9

Focus Features | Release Date: September 9, 2009
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 244 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
163
Mixed:
56
Negative:
25
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
mrcriticSep 25, 2010
The only reason I watched this movie in the first place was because of Tim Burton, and I'm being nice by saying it was horrible. One of the worst movies ever.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
NerijusDOct 9, 2009
Amazing animation and effects, no story whatsoever.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
-=e=-Sep 13, 2009
This movie, while visually stunning, had a thread-bare plot that has been done so many times that it's hard to find something new to be excited about. If only more time was spent on the script, character development and plot this would This movie, while visually stunning, had a thread-bare plot that has been done so many times that it's hard to find something new to be excited about. If only more time was spent on the script, character development and plot this would have been a rare film. As it stands its a beautiful but retarded child of Terminator and the Matrix. A sad waste of money and talent. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
GabeSep 19, 2009
Boring on every level. Horribly written and bland.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
troyVSep 10, 2009
I think this is a bad movie becouse Ive seen the picture and I dont like it. It just dosent fit the name. Im going to e-mail the director and teel him that I would like to see more picture of movies that I like, not that I dislike: Period.
0 of 6 users found this helpful
3
SLynnSep 14, 2009
Disappointing for a movie billed with Tim Burton's name. It's apparent that's all they paid him for. I'd like to say the plot was interesting, but it wasn't. I guess the lesson is: if all humans are dead, who is left Disappointing for a movie billed with Tim Burton's name. It's apparent that's all they paid him for. I'd like to say the plot was interesting, but it wasn't. I guess the lesson is: if all humans are dead, who is left to care about a bunch of dolls? Also, this was not a movie for little kids. It's not just the fairly horrific scenes of dead bodies, but also the post apocalyptic theme that is fairly hard to grasp the ramifications of, even for an adult. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
AlexYJan 1, 2010
This movie scrapes out a 2 for its impressive visuals. Otherwise, Tim Burton should be ashamed. The plot twists and dialogue were so utterly predictable and hokey that I couldn't help but blurt snide comments at every possible This movie scrapes out a 2 for its impressive visuals. Otherwise, Tim Burton should be ashamed. The plot twists and dialogue were so utterly predictable and hokey that I couldn't help but blurt snide comments at every possible opportunity (of which there were many). My friends and I laughed all the way home after being subjected to this utter disappointment. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
AnonymousMCSep 11, 2009
My vote is not for the movie itself, but for the review I read on msn.com. Note to critics: when reviewing a movie directed at teens (as noted in your own review) don't use words that they have never seen. This is a MOVIE REVIEW not aMy vote is not for the movie itself, but for the review I read on msn.com. Note to critics: when reviewing a movie directed at teens (as noted in your own review) don't use words that they have never seen. This is a MOVIE REVIEW not a literary exercise to display your vast knowledge of the english language. In fact, stop it altogether! I'm sure you lose 90% of your audience after the 1 paragraph. If you actually reivewed the movie instead of trying to show how much better you are than the people reading your review, it might be worht something. Why do you think that people FLOCK to movies that are beat up by so-called critics? It's because 90% of all movie reviews are worthless piles of pigeon feces flung from the heavens by the literary avians... Come on man, stop writing crap, and write an actual review, stop trying to interpret what you are seeing! Just review what was there, how was the plot? How were the special effects? How long was it? Stop trying to write an essay on how movie X compares to the cinematic greats, and stop pretending like you know where the movie gets it's inspiration from, WE DON'T CARE! Please review the movie instead of trying to convince me that I'm an idiot an idiot because I might want to actually go see it. In fact, just stop altogether. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
SeanGSep 15, 2009
Great animation, but the plot is an incomprehensible mess. I really wanted to like this movie, but there are too many things about the story that were just . . . well, just dumb and ill thought out.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JayBSep 9, 2009
Only 9? I could have counted 100 cliches in this movie. I would have given this a zero if it weren't for the spectacular fight scenes. Plot, story, dialogue were a mere obstacle, almost a nuisance.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
KennyNov 4, 2009
Entertaining film but fallidisimo script. An animated film where you have endless adventures carried just fine, with a post-apocalyptic aesthetic that gets you into position quickly but which is sunk to the depths as the plot comes into Entertaining film but fallidisimo script. An animated film where you have endless adventures carried just fine, with a post-apocalyptic aesthetic that gets you into position quickly but which is sunk to the depths as the plot comes into play. A dash of absurdity aqui te pillo aqui te mato, with a horrible end, where there is no catch it. As I said, entertaining action scenes with a dash painful. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JessicaSep 11, 2009
I have not personally seen the movie but I would rate any animated movie or movie targeting children as a 0 if it is pg-13 in the first place. This era of animated adult movies is confusing to my children and I do not forsee us seeing thisI have not personally seen the movie but I would rate any animated movie or movie targeting children as a 0 if it is pg-13 in the first place. This era of animated adult movies is confusing to my children and I do not forsee us seeing this movie because it looks too dark for a child to see. Sorry if this offends but this is after all just my opinion of the movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
kevinbSep 21, 2009
Boring. Repetitive animation, much of which makes little sense. We are to believe that a rag doll with a small razor can de-capitate a machine?? Pretty much a bore.
0 of 1 users found this helpful