9

Focus Features | Release Date: September 9, 2009
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 247 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
166
Mixed:
56
Negative:
25
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
kublay0880Dec 10, 2012
It was very nice animation, the characters were average nothing special, and a story that came out of nowhere, this last part might be the best part of the movie, an original story but predictable at the same time.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
AMovieCriticSep 17, 2009
Very interesting visuals and music, and 1 or 2 touching moments can't save 9, which unfortunately features a storyline that feels like it was penned in about 5 minutes. The movie becomes a string of action scenes with every line Very interesting visuals and music, and 1 or 2 touching moments can't save 9, which unfortunately features a storyline that feels like it was penned in about 5 minutes. The movie becomes a string of action scenes with every line sounding like it was written for the movie poster. The problem is that we can't have *suspense* if we don't care about the characters, and the characters here are so one-note and under-developed that it's impossible to really care much about their journey. At only 79 minutes long, the movie certainly had time to build a more substantial plot or add some layers to its characters, but it all just feels rushed. Not good, not bad, just mediocre. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
RyanMSep 23, 2009
Shane Acker's first experiment is very good in outcome, but it has so many obvious flaws. 9 is visually impressive, probably one of the most visually impressive movies this year. The story of the movie is extremely familiar, and in a Shane Acker's first experiment is very good in outcome, but it has so many obvious flaws. 9 is visually impressive, probably one of the most visually impressive movies this year. The story of the movie is extremely familiar, and in a bad way. But as I said, the animation is amazing, and it certainly makes up for a lot that the film failed at. 9 is about a scientist who creates 9 small rag-doll creatures called Stitch Punks. And they have to save the world from evil mechanical beasts and ladeedadeeeda.......OK. Where do I start? This plot was pretty bad. It is original, but the theme is incredibly bland, and doesn't quite strike you as good, like District 9 or UP's respective themes. I give the story a 30%. Although it has a bad plot, 9 has some beautiful action scenes. These scenes were intense, hauntingly beautiful, and all around incredible. The only complaint about the action is, why so short? Yes, that is right. These action scenes are like most action scenes in movies. Short. But ever so good. I give the action a 70%. Possibly the brightest spot in 9 is the beautiful animation. And it is gorgeous, the detail is incredible. The characters.....look amazing! Every robot villain, every stitch-punk, and every landscape is just amazing! I think the design earns a rather generous 80%. 9 is produced by Tim Burton, which sure jerked a few heads. I mean, why wouldn't it? Its Tim Burton! But being that, he doesn't really get creative with this movie. The creatures are all Acker's, thank god. And so is the messed up story and characters. Characters. I haven't talked about them yet. Well, to tell you the truth, the story is so short, the characters never develop, and you never really get to know these characters that could be so complex and great. They all die pretty fast, which is another defect. The characters get a 50%. I have followed 9 from the moment the trailer premiered in theaters attached to Coraline. And I thought maybe, I would love it. And I was mostly disappointing of 9, but the animation wowed me. I say, rent 9. Its really not worth seeing in theaters, but a simple rent should do it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
juliankleissMar 26, 2011
The movie shows a post-apocalyptic/post-human place after the last of the humans has died in a war against their own machines. The film criticizes the abuse of science for the development of warfare - in this case especially artificialThe movie shows a post-apocalyptic/post-human place after the last of the humans has died in a war against their own machines. The film criticizes the abuse of science for the development of warfare - in this case especially artificial intelligence and biological warfare. Eventually, after our self-destruction, the forces of nature will wash away all the dirt we left behind. However, now that we are still here it is on us to keep our planet livable and beautiful. "9" has an intelligent story, an okay screenplay, and some beautiful moments. It is worth watching but loses some of its magic after the first viewing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
XavierBlaqJan 10, 2014
I have to give 9 credit for having me great heart at its core, but I refuse to give it credit for much else. The voice acting, though better than terrible, was not convincing enough to make me truly care about the characters. Worse still, theI have to give 9 credit for having me great heart at its core, but I refuse to give it credit for much else. The voice acting, though better than terrible, was not convincing enough to make me truly care about the characters. Worse still, the characters, in particular 9, are of the type that good voice acting is needed in order to bring in sympathy for them. Therefore, the tragic and ultimately bittersweet story was touching only so much as its actual plot. However, this plot, despite its terrible pacing, is the movie's only saving grace, and the only reason I will not say it is not worth watching. Honestly though, if you are a fan of Tim Burton-style animation (Corpse Bride, The Nightmare Before Christmas), the visuals will probably be worth it by themselves, since they are quite impressive. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
HyperSSep 30, 2009
Seemingly a story created simply to facilitate an elaborate set of action scenes and pleasure the 3D modeler's and special effects guru's working on the film. But what about the spectator? After the film I was left with, "What was Seemingly a story created simply to facilitate an elaborate set of action scenes and pleasure the 3D modeler's and special effects guru's working on the film. But what about the spectator? After the film I was left with, "What was the entire point of the whole movie?" There really was none...they tried to make a sappy feelgood ending with the final monologue, but I just wasn't feeling it because it didn't make any sense nor were we ever given a reason to care. How did the robots die in the first place? We don't know. How do we know there aren't more? We don't know. From what we saw these potato sacks created their own drama when there was none and then had to destroy it for nothing more than saving the other potato sacks they were responsible for killing in the first place. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
JudyTSep 14, 2009
This movie is too scary for kids and too uninteresting for adults. It has great visuals and animation but suffers from what most recent hollywood movies suffer from- bad writing. All the good writers have gone to TV, maybe hollywood should This movie is too scary for kids and too uninteresting for adults. It has great visuals and animation but suffers from what most recent hollywood movies suffer from- bad writing. All the good writers have gone to TV, maybe hollywood should go look there. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
DeVr33zAug 11, 2010
Dull story and soulless characters. Decent animation. This is a film that doesn't know if it wants to be a children's movie or a dark, adult mystery, so it chooses to be neither, and that is its biggest failing.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
JasonD.Sep 9, 2009
9 is packed with amazing visuals; the character designs and art direction were perfect. The story, however, feels compromised. What's most disappointing is that it's almost there-- it could have been just a little darker, the tone 9 is packed with amazing visuals; the character designs and art direction were perfect. The story, however, feels compromised. What's most disappointing is that it's almost there-- it could have been just a little darker, the tone more serious, the ending more somber. But these things were sacrificed to make a more kid-friendly movie with a "nice" Hollywood ending, and we are left with only a glimpse of what could have been. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
lizKOct 2, 2009
I found this movie very dark...could have been a better movie with a bit more hope. I found a few images offensive/bit harsh for by 7 year old. There is a scene where you see dead(cartoon animation) mother holding child.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MaxWDec 22, 2009
The only reason that i watched this is because it was produced by Tim Burton, and thought it would be at least OK, it to be honest feels like a Disney channel mediocre movie. it at the beginning it was pretty good, because of the dark The only reason that i watched this is because it was produced by Tim Burton, and thought it would be at least OK, it to be honest feels like a Disney channel mediocre movie. it at the beginning it was pretty good, because of the dark elements but after that it was pretty much like moldy pie don't buy this unless your a Tim Burton Diehard fan. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
BenjaminHSep 15, 2009
The animation was impressive, but it was a hard sell to make me care about any of the characters in such a done-to-death plot. Ultimately there was no character development, aside from one of the dolls deciding to follow the young, The animation was impressive, but it was a hard sell to make me care about any of the characters in such a done-to-death plot. Ultimately there was no character development, aside from one of the dolls deciding to follow the young, individualist 9 instead of the old, dogmatic 1. (I can't recall if 1 ever really changed his outlook at all, so I'll admit that if he did, I simply didn't catch onto it enough to remember.) After about an hour of grinding through the dark, gloomy story, my group in the theater gave up and resorted to a popcorn fight, so... Take that for what you will about us or about the movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
TheQuietGamerMar 9, 2011
A huge disappointment the trailers made it look better than it actually was, it turned out to be a boring mess with lame characters, the good things are that it was unique and could have been a good horror movie, but I still can't recommend it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
MrRiggsJan 9, 2011
I dont know whats wrong with this movie. At first watch I thought it was cool but the voices just ruin it for me. I love how they make the movies like this but the characters just didnt do it for me, thought the movie was just boring and II dont know whats wrong with this movie. At first watch I thought it was cool but the voices just ruin it for me. I love how they make the movies like this but the characters just didnt do it for me, thought the movie was just boring and I love animation type movies but maybe this one just feel off the radar for me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
BroyaxJan 8, 2017
Etrange film d'animation avec ses petites créatures rigolotes plongées dans un monde post-apocalyptique où seuls les restes (ou presque) d'une guerre infernale ont survécu, c'est-à-dire les décombres...

Cette histoire à la Skynet qui a mis
Etrange film d'animation avec ses petites créatures rigolotes plongées dans un monde post-apocalyptique où seuls les restes (ou presque) d'une guerre infernale ont survécu, c'est-à-dire les décombres...

Cette histoire à la Skynet qui a mis la zone dans un environnement très steampunk n'est néanmoins pas très originale et les aspects poétiques (surtout vers la fin) voire carrément candides participent à ce bizarre mélange des genres, quelque chose d'aigre-doux à l'écriture un brin bordélique qui ne convainc décidément pas. Un peu trop sombre pour les mioches, trop neuneu pour les adultes en somme.

La réalisation est de bonne facture et on ne s'ennuie pas... mais rien à faire, j'aime pas la boustifaille aigre-douce qui bouffe à tous les râteliers.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
BryanKSep 12, 2009
9 is by far one of the weakest films of this year. The plot of this film involves a scientist who designs a robotic machine which creates multiple robot war machines which kills off humanity. The same scientist puts his soul into nine robots 9 is by far one of the weakest films of this year. The plot of this film involves a scientist who designs a robotic machine which creates multiple robot war machines which kills off humanity. The same scientist puts his soul into nine robots who all come together. With its plot this film has an intresting plot and has the characters. The film's most shocking moment is rather subtle in which the eighth robot sits on a dismembered human hand which is rather scary in its design. However this only briefly helps the film. The film's most difficult problem is it starts at a fast pace and only slows down by the thirty-five minute mark. By around one hour into the film the main enemy robot is killed in a false moment and when it appears the films over the machine awakens in a sequence in which the song "Somewhere over the Rainbow" is playing over one of the robots running from the machine. This scene is both effective and ridiculous in it's design. The characters are divided into several types, heroic, greedy, and cowardly, which makes the film somewhat evolve. I Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Sep 11, 2009
Give them pants; give them genitalia, these nine dog chew toys who were specially created to save the world. Via an electronic transmission from the pre-recorded dead, 9(voiced by Elijah Wood) learns from the agnate that he and his Give them pants; give them genitalia, these nine dog chew toys who were specially created to save the world. Via an electronic transmission from the pre-recorded dead, 9(voiced by Elijah Wood) learns from the agnate that he and his predecessors are "the future", but a future hinges on their ability to multiply. Similar to the Smurfs, a lone female walks among the dog chew toys; she's the instrument by which the scientist can carry out his plan for posterity. Without giving these otherworldly creations the means to reproduce, however, throws a monkey wrench into the moviegoer's conjecture, and makes the visionary scientist seems less visionary.(Or rather, the rationale of the screenplay is seriously flawed.) Peyo gave the Smurfs pants; they were packin', which made Smurfette's gender, of consequence. Clocking in under eighty minutes, the filmmaker didn't have enough time to properly address the division of sexes, only doing so briefly in a scene where 9 brushes 7's hand off her cloth "skin". If the dog chew toys were given pants, the scientist's plan for future generations could be hinted at, without mucking up its PG-13 rating. His soliloquy about the future seems nonsensical if the numbers are finite. Because they're depicted as asexual beings, the moviegoer may overlook 7's decision to fight "the beast" as being a reckless one. It's of paramount importance that she stays alive. The absence of man, or anything organic within the torched landscapes, suggest she's the planet's last hope for renewal. Comparisons to "The Terminator" movies are obvious, but less obvious is the film's similarity to the dead world of "Cars", where artificial intelligence runs rampant without human interference. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NathanH.Sep 14, 2009
The beginning of this movie had me interested. The characters and the world are top-notch and very well designed. The machines in the film are a huge let down though. They are ideas that have been done a thousand times before(with the The beginning of this movie had me interested. The characters and the world are top-notch and very well designed. The machines in the film are a huge let down though. They are ideas that have been done a thousand times before(with the exception of one near the end of the film). The characters start out strong, but are never developed more than they start out to be. The action is well done and the best aspect of the film surprisingly. The ending(imo) was just stupid. I'd say wait for DVD and Blu-ray and then rent it. I expected a bit more than what I got. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NickBOct 16, 2009
If you've seen the trailer (which you probably have) then you've already seen literally every good moment in the movie. It is a very good movie but the trailer ruined it. Pretty awesome trailer though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JTDec 12, 2009
Visually, this movie is a masterpiece. As for good storytelling, this movie falls flat on it's face. If the creators had taken the time to build stronger, more interesting characters, this movie would have been stellar. Sadly, it is not.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
EvinCSep 11, 2009
The film was definitely rushed. The story seems very capable of having better potential. potential that wasn't reached. very nice and peaceful ending. Instead of 6. I give it a 6 1/2.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GarrettT.Sep 12, 2009
Perhaps if 9 didn't try it's best to get to the ending as soon as possible, leaving out major to minor details, it would have been one of the best movies this year. The graphics are nice, and the action is thrilling, but Perhaps if 9 didn't try it's best to get to the ending as soon as possible, leaving out major to minor details, it would have been one of the best movies this year. The graphics are nice, and the action is thrilling, but that's really all this movie has to offer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
StephenScottSep 3, 2010
A stellar voice cast, and a truly amazing piece of work to look at. 9 portrays and incredibly bleak and desolate world through almost 'little big planet' PS3 game style sack people and their unfolding story.
Some truly horrific looking
A stellar voice cast, and a truly amazing piece of work to look at. 9 portrays and incredibly bleak and desolate world through almost 'little big planet' PS3 game style sack people and their unfolding story.
Some truly horrific looking elements appear through the movie, adding the Tim Burton goth like stamp over it (he co-produced it). Sadly the story weakens half way through, but remains a great looking film until the end. The screen we saw this on was not the best and fairly small, and I'd imagine this would be pretty amazing in high definition.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RumblebeeloveNov 26, 2010
The film may look good, but it plays out like cut scenes to a video game. The voice acting is decent, but it isn't really key to our plot, which is pretty thread bare. See this for the visuals, not for the content.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SpangleJun 24, 2016
9 is an absolute mess of a film. Expanded from a short, 9 appears to have run out of ideas on how to expand on its original length and just tosses in filler. The end result is a poorly paced, poorly edited, and wholly disjointed mess of a9 is an absolute mess of a film. Expanded from a short, 9 appears to have run out of ideas on how to expand on its original length and just tosses in filler. The end result is a poorly paced, poorly edited, and wholly disjointed mess of a film from beginning to end. The character development is poor at best and the film does an awful job of world building. All of this said though, the original premise is very good and the film does have its moments of brilliance. The animation is fantastic, as is the general look and feel of the film. I do wish 9 turned out better and the foundation is certainly there, but the film just lacks general cohesion and scenes just smash into one another. However, I did enjoy it a bit in spite of these faults and I do wish the film turned out better from any aspect aside from visuals and animation. Sadly, this is not the case and instead, 9 brings interesting visuals and an interesting postapocalyptic premise, yet falls apart when it runs out of ideas after the 20th minute. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MovieGuysDec 28, 2014
9 is one of those throwaway kid's movies that the kids never want to watch; it ends up being shown on a small TV in hospital ER's because they need some "entertainment" in there. The story, characters, and animation are all lacking; other9 is one of those throwaway kid's movies that the kids never want to watch; it ends up being shown on a small TV in hospital ER's because they need some "entertainment" in there. The story, characters, and animation are all lacking; other similar movies trump "9" any day. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
EpicLadySpongeApr 4, 2016
9 is a 9 flipped upside down. 9 doesn't bring anything interesting, but it did bought us a nice story to look at over and over again. Looking for and at 9 and how you'll love 9 depends on your taste in opinions.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews