Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: November 23, 2011
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 146 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
76
Mixed:
53
Negative:
17
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
GeneDec 30, 2011
Movie had some incredibly memorable lines and great dialogue between Jung and Freud, and a downright brilliant 20 minutes with Vincent Cassel as Otto Gross. Unfortunately, Jung just wasn't a particularly interesting main character. The onlyMovie had some incredibly memorable lines and great dialogue between Jung and Freud, and a downright brilliant 20 minutes with Vincent Cassel as Otto Gross. Unfortunately, Jung just wasn't a particularly interesting main character. The only time he's engaging is when he's debating with Freud or having sex with Keira Knightly. Unfortunately those segments only really last 2/3rds of the movie, the last 3rd that details a minor mental breakdown or has him living with his personality devoid wife feel boring and pointless, I was just waiting for the credits to roll. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryJan 29, 2012
Be warned: any film that puts Karl Jung (Michael Fassbender) and Sigmund Freud (Viggo Mortensen) in the same room is going to be talky and loaded with psycho-babble. Toss in a sexually disturbed woman (Keira Knightley) and you've got kink,Be warned: any film that puts Karl Jung (Michael Fassbender) and Sigmund Freud (Viggo Mortensen) in the same room is going to be talky and loaded with psycho-babble. Toss in a sexually disturbed woman (Keira Knightley) and you've got kink, anguish and strife. Based on real events, this story looks at the relationship of the three and it's effects on the early days of psychiatry (also known as "the talking cure," this film is the talking curse!) Not enough happens and when it does, the detached direction (Cronenberg) keeps it from being emotionally involving. It's beautiful to look at and the performances are strong, but the slow pacing makes it a painful session. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
wishmasterDec 15, 2011
Not the best movie of the year, but the most indiscreetly "sexes" I've seen, I loved the assembly and costume design, outstanding actors. good movie...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
lahaineNov 23, 2011
Just saw A Dangerous Method and I liked it for the most part. It showcases the early years of psychoanalysis and the rise and fall of Freud and Jung's friendship. Cronenberg's straight-forward direction makes this film unfortunately bland,Just saw A Dangerous Method and I liked it for the most part. It showcases the early years of psychoanalysis and the rise and fall of Freud and Jung's friendship. Cronenberg's straight-forward direction makes this film unfortunately bland, but adds subtle nuance to the solid story and all the characters. With that said, the film was very reliant on its precise script, and the actor's success at playing complex characters. What Cronenberg really did well, was to draw out strong performances, particularly from Keira Knightly, who was my favorite part of this movie. I cringed at first by her overly-dramatic performance in the beginning, but I liked it, and I like her performance more as she progressed and developed. She deserves some award recognition for this psycho-sexual performance, for sure. The pale direction didn't allow for much great technical attributes, but it did have some precise production designs. Overall; solid, good movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
j30Apr 23, 2012
Michael Fassbender, Viggo Mortensen, and Keira Knightley all bring their A-game, but the direction and script are underwhelming. The movie has a lot to say without really knowing how to deliver. After waiting four years from the time theMichael Fassbender, Viggo Mortensen, and Keira Knightley all bring their A-game, but the direction and script are underwhelming. The movie has a lot to say without really knowing how to deliver. After waiting four years from the time the excellent Eastern Promises came out this is pretty bland stuff. David Cronenberg is one of the best directors out there, hopefully Cosmoplis turns out better than this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Rye631Jan 14, 2012
I enjoyed the casts' portrayal. Viggo was great as Dr. Freud. Kiera's accent was a bit irritating but you can look past it after a few minutes. The actor that played Carl Jung was good, you could pity him for the conflicts he gets himselfI enjoyed the casts' portrayal. Viggo was great as Dr. Freud. Kiera's accent was a bit irritating but you can look past it after a few minutes. The actor that played Carl Jung was good, you could pity him for the conflicts he gets himself into.

The sets and locations were beautiful. It's set in 1907 and it looks great. I wish hospitals looked like that!

I am unsure what exactly was the story of the movie. Was it a love story, or some father/son see things differently.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RobinsNestApr 22, 2012
A little boring with all the talk but then there's some brief nudity and sexual "unusualness" as there should be when Freud is mentioned. Nicely chronicles the relationship and impact all 3 characters had on each other and how it ultimatelyA little boring with all the talk but then there's some brief nudity and sexual "unusualness" as there should be when Freud is mentioned. Nicely chronicles the relationship and impact all 3 characters had on each other and how it ultimately shaped their lives and what it carried to the future of psychoanalysis. Strong performance by Ms Knighltley and proper subdued performance by Mr Fassbinder. Mr Cassel's role is wasted and Mr Mortensen's portrayal of Freud makes him seem weak and dis-spirited (save for one scene). The jumps forward did not give me enough insight on how "The Talking Cure" so quickly and overtly helped her. And one thing about accents-I know it was not in English so stop having the characters try to "sound" foreign. Either do it it its native tongue with subtitles or let them speak English, even the Kings English is better then floating in and out of different accents. Overall it probably made a better stage play but still worth seeing. (B-). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
khan2705Feb 14, 2012
I liked it for the most part but just wasn't impressed by the overall movie, this really wasn't a good character study of a well known historic figure or a human being in general. Cronenberg played very safe and the movie felt too much of aI liked it for the most part but just wasn't impressed by the overall movie, this really wasn't a good character study of a well known historic figure or a human being in general. Cronenberg played very safe and the movie felt too much of a Holding Back case to me and to me this is one of the weaker Cronenberg movies. A big fan of Fassbender, he was nice in the movie but the best thing about it was Mortenson who stole the show while Keira Knightely was too childish and amateur in the movie. Good art direction and stuff but not a very good movie still a nice watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Gil8ertFeb 27, 2012
Probably better named 'A Dangerous Jawline', the film itself I found to be rather hampered by Keira Knightly and her performance which I just could not buy into at all. In the first instance I felt she was trying too hard, and later down theProbably better named 'A Dangerous Jawline', the film itself I found to be rather hampered by Keira Knightly and her performance which I just could not buy into at all. In the first instance I felt she was trying too hard, and later down the line I found myself wondering what accent she was trying to adopt. During the opening scenes I did feel in actual physical danger from the aforementioned Jaw - had it been in 3D I would have been scared witless. These points aside the film itself I felt actually lacked a little in explaining the psychological theories to any great extent, it just brushed over the theories rather than going into any detail. But that is a personal dissapointment rather than a lacking in the film itself.
Fassbender was fantastic as usual, as was Mortensen, and Cassel was typically stand out - but I found the film did not hold my attention like I was expecting it to. It is not a terrible film - it looks nice and it has fantastic actors in it - but I found Kiera's performance to be illusion shattering and the story to be just not that interesting. I would have prefered some more in depth explanation of the approaches to analysis by the two very different practitioners for a more educational film, the stories of scientific rivalry or becoming too involved with patients have been done many times before, and better.
Worth a watch, but I don't suppose I will be watching it again :)
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
nutterjrDec 31, 2012
Despite the excellent cast performing splendidly and boldly in the case of Knightley, this is a stern, somewhat repressed movie. And even when Vincent Cassell in a supporting role as a cocaine addict and hedonist fellow psychiatrist OttoDespite the excellent cast performing splendidly and boldly in the case of Knightley, this is a stern, somewhat repressed movie. And even when Vincent Cassell in a supporting role as a cocaine addict and hedonist fellow psychiatrist Otto Gross appears dull, only one thing is left to say about the movie: A Dangerous Method is plainly boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Trev29Dec 26, 2013
Even though it was clearly boring at times, it didn't seem to bother me all that much. It was kind of interesting. You don't feel connected to any of the characters though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Tara61Apr 2, 2012
The unfortunate Keira Knightly with her utterly fake accent and no comprehension of the character's behavior and motivation is dragging down the movie. What could have been a solid drama with layers upon layer of conflict (establishedThe unfortunate Keira Knightly with her utterly fake accent and no comprehension of the character's behavior and motivation is dragging down the movie. What could have been a solid drama with layers upon layer of conflict (established authority vs. talented protegee, man torn between his wife and his mistress, psychoanalysis vs. established medical practice...) becomes soapy and hard to swallow melodrama. Unfortunately not even one of the mentioned conflict is brought to any conclusion.
On the other hand, visually the movie is beautiful to watch. Detailed and with sharp contrasts I have absolutely enjoyed it. And certainly Viggo Mortensen and Vinsent Cassel are playing out their characters to the maximum of the available screen time. Finally, Michael Fassbender managed to give Jung the insecurity that I always felt the human Jung avoided showing.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SpangleAug 7, 2014
This one could have been far better and, as it sits, is undeniably below average. Viggo Mortensen and Michael Fassbender are great here and have solid chemistry with one another and, at the end of the day, are two of the lone positives I canThis one could have been far better and, as it sits, is undeniably below average. Viggo Mortensen and Michael Fassbender are great here and have solid chemistry with one another and, at the end of the day, are two of the lone positives I can truly find here, aside from an interesting and engaging story. I like Keira Knightley and her physical performance is solid, but her accent sounds off and fake to me, which turns me off from her performance entirely. The story, while interesting, feels rushed and hurried. Many things were essentially skimmed through and relationships amongst characters left missing crucial elements to really make you give a damn. I did not really find this one boring and the dialogue was solid, but as I said, the script could have been far, far better. The costume design is nice and everything really fits the time period well, but clothes do not save a film from being a disappointer for me. On pretty much every front, A Dangerous Method is a skin deep look at two men and a woman who explored the mind and all of its capabilities. These people deserved a better film and sadly, David Cronenberg's film does not provide that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews