8MM

User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 148 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 148
  2. Negative: 95 out of 148
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 22, 2012
    7
    The thing I like most about 8mm is the fact that they can take what should have been an generic movie and make it into something worth watching. Despite the acting being rather generic and the plot being insanely straight forward, 8mm was enjoyable to watch.
  2. Feb 23, 2013
    7
    This is one of the darkest, grittiest, and scariest films I have ever seen. The reason? It's simple, this could actually happen! This probably has happened before! Tom Welles (Nicholas Cage) is hired by an elderly woman who finds a snuff film among her late husband's possessions. She wants to know if it's real and if it is wants to pay the family for her husband's mistakes. TheThis is one of the darkest, grittiest, and scariest films I have ever seen. The reason? It's simple, this could actually happen! This probably has happened before! Tom Welles (Nicholas Cage) is hired by an elderly woman who finds a snuff film among her late husband's possessions. She wants to know if it's real and if it is wants to pay the family for her husband's mistakes. The investigation takes Welles down a deep dark road that few travel and even less know about. The story is just so dark and creepy that some of you might actually be freaked out by it! Cage is amazing as always, leading a terrific cast, that includes Joaquin Phoenix and Tony Soprano himself, James Gandolfini. It's a very strong story that will chill you to the bone. It's defiantly not for everyone, but it was right up my alley! Expand
  3. Jan 9, 2011
    8
    What a good psycho thriller..kept me entertained throughout. Pretty crazy scenes that make you think...this really happened out there! He goes deep into underground territory on this one..love the plot and explains it well and does its job to keep you entertained.
  4. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    I loved this movie because of the dark nature of the film and what it depicts. It shows the struggle between the evil and good of man and one of the darker sides of our humanity.
  5. MarkS.
    Jan 4, 2004
    10
    Seems like some people don't like it when film makers hold up a mirror to society. Unflinching, tremendously powerful and a wonderful soundtrack to boot.
  6. Vee
    Oct 3, 2004
    10
    In an era when various teen-slasher trash comedies get labeled as 'horror' movies, something as scary and as disturbing as 8MM is called simply a 'thriller' - miscategorisation if there ever was one. this film was meant to scare people and it fulfills its task admirably.
  7. CWalker
    Aug 28, 2005
    8
    A very intense and captivating psychological thriller. Often, films like this get lambasted when the subject matter is stronger than critics anticipate. Exploitative? Sure it is, but it's no B-movie. There's tense action, good acting, and some decent cinematography here. It just happens to be about snuff porn. Check your moral indignation at the door before renting.
  8. Calimero
    May 19, 2006
    8
    This film should not be in this list!It´s pretty good and scares the .... out of me!
Metascore
19

Overwhelming dislike - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 10 out of 20
  1. Voyeuristically wallows in the sadistic violence it professes to deplore. What hypocrisy!
  2. 0
    Almost as degrading as any unmarked video you can buy in the back alleys of Manila, and, in its pseudo-significance and arty pretension, it's a lot less honest. I'm heartily sorry I had to poison an entire evening with it.
  3. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    40
    The moral contortions of 8MM seem especially bogus, a sadomasochistic peep show booth pretending to be a confessional.