Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 20, 1971
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 617 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
485
Mixed:
33
Negative:
99
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
0
KaroG.Apr 8, 2004
Complete crap... I watched no more than 40 minutes of this garbage and couldn't take it anymore. I would rather chew glass while sitting in an oven than watch another millisecond of this crap again!
3 of 8 users found this helpful
3
TelySNov 24, 2003
I'm a huge fan of cinematic realism and violence, but this has to be, along with the abysmal Scarface, one of the most overrated films there is. Fans can spout as many praising buzzwords as they like, but there's not a moment to I'm a huge fan of cinematic realism and violence, but this has to be, along with the abysmal Scarface, one of the most overrated films there is. Fans can spout as many praising buzzwords as they like, but there's not a moment to enjoy on any level of this garbage. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful
2
BobA.May 23, 2006
A movie that has stood the test of time as a monument to the easily impressed.
2 of 5 users found this helpful
2
TedK.Jun 20, 2008
A very poor movie. Incredibly boring in addition to being loathsome. It would be 0 out of 10 if not for Wendy Carlos' soundtrack.
3 of 12 users found this helpful
2
SarahC.Apr 27, 2006
Compared to the novel by Anthony Burgess, which in my opinion is an absolute masterpiece, this film sucked for lack of a better word. It was disgusting and captured nothing that Burgess intended to portray in his novel. BOO HISS, go read the Compared to the novel by Anthony Burgess, which in my opinion is an absolute masterpiece, this film sucked for lack of a better word. It was disgusting and captured nothing that Burgess intended to portray in his novel. BOO HISS, go read the book if you've only seen the movie because it did it absolutely NO justice. Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful
3
billrullerApr 25, 2011
I don't understand what people see in this movie. I couldn't really follow this movie at all. Just a couple of teenagers trying to take over their town, and they do it by beating up innocent people and raping women. It's also unbelievablyI don't understand what people see in this movie. I couldn't really follow this movie at all. Just a couple of teenagers trying to take over their town, and they do it by beating up innocent people and raping women. It's also unbelievably wierd. Their are some strange scenes that were so weird, I scratch my head and tried to figure out what's going on. It also gets more weird in the middle, I don't know what I was watching. The end kinda gets a little depressing, I pretty much just pulled the plug and said "goodbye" to this movie. I never read the book, but some people told me that the book is better than the movie. I guess I'm not a fan of films like this. Expand
7 of 21 users found this helpful714
All this user's reviews
0
asoomroMay 28, 2012
This movie was needlessly pornographic and violent in a bad way. It was disgusting and a waste of time. It was one of those movies you walk away saying, I hope my younger siblings don't have to watch this...it's just wrong overall.
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
0
kylerawksAug 1, 2013
This movie deserves to burn in hell. I only watched one short scene to prove that this movie is a terrible piece of garbage. I hope that the characters in this movie get beaten to death. I hope people who actually like this movie change theirThis movie deserves to burn in hell. I only watched one short scene to prove that this movie is a terrible piece of garbage. I hope that the characters in this movie get beaten to death. I hope people who actually like this movie change their mind and break the disc. This movie deserves nobody's time. Expand
3 of 22 users found this helpful319
All this user's reviews
3
AkashVijayJan 22, 2015
I was really on the wrong side of this film. But I've given A Clockwork Orange more than a fair chance. To me, it just doesn't work - not just narratively, it doesn't even work thematically. It's essentially meant to be this very ambitiousI was really on the wrong side of this film. But I've given A Clockwork Orange more than a fair chance. To me, it just doesn't work - not just narratively, it doesn't even work thematically. It's essentially meant to be this very ambitious and intimate character study that reflects the flaws in the society and the present thinking etc etc. But the problem is, Kubrick never breaks into the psychology of the central character through the course of the film. He did so brilliantly in Eyes Wide Shut but here, I felt like a distant observer. I hated Alex from start to finish and I don't think it was meant to be that way. Even in Raging Bull, a film with the most despicable central character imaginable, eventually drew sympathy. That's because we got to know why LaMotta did what he did and it's done so powerfully. His penchant for self-destruction was just an exaggerated version of what everyone goes through - hurt oneself for causing pain to others. A Clockwork Orange doesn't even aim at the sort of depth.
But film does develop some ideas through the first 2 Acts but at the very end, it throws it all out of the window. Ambiguous endings work very beautifully with films like 2001 but here it felt like Kubrick himself couldn't make up his mind about the social norms. So then why make an entire movie about it?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
deadanothinkJul 28, 2014
OMFG This movie man... this movie.
Worst movie ever. Ultraviolence? **** you this is worse than Neil Patrick Harris performance in.. all of his movies and shows. The best Kubrick's work was 2001.No doubt about it. If you want to watch this
OMFG This movie man... this movie.
Worst movie ever. Ultraviolence? **** you this is worse than Neil Patrick Harris performance in.. all of his movies and shows. The best Kubrick's work was 2001.No doubt about it. If you want to watch this movie you only have to enter in Brazzers. The Daniel Day **** Lewis version.
Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
0
edpoopstuffJul 13, 2015
not a fan of rape and beating, I also thought there was really any story behind this its just a lot of really weird violence, I think the director was really seeing how far he can go making a movie and somehow people allowing it
1 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
0
ElmacroNov 24, 2016
No entiendo el por que de la sobrevaloración de esta película, el gran Stanley Kubrick ha quitado otras joyas mas pulidas que esta película pero son películas infravaloradas en frente a esta película.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews