User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 324 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 324
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. R.Lopez
    Jan 14, 2009
    10
    A beautiful mind is a truly amazing and beautiful film, and one of the best films that I have ever seen. A beautiful mind tells the story of John Forbes Nash Jr.( portrayed with uncanny brilliance by Russell Crow) A brilliant mathematician and code breaker who's genius is crippled by mental instability and only his devoted wife and friends can help him trough his times of trouble as A beautiful mind is a truly amazing and beautiful film, and one of the best films that I have ever seen. A beautiful mind tells the story of John Forbes Nash Jr.( portrayed with uncanny brilliance by Russell Crow) A brilliant mathematician and code breaker who's genius is crippled by mental instability and only his devoted wife and friends can help him trough his times of trouble as he looks for the answers in his own life, A beautiful mind is one of the best biography films I've seen yet. It's an amazing portrayal of courage and strength that will show everyone that just because your lost doesn't mean you can't be found. I very highly recommend this amazing film. Expand
  2. GustavoH.R.
    Jan 17, 2006
    8
    This conventional yet wonderful biopic is both haunting and heart-warming at the same time. Director Ron Howard conducts the plot with such a compelling sensitivity that will have most people drying up the tears on their faces while watching it. There are surprising plot twists, beautiful imagery and many touching moments. A solid, competent film that deserved every Academy Award it This conventional yet wonderful biopic is both haunting and heart-warming at the same time. Director Ron Howard conducts the plot with such a compelling sensitivity that will have most people drying up the tears on their faces while watching it. There are surprising plot twists, beautiful imagery and many touching moments. A solid, competent film that deserved every Academy Award it received. Highly recommended for those who enjoy moving, dramatic motion pictures. Expand
  3. Raegan
    Oct 7, 2003
    10
    I definitely rate this movie as a 10. I know a person with schizophrenia and it is a difficult disease to deal with. Crowe portrayed this character with great detail and with great mannerisms. I cried my eyes out watching how this man had to deal with everyday life. Every day was a constant struggle for him. This movie is one of the best movies I have seen and I would definitely recommend I definitely rate this movie as a 10. I know a person with schizophrenia and it is a difficult disease to deal with. Crowe portrayed this character with great detail and with great mannerisms. I cried my eyes out watching how this man had to deal with everyday life. Every day was a constant struggle for him. This movie is one of the best movies I have seen and I would definitely recommend it to others. Expand
  4. MiN.
    Mar 4, 2006
    10
    Whenever Crowe is in a movie... everyone sparkles! What an inspiration. The other actors (Connelly so good) are certainly very good too, but Crowe is beyond ekstraordinary good! Fantastic!!! Love this story also. About ackward people, who are seldom wanted in our 'normal life', but we can't and must not live without them. Who can make them hero's other than prizes and Whenever Crowe is in a movie... everyone sparkles! What an inspiration. The other actors (Connelly so good) are certainly very good too, but Crowe is beyond ekstraordinary good! Fantastic!!! Love this story also. About ackward people, who are seldom wanted in our 'normal life', but we can't and must not live without them. Who can make them hero's other than prizes and sometimes a beautiful movie. Expand
  5. Mar 4, 2011
    8
    A very good movie but can be a little to heavy. Slow paced but worth watching.
  6. RichardB.
    Mar 8, 2002
    9
    Ignore the talk of Academy Award nominations and whos better than who...this is genuinely a good film. The people who are dissing the movie obviously have some intense dislike for Crowe and Howard - a film / performance should be judged in isolation, not tainted by previous efforts. I saw the film with no preconceptions and loved it immensely. I have not seen a film which deals with this Ignore the talk of Academy Award nominations and whos better than who...this is genuinely a good film. The people who are dissing the movie obviously have some intense dislike for Crowe and Howard - a film / performance should be judged in isolation, not tainted by previous efforts. I saw the film with no preconceptions and loved it immensely. I have not seen a film which deals with this subject which puts you inside the mind of the afflicted so effectively. I was completely taken in by the story and was genuinely taken aback when the truth was revealed. Watch this movie! Expand
  7. Aug 23, 2010
    8
    Maths genius, big career ahead of him, goes to work for the government or maybe he doesn't, schizophrenia, Nobel Peace Prize.
    Ron Howard's brilliant film about John Nash with a great performance by Russell Crowe & also a very good & strong supporting cast.
    The whole schizophrenia thing is done very well to the point where you really feel for the main character.
  8. Oct 30, 2010
    9
    Great film!!! Crowe is awesome, he plays a genius and mentally sick man with bold and fine brushes. His decent into the dark side is wonderfully subtle and you forget that he's Russell Crowe and an Australian to boot. A true Brando of his generation. This film will not disappoint you, it might leave you a little blue, no heal clicking when you leave, but a true window into mental heathGreat film!!! Crowe is awesome, he plays a genius and mentally sick man with bold and fine brushes. His decent into the dark side is wonderfully subtle and you forget that he's Russell Crowe and an Australian to boot. A true Brando of his generation. This film will not disappoint you, it might leave you a little blue, no heal clicking when you leave, but a true window into mental heath and the fight to overcome its obstacles. Expand
  9. Feb 22, 2011
    8
    A great cast and a superb script help the story of Nash's troubled mind become an exhilarating and mesmerising experience that will be hard to forget. First class!
  10. Apr 12, 2014
    9
    Directed by Ron Howard A Beautiful Mind is based loosely on the biography of mathematician John Forbes Nash (Crowe). The film follows the eccentric Nash from his time at Princeton, struggling to think of an original idea that will get him noticed, through to his code cracking work at MIT but everything is not quite as it seems.

    A Beautiful Mind leaves out many of the more unsavoury
    Directed by Ron Howard A Beautiful Mind is based loosely on the biography of mathematician John Forbes Nash (Crowe). The film follows the eccentric Nash from his time at Princeton, struggling to think of an original idea that will get him noticed, through to his code cracking work at MIT but everything is not quite as it seems.

    A Beautiful Mind leaves out many of the more unsavoury aspects of Nashs life choosing to focus on his battle to save his career and marriage whilst suffering from severe schizophrenia. Russell Crowe is as fantastic as ever in the lead role and Jennifer Connelly deservedly won an Oscar for her portrayal of Nash’s long suffering partner Alicia. Both help to provide a subtle yet compelling look at one mans struggle to have his genius seen above his debilitating mental illness making for a truly moving film.
    Expand
  11. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    What can you say? Amazing film. For me, however, it doesn't deserve the 10 points because after the first two thirds of the film it kind of lost me. Yet, it's well directed and Crowe shows amazing acting.
  12. Tony
    Jan 2, 2002
    8
    This film is well done. It presents Nash's delusions and hallucinations in an incredibly believable way. Crowe, whom I have never enjoyed much as an actor and who caused me to cringe by winning the Oscar last year, delivers a wonderful performance. The only problem is the script. It sugarcoats reality. Nash was not as sweet as he is made out to be and the "magic of love" premise of This film is well done. It presents Nash's delusions and hallucinations in an incredibly believable way. Crowe, whom I have never enjoyed much as an actor and who caused me to cringe by winning the Oscar last year, delivers a wonderful performance. The only problem is the script. It sugarcoats reality. Nash was not as sweet as he is made out to be and the "magic of love" premise of the film is a departure from the true story. The film is good but would have been better with a faithful adaptation of the biography and the life of Nash. As it is, it resembles a delusion more than what was real. But a good delusion. Expand
  13. MichaelC.
    Apr 8, 2002
    10
    It is hard to make a movie about mathematics interesting. I mean, I can barely sit through a math class without getting bored out of my skin. This movie is about mathematics and numbers, and it has a man I?ve never heard of in the lead character. A Beautiful Mind really had nothing going for it. But this movie surprised me a lot. I was thrilled to find out this was one brilliant film, and It is hard to make a movie about mathematics interesting. I mean, I can barely sit through a math class without getting bored out of my skin. This movie is about mathematics and numbers, and it has a man I?ve never heard of in the lead character. A Beautiful Mind really had nothing going for it. But this movie surprised me a lot. I was thrilled to find out this was one brilliant film, and one that is surely going to knock the critics? socks off. I wasn?t that interested in the film at the beginning. But as I discovered as the film went on, this is one of those movies where the boring start is essential so the movie makes sense at the end. When I watch it next time I?ll remember to look closer in the first few scenes. I think this?ll be one of those films where you notice something different each time. This is one of the few examples of performances driving an entire film. Russell Crowe is the head and shoulders of this film and his performance is indescribable. I can?t exactly find the right word to pinpoint how brilliant he was in this film. All I can say is that he became John Nash, and delivered a career-best, and by far one of the best leading male performances of the last 20 years or more. Jennifer Connelly is superior to all the supporting actresses of 2001 and will get applause in bucketloads. It?s about time she did too, the actress has been around for a few years and has never seemed to get that much recognition for her work. Ed Harris is also good, and his plot twists are shocking. Christopher Plummer is the wise-old-man of the movie (for a little while anyway) and provides much subtlety to the heart of the film. As do Connelly and Crowe, who have one of those rare chemistries and sparks on screen?it was wonderful to see them act together. The direction by Ron Howard was incredible. As I was saying before, it is extremely hard to make an interesting film about a boring mathematician, but under Howard?s impeccable direction and outstanding effort, the movie works on many different levels. As it turned out, this movie is not just about a mathematician and his numbers, its about hallucinations, schizophrenia, friends, socialising, and love overcoming all of these obstacles. To write a screenplay that includes all of these things and does it in a beautiful way, ask no other man but Akiva Goldsman. He used to write silly drivel of films but the man is turning into a potential genius of the writing industry! He adapts this engrossing material with enthusiasm for making his characters 3-dimensional and I learnt a lot about the world in general in general from this film, its messages came across loud and clear, and with style. And all this is coming from the guy who wrote "Practical Magic," "Lost in Space" and "Batman & Robin." Whew! Really shows you how a guy can improve his writing skills, huh? The score and music for the film is deeply affecting to the film?s atmosphere. The score is very reminiscent of "Titanic," with the same sadness, the same great use of a choir, and the same rightly chosen instruments to display the film?s messages and morals. The song "All Love Can Be" was very touching. James Horner is the man! This movie will hopefully be nominated, and maybe even win, a few Oscars this year. All I know is it deserves it as it by far the best overall drama I?ve seen in 2001. Amazing performances, incredible writing, great direction, awesome music, stunning makeup effects (wow, Russell Crowe looks 50 years older!), neat camera tricks, good sounds and moods?all of this combined make this an inspirational piece for people who like films, and more importantly, love, and life. My rating for A Beautiful Mind is A+ or 10/10. Expand
  14. BarbaraA.
    Jan 2, 2002
    10
    The best I have ever seen.
  15. PatB.
    May 1, 2002
    8
    As I walked into this movie I thought it was going to be another encredibly boring film that critics like because it could be a shread different from other films wich doen't make it better. Instead it had an amazing plot and interesting twists and for Russel Crowe's performance it just proves that all good actors come from Australia.
  16. EricS.
    Aug 10, 2002
    9
    A good choice for Best Picture (although my vote went to "Monster's Ball"). Russell Crowe brilliantly evokes the spirit of a man whose genius was put on trial by schizophrenia. "Beautiful Mind" is topped off by a brilliant score by James Newton Howard, and for viewers not knowledgable about John Nash's plight, contains a mind-boggling plot twist--that, while, manipulative, does A good choice for Best Picture (although my vote went to "Monster's Ball"). Russell Crowe brilliantly evokes the spirit of a man whose genius was put on trial by schizophrenia. "Beautiful Mind" is topped off by a brilliant score by James Newton Howard, and for viewers not knowledgable about John Nash's plight, contains a mind-boggling plot twist--that, while, manipulative, does so to bring viewers closer to it's characters. One of the year's ten best. Expand
  17. ZachP.
    Aug 28, 2002
    7
    Sure, it's sad and based on real peple, but Beautiful it is not. The twists are fun, but Crowe is no Denzel Washington, and this could not have been the best of the last year.
  18. AkhilK.
    Jul 10, 2004
    9
    Beatuiful filmed and wonderfully performed by Russel Crowe, Paul Bettany and Ed Harris. Although I thought Jennifer Connelly was there for there for the "woman" effect. Excellent nonetheless.
  19. NovinG.
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    It's sweet as hell. Russel Crowe is the man.
  20. MarceloV.
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    This movie is about the power of love, i think no body really get it, more satisfactory than a beautiful mind is finding a beautilful love.
  21. HamidM.
    Jul 17, 2006
    10
    This movie is modern classic - extremely well put together. For metacritic to attract only a 72, alongside slash and beat movies, shows that this place is frequented by the wrong crowds. Something is broken with metacritic to give this a 72, IMO.
  22. [Anonymous]
    Dec 30, 2001
    10
    Excellent movie about devotion, fear, love, strength. Thought provoking. After you've seen it, think about your own illusions v. realities and determining which is which.
  23. EdM.
    Jan 12, 2002
    8
    The movie kinda struggled the first 40 minutes, but it's all tied together. R.crowe did a supperb job. He's the front runner for another Oscar. Good film, well worth the price of admission.
  24. DennisL.
    Jan 13, 2002
    9
    It was pretty good--after a rocky start, it became really engrossing, with a tug at the heart that wasn't mush--simply touching. Good going, Russell & Ron.
  25. SimpsonS.
    Jan 2, 2002
    10
    An amazing movie. Simply put - you walk away from the movie with a smile.
  26. M.Carey
    Feb 16, 2002
    7
    Russell Crowe's sensitive portrayal of a brilliant man whose life is consumed by the madness of schizophrenia was stellar. This debilitating mental disorder seemed to ooze from every pore of his body. It was fascinating to behold. Still, something was lacking in this film. I left the theater feeling unfulfilled. First, I wish the movie had revealed more about the character's Russell Crowe's sensitive portrayal of a brilliant man whose life is consumed by the madness of schizophrenia was stellar. This debilitating mental disorder seemed to ooze from every pore of his body. It was fascinating to behold. Still, something was lacking in this film. I left the theater feeling unfulfilled. First, I wish the movie had revealed more about the character's "beautiful mind." Not enough attention was devoted to his genius. There was probably a lot of revealing detail left behind on the editing floor. Second, Crowe was too old to depict a young student at Princeton University (what is he now -- 40 something?). As he "aged" in the film, he was far more convincing. The compact "Hollywood ending" was a big disappointment. It ruined the movie in my opinion; thus, I would not see it again. Best actor? yes; best film? no. Expand
  27. JanineS.
    Feb 9, 2002
    10
    Wonderful movie with superior perfomances by Crowe and Connelly.
  28. MarcK.
    Mar 3, 2002
    10
    The best film of 2001. I definitely agree with Richard Schickel...this film was mainstream moviemaking at its highest, most satisfying level. Crowe and Connelly both deserve Oscars.
  29. Nikki
    Jul 11, 2002
    7
    It was good..i mean okay i guess. It definitely did not deserve THAT many Oscars!
  30. PaulinaG.
    Jul 22, 2002
    9
    This is a must! It is intelligent and makes us feel and see what the mind of the character. The kind a movie you see once, think a lot about it and then see it another time.
  31. BangkokDave
    Jul 29, 2002
    9
    Yes, Ron Howard shamefully white-washed John Nash's life - but the film still told a great story. And yes, Russel Crowe is an a..hole - but he still did a stupendous job in the starring role. He deserved the Oscar without question - and as everyone knows, only politics prevented him from getting it.
  32. YoonMinC.
    Oct 14, 2003
    8
    The first third of the film is intriguing, the momentum keeps building, and the shocking revelation about Nash's illness is genuinely unsettling in the same vein as the similar scene in The Shining. Rest of the movie falls under conventions of schlock, concentrating on the power of love to heal; but it's effective schlock, well-written and nicely performed by everyone, The first third of the film is intriguing, the momentum keeps building, and the shocking revelation about Nash's illness is genuinely unsettling in the same vein as the similar scene in The Shining. Rest of the movie falls under conventions of schlock, concentrating on the power of love to heal; but it's effective schlock, well-written and nicely performed by everyone, especially by the lovely Connelly who really knows how to radiate her startling beauty, and the message, though a cliche among cliches, isn't necessarily false. In this sense, one can say Beautiful Mind is like a great umpteenth pop song above love; boy-meets-girl theme is yet again reinvigorated. Crowe does a creditable job of portraying the range of Nash's eccentricities, from his delusional arrogance to his insecure loneliness, and it's far more satisfactory than a one-note gimmick performance of, say, Hoffman in Rain Man. Ron Howard doesn't overreach which is good. He understands that it's nearly impossible to convey genius to lay people--99.9% of us--and though the movie seems to be relying on one of the lamest stereotypes of genius--the mad scientist(in this case, mathematician)--Crowe's sensitive performance restrains Nash from veering off into looney freak show territory. Coulda been better, shoulda been better, but hardly anything to be ashamed about. Expand
  33. T.K.
    Apr 26, 2003
    8
    A fairly good movie, but not a film that I would watch more than 2 or 3 times. Crowe was good, but not award-worthy. He simply just made the character believable. Connelley's performance deserved the Oscar and Ed Harris also did a good job. The twists worked quite well too. All in all, a good movie, but not something I would crown a "Best Picture" to.
  34. TerryA.
    Oct 13, 2006
    10
    I personally think that this is one of Ron Howard
  35. KimM.
    Mar 4, 2006
    10
    This is only a split second of the life of John Nash, and I can only try to imagine how his life has been for him, and for his family. But the movie did its finest work there. It might not tell the hole truth, but it is what you want to tell the viewers, that is important here, a hint about a very special life of a genious.
  36. FranzF.
    Aug 12, 2006
    10
    Best film ever. invidual. awsome.
  37. ZoranD
    Sep 13, 2009
    8
    The hidden point would be the following. Nesh has mathematically proved that socialism is a better system then capitalism. But I believe Nesh himself was not aware of that. He was a genius, but for mathematics, not for social sciences. Because of this essential prove he made, he came into a strong CIA and FBI focus as a serious threat for American system. It is a terrible shame what they The hidden point would be the following. Nesh has mathematically proved that socialism is a better system then capitalism. But I believe Nesh himself was not aware of that. He was a genius, but for mathematics, not for social sciences. Because of this essential prove he made, he came into a strong CIA and FBI focus as a serious threat for American system. It is a terrible shame what they did to him (giving him "top-secret tasks", following him to see if he has contacts with USSR, and finally taking him into mental intuition. (would a normal society take its famous scientist into a mad-house during his lectures to a distinguished audience given in a distinguished place?). Nesh has always been a true patriot, but nevertheless CIA/FBI doubted him and made him really suffer. Think about this while watching the film again and again, and try to disprove the point made here. Expand
  38. ChadS.
    Dec 26, 2001
    9
    Put aside your petty (but warranted) prejudices against Ron Howard and allow yourself to love this film. Forget the "Grinch." Forget "EdTv." Forget the liberties taken with the source material. And you will feel something.
  39. ReubenD.
    Dec 29, 2001
    10
    Works on every level. Fine writing and directing. Clean, mature, adult filmaking. You have to be moved. See it!!
  40. Kirsten
    Dec 31, 2001
    9
    Yes, there is some shameless heart-tugging in this movie, but it's worth it. As Chad S. says, just give in to the movie--you can't possibly not be moved and inspired.
  41. JeremyMarks-Peltz
    Nov 14, 2002
    9
    The way a biopic should be made with balanced attention on the strengths and weaknessess of the main character while not sensalitionizing the disease.
  42. RodT.
    Feb 14, 2002
    8
    Great Film. I'd put it in the top 5.
  43. SteveM.
    May 12, 2002
    7
    This movie beat out Lord of the Rings!!!
  44. RosieK.
    Jun 29, 2002
    8
    This film is very sentimental and a provokative story of a young mathematician. The actors are great, but some points are portrayed poorly.
  45. Steven
    Jun 21, 2006
    10
    72? Some of these critics honestly don't know shit, this is one of the most powerful, captivating and interesting drama movies you can see, the acting and the story is very involving, the movies soundtrack is just bliss, I could watch this film over and over and over, by the way Ed Harris is great in this film, its true.
  46. RyanM.
    Dec 26, 2001
    10
    Last year when Russell Crowe won the Academy Award for best actor (for Gladiator) I was ashamed at the academy. He didn?t deserve it, anybody could have played that role just fine. Now, Crowe really deserves it. He plays the crazy mathematic genius John Nash Jr. It?s the dazzling saga through his paranoia and mental illnesses. Jennifer Connelly gives the best performance of her career as Last year when Russell Crowe won the Academy Award for best actor (for Gladiator) I was ashamed at the academy. He didn?t deserve it, anybody could have played that role just fine. Now, Crowe really deserves it. He plays the crazy mathematic genius John Nash Jr. It?s the dazzling saga through his paranoia and mental illnesses. Jennifer Connelly gives the best performance of her career as John?s loving wife. Ron Howard gives some of the most beautiful direction of the year, and he has a great chance of topping my list of best directors of the year. And back to Crowe, he also has a chance of topping my list of actors for the year, he has to hold up for one week of me seeing movies, and if he does it?ll be my first best actor acknowledgement with an actor that won the academy award the year before. I think this film really deserves something, it really does. It?s first a drama, then a romance, then a twist-turn thriller that will keep you guessing, and then?it finishes off as all three put together. Expand
  47. Lynn
    Dec 26, 2001
    9
    Several movies in one, with a "Sixth Sense"-like progression. Gives great insight to what paranoid schizophrenia must feel like.
  48. Dec 18, 2010
    7
    Bravo performance by Crowe.. yet again. Nicely directed and interesting storyline. Much better than average movie and one you will watch again every so often on TV - true test of a good movie imo lol.
  49. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    it's a classic. i love the story. i usually don't like Russell, but in this movie is great. the movie shows the fight with a particular disease. the society is usually rejecting these kind of people.
  50. Jan 7, 2011
    10
    This was truly a moving movie due to some superb acting. Crowe is so spot on with his character that at times it is almost frightening. Jennifer Connelly and Ed Harris are also wonderful (Harris being a blatant Oscar snub). A great supporting cast and score. To all the people who hated it because not everything was accurate: IT WAS A MOVIE IT DOESN'T NEED TO BE 100% ACCURATE!!!!!!
  51. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    A Beautiful Mind is a very touching movie. The way the plot develops,with subtle hints to the twist constantly popping up, is very well constructed and acted. A lot of reviewers say that the acting isn't great, and the plot drivel, but, I honestly believe, aside from the fact it is Hollywood writing all over, it works. It is good. I have never been so moved by a film in my life, and asA Beautiful Mind is a very touching movie. The way the plot develops,with subtle hints to the twist constantly popping up, is very well constructed and acted. A lot of reviewers say that the acting isn't great, and the plot drivel, but, I honestly believe, aside from the fact it is Hollywood writing all over, it works. It is good. I have never been so moved by a film in my life, and as incorrect some facts may be, if you take it as it is, and ignore some inaccuracy's, it's a great film. I should really have rated 9, but as I said, it's the most moving film I've watched. Expand
  52. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    The Idea of this film was so brilliant, so spectacular, so amazing, i just can't stop qualifying this film in the best ways possible. Russell Crowe (I still think he was better then Denzel Washington, but that's just my opinion) & Jennifer Connelly tear the whole film down, they were fantastic, 2 of the best performances that I ever saw. This is without a doubt Ron Howard masterpiece.
  53. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    A nice film, has all the generic things you'd expect so something for everyone. But perhaps that's the problem as well. I expected it to be much more focused on the theory and academic aspect rather than the more personal side. Overall it's a decent movie but you won't learn anything from it. I think the pacing of the film as well as the journey of the main character is very well presentedA nice film, has all the generic things you'd expect so something for everyone. But perhaps that's the problem as well. I expected it to be much more focused on the theory and academic aspect rather than the more personal side. Overall it's a decent movie but you won't learn anything from it. I think the pacing of the film as well as the journey of the main character is very well presented and the general quality of acting is pretty good. It's engaging and definitely worth watching. Expand
  54. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    This film is absolutely stunning. I have been a great fan of Russell Crowe for a long time now, and when I heard what this was about, I had mixed feelings. It wasn't even close to the things I would usually watch. But when I sat down to see it, I was truly amazed. The acting done by all the cast is just great and so believable. And the fact it was based on a true story just blew me away,This film is absolutely stunning. I have been a great fan of Russell Crowe for a long time now, and when I heard what this was about, I had mixed feelings. It wasn't even close to the things I would usually watch. But when I sat down to see it, I was truly amazed. The acting done by all the cast is just great and so believable. And the fact it was based on a true story just blew me away, as I only found that out after I had seen it. Even thinking it was just made up, it left me in tears at the end, and I wouldn't usually get sad with films. I strongly urge all who reads this to watch this film. Expand
  55. Aug 27, 2014
    8
    There are quite a few geniuses floating around this one. John Nash himself, Russell Crowe as John Nash and Ron Howard for conducting this brilliant look at the mind and intelligence.
  56. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    This was by far wonderful movie. Not only did it give the reality of the 'sane' characters, but it gave a reality to a schizophrenic so that you don't even know he is one until half way through the movie. A success in every way. More movies should be this bold.
  57. Dec 6, 2014
    8
    As a whole, A Beautiful Mind is a good film that is overshadowed by the performance of its lead actor. Yes, Jennifer Connelly, Ed Harris, and Paul Bettany, are all great here and in general, but holy cow does Russell Crowe stand tall. Truly a masterful performance from Crowe, his performance makes the film, though the film itself is certainly interesting. Ron Howard's direction isAs a whole, A Beautiful Mind is a good film that is overshadowed by the performance of its lead actor. Yes, Jennifer Connelly, Ed Harris, and Paul Bettany, are all great here and in general, but holy cow does Russell Crowe stand tall. Truly a masterful performance from Crowe, his performance makes the film, though the film itself is certainly interesting. Ron Howard's direction is typically strong here and he does a good job telling the story of famed mathematician John Nash. However, where this film is most strong in terms of story is in its telling of Nash's struggle with schizophrenia. In a way, it really opens your eyes as to how it is to live with schizophrenia and suffering through the delusions associated with it. In a sense, this is one of the better films on mental disease ever made as it paints a very real, distressing, and disturbing portrait, all of which make you appreciate the genius of Nash all the more. Expand
  58. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    A Beautiful Mind is an outstanding cinematic achievement. On one hand, that is because of truly Oscar-worthy filmmaking in every possible aspect, but on the other, graver hand, this is due to it introducing a mass audience to mental disorders. As all but an expert on this topic, I'm in no position to assess whether the film is realistic and respectful to actual patients, but bringingA Beautiful Mind is an outstanding cinematic achievement. On one hand, that is because of truly Oscar-worthy filmmaking in every possible aspect, but on the other, graver hand, this is due to it introducing a mass audience to mental disorders. As all but an expert on this topic, I'm in no position to assess whether the film is realistic and respectful to actual patients, but bringing people closer to the minds of schizophrenics and other mentally ill by making a star-studded Hollywood film out of their perspective is rating praise already. Ron Howard realized a great mixture of drama, romance, action, and humour with A Beautiful Mind, something many directors attempt to do nowadays, clearly resulting from the award-winning prospect it brings along, but only very few succeed in. Story-wise, the film is immensely entertaining, touching, and just as beautiful as its title suggests. Another major merit of the four-time Oscar winner is its lead actor Russell Crowe, going from heroic action star in Gladiator to socially awkward genius in just two years. Thus, A Beautiful Mind is a more than deserving Best Picture winner at the Oscars and a film worth watching more than once. Expand
  59. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    i'ts great i dont know why the critic's are bad with this movie.
  60. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    I've seen some movies about peoples life. I've never seen any movie which showed how a intelligence feels like. Russell Crowe nails the role of Prof. John Nash. This movie made me to curse myself of not having any interest in math. Never before the numbers and mathematical genius attracted me. This movie has one of the best emotion filled scene in the movie history.
  61. Jun 23, 2015
    8
    Russell Crowe really shows his real talent making this film. He is one of the best actors I have ever seen. The movie is incredible. Very emotional with a beautiful story, and some really unexpected twists that I simply couldn't believe. The character development here is very deep, and the main story will really get under your skin.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. Howard, and the screenwriter, Akiva Goldsman, have used the book as nothing more than their jumping-off point for an erratic work of fiction that's part mystery thriller and part Hollywood schmaltz.
  2. Instead of an originally conceived movie that reflects Nash's troubled but brilliant mind, we have one of those formulaically rendered Important Subject movies -- the kind that seem exclusively designed for Best Picture nominations.
  3. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    80
    As Nash gets closer to Crowe's own age (and level of dissipation), the performance settles down and becomes first credible and then overwhelming. This is a stupendous piece of acting.