Columbia Pictures | Release Date: December 11, 1992
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 118 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
106
Mixed:
10
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
RitaP.Feb 4, 2006
One of the best big budget hollywood films of the 90s. There are a few scenes involving exchanges between the main characters that you want to re-play again and again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BlancoA.Jan 9, 2004
So my pal Lohnny and I are driving through La Verne, California, on our way to see this movie at a really big theater (with plush seating and accommodations for the hearing impaired). Anyway, I can see this car stopped at a red light about So my pal Lohnny and I are driving through La Verne, California, on our way to see this movie at a really big theater (with plush seating and accommodations for the hearing impaired). Anyway, I can see this car stopped at a red light about 100 yeards down the road, inside of which looks like 3 or 4 teenage boys hanging bare asses out the back and side windows to nobody in particular. So I drive up next to them to see what's what. The guys all dropped down, revealing a 70 year old woman at the wheel. At first, she's appears to be hiding her face, probably embarrassed by the boys.... Then all of a sudden, she looks right at me (and Lohnny, who is now transfixed), she sticks out her tongue much further than I thought possible (especially by this old lady), and she begins licking her lips, cheecks and brow in a slow, deranged fashion. I look over at Lohnny who by now has lost all color in his face, his eyes bulging like he'd seen a ghost. The light turns green and he yells, DRIVE!, so I drove. The most perverse, Texas Chainsaw Massacre Family moment in my young life. By the way, the movie was damned good, though. "YOU CAN'T HANDLE THE TRUTH!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
Was actually pretty good. Solid acting (although Demi Moore sucked hard in it) and it was an interesting story that ended perfectly. I really enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EssenceOfSugarFeb 12, 2012
There were certain parts of the film that didn't really have much point, and when you think it was just getting started, it changes the scene quickly. This may or may not be a good thing. The dialogue was a bit long, but the humour wasThere were certain parts of the film that didn't really have much point, and when you think it was just getting started, it changes the scene quickly. This may or may not be a good thing. The dialogue was a bit long, but the humour was refreshing. At least the ending was unpredictable, but it still lacked the ultimate punch for me to rate this higher. On the whole, it wasn't too bad, but didn't exactly knock me off my feet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
kublay0880Dec 11, 2012
You definitely enjoy any Nicholson's movie, but I have to agree with other critics, the cast could have been better, Moore's performance it's poor, why does she always seems to have tears in her eyes? is she always crying? Anyway, Tom alwaysYou definitely enjoy any Nicholson's movie, but I have to agree with other critics, the cast could have been better, Moore's performance it's poor, why does she always seems to have tears in her eyes? is she always crying? Anyway, Tom always acts the same every time his characters belong to any of the armed forces, so maybe someone else for the job. Still a a manageable movie with an epic scene, from Jack Nicholson of course. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
"A Few Good Men" is a 1992 courtroom drama film Directed by Rob Reiner and starring Tom Cruise. The story follows a young lawyer's plight to defend two marines accused of murder. Now I know just about everyone's heard of this film. If they"A Few Good Men" is a 1992 courtroom drama film Directed by Rob Reiner and starring Tom Cruise. The story follows a young lawyer's plight to defend two marines accused of murder. Now I know just about everyone's heard of this film. If they haven't, they've at least heard of the line, "You can't handle the truth!" That line is just a snippet of the greatness that is weaved into this film. Starting off on a related note, the script is fantastic. Aaron Sorkin strikes again with his rapier wit and compelling dialogue. The story is a very compelling look at the military definitions of honor and loyalty and how they can sometimes become misinterpreted. Some of the lines in this film are also spectacularly memorable. However, while the screenplay is decidedly impressive, the most imposing aspect of this film is the performances within it. Every single actor in this film brought their best to the table, and it's because of the unbelievably captivating performance from Jack Nicholson that everyone else raised their bars. Nicholson's really only in this film for about 10 or 15 minutes, but man does he make those minutes count with his caustic and snide portrayal of Colonel Nathan R. Jessup. Again, it's his performance that caused everyone else in this film to bring their a-games, and holy crap did they. Tom Cruise, Kevin Pollak, Kevin Bacon, J.T. Walsh, Kiefer Sutherland, Demi Moore, all did unbelievable jobs with their respective characters. Even Wolfgang Bodison, a stagehand who had never acted before in his life, did a really beautiful job with his role. The aforementioned fact is a real testament to the seemingly limitless talent of Rob Reiner. After watching the special features of the film, you really get a good idea that Reiner forged an effective relationship with his actors and offered some acting tips of his own for their performances. Because this is such a character driven story, Reiner made a great choice in offering some of his own acting expertise to his cast. Overall, I felt that "A Few Good Men" was a really masterfully directed, beautifully written, unforgettably performed coatroom drama that is sure to impress anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BradySmithJun 6, 2014
A conventional but very well executed drama, A Few Good Men doesn't have much mystery in it, but the good performances and assured direction go along way towards making it engaging. The story is pretty solid, but I don't want to spoil it forA conventional but very well executed drama, A Few Good Men doesn't have much mystery in it, but the good performances and assured direction go along way towards making it engaging. The story is pretty solid, but I don't want to spoil it for you. I'll just say that it does deal with some decently heavy issues. Jack Nicholson gives what is probably the movie's best performance, but Cruise and Moore are both solid here as well. It might not be the most unpredictable movie in the world, but it is a satisfyingly well made crowd pleaser. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Movie1997Apr 22, 2013
This movie is well known as one of the biggest court movies of all time. This movie really amazes me with it's great actors and great storytelling. The characters are very intrrguing and captivating. Especially, Tom Cruise and Jack Nicholson.This movie is well known as one of the biggest court movies of all time. This movie really amazes me with it's great actors and great storytelling. The characters are very intrrguing and captivating. Especially, Tom Cruise and Jack Nicholson. With Jack, I think he gave an excellent performance (as usually), but isn't in this movie a whole lot. You only see him in the beginning and the end of the movie. But boy does he make up for his dissaperance when he yells out "YOU CAN'T HANDLE THE TRUTH!" That line right there is truly a tremendous quote and one of the biggest movie quotes of all time. Which leads me to another plus that this movie has. Great Screenplay. As far as negativity, the movie kind of streches in some scenes, but overall, it's truly one of the best court movies ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
heeldavidJul 28, 2014
A Few Good Men is a smart courtroom drama with a brilliant story and great perfromances from Cruise, Nicholson, Pollak, Bacon and Sutherland (solid performance from Demi Moore). Also sharp direction from Rob Reiner
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews