Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jan 30, 2013
    100
    It is a mystery, this business of life. I can't think of any under cinematic undertaking that allows us to realize that more deeply.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jan 30, 2013
    100
    56 Up feels like the most hopeful film of them all - amusing, entertaining, and touching.
  3. Reviewed by: Stan Hall
    Jan 24, 2013
    100
    Every profile is fascinating, but certain ones stand out.
  4. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jan 4, 2013
    100
    56 Up is as good a point as any to get hooked on the magnificent half-century series of documentaries, beginning in 1964 with "7 Up."
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jan 3, 2013
    100
    It shows that life is what happens when you're busy making other plans. And how, in case we forget, every age can predict the next.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jan 4, 2013
    91
    What gives the series its force is not just its universality but also its particularity. These grown-ups may be Everyman, but they are also singular.
  7. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Mar 28, 2013
    90
    What makes 56 Up, like the “Up” films before it, so remarkable is how it puts these stories together, giving us an ensemble of characters as interesting as any in a scripted drama.
  8. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Feb 8, 2013
    88
    The attitude of many “UP” fans hovers between voyeurism and concern, between cherishing these people as distant friends and as extensions of ourselves. They’re canaries in the coal mine of human existence.
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Feb 18, 2013
    9
    This film is both good entertainment as well as a brief study in human development and how this small group of British 7 year olds faired for 56 years. There's a huge range from the lives of the wealthy and priviledged to those struggling with misfortunes and tragic beginnings. It's also an insightful commentary on various aspects of society the past forty years. Full Review »
  2. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    You may be familiar with this series from before, but I must say I am pleasantly surprised at how it has changed. It is clearer in picture and sound (that is to say, the archival footage seems improved), and better edited than in previous incarnations. So if you thought you saw enough at '35 Up' or '42 Up', it is less of a slog now. Though it is hard to be comprehensive about these life stories in short gulps every seven years, still it is fascinating and the sheer images of styles and settings thru the years is rewarding in its own way too. As a cursory summary for the participants, I must say that the people seem more satisfied and relaxed than before, and there is a level of happiness that just doesn't exist in the United States as far as I have encountered. I don't know if that has to do with the British lifestyle, or benefits the government has provided, or other cultural factors... but there seems to be a general feeling of gratitude with what life has brought them and very little sense of disaster or regret. Full Review »
  3. Jan 18, 2013
    8
    i love this series, had the chance to attend the nyc with michael apted. i learnt the following: the uk release is legally only TV, there are soviet, USA and european versions of UP -evidently not as good-, apted takes into account feedback from his docu-subjects, evidently they have grown together (in every possible sense). the series is the best longitudinal sociological study ever and a good entertainment piece: perfection. Full Review »