Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 21, 2001
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 340 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
296
Mixed:
30
Negative:
14
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
R.LopezJan 14, 2009
A beautiful mind is a truly amazing and beautiful film, and one of the best films that I have ever seen. A beautiful mind tells the story of John Forbes Nash Jr.( portrayed with uncanny brilliance by Russell Crow) A brilliant mathematician A beautiful mind is a truly amazing and beautiful film, and one of the best films that I have ever seen. A beautiful mind tells the story of John Forbes Nash Jr.( portrayed with uncanny brilliance by Russell Crow) A brilliant mathematician and code breaker who's genius is crippled by mental instability and only his devoted wife and friends can help him trough his times of trouble as he looks for the answers in his own life, A beautiful mind is one of the best biography films I've seen yet. It's an amazing portrayal of courage and strength that will show everyone that just because your lost doesn't mean you can't be found. I very highly recommend this amazing film. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
8
GustavoH.R.Jan 17, 2006
This conventional yet wonderful biopic is both haunting and heart-warming at the same time. Director Ron Howard conducts the plot with such a compelling sensitivity that will have most people drying up the tears on their faces while watching This conventional yet wonderful biopic is both haunting and heart-warming at the same time. Director Ron Howard conducts the plot with such a compelling sensitivity that will have most people drying up the tears on their faces while watching it. There are surprising plot twists, beautiful imagery and many touching moments. A solid, competent film that deserved every Academy Award it received. Highly recommended for those who enjoy moving, dramatic motion pictures. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MiN.Mar 4, 2006
Whenever Crowe is in a movie... everyone sparkles! What an inspiration. The other actors (Connelly so good) are certainly very good too, but Crowe is beyond ekstraordinary good! Fantastic!!! Love this story also. About ackward people, who Whenever Crowe is in a movie... everyone sparkles! What an inspiration. The other actors (Connelly so good) are certainly very good too, but Crowe is beyond ekstraordinary good! Fantastic!!! Love this story also. About ackward people, who are seldom wanted in our 'normal life', but we can't and must not live without them. Who can make them hero's other than prizes and sometimes a beautiful movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TargetF209Feb 22, 2011
A great cast and a superb script help the story of Nash's troubled mind become an exhilarating and mesmerising experience that will be hard to forget. First class!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
CritiqueGirlMar 4, 2011
A very good movie but can be a little to heavy. Slow paced but worth watching.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
ERG1008Aug 23, 2010
Maths genius, big career ahead of him, goes to work for the government or maybe he doesn't, schizophrenia, Nobel Peace Prize.
Ron Howard's brilliant film about John Nash with a great performance by Russell Crowe & also a very good & strong
Maths genius, big career ahead of him, goes to work for the government or maybe he doesn't, schizophrenia, Nobel Peace Prize.
Ron Howard's brilliant film about John Nash with a great performance by Russell Crowe & also a very good & strong supporting cast.
The whole schizophrenia thing is done very well to the point where you really feel for the main character.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
WithnailOct 30, 2010
Great film!!! Crowe is awesome, he plays a genius and mentally sick man with bold and fine brushes. His decent into the dark side is wonderfully subtle and you forget that he's Russell Crowe and an Australian to boot. A true Brando of hisGreat film!!! Crowe is awesome, he plays a genius and mentally sick man with bold and fine brushes. His decent into the dark side is wonderfully subtle and you forget that he's Russell Crowe and an Australian to boot. A true Brando of his generation. This film will not disappoint you, it might leave you a little blue, no heal clicking when you leave, but a true window into mental heath and the fight to overcome its obstacles. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
drlowdonApr 12, 2014
Directed by Ron Howard A Beautiful Mind is based loosely on the biography of mathematician John Forbes Nash (Crowe). The film follows the eccentric Nash from his time at Princeton, struggling to think of an original idea that will get himDirected by Ron Howard A Beautiful Mind is based loosely on the biography of mathematician John Forbes Nash (Crowe). The film follows the eccentric Nash from his time at Princeton, struggling to think of an original idea that will get him noticed, through to his code cracking work at MIT but everything is not quite as it seems.

A Beautiful Mind leaves out many of the more unsavoury aspects of Nashs life choosing to focus on his battle to save his career and marriage whilst suffering from severe schizophrenia. Russell Crowe is as fantastic as ever in the lead role and Jennifer Connelly deservedly won an Oscar for her portrayal of Nash’s long suffering partner Alicia. Both help to provide a subtle yet compelling look at one mans struggle to have his genius seen above his debilitating mental illness making for a truly moving film.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ZiggyStardustJul 3, 2011
What can you say? Amazing film. For me, however, it doesn't deserve the 10 points because after the first two thirds of the film it kind of lost me. Yet, it's well directed and Crowe shows amazing acting.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
NovinG.Dec 7, 2005
It's sweet as hell. Russel Crowe is the man.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarceloV.Jan 3, 2006
This movie is about the power of love, i think no body really get it, more satisfactory than a beautiful mind is finding a beautilful love.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HamidM.Jul 17, 2006
This movie is modern classic - extremely well put together. For metacritic to attract only a 72, alongside slash and beat movies, shows that this place is frequented by the wrong crowds. Something is broken with metacritic to give this a 72, IMO.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TerryA.Oct 13, 2006
I personally think that this is one of Ron Howard
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KimM.Mar 4, 2006
This is only a split second of the life of John Nash, and I can only try to imagine how his life has been for him, and for his family. But the movie did its finest work there. It might not tell the hole truth, but it is what you want to tell This is only a split second of the life of John Nash, and I can only try to imagine how his life has been for him, and for his family. But the movie did its finest work there. It might not tell the hole truth, but it is what you want to tell the viewers, that is important here, a hint about a very special life of a genious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FranzF.Aug 12, 2006
Best film ever. invidual. awsome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ZoranDSep 13, 2009
The hidden point would be the following. Nesh has mathematically proved that socialism is a better system then capitalism. But I believe Nesh himself was not aware of that. He was a genius, but for mathematics, not for social sciences. The hidden point would be the following. Nesh has mathematically proved that socialism is a better system then capitalism. But I believe Nesh himself was not aware of that. He was a genius, but for mathematics, not for social sciences. Because of this essential prove he made, he came into a strong CIA and FBI focus as a serious threat for American system. It is a terrible shame what they did to him (giving him "top-secret tasks", following him to see if he has contacts with USSR, and finally taking him into mental intuition. (would a normal society take its famous scientist into a mad-house during his lectures to a distinguished audience given in a distinguished place?). Nesh has always been a true patriot, but nevertheless CIA/FBI doubted him and made him really suffer. Think about this while watching the film again and again, and try to disprove the point made here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenJun 21, 2006
72? Some of these critics honestly don't know shit, this is one of the most powerful, captivating and interesting drama movies you can see, the acting and the story is very involving, the movies soundtrack is just bliss, I could watch 72? Some of these critics honestly don't know shit, this is one of the most powerful, captivating and interesting drama movies you can see, the acting and the story is very involving, the movies soundtrack is just bliss, I could watch this film over and over and over, by the way Ed Harris is great in this film, its true. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
pgmarkDec 18, 2010
Bravo performance by Crowe.. yet again. Nicely directed and interesting storyline. Much better than average movie and one you will watch again every so often on TV - true test of a good movie imo lol.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ovi_bzJan 5, 2011
it's a classic. i love the story. i usually don't like Russell, but in this movie is great. the movie shows the fight with a particular disease. the society is usually rejecting these kind of people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ALangdonJan 7, 2011
This was truly a moving movie due to some superb acting. Crowe is so spot on with his character that at times it is almost frightening. Jennifer Connelly and Ed Harris are also wonderful (Harris being a blatant Oscar snub). A greatThis was truly a moving movie due to some superb acting. Crowe is so spot on with his character that at times it is almost frightening. Jennifer Connelly and Ed Harris are also wonderful (Harris being a blatant Oscar snub). A great supporting cast and score. To all the people who hated it because not everything was accurate: IT WAS A MOVIE IT DOESN'T NEED TO BE 100% ACCURATE!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MJaquesAug 26, 2011
A Beautiful Mind is a very touching movie. The way the plot develops,with subtle hints to the twist constantly popping up, is very well constructed and acted. A lot of reviewers say that the acting isn't great, and the plot drivel, but, IA Beautiful Mind is a very touching movie. The way the plot develops,with subtle hints to the twist constantly popping up, is very well constructed and acted. A lot of reviewers say that the acting isn't great, and the plot drivel, but, I honestly believe, aside from the fact it is Hollywood writing all over, it works. It is good. I have never been so moved by a film in my life, and as incorrect some facts may be, if you take it as it is, and ignore some inaccuracy's, it's a great film. I should really have rated 9, but as I said, it's the most moving film I've watched. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FIlmsareawesomeAug 31, 2011
The Idea of this film was so brilliant, so spectacular, so amazing, i just can't stop qualifying this film in the best ways possible. Russell Crowe (I still think he was better then Denzel Washington, but that's just my opinion) & JenniferThe Idea of this film was so brilliant, so spectacular, so amazing, i just can't stop qualifying this film in the best ways possible. Russell Crowe (I still think he was better then Denzel Washington, but that's just my opinion) & Jennifer Connelly tear the whole film down, they were fantastic, 2 of the best performances that I ever saw. This is without a doubt Ron Howard masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sinadoomNov 19, 2013
A nice film, has all the generic things you'd expect so something for everyone. But perhaps that's the problem as well. I expected it to be much more focused on the theory and academic aspect rather than the more personal side. Overall it's aA nice film, has all the generic things you'd expect so something for everyone. But perhaps that's the problem as well. I expected it to be much more focused on the theory and academic aspect rather than the more personal side. Overall it's a decent movie but you won't learn anything from it. I think the pacing of the film as well as the journey of the main character is very well presented and the general quality of acting is pretty good. It's engaging and definitely worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WarrionJan 22, 2012
This film is absolutely stunning. I have been a great fan of Russell Crowe for a long time now, and when I heard what this was about, I had mixed feelings. It wasn't even close to the things I would usually watch. But when I sat down to seeThis film is absolutely stunning. I have been a great fan of Russell Crowe for a long time now, and when I heard what this was about, I had mixed feelings. It wasn't even close to the things I would usually watch. But when I sat down to see it, I was truly amazed. The acting done by all the cast is just great and so believable. And the fact it was based on a true story just blew me away, as I only found that out after I had seen it. Even thinking it was just made up, it left me in tears at the end, and I wouldn't usually get sad with films. I strongly urge all who reads this to watch this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
There are quite a few geniuses floating around this one. John Nash himself, Russell Crowe as John Nash and Ron Howard for conducting this brilliant look at the mind and intelligence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
agleekMar 27, 2012
This was by far wonderful movie. Not only did it give the reality of the 'sane' characters, but it gave a reality to a schizophrenic so that you don't even know he is one until half way through the movie. A success in every way. More moviesThis was by far wonderful movie. Not only did it give the reality of the 'sane' characters, but it gave a reality to a schizophrenic so that you don't even know he is one until half way through the movie. A success in every way. More movies should be this bold. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleDec 6, 2014
As a whole, A Beautiful Mind is a good film that is overshadowed by the performance of its lead actor. Yes, Jennifer Connelly, Ed Harris, and Paul Bettany, are all great here and in general, but holy cow does Russell Crowe stand tall. Truly aAs a whole, A Beautiful Mind is a good film that is overshadowed by the performance of its lead actor. Yes, Jennifer Connelly, Ed Harris, and Paul Bettany, are all great here and in general, but holy cow does Russell Crowe stand tall. Truly a masterful performance from Crowe, his performance makes the film, though the film itself is certainly interesting. Ron Howard's direction is typically strong here and he does a good job telling the story of famed mathematician John Nash. However, where this film is most strong in terms of story is in its telling of Nash's struggle with schizophrenia. In a way, it really opens your eyes as to how it is to live with schizophrenia and suffering through the delusions associated with it. In a sense, this is one of the better films on mental disease ever made as it paints a very real, distressing, and disturbing portrait, all of which make you appreciate the genius of Nash all the more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
axelkochMar 19, 2014
A Beautiful Mind is an outstanding cinematic achievement. On one hand, that is because of truly Oscar-worthy filmmaking in every possible aspect, but on the other, graver hand, this is due to it introducing a mass audience to mentalA Beautiful Mind is an outstanding cinematic achievement. On one hand, that is because of truly Oscar-worthy filmmaking in every possible aspect, but on the other, graver hand, this is due to it introducing a mass audience to mental disorders. As all but an expert on this topic, I'm in no position to assess whether the film is realistic and respectful to actual patients, but bringing people closer to the minds of schizophrenics and other mentally ill by making a star-studded Hollywood film out of their perspective is rating praise already. Ron Howard realized a great mixture of drama, romance, action, and humour with A Beautiful Mind, something many directors attempt to do nowadays, clearly resulting from the award-winning prospect it brings along, but only very few succeed in. Story-wise, the film is immensely entertaining, touching, and just as beautiful as its title suggests. Another major merit of the four-time Oscar winner is its lead actor Russell Crowe, going from heroic action star in Gladiator to socially awkward genius in just two years. Thus, A Beautiful Mind is a more than deserving Best Picture winner at the Oscars and a film worth watching more than once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RaymondMendez19Mar 31, 2013
i'ts great i dont know why the critic's are bad with this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
xmNz23Mar 2, 2014
I've seen some movies about peoples life. I've never seen any movie which showed how a intelligence feels like. Russell Crowe nails the role of Prof. John Nash. This movie made me to curse myself of not having any interest in math. NeverI've seen some movies about peoples life. I've never seen any movie which showed how a intelligence feels like. Russell Crowe nails the role of Prof. John Nash. This movie made me to curse myself of not having any interest in math. Never before the numbers and mathematical genius attracted me. This movie has one of the best emotion filled scene in the movie history. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DokaluJun 23, 2015
Russell Crowe really shows his real talent making this film. He is one of the best actors I have ever seen. The movie is incredible. Very emotional with a beautiful story, and some really unexpected twists that I simply couldn't believe. TheRussell Crowe really shows his real talent making this film. He is one of the best actors I have ever seen. The movie is incredible. Very emotional with a beautiful story, and some really unexpected twists that I simply couldn't believe. The character development here is very deep, and the main story will really get under your skin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
johnem95May 5, 2017
A handsome and moving drama with terrific performances from Russell Crowe and Jennifer Connelly as well as a great score composed by the late James Horner.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FuturedirectorMar 21, 2016
A beautiful mind explores an exceptional man's feelings and,mod course,my is minds, to compare it with other ones, not as beautiful as his. It shows also true love and an unforgettable protagonist and enjoyable story-telling. This is one ofA beautiful mind explores an exceptional man's feelings and,mod course,my is minds, to compare it with other ones, not as beautiful as his. It shows also true love and an unforgettable protagonist and enjoyable story-telling. This is one of the best films ever in cinematography history. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FarsheedJun 6, 2016
The narratology is the most prominent feature of the movie. Furthermore, I believe Russel Crowe's most brilliant performance is in this masterpiece. And of course, it does not mean he is not good in other movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews