Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 113 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: On the eve of World War I, Zurich and Vienna are the setting for a dark tale of sexual and intellectual discovery. Drawn from true-life events, A Dangerous Method takes a glimpse into the turbulent relationships between fledgling psychiatrist Carl Jung, his mentor Sigmund Freud and SabinaOn the eve of World War I, Zurich and Vienna are the setting for a dark tale of sexual and intellectual discovery. Drawn from true-life events, A Dangerous Method takes a glimpse into the turbulent relationships between fledgling psychiatrist Carl Jung, his mentor Sigmund Freud and Sabina Spielrein, the troubled but beautiful young woman who comes between them. Into the mix comes Otto Gross, a debauched patient who is determined to push the boundaries.
    In this exploration of sensuality, ambition and deceit set the scene for the pivotal moment when Jung, Freud and Sabina come together and split apart, forever changing the face of modern thought. (Sony Classics)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Jan 12, 2012
    100
    Mostly, though, A Dangerous Method is a suave chamber piece: a series of glimpses of two 20th-century intellectual titans, in friendship and separation, and the story of a remarkable woman who history had swallowed up, brought into the light again.
  2. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Nov 23, 2011
    91
    In the movie's final shot, Jung's confidence crumbles and he looks supremely troubled, still uncertain of a world he once believed could be explained with textual prowess. Better than any analysis, his expression sums up the dangerous method at the heart of every Cronenberg movie.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Nov 21, 2011
    88
    The actors give it their all, especially Knightley, whose jaw- jutting, heavily accented and unfairly criticized portrayal gives the film its fighting spirit.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jan 9, 2012
    75
    Ultimately, however, A Dangerous Method is less about the formative years of psychotherapy and two of its progenitors than it is about a rule-breaking extramarital affair.
  5. 70
    That wordiness coupled with Cronenberg's classical restraint is part of the splendid Freudian joke at the movie's center.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Nov 23, 2011
    67
    Low point would be Knightley's hysterical opening sequences in which she appears to be trying to trying to contort herself into a Moebius strip. Overacting this gross can only have been enabled by a director. Didn't Cronenberg look at the rushes? Or did he think he was back in "Dead Ringers" territory?
  7. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Oct 27, 2011
    25
    Even a supporting turn by Vincent Cassell as Otto Gross, a fellow psychiatrist, cocaine addict and unapologetic adulterer, fails to enliven the movie: A Dangerous Method makes even a cokehead hedonist boring.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 28
  2. Negative: 7 out of 28
  1. Jan 14, 2012
    10
    www.unsungfilms.com
    by Georgia Xanthopoulou
    Based on a stage play which was based, in its turn, on a book by John Kerr, A Dangerous Method
    www.unsungfilms.com
    by Georgia Xanthopoulou
    Based on a stage play which was based, in its turn, on a book by John Kerr, A Dangerous Method is about the relationship a young Carl Jung develops with a troubled patient as well as the beginning and break-up of his friendship with Sigmund Freud. Most importantly, the film concerns itself with the events that probably caused the breakdown he suffered during World War I and the battle within himself as his values as a responsible physician clashed with his carnal desires. The film starts off quite rough. For those who may be frightened by the beginning of the film, I assure you it gets better. Keira Knightley doesnâ
    Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2013
    8
    It's always difficult to review a movie based on psychology because sometimes what's difficult to understand is too easily categorized asIt's always difficult to review a movie based on psychology because sometimes what's difficult to understand is too easily categorized as illogical or bad execution.I heard so much criticism towards the last movie by Cronenberg.I completely disagree with those bad reactions."A dangerous method"is a brilliant ,absorbing and thought provoking movie that boasts excellent performances by the three leading actors.The direction is great and Cronenberg once again shows his uncommon ability to tell a story in a very original way although the dialogs are sometimes hard to follow,probably due to its subject.But there are really breathtaking moments such as the scenes of the Spielrein therapy.This leads me to Knightley performance.It was a brave,shocking and terrific performance that it was criticized without a reason.I didn't catch all that hatred.She has always been so good("Pride e prejudice","Atonement" and "Never let me go")but here she left her comfort zone to bare herself and gives one of the most exiting performances of the year.Oscar worthy material.Fassbender was equally great in the role of Jung and it's a pleasure to watch this splendid rising A-list actor.Mortensen was good but I fear not as good as Fassbender and Knightley.Cassell is always Cassell.He's a good actor but he plays always the role of the daring man.I think that "A dangerous method" is one of the best movies of the year.It succeeds to transcend from his particular story to focus on the hidden instincts associated with the human nature.My vote is 8/10 Expand
  3. Jan 7, 2012
    7
    a dangerous method, by david cronenberg, is a good movie.though its tempo is a little slow(this is not an unexpected thing for a movie likea dangerous method, by david cronenberg, is a good movie.though its tempo is a little slow(this is not an unexpected thing for a movie like this), it is thought-provoking. it will make you think again and again about the difficult psychological subjects that the movie is dealing with. also i loved mortensen's acting but i was not so fond of keira's, as it seems to me she was exaggerating a little. but, generally, the money you'll pay for the ticket will be well-spent.nice effort! Expand
  4. Jan 14, 2012
    6
    I enjoyed the casts' portrayal. Viggo was great as Dr. Freud. Kiera's accent was a bit irritating but you can look past it after a fewI enjoyed the casts' portrayal. Viggo was great as Dr. Freud. Kiera's accent was a bit irritating but you can look past it after a few minutes. The actor that played Carl Jung was good, you could pity him for the conflicts he gets himself into.

    The sets and locations were beautiful. It's set in 1907 and it looks great. I wish hospitals looked like that!

    I am unsure what exactly was the story of the movie. Was it a love story, or some father/son see things differently.
    Expand
  5. Dec 26, 2013
    5
    Even though it was clearly boring at times, it didn't seem to bother me all that much. It was kind of interesting. You don't feel connected toEven though it was clearly boring at times, it didn't seem to bother me all that much. It was kind of interesting. You don't feel connected to any of the characters though. Expand
  6. Aug 7, 2014
    4
    This one could have been far better and, as it sits, is undeniably below average. Viggo Mortensen and Michael Fassbender are great here andThis one could have been far better and, as it sits, is undeniably below average. Viggo Mortensen and Michael Fassbender are great here and have solid chemistry with one another and, at the end of the day, are two of the lone positives I can truly find here, aside from an interesting and engaging story. I like Keira Knightley and her physical performance is solid, but her accent sounds off and fake to me, which turns me off from her performance entirely. The story, while interesting, feels rushed and hurried. Many things were essentially skimmed through and relationships amongst characters left missing crucial elements to really make you give a damn. I did not really find this one boring and the dialogue was solid, but as I said, the script could have been far, far better. The costume design is nice and everything really fits the time period well, but clothes do not save a film from being a disappointer for me. On pretty much every front, A Dangerous Method is a skin deep look at two men and a woman who explored the mind and all of its capabilities. These people deserved a better film and sadly, David Cronenberg's film does not provide that. Expand
  7. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    just terrible, terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,just terrible,just terrible, terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,just terrible, terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible,terrible. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Holiday Movie Preview: 23 Intriguing Films (and over 40 Others)

    Holiday Movie Preview: 23 Intriguing Films (and over 40 Others) Image
    Published: November 9, 2011
    The next two months will bring over 20 major releases and 50 smaller films to theaters near you. Find out which of those films are the most promising, and get a complete guide to all of the holiday season movies inside.
  2. Fall Film Festival Roundup: Reviews from Venice, Telluride, and TIFF

    Fall Film Festival Roundup: Reviews from Venice, Telluride, and TIFF Image
    Published: September 20, 2011
    With the 2011 installments of the three major fall film festivals now complete, we sample the reaction from professional critics and film bloggers to the movies generating the most buzz at the three festivals, including new works by Alexander Payne, Whit Stillman, Roman Polanski, David Cronenberg, Steve McQueen, and Madonna.