitt and of course Seth Rogen! Conclusion, I loved this film and i will definitely buy it on blu-ray. I'm looking forward to see the movie again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
eloisaperea97Nov 26, 2011
At first I thought this movie was going to be ok and kind of sad but when I actually saw it I was amazed at how sad and touching this movie is. I cried through out the whole movie. I gave this movie a 10 and I would recommend it to every one.At first I thought this movie was going to be ok and kind of sad but when I actually saw it I was amazed at how sad and touching this movie is. I cried through out the whole movie. I gave this movie a 10 and I would recommend it to every one. It was just awesome! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
YeuMaidBrahJan 22, 2012
A Slice of life movie. makes you think about connections with people close to you and death. I wrote a review now because before this movie and after i have connected to it. that's all im willing to say. Just check it out and be open mindedA Slice of life movie. makes you think about connections with people close to you and death. I wrote a review now because before this movie and after i have connected to it. that's all im willing to say. Just check it out and be open minded to the comical stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Businessninja9Jan 24, 2012
This movie was, in my humble opinion, truly fantastic and it's highway robbery that it hasn't received any Oscar nominations. Joseph Gordon Levitt does a beautiful job and Seth Rogan helps to balance the film excellently. The unique approachThis movie was, in my humble opinion, truly fantastic and it's highway robbery that it hasn't received any Oscar nominations. Joseph Gordon Levitt does a beautiful job and Seth Rogan helps to balance the film excellently. The unique approach of comedy-cancer drama may seem shaky at first but brilliant execution save it from any all all possible pitfalls. This film is truly moving and one of the only to have made me cry since Rrokeback mountain. If you haven't already, go and see it. You won't regret it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ps3sucksJan 28, 2012
one of the best movies of 2011 this movie was funny and sad at the same time it was a masterpiece. the people in the movie do use alot of profanity though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Nemo86Jan 29, 2012
As an oncology NURSE, I would like to counter novictim's review and say that I thought this movie did an excellent job showing what some patients experience when dealing with cancer. Also, I don't think Seth Rogan's character is there to makeAs an oncology NURSE, I would like to counter novictim's review and say that I thought this movie did an excellent job showing what some patients experience when dealing with cancer. Also, I don't think Seth Rogan's character is there to make the audience laugh... He is a guy trying to make his FRIEND laugh. He doesn't always succeed because... that's what happens in real life. I could relate to every character in this movie. This movie is so good on so many levels, I'd recommend it to anyone emotionally mature enough to get it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pitcherandyFeb 24, 2012
i dont watch too many movies twice, but i did for this one. more of a drama than a comedy. 9 out of 10. Tied with warhorse for my 2 favorite films of 2011.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EfrainSep 7, 2012
50/50 balances Drama and comedy perfect. I felt the drama of Joseph Gordon-Levitt's character dealing with the cancer. The scenes that are supposed to give me a tearjerker gave it to me. The comedy that Seth Rogen gives are very funny and are50/50 balances Drama and comedy perfect. I felt the drama of Joseph Gordon-Levitt's character dealing with the cancer. The scenes that are supposed to give me a tearjerker gave it to me. The comedy that Seth Rogen gives are very funny and are delivered well. To me the fact that Joseph Gordon-Levitt is in this movie and as the lead role makes it even better. It's a great story, cast, and movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
Everyone is pitch perfect. Levitt delivers compelling and heart wrenching performance, Kendrick is great, and even the parents have specific and well executed roles.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
A remarkably emotional, astonishingly hilarious, life-affirming drama with winsome characters and some truly uplifting thematic messages to share.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tomtom4468Feb 5, 2013
One of the best comedy-drama films I have ever viewed. This is some of Joseph Gordon-Levitt's best acting, and one of the most dramatic films of 2011, I almost cried.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BrianMcCriticMay 2, 2013
Everyone in the cast are at their very best here. To pull off such a great comedy/drama involving something as hard as cancer shows the talent of the acting and directing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bfoore90May 13, 2017
I've always wondered how you can make a comedy with anything involving cancer and doing it while managing not to make someone angry, as someone whose best friend is currently dealing with cancer I found this movie very funny, emotionallyI've always wondered how you can make a comedy with anything involving cancer and doing it while managing not to make someone angry, as someone whose best friend is currently dealing with cancer I found this movie very funny, emotionally flawless and a truly heartfelt film about hope in the face of something as serious as cancer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Meth-dudeMay 17, 2015
In this funny and touching movie every actors are amazing.Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Seth Rogen were absolutely fantastic and the movie in general is fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MattBrady99Mar 13, 2015
I never thought a film like 50/50 that has drama mix with comedy, all about cancer, could be a fantastically well done comedy with a little touch of drama that's been handle so well in this film, because 50/50 is one of the best movies ofI never thought a film like 50/50 that has drama mix with comedy, all about cancer, could be a fantastically well done comedy with a little touch of drama that's been handle so well in this film, because 50/50 is one of the best movies of 2011.

The story to 50/50 is about a young man is diagnosed with a rare form of spinal cancer and decides to fight for his life with the help his friend, mother and a young therapist.

When 50/50 first came out back in 2011 I didn't take much notice on it, as I was only watching movies that I wanted to watch, and let's not forget I was only about 12 years old at that time, and as a brainless 12 year old, I liked Green Lantern and Transformers: Dark of the Moon but skipped this movie, and boy was it the biggest mistake of my life for skipping this movie.

This has to be Joseph Gordon-Levitt best role that he was in, because in this movie he showed anger, sadness and pure happiest with his friend, and Joseph nailed all those three and he carried this movie by his actions and his performance that was nothing short, but spectacular in any way.

Now I'm going to get this out of the way, but I thought Seth Rogen was going to be annoying in this movie, just by the posters and the trailers made it out that he was annoying tool, but my god I was dead wrong about Rogen, because in this movie I saw Seth Rogen giving a serious, but still funny performance, and I'm not kidding you but in this movie he almost made me cry and I never thought that could be possible. His character is supportive, caring and really caring and it's all by the brilliant performance from Seth and the movie groundbreaking writing.

The writing is some of the best written comedy and the most down to earth wring I've seen in a while, and I'm still shocked that this movie didn't get a Oscar Nomination for writing. Man f''k the Oscars.

Now I normally don't do this in my reviews and what I mean is like I don't talk about big dramas or something very serious happening in my life, because it's my life and it's private, but now I have to get something out there and I want you all to know why I think this movie is freaking fantastic, is because one of my family members use to have cancer and that was my mum, while she was going through chemo and surgery. I watched her and supported her and I saw her doing extreme and crazy things that she will never do before, and as a person (Like me) who had to go through something so horrible like that and then watch 50/50 a movie that to me get's anything right and the character's that feel like people not movie character's that's why I think this movie is just flawless and get's it right.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Scout523Jun 20, 2015
Absolutely phenomenal movie and instantly one of my all-time favorites. A movie about a tragic and deadly illness that every family deals with at least once that manages to throw some comic relief (mostly by Seth Rogen's character), but canAbsolutely phenomenal movie and instantly one of my all-time favorites. A movie about a tragic and deadly illness that every family deals with at least once that manages to throw some comic relief (mostly by Seth Rogen's character), but can also pull on the heart strings. Seth Rogen and Joseph Gordon-Levitt should've gotten more attention, in my honest opinion. At least an Oscar nod for one of them, or even maybe a win, possibly? Joseph Gordon-Levitt is a unique actor who only gets roles in movies in which he is going to exceed in. Just look at his filmography: Looper, Inception, the Nolan Batman movies, Don Jon, 50/50, 500 Days of Summer, and, coming this fall, The Walk. All positively-received films that won many awards and got numerous nominations. Now, Seth Rogen is one of the greatest comedic actors out there currently. Here's some of his filmography: The Interview, 50/50, Superbad, This is the End, Pineapple Express, and Neighbors. All well-received films that have built Rogen a reputation that I don't think even he can ruin. Bryce Dallas Howard and Anna Kendrick may not have as many well-known and well-received films on their resume, but both were superb in this movie, even though Anna Kendrick's character can get a little awkward at times. My only gripe with this movie is that Levitt's and Kendrick's characters' relationship was kinda predictable from early on. Other than that, this film is absolutely phenomenal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
whitFeb 13, 2012
Much better than I had expected. I passed on seeing this in the theater because it just seemed a little too depressing, but this was a great story that was also surprisingly funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
yogibbearDec 31, 2011
In one word: wow.
But that's not enough, so I'll put it this way: this is exactly what it is like dealing with a serious medical issue and it was both hilarious and heartfelt and rings extremely true with anyone else that has had to deal
In one word: wow.
But that's not enough, so I'll put it this way: this is exactly what it is like dealing with a serious medical issue and it was both hilarious and heartfelt and rings extremely true with anyone else that has had to deal with anything remotely similar to this. Even if you haven't, or you don't no anyone that has it still is a an excellent movie that has a genuine plot and point to make. Go see it, basically anyone could find something to like about this movie. People that are easily offended by heavy coarse language jokes may need to stay clear though as it might be too off-putting but that was always a given with Seth Rogen cast in the movie so if you walk away thinking it's bad because the dialogue didn't fit your dinner table conversation nicely then you're clearly missing out on a great film and it's your loss.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews