A Clockwork Orange

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 588 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 97 out of 588

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. SarahC.
    Apr 27, 2006
    2
    Compared to the novel by Anthony Burgess, which in my opinion is an absolute masterpiece, this film sucked for lack of a better word. It was disgusting and captured nothing that Burgess intended to portray in his novel. BOO HISS, go read the book if you've only seen the movie because it did it absolutely NO justice.
  2. TelyS
    Nov 24, 2003
    3
    I'm a huge fan of cinematic realism and violence, but this has to be, along with the abysmal Scarface, one of the most overrated films there is. Fans can spout as many praising buzzwords as they like, but there's not a moment to enjoy on any level of this garbage.
  3. May 28, 2012
    0
    This movie was needlessly pornographic and violent in a bad way. It was disgusting and a waste of time. It was one of those movies you walk away saying, I hope my younger siblings don't have to watch this...it's just wrong overall.
  4. BobA.
    May 23, 2006
    2
    A movie that has stood the test of time as a monument to the easily impressed.
  5. KaroG.
    Apr 8, 2004
    0
    Complete crap... I watched no more than 40 minutes of this garbage and couldn't take it anymore. I would rather chew glass while sitting in an oven than watch another millisecond of this crap again!
  6. Apr 25, 2011
    3
    I don't understand what people see in this movie. I couldn't really follow this movie at all. Just a couple of teenagers trying to take over their town, and they do it by beating up innocent people and raping women. It's also unbelievably wierd. Their are some strange scenes that were so weird, I scratch my head and tried to figure out what's going on. It also gets more weird in theI don't understand what people see in this movie. I couldn't really follow this movie at all. Just a couple of teenagers trying to take over their town, and they do it by beating up innocent people and raping women. It's also unbelievably wierd. Their are some strange scenes that were so weird, I scratch my head and tried to figure out what's going on. It also gets more weird in the middle, I don't know what I was watching. The end kinda gets a little depressing, I pretty much just pulled the plug and said "goodbye" to this movie. I never read the book, but some people told me that the book is better than the movie. I guess I'm not a fan of films like this. Expand
  7. TedK.
    Jun 20, 2008
    2
    A very poor movie. Incredibly boring in addition to being loathsome. It would be 0 out of 10 if not for Wendy Carlos' soundtrack.
  8. Aug 1, 2013
    0
    This movie deserves to burn in hell. I only watched one short scene to prove that this movie is a terrible piece of garbage. I hope that the characters in this movie get beaten to death. I hope people who actually like this movie change their mind and break the disc. This movie deserves nobody's time.
  9. Jul 28, 2014
    1
    OMFG This movie man... this movie.
    Worst movie ever. Ultraviolence? **** you this is worse than Neil Patrick Harris performance in.. all of his movies and shows. The best Kubrick's work was 2001.No doubt about it. If you want to watch this movie you only have to enter in Brazzers. The Daniel Day **** Lewis version.
  10. Jul 13, 2015
    0
    not a fan of rape and beating, I also thought there was really any story behind this its just a lot of really weird violence, I think the director was really seeing how far he can go making a movie and somehow people allowing it
  11. Jan 22, 2015
    3
    I was really on the wrong side of this film. But I've given A Clockwork Orange more than a fair chance. To me, it just doesn't work - not just narratively, it doesn't even work thematically. It's essentially meant to be this very ambitious and intimate character study that reflects the flaws in the society and the present thinking etc etc. But the problem is, Kubrick never breaks into theI was really on the wrong side of this film. But I've given A Clockwork Orange more than a fair chance. To me, it just doesn't work - not just narratively, it doesn't even work thematically. It's essentially meant to be this very ambitious and intimate character study that reflects the flaws in the society and the present thinking etc etc. But the problem is, Kubrick never breaks into the psychology of the central character through the course of the film. He did so brilliantly in Eyes Wide Shut but here, I felt like a distant observer. I hated Alex from start to finish and I don't think it was meant to be that way. Even in Raging Bull, a film with the most despicable central character imaginable, eventually drew sympathy. That's because we got to know why LaMotta did what he did and it's done so powerfully. His penchant for self-destruction was just an exaggerated version of what everyone goes through - hurt oneself for causing pain to others. A Clockwork Orange doesn't even aim at the sort of depth.
    But film does develop some ideas through the first 2 Acts but at the very end, it throws it all out of the window. Ambiguous endings work very beautifully with films like 2001 but here it felt like Kubrick himself couldn't make up his mind about the social norms. So then why make an entire movie about it?
    Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. A chilling classic, the movie is a scabrous satire about human deviance, brutality, and social conditioning that has remained a visible part of the ongoing public debate about violence and the movies.
  2. 80
    A brilliant nightmare... The film employs outrageous vulgarity, stark brutality and some sophisticated comedy to make an opaque argument for the preservation of respect for man's free will - even to do wrong.
  3. The first punk tragicomedy, a chain-whipped cartoon meditation on Good, Evil, and Free Will that is as seductive as it is tasteless. That Kubrick misjudged the distance between comedy and cruelty seems to be unarguable.