Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 11 out of 21
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Feb 13, 2013
    50
    No less sweet for being unoriginal: A guy (Charlie Sheen) mourns a bad breakup with the woman he loves (Katheryn Winnick). The execution, on the other hand, is perilously self-absorbed.
  2. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Feb 9, 2013
    40
    As the film progresses, the actor fails to progress with it: As Charles Swan seems to become more aware of his loneliness, Charlie Sheen seems to become more protective of his Charlie Sheen–ness.
  3. Reviewed by: Joel Arnold
    Feb 8, 2013
    60
    The moody picture even swings toward hopeful in its final minutes, as it tries to celebrate Charles as the man he is, faults and all. It's enough to leave you wondering whether even a glimpse inside this mind is too much.
  4. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Feb 7, 2013
    50
    The earnest passages mostly just lie there; the film works best on its frilly, exuberant surface, as a valentine to Streamline Moderne, Pop Art and L.A.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Feb 7, 2013
    40
    All this eye candy is ultimately only about as engaging as watching kids at play, which is what Sheen and Schwartzman seem to be doing. I can’t argue that this isn’t an accurate glimpse inside some man’s mind — perhaps Austin Powers?
  6. Reviewed by: Boyd van Hoeij
    Feb 5, 2013
    60
    Swan is more of a doodle than a fully formed idea, though not necessarily less enjoyable for it, since it was clearly intended to be an undisciplined, anything-goes kinda story.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Feb 5, 2013
    40
    With neither the moral bite of satire nor a voluptuary surrender that really basks in shallowness, this is a vague, unsatisfying work.
  8. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Feb 5, 2013
    40
    Fellini used to get away with such slender crises, but he had Marcello Mastrioanni behind the shades, as well as a more vivid penchant for psychosexual fantasy. Coppola and Swan are stuck in their obsessions with dorky album art and old-man cocktails at Musso & Frank. A precious, arid thing, Glimpse arrives pinned to Styrofoam like a prize arthropod.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 4 out of 10
  1. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    i enjoyed this movie a lot, i still don't know why, but hell, i guess i'm a massive charlie sheen fanboy, it has a tasteful visual style, somei enjoyed this movie a lot, i still don't know why, but hell, i guess i'm a massive charlie sheen fanboy, it has a tasteful visual style, some good performances, and militarized feminists... need i say more? Full Review »
  2. Mar 9, 2013
    2
    The co-writer of Moonrise Kingdom and relative of one of the best directors ever (Francis Ford Coppola) disappoints everyone with this poorlyThe co-writer of Moonrise Kingdom and relative of one of the best directors ever (Francis Ford Coppola) disappoints everyone with this poorly directed and written comedy not to mention a terrible performance by Charlie Sheen. I expected more. Full Review »
  3. Feb 27, 2013
    1
    i was hoping this would be good but it was just a weird documentary on the life of Charlie Sheen which no one is interested in. Billy Murray ii was hoping this would be good but it was just a weird documentary on the life of Charlie Sheen which no one is interested in. Billy Murray i know you only do films because your pal Wes Anderson makes them but you should of sat this one out. Full Review »