Metascore
19

Overwhelming dislike - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: Tom Welles (Cage) is a family man with a modest home-based private investigation business living a simple life in Pennsylvania -- until a reel of crudely shot eight millimeter film sends him down a gritty and frightening path into society's darkest corners. (Sony)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 10 out of 20
  1. 75
    It is a real film. Not a slick exploitation exercise with all the trappings of depravity but none of the consequences.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    63
    The two m's in 8MM could stand for "messy melodrama." [26 February 1999, Life, p.5E]
  3. I can't say I warmed to the results, but I was solidly held for the film's two hours.
  4. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    30
    A movie that keeps jumping the gate and finally unravels all over the floor.
  5. Voyeuristically wallows in the sadistic violence it professes to deplore. What hypocrisy!

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 6 out of 18
  1. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    I loved this movie because of the dark nature of the film and what it depicts. It shows the struggle between the evil and good of man and one of the darker sides of our humanity. Expand
  2. Calimero
    May 19, 2006
    8
    This film should not be in this list!It´s pretty good and scares the .... out of me!
  3. Jan 9, 2011
    8
    What a good psycho thriller..kept me entertained throughout. Pretty crazy scenes that make you think...this really happened out there! He goes deep into underground territory on this one..love the plot and explains it well and does its job to keep you entertained. Expand
  4. Invincible
    Nov 4, 2006
    6
    Nice movie... a new concept! everyone may not like this one... but good to watch a movie like this!!!
  5. Oct 4, 2011
    6
    Joel Schumacher really doesn't show anything significant or prominent throughout "8MM". Everything's grotesque and lacks the profound air Nicholas Cage tries to present. However I admit that the film certainly did not deserve a 1.9 out of 10; its still entertaining or manageable in a way. Expand
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    6
    8mm has a very good story, it manages suspense properly enough, I don't agree that it shows too much gore, I think that it shows enough of it to probe the film's idea. It's not the best Cage's movie but it's an average suspense movie. Expand
  7. Sep 7, 2014
    0
    Nicholas Cage's worst movie hands down, the movie is too dark and graphic.
    ***************************************************************************
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Director Joel Schumacher: All Films Considered

    Director Joel Schumacher: All Films Considered Image
    Published: August 5, 2010
    A new Joel Schumacher film is always cause for celebration -- if you happen to like bad movies. We look back at the "Twelve" director's worst (and, yes, best) films from a career spanning three decades.
  2. Nicolas Cage: All Films Considered

    Nicolas Cage: All Films Considered Image
    Published: July 12, 2010
    The inimitable star of this week's "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" has been one of Hollywood's most prolific actors over the past three decades, for better and worse. We look in detail at 15 of Cage's movies, including the highs and lows.