A Clockwork Orange

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 607 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 97 out of 607

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Cy
    Jul 13, 2003
    4
    A very over-rated movie, I just didn't get it.
  2. VikkiC.
    Mar 1, 2010
    5
    After this film was first released, many cases of (Copycat) was reported. A 16 year old British boy pleaded guilty for attacking an old man, saying he had seen in it the film. The press related the violence in the film to many cases of (Copycat.) Cases like this caused Stanley Kubrick to withdraw the film from British release. Even though this film looks closely on Human deviance, the After this film was first released, many cases of (Copycat) was reported. A 16 year old British boy pleaded guilty for attacking an old man, saying he had seen in it the film. The press related the violence in the film to many cases of (Copycat.) Cases like this caused Stanley Kubrick to withdraw the film from British release. Even though this film looks closely on Human deviance, the film had its reasons for being banned. It had a big impact on British society, and even though it is a good film, we have to justify what impact it left on society. Expand
  3. BenB.
    Dec 30, 2009
    5
    The worst movie ever, with an actor whose script and facial expressions I happened to enjoy tremendously. The movie completely blows horribly, it makes no sense whatsoever, and if the plot is taken seriously would be maddening. But the main character, the narrator, is unusually cheery and he uses uncommon language, which I found enjoyable.
  4. FelixQ.
    Jul 25, 2006
    6
    An important piece of cinema history- but the acclaim is wasted. Kubrick did not make movies- he was pleasing himself (I'm sure you can assume the very nice word I'd like to use here, but I'll refrain) McDowell makes this film an entity, but still it falls flat in it's lofty attempts. Somehow, it feels like he was trying to ascertain his power, and carve out his An important piece of cinema history- but the acclaim is wasted. Kubrick did not make movies- he was pleasing himself (I'm sure you can assume the very nice word I'd like to use here, but I'll refrain) McDowell makes this film an entity, but still it falls flat in it's lofty attempts. Somehow, it feels like he was trying to ascertain his power, and carve out his individuality with this film. "I'm different! I'm special! I shock, I horrify- deal with it!" I have no problem with the violence or nudity, it's the severe blandness of the film that put me off. However, I do think that Malcolm McDowell's performance here is a singular shining moment, and the fact that the concept it brilliant saves this from being horrendous. Expand
  5. KyleA.
    Dec 22, 2004
    5
    Where the hell is Stanley Kubrick going with this film? He may have gotten the tone right, but that's about it. And, while i love ALL of his other films, this one just shows what a pretentious, pornographic, arrogant bastard he can be. I was sufficiently horrified throughout, but the director doesn't seem to acknowledge Alex's horrific nature, and there is no explanation Where the hell is Stanley Kubrick going with this film? He may have gotten the tone right, but that's about it. And, while i love ALL of his other films, this one just shows what a pretentious, pornographic, arrogant bastard he can be. I was sufficiently horrified throughout, but the director doesn't seem to acknowledge Alex's horrific nature, and there is no explanation for it--none visible in Kubrick's created society. In this, Kubrick is not true to Burgess's masterpiece. Collapse
  6. AdrienneM.
    Dec 6, 2004
    5
    I gave this piece of work a five because as one of Stanley Kubrick's works it is beautiful and fabulously directed but the entire time I watched it I thought he most likely did not research it much or he would have used the correct ending, more correct usage of Nadsat and so forth. He disgraced the book yet glamourized the movie.
  7. Dec 21, 2011
    5
    Not my kind of movie, and it's definitely not one of worlds or Kubricks greatest movies either. I never liked the characters in this movie and it allways gives me a bad feeling. An overrated movie.
  8. Oct 16, 2013
    5
    I've always had mixed feelings about this film. Although hailed as masterpiece and regular darling of the art house lovers, to me it's just a little bit messy, chaotic and pretentiously involved piece. The main problem as it seems to me is that, Kubrick here addresses issues of deeply political nature without clearly specifying his ideological perspectives, resulting in ambiguous andI've always had mixed feelings about this film. Although hailed as masterpiece and regular darling of the art house lovers, to me it's just a little bit messy, chaotic and pretentiously involved piece. The main problem as it seems to me is that, Kubrick here addresses issues of deeply political nature without clearly specifying his ideological perspectives, resulting in ambiguous and confusing work. Now the ambiguity might be welcomed in ethereal and metaphysical meditations such as "2001" but when targeting the political as he does here, it is irritating. Or, as Mr. Ebert said, "The Clockwork Orange" is ideological mess. Expand
  9. Mar 23, 2014
    4
    The film, just like the original book it's based on, presents some very interesting questions, such as "To be a bad person with free will, or to be a good person without any will at all?" Unfortunately, "A Clockwork Orange" is terribly resolved. From bad casting, writing and acting to awkwardly horrendous costume design and art decoration, everything in this film just feels so off andThe film, just like the original book it's based on, presents some very interesting questions, such as "To be a bad person with free will, or to be a good person without any will at all?" Unfortunately, "A Clockwork Orange" is terribly resolved. From bad casting, writing and acting to awkwardly horrendous costume design and art decoration, everything in this film just feels so off and uninviting. I would not watch this film again because of its meaning, but because it is just simply very badly done. Expand
  10. Jan 7, 2011
    6
    Shocking movie. It's a masterpiece and it's more than evident that Kubrick was a genius. But to much violence and sex in it. This is not the reality what it is shown in this movie. There is no use to make it so brutal.
  11. Mar 23, 2013
    5
    I'm raising my review score of this movie slightly, but I'm still not going to reccomend it. There are some things about this movie which are well done. It's hard to believe it came out in 1971 with its camerawork, and alex is very creepy. Kubrik also gives the movie lots of unique style. There are still some things in the movie however which cut down my score for it greatly. ThisI'm raising my review score of this movie slightly, but I'm still not going to reccomend it. There are some things about this movie which are well done. It's hard to believe it came out in 1971 with its camerawork, and alex is very creepy. Kubrik also gives the movie lots of unique style. There are still some things in the movie however which cut down my score for it greatly. This movie can be very dirty. There's graphic nudity, pointless sex scenes, and lots of other things which should have not been put into the movie. Chief among its offenses is a scene where alex is beating jesus and the film tries to make this funny. That's just plain evil. I know Kubrik wanted shock value but the beatings of random pedestrians and Alex's sadistic demeanor were shocking enough. After Alex goes to jail it also becomes kinda boring. The movie is too finely crafted to give a negative score, but FAR too immoral to reccomend. Expand
  12. Nov 18, 2015
    6
    Kubrick's adaption of "A Clockwork Orange" is brilliant in many ways (Narrative structure, direction acting etc) and is entertaining because of that. So much in fact, that the inaccuracies from book to screen are almost instantly forgivable.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. A chilling classic, the movie is a scabrous satire about human deviance, brutality, and social conditioning that has remained a visible part of the ongoing public debate about violence and the movies.
  2. 80
    A brilliant nightmare... The film employs outrageous vulgarity, stark brutality and some sophisticated comedy to make an opaque argument for the preservation of respect for man's free will - even to do wrong.
  3. The first punk tragicomedy, a chain-whipped cartoon meditation on Good, Evil, and Free Will that is as seductive as it is tasteless. That Kubrick misjudged the distance between comedy and cruelty seems to be unarguable.