8MM

8MM Image
Metascore
19

Overwhelming dislike - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 171 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: Tom Welles (Cage) is a family man with a modest home-based private investigation business living a simple life in Pennsylvania -- until a reel of crudely shot eight millimeter film sends him down a gritty and frightening path into society's darkest corners. (Sony)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 10 out of 20
  1. This is not a movie for the squeamish, by any means. But for those who like their thrillers dark and their heroes a bit more complicated and flawed than the average shoot-without-a-blink type so prevalent in today's movies, 8MM fills the bill.
  2. USA Today
    Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    63
    The two m's in 8MM could stand for "messy melodrama." [26 February 1999, Life, p.5E]
  3. I can't say I warmed to the results, but I was solidly held for the film's two hours.
  4. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    30
    A movie that keeps jumping the gate and finally unravels all over the floor.
  5. In the uncertain zone between dumb and truly twisted lies 8MM, a movie that will baffle and disgust you in one disconcerting experience.
  6. 0
    A nasty piece of work, and it's nasty in a particularly ostentatious and sophomoric way.
  7. Voyeuristically wallows in the sadistic violence it professes to deplore. What hypocrisy!

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    I loved this movie because of the dark nature of the film and what it depicts. It shows the struggle between the evil and good of man and oneI loved this movie because of the dark nature of the film and what it depicts. It shows the struggle between the evil and good of man and one of the darker sides of our humanity. Expand
  2. May 11, 2016
    9
    ........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................ Hey People!!!!

    Okey!!!! The Movie Don't Reached the Thriller, the Gore, And the Focus in Phonography, That we Want, and the End is yes very Dull, But the film continue be very Good, don't deserved so much Negative Reviews, And have great Performances instead the people say Cage,Phoenix,Stormare and the womans did a great job!!!!
    Expand
  3. Jan 9, 2011
    8
    What a good psycho thriller..kept me entertained throughout. Pretty crazy scenes that make you think...this really happened out there! He goesWhat a good psycho thriller..kept me entertained throughout. Pretty crazy scenes that make you think...this really happened out there! He goes deep into underground territory on this one..love the plot and explains it well and does its job to keep you entertained. Collapse
  4. Feb 23, 2013
    7
    This is one of the darkest, grittiest, and scariest films I have ever seen. The reason? It's simple, this could actually happen! ThisThis is one of the darkest, grittiest, and scariest films I have ever seen. The reason? It's simple, this could actually happen! This probably has happened before! Tom Welles (Nicholas Cage) is hired by an elderly woman who finds a snuff film among her late husband's possessions. She wants to know if it's real and if it is wants to pay the family for her husband's mistakes. The investigation takes Welles down a deep dark road that few travel and even less know about. The story is just so dark and creepy that some of you might actually be freaked out by it! Cage is amazing as always, leading a terrific cast, that includes Joaquin Phoenix and Tony Soprano himself, James Gandolfini. It's a very strong story that will chill you to the bone. It's defiantly not for everyone, but it was right up my alley! Expand
  5. Oct 4, 2011
    6
    Joel Schumacher really doesn't show anything significant or prominent throughout "8MM". Everything's grotesque and lacks the profound airJoel Schumacher really doesn't show anything significant or prominent throughout "8MM". Everything's grotesque and lacks the profound air Nicholas Cage tries to present. However I admit that the film certainly did not deserve a 1.9 out of 10; its still entertaining or manageable in a way. Expand
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    6
    8mm has a very good story, it manages suspense properly enough, I don't agree that it shows too much gore, I think that it shows enough of it8mm has a very good story, it manages suspense properly enough, I don't agree that it shows too much gore, I think that it shows enough of it to probe the film's idea. It's not the best Cage's movie but it's an average suspense movie. Expand
  7. Dec 13, 2014
    2
    Director Joel Schumacher directed "Batman and Robin" so it doesn't come as a surprise that this movie was going to fail miserably. The endDirector Joel Schumacher directed "Batman and Robin" so it doesn't come as a surprise that this movie was going to fail miserably. The end result is sadistic violence and a great lack of mystery and suspense. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Director Joel Schumacher: All Films Considered

    Director Joel Schumacher: All Films Considered Image
    Published: August 5, 2010
    A new Joel Schumacher film is always cause for celebration -- if you happen to like bad movies. We look back at the "Twelve" director's worst (and, yes, best) films from a career spanning three decades.
  2. Nicolas Cage: All Films Considered

    Nicolas Cage: All Films Considered Image
    Published: July 12, 2010
    The inimitable star of this week's "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" has been one of Hollywood's most prolific actors over the past three decades, for better and worse. We look in detail at 15 of Cage's movies, including the highs and lows.
  3. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  6. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.